Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants

The original men's weathered-red cotton canvas pants came from Brittany—French sailors prized their rugged, breathable sunset-red pants and wore them until the sun bleached them to a handsome and well-worn shade. Brought to the New World aboard the clipper ships that crossed the Atlantic, these pants found their way to sailors in New England, who adopted the style, as well. Our Breton Reds faithfully re-create this faded shade in rugged, midweight 7-oz. cotton canvas with a crisp feel. Eighth-top pockets. Concealed right-side watch pocket. Left-rear button-through pocket. Men's cotton canvas pants in Breton red. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Review 1 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy and practical,
October 25, 2013
By: OzzieOi
"These are very easy to wear and add a bit of variety to a bloke's wardrobe, filling out the usual denim and beige chino options for casual wear. The coin fob pocket is a welcome touch."
Review 2 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another perfect product from Orvis,
September 20, 2012
By: PatrickWH
from Waterloo, Belgium
"Why is it that I am always happy to open a parcel from Orvis ?
Simply because the quality always exceeds my expectations.
Only at Orvis !
"
Review 3 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good rousers but rise could be longer,
September 10, 2012
By: Nellieandgeorge
from Virginia
"The trousers are quite good -- perhaps even better than those now offered at that island shop in New England, which are running short for someone with a long inseam. I would suggest a longer rise in the crotch."
Review 4 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted!,
September 6, 2012
By: IanD
from Coventry, UK
"Bought these iconic sailors' trousers to impress friends on a forthcomming sailing week in France but am delighted with them. Particularly comfortable in a sofy touch canvas. Incredibly hear wearing keep shape perfectly. Wear them for all casual occassions, not just at sea! So impressed, I have ordered a second pair!!"
Review 5 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like 'em.,
August 15, 2012
By: CillaB
from Johns Island, SC
"They look good, fit well, and are very comfortable. And that my friends, is a trio difficult to achieve in a pair of casual pants. I took off one star 'cause I'm an old guy and I think they were overpriced. But I will probably get a second pair in case they discontinue these."
Review 6 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best trousers for Years,
July 18, 2012
By: nanyuki
from Burford
"I have been looking for a pair of brick coloured trousers for years. Normally too heavy or too light in texture
These trousers are perfect and will full fill my leisure and every day use
"
Review 7 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just OK,
July 17, 2012
By: Paulus2012
from Norwich
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am very pleased with the trousers, great colour and feel. The quality finish is very poor. The accuracy of the seam sowing and button holes is very crude.
Considering the high price in the UK £80 I think it's very poor value. I only bought these because they were in a half price sale. I would never have paid the full cost for such shoddy workmanship.I have seen far superior finish on trousers half the price. More attention to detail Orvis, high prices should go with high quality.
Having said all that I do enjoy wearing them they are very comfortable.
"
Review 8 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
July 3, 2012
By: lakehousegirl
from Okoboji Ia.
"These pants fit true to size and
look fabulous on. Soft fabric nice cut.
"
Review 9 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
September 9, 2011
By: mgmenc
from Lincoln, NE
"Great pants, feel comfortable on first try on. i plan to order more of this type pants."
Review 10 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Deceptive Description,
August 31, 2011
By: Stanimal
from Cincinnati
"The pants should really include the description that they need to be tailored. I am 6”3” and they are much too long.
The color is different than the catalog or as depicted at orvis.com and having only worn once, the buttons are now loose."
Review 11 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fabric good...the buttons fell off,
October 13, 2010
By: GTMGRR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fabric is good and all of the buttons fell off after the first washing :(."
Review 12 for Breton Red Pure Cotton Canvas Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Summer "Reds",
July 20, 2010
By: RobertDR
from Boise, Idaho
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are the classic summer "reds" that smart people have been wearing for decades. The faded fabric is soft and very comfortable, and these "Breton Reds" are the same color and quality as the famous pants named after a small island off the coast of Massachusetts. Very pleased with my purchase."