Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat

A classic for the field, and for the hunter who appreciates quality and tradition. The waxed canvas sheds moisture and brambles better than any other material and harks to the traditions of the field. The zippered front with a button placket and large bellows pockets add to the classic look. Smaller zippered security pockets, an interior security pocket, mid-chest handwarmer pockets, and a zip-down game bag for easy cleaning improve upon the standard. In dark khaki. Washable. Do not dry clean. Imported. Sizes: L(42-44), XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Review 1 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durable, lasting coat,
October 29, 2013
By: Baydreamer
from Collegeville, PA
"Pros first. Good material, design and craftsmanship. Large fits me perfect. This coat will last likely for my lifetime, my mid forties now. I chose this coat over the new barn coat which also is great looking, classic style, and soft, but much lighter and would not hold up in the fields and woods. I wanted to keep it too. Maybe a better work coat for business casual. I plan to use this field coat first, as a coat for fall and winter for commuting to work. As it is classy enough for my business casual attire. The bottom up zipper(nice solid metal) option is great for getting into freezing cars, very functional. It fits nice for pre sweater weather and the lining is nice and comfy plus warm but fits perfectly with a sweater under. I can also throw my heavy wool vest under it too making this coat go all winter. I live in PA and walk some distance to catch transit. The back pocket is perfect for me to carry my sketch pad and iPad eliminating my leather bag in rainy, sleety, snowy weather. Eventually when I get it filthy, in years to come, it will be my goto outdoors coat. I spend a lot of time in the outdoors following my old hunting and fishing routes, now sketching and painting along with my dogs. I see this coat as perfect for the hikes and weather. The only cons are: I believe a hunting coat like this should have some hidden interior pockets of multiple sizes. Or even exterior shell pockets. They don't look bad. I miss that from my old school hunting gear. Well I can't totally complain, at least it has the bird bag still. I think though the design is dictated by modern style needs as I did buy it for work first. But in the end I try to spend my money wisely, not on junk so I look for quality and this purchase I feel ok spending some money on."
Review 2 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 26, 2013
By: 12flyingmallards
from RI
"excellent quality and sizing just big enough for layering !"
Review 3 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what i wanted,
August 26, 2013
By: vagent
from SE Pa.
"Sizes run large so I have exchanged my XL for a L which is perfect.
Well made, nicely finished and with plenty of room for a sweater when the temps. drop
"
Review 4 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Jacket,
August 5, 2013
By: BenC
"Great Jacket. The only concern is it runs a little too large. I am 6'1 160 and the medium was just too large in the chest. Great look and feel."
Review 5 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upland Jacket,
July 22, 2013
By: JGJG
from ordered on-line
"I bought this jacket when it was on sale. I am very pleased with this product. I am happy that I read the review before I ordered the Jacket, I am 6' 1" and 225# and i would of ordered a 2XL, but the reviews said that they run a little large. I ordered a XL and it fits great. I have no issues with the pockets or zipper but I wish the game bag was bigger. Great for woodcock."
Review 6 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
June 4, 2013
By: nallyvalley
from Rydal, GA
"It was as expected, a good product from a good company."
Review 7 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchasse,
March 25, 2013
By: Ramon23
"exceed expectation in quality .Es nice as advertized."
Review 8 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For MORE than just hunting,
March 8, 2013
By: 241photo
from Walla Walla, Wa
"A Great jacket for photographers. The ample # of and size of the pockets makes for a wonderful photo jacket! I have used it to carry a 300mm, a 70-200mm, 100mm macro and a 24-105 mm in the front pockets with all at my disposal.
You might do well advertising in photo magazines! ......there are a lot of us there!!!
"
Review 9 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!!!!,
March 7, 2013
By: ChicagoRedd
from Irvington, NJ
"Great purchase falling short of Hall of Fame.Why no hanger Hook?Other than that One of the TOP 10 purchases of all TIME."
Review 10 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Big & Bigger,
March 6, 2013
By: bordeaux
from Houston, Texas
"I loved this product, however it would have fit a guy with a 50" waist. I am 6'1 180 lbs so I had to return. I would order again if you made the product in a trim fit. Nice product and really liked it."
Review 11 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Jacket, great value on sale,
March 5, 2013
By: Doghandler
from Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
"I like this jacket but I would not have purchased it at regular price. It needs to have a few improvements to get 5 stars:
1. A tab to hold the collar closed around the chin;
2. Snaps on the outside pockets
3. Lined inside pockets to stiffen them up or better yet a heavier lining;
4. Drawstring at waist and possibly bottom to keep the wind from blowing up your kilt.
5. Some people might like a hood incorporated in the collar. I wear a broad brimmed hat so I don't need a hood but I expect many would like one.
The good things are
1. The corduroy collar,
2.Lightness of the jacket yet it is wind and shower proof. (I have not yet been out in a heavy rain but it is good in showers.)
3. Generous pockets
4. Good fit for me (I am a large medium person with a bit of gut and a medium fits comfortably with room for a sweater and vest.
5. The dry waxed cotton has a nice feel and when it is broken in it should be even better.
6. I expect it can be re-waxed if necessary, to restore water repellence.
I am very happy with the jacket at the sale price and if it had the improvements I suggest it would be excellent value at the regular price."
Review 12 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Truly American Style,
February 24, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I needed a new hunting jacket and did a lot of investigating. Frankly, I chose this one on price. I had owned Barbour before, but at half the price I decided to give this a try. I was not disappointed. This is a quality garment in every way. Heavy enough to resist briars and thorns, light enough not to restrict your movement when it's time to fire your shotgun. Also, this jacket is all-American in it's style and pairs well with the Missouri Breaks briar pants which I also own. Please note that it does run slightly big to allow for layering. One suggested improvement, make the opening to the rear game pocket a little bit bigger please. It's a lit snug for pheasants. In every other way it's a great jacket."
Review 13 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really like this jacket,
January 20, 2013
By: LTCorcoran
from Charlotte NC
"Received this jacket as a gift and I really like it. It is oversized for wearing sweatshirts, vests underneath definately go down a size from your regular size. The zipper could be better quality, but overall I'd recommend this as a good buy and value."
Review 14 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing jacket!,
January 2, 2013
By: BambooMIke
from The Midwest
""I bought this jacket because it reminded me of the jackets worn during the golden age of fly-fishing in America, by sure anglers as Edward R. Hewitt. There are plenty of pockets for fly boxes and gear. It is the perfect weight for early spring, fall and winter fishing. I can even bring home a trout in the game bag if I choose to. The only think missing on the jacket is a D-ring attached to the back for a net, I added one, though in all fairness the jacket was designed as a hunting jacket. Very well done Orvis!"
Review 15 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made and VERY roomy,
November 21, 2012
By: Alaska20
from Anchorage Alaska
"This coat is very well made, but the fit is very generous, so you can wear a LOT of layers underneath. The synthetic lining is very slippery, so the coat does not bind when you move around. I can wear mine over a down parka and it still fits fine, although I look like the Michelin tire man. If you plan to wear this over a shirt or light sweater most of the time, consider ordering one size smaller than your usual size."
Review 16 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zipper,
February 1, 2012
By: zipper10
"very good coat, 2 weeks old
in shop for a brass zipper
that works.
"
Review 17 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great, but runs large,
December 31, 2011
By: Pilatespro
from Philadelphia
"I bought this for my husband in his usual size, but he swam in it. We loved the style and quality, however."
Review 18 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Happy with the Coat,
December 11, 2011
By: johnbri
from Ridgefield, CT
"Ordered online without trying it on first. I usually won't do that with such an important outerwear purchase. However, I was very impressed with what arrived.
The build quality is very impressive! As I often shoot sporting clays, this coat has plenty of shoulder space which makes it very comfortable. All of the pockets are roomy and secure. My first day of sporting clays wearing the coat, the temp was 33-degrees and windy. It provided a great barrier to the wind and kept me warm and comfortable all day. Additionally it looks great in the field or out on the town.
"
Review 19 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb coat,
November 27, 2011
By: LaCrosse
"I purchased the button version of this coat a few years ago. I have hunted in rain, blizzards and wind and it kept me warm and dry. It a fine looking coat for casual wear after the hunt as well. I expect its rugged construction will serve me for years to come.You will not be disapointed."
Review 20 for Dry Waxed Canvas Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Coat,
September 30, 2011
By: MajorMac
from Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is my second season for this coat. I have the leather collar and metal zipper version. At first I thought it was too big but with a sweater or heavy wool shirt underneath it is just right. I bought the large and I am 180 lbs and 6'7". I have used it grouse hunting in the North Maine woods with no complaints. I do wish the game bag was a little bigger but grouse and woodcock work fine. I wanted shell loops in the big pockets so my wife had to alter it. It reminds me of my first small game coat hunting with my dad back in the 60's."