Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

5 1/8 oz. 11', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly fishing rod for 8-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best. Helios Switch 11-foot, 8-weight - For big steelhead, low water Atlantic salmon, and striped bass off the beach, this great new rod offers extended reach, lightweight casting ease and terrific mending capability to give the everything you need in one rod to be successful for big game fish. You can cast this rod all day on a salmon river, or all night on a striper beach without fatigue. You can go from one-handed casting to two-handed casting to reach out a little further. Mending in a river or tidal current has never been easier. There's no doubt this rod will change the way you fish and enhance you chances for success.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bassmaster,
August 15, 2013
By: Easttowest
from Long Island Sound
"This rod has been great for fishing around long island sound. I have been using it both onshore as well as from a boat. The versatility is key."
Review 2 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios switch rod,
June 15, 2013
By: Grahamacourt
from Uk
"For some time I had been looking for a longer rod to chuck lures in saltwater for bass , I could see the advantage of longer rods and thought I would give switch rods a go although I had previously used another manufacturers switch rod and wasn't impressed ! The Helios was a great choice ! Light and a joy to use , I am using it for overhead and switch type casts and just love the relaxed casting and ease of use , I am sure I shall grow to love it even more with time and will ,when proficient , get even more enjoyment from using it .give up single handed rods for heavier applications and do yourself a favour and buy one now !"
Review 3 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome switch rod.,
November 29, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought an Orvis Helios Switch rod for a Steelhead fishing trip. I match the rod up with a Orvis Mirage IV reel and fly line. I found the rod to be easy to cast and very light. The Switch rod is very light with a lot of back bone to land some big fish. Worth the money to the beginner and seasoned fly fisher. Give it a try!"
Review 4 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios Switch 8wt for Kings!,
September 26, 2012
By: NEtracker
from MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I picked this rod up on a recommendation from a friend, & after seeing his setup. I mated the rod with my 2009 Battenkill Lg Arbor V & Orvis switch line. The rod was outstanding for fighting big Salmon River Kings! The rod has lots of backbone & easy to cast All Day! Many fish landed were in the 20-28 lb range. A fishing buddy had the Helios/Mirage V setup & landed a 33+ pound King. (Sept. 2012 trip) Highly recommend the rod for kings, cohos, & others."
Review 5 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Rod,
August 20, 2012
By: GearBox84
from Pa
"I recenty purchased the Helios Switch Rod 8wt Outfit before my recent trip to Alaska. It is an amazing rod and performed better than i ever could have expected. It handled the whole range of fish we caught from small rainbows to 45 pound king samlon with no problem. It was light in hand and i was able to fish hard for 8 hours a day for 10 days in a row with out having a sore arm. I was able to catch the grand slam of pacific salmon in one day on this rod and would like to thank orvis for building such a great rod. The new mirage reel was a great help on the bigger fish and has a great drag system. I was highly impressed with the whole package."
Review 6 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Northwest Coastal Rivers,
February 15, 2012
By: SteelheadKirk
from Portland, Or
"I can think of no finer Steelhead rod for fishing the coastal rivers of Oregon, Washington and Northern California. Its roll casting and spey casting abilities are very well suited for the brushy banks and boldery swift rivers; meaning I don’t have to wade out very far, in the cold dangerous currents, to hit my targets. And the Recoil guides relieve me of one more worry when navigating the woody trails. I Love this Rod!"
Review 7 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod!,
February 1, 2012
By: outfitter30
"I bought this rod to fish the Lake Ontario tribs, and it didn't disappoint. The extra lenght was great for nymphing and let me use lighter tippet. It is fun to fish with."
Review 8 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the best!,
October 27, 2011
By: Incrediblehook
from Baldwin, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought a Helios 10' 7wt for fall steelhead egging and then somone showed me how to use a switch rod and right away I knew I had to get a Helios 11' 8wt. On the first cast I could tell tell that this rod would be the last switch rod I would have to buy, it was perfect. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 9 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Gun for Big Fish,
September 8, 2011
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this rod last winter as a Steelhead/Striper/Salmon rod. First used it for Steelhead in the late winter. No fish on, but learned to spey cast swinging large wets on a Skagit line with a sink tip. Big heavy lines. Might have preferred another two feet of length like I would get with a Spey rod but the 11 footer got the job done (though I did have to duck a few times when that heavy sink tip had a mind of its own).
Next I used this rod in the spring to cast large streamers to Stripers with the Orvis Switch line. Great casting rod and the line was particularly effective at turning over a stiff leader and a large fly.
Lastly, I took the rod to Alaska fishing for huge Rainbows on the Kvichak River. Casting heavy nymph rigs was the key there -- flesh flies and egg patterns. Cast the rod all day for seven days from the boat. Little fatigue -- light rod -- and great casting. The switch line was fantastic in getting the fly out there. Also did some dry fishing -- mouse flies -- and roll casting on tundra ponds was a joy. The switch line has the body to shoot a lot of line when there's no back cast room.
Overall, this rod has exceeded expectations. I rarely used my 9 foot rod anymore."
Review 10 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Use on the surf,
May 3, 2011
By: Mahi
from Tenafly,NJ enjoy fishing,kayaking and kayakfishing
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first two handed rod. I use it primarily in the surf off the Jersey shore for stripers. I was told it improves distance. It does. However, with more line out ,you need better line management. a line that gets tangled in the guides does not give you much distance. Very important to use a line that is less prone to tangling and it is vital to learn good line management to fully utilize this rod. If the line management issue is solved it is a great rod.
Not a rod to use on the jetty. Last year caught a fish, trying to land it fell off the jetty and broke the rod. It was a loaner rod that Orvis had sent me to go on vacation with while they fixed my rod. Thank god it was an Orvis.
Love to try the 10 wt with some huge groceries."
Review 11 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go for it,
February 11, 2010
By: berkshiremike
from Ma
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"....why not treat yourself and get one of these amazing rods."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Rod Floats,
January 18, 2010
By: SpeyBoy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The lightest best casting switch rod I have ever had the pleasure to cast. I'm an avid steelheader and salmon fisher and I can't believe how well this rod casts. I also can't believe how light this rod is. It is a powerful tool that will be your go to rod for great lakes steelhead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Great Lakes Steelhead Stick!,
January 6, 2010
By: Schultzy
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Helios 118-4 is now my go to stick for Fall & Winter steelhead. This rod can do everything. No matter if I'm swinging large streamers on sink tips or indicator fishing with a steelhead taper floater.
Heck it even makes a good surf rod!
Cast great... Mends great... Feels great!"
Review 14 for Helios™ Switch 8-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When they said the strongest... they weren't lying,
August 2, 2009
By: adventurebound
from Birmingham, AL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you've ever fished steelhead then you know what you're up against. Quick, clean, and strong, this rod will handle the job every time."