Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Floatant Pack

Keep two fly-fishing floatants on hand in one handy pack. Swivel clip attaches quickly and securely to your vest. Includes one container each Orvis gel and powder floatant. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 22(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Floatant Pack
Review 1 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 23, 2014
By: Bob1961
"I have used several brands and this one is better than most."
Review 2 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy,
May 13, 2013
By: Brookies1461
from PA
"This combo saves the potential of dropping your flotant in the water. Especially in the heat of a hatch. Used this past weekend on Spring Creek during a short lived hatch. I think it allowed me to catch a few more."
Review 3 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
May 4, 2013
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"The pack holds the floatant at an easy to use spot on my sling pack. It is so easy to use and now i don't have to sling my pack around and open the sling pack."
Review 4 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Made easier!,
December 29, 2012
By: Dondo
from Hailey, Idaho
"The Orvis Floatant Caddy has made my life on our fishing streams much simpler and enjoyable. Prior to my aquiring this great device I had my fly floatant hanging on my vest but the container of Shake-n-Flote in a vest pocket-usually along with other "stuff". After catching a fish this necessitated digging in the pocket, extracting the container, sometimes pulling other items out with it (and often into the water!), then again replacing it in the pocket after dressing the fly.
This Caddy, holding both Hi Flote and Shake -n-Flote together on the outside of my fishing vest is the greatst thing to come along since canned beer! No serious fly fisher should be without one.
"
Review 5 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: Grif
from Pennsylvania
"provides a great tool for dressing your flies, was given one as a gift and needed to replace it"
Review 6 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great accessory,
March 14, 2012
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I'm a minimalist streamside so trust me when I tell you I don't buy little doodads lightly. After keeping floatant gel and powders in my packs and unzipping, finding, using and putting away time after time I finally wised up. When dry fly fishing starts I take this out of my pack and clip it on... it's that simple. It isn't a necessity but I wouldn't grab my dry flies without grabbing this too. Great product!"
Review 7 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 28, 2012
By: Riverraider
from Eau Claire, WI
"Great Product! Very durable with a strong clip. Having both floatants on the same hook is awesome."
Review 8 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
could be made better,
February 13, 2012
By: WoodyinSTL
from St. Louis
"The nylon is a little heavier than i would like it to be. I think an aluminum carrier would be better. Also, the thick plastic clip at the top doesn't mesh well with with either the standard Orvis zingers or the magnetic release.
I will modify this caddy for my next trip to make it more useful, as the overall design is great."
Review 9 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORKS GREAT AND LOOKS EVEN BETTER,
February 7, 2012
By: TROUTT
from CLEVELAND TN
"ITS FROM ORVIS-WHAT ELSE CAN YOU SAY!
QUALITY-STYLE AND FUNCTION.
"
Review 10 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
get this if you fish with dry flies,
October 25, 2011
By: Don2325
from Colorado
"great combo for fishing with dry flies as both the floatant and the desicant are together.
I do wish the desicant was about half the size that it is."
Review 11 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very handy caddy,
October 23, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I have always kept floatant gel and powder in my vest, but thought I'd give this caddy a try, since Orvis had it on sale with the gel and powder included.
It is a real time saver when you're casting and can just reach down to recoat your dry flies, rather than having too pull it out of a pocket. Very handy and it has become a permanent fixture on my vest."
Review 12 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This thing is huge!,
October 21, 2011
By: DrJE
from Stratford, CT
"I've used the flotant and desicant before and was happy to see an inexpensive device that would allow me to keep them at hand, but I wasn't prepared for the size of the thing. Hanging from the upper d-ring, it extends almost to the bottom of my vest. Look carefully at the photo before deciding. I ended up removing it and stowing the containers in pockets as before."
Review 13 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide suggested,
October 21, 2011
By: TD54
"Guide on Silver Creek in Idaho suggested multiple styles of dry fly floatants. Makes a huge difference in slow water and fast."
Review 14 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Might be better.,
July 22, 2011
By: FishArtGuy
from Maryland
"This might be better at keeping the shaker in. Like several other people, I Iost the shake floatant within several fishing trips. However, I made a simple fix to the original design. I glued a velcro pad to the bottom of the bottle and the strap (bottom strap on original holder) this secures the bottle in place and prevents it from accidently leaping out of the holder."
Review 15 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Big,
May 10, 2011
By: JohnJA
from California
"Putting both floatant bottles in the same holder seemed like a great idea, but it just didn't work for me. I like the idea of having both bottles hanging off my vest, but the result is just a little too heavy and definitely too long. I tried it for a couple of days, and then went back to keeping the shake in my vest.
I didn't experience the same issue with the dry floatant falling out of the vest that other reviewers described. But, after I read the other reviews and took another look at the holder, I realized that the desiccant is not very secure. The suggestion to use a small cable tie to secure the bottle would likely work very well.
I can't recommend the product, but maybe as I switch over to a sling pack, it will work better."
Review 16 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Close, but not Perfect,
January 26, 2011
By: DRIFTLESS
from Dousman, WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Conceptually, this is a great product. Having both a bottle of desiccant and a tube of floatant available in a pack that can be conveniently clipped to a D-ring or loop on your vest, neck lanyard, waders, or pack is a very handy concept indeed. In this regards, this product is a winner, and gets 5 stars.
However, this product, and its previous version, has a flaw that will result in losing the desiccant, for which this product gets only 1 star. The elastic loop that is supposed to retain the desiccant bottle doesn’t retain the bottle securely. Streamside or field encounters with brush, trees, grass, your jacket, or a simple swipe from your hand will disengage the desiccant bottle, and you’ve lost your desiccant.
A simple home “nudge test”, nudging the bottle sideways, will reveal what is very likely to happen in the field – the bottle will tilt, and begin to pull out from underneath the loop. This is a trait that is present on this new version as well as the original version – I know because I lost 3 bottles of desiccant with the original version, and this version shows the same tendencies.
Oddly, there is a circumferential bead molded on the desiccant bottle above the elastic band – I don’t know the purpose for this feature, but if it was more pronounced, and relocated below the elastic loop, it might improve retention of the desiccant bottle. Hopefully, as another reviewer mentioned, this lost bottle failure mode gets addressed with design changes, because this Floatant Pack concept deserves better execution.
In the mean time, I suggest the following to all users of this version and its predecessor: Using a safety wire pliers and stainless safety wire, securely clamp the webbing and desiccant bottle together above the bead on the bottle. Or, just use a simple, black cable tie to do the same. The cable tie method is something that anyone can do, and might even be an effective production fix – just make sure that the ends of the wire are bent over, or end of the cable tie is clipped flush, to avoid making a nasty little “sharp edged weapon”.
I believe that this simple fix is something that anyone can perform, and will make this Orvis Floatant Pack a five star winner.
Regards – see you streamside with all of your Orvis gear, wet lines, and all happy, and smiling"
Review 17 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good idea, but not there yet,
August 11, 2010
By: HafCanadian
from Clackamas, OR
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I've had another brand's version of this device for 20 years, and the gel bottle falls out regularly unless a cord is tied around its neck. I can see where the Orvis is a vast improvement in that regard, but its dessicant/floatant bottle strap on top isn't broad enough to keep that from falling out. I sure wish someone would get this device engineered right, because the basic idea is great."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and for use in future product refinements. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all their purchases.
Review 18 for Floatant Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Idea, Flawed Design,
July 10, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I like having both of these products on one hook, however, the top band doesn't hold the Shake-N-Float in place very well. It has fallen out on several occassions, and I am always fortunate to grab it before it drifts down river."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and for use in future product refinements. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all their purchases.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Floatant Pack
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4