Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Suspension System Vest

Save your back and lighten the load with the most innovative vest made. Backpack strap technology redistributes the weight of ammo, birds, and gear to keep weight balanced, and off your lower back. That means you hunt with less strain and more comfort, and can hunt longer. A new design with less fabric also lightens the load and lets you be more agile. Blaze orange down most of the front and at the back keeps you visible to other hunters, even in thick cover. Bellows pockets with shell loops and internal divider. Front-loading, lined game bag opens for easy cleaning and emptying. Rear storage bag. Water bottle holders. Car key clip. In khaki/blaze. Imported.Sizes: M/L, XL/XXL.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Suspension System Vest
Review 1 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
feels great!,
October 14, 2014
By: phh4
from Laramie, WY
"I like the adjustability. Also has plenty of well organized storage and carrying space."
Review 2 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit for Prupose,
October 13, 2014
By: Hoggie
"If you are hunting this vest is the only way to go. Light weight for comfort and adjustable to fit any person."
Review 3 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect vest,
September 28, 2014
By: MountainMikeH
"I just got back from hunting sharpies in Montana. Hot weather and this vest was perfect. Was able to easily access shells for reloads, carry plenty of water for hot dogs and myself. Vest has nice shoulder straps that did not interfere with mounting of gun. Light weight and comfortable. What else do you need?!"
Review 4 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
July 25, 2014
By: Stev17
"This is an excellent vest, I have used it now for 4-5 years hunting pheasants in South Dakota. It is light, easily adjustable and stands up to the tough brush I walk through. The fabric is strong, I load the pockets up with 1-2 boxes of shells in the morning and have never had anything tear. i also walk around with 1-2 birds in the back pocket which has held up fine."
Review 5 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vest,
December 31, 2013
By: SteelheadMaster
from Upstate NY
"Adjustable, comfortable and works with any amount of layers."
Review 6 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
even better than before,
December 28, 2013
By: nwcthunter
from Litchfield, CT
"I got this new vest for Christmas. Asked for it after realizing I had left a chucker in my previous Bird-Lite vest
for about a month! This vest is much better than the earlier version. The back pocket is better thought out and the game pocket is bigger and better and easier to access when hunting. Still great to wear and lightens the load.
"
Review 7 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This vest is top notch!,
November 4, 2013
By: Arthur3
"Just used it for the first time, carried 4 pheasants around in it for a couple hours, total comfort and lots of room for everything you need to carry."
Review 8 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Orvis, still worth it?,
October 12, 2013
By: Birdchaser
from Elk River, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have know Orvis for having the best stuff when it comes to the outdoors. High quality is why I pay the high prices, but it seems that this deal is changing. The Bird n Lite strap vest I received is made of flimsy fabric and the orange pockets are especially flimsy. It felt similar to the fabric my .99 cent reusable grocery bags are made of. The design is pretty good, I thought maybe I could get over this thin fabric, but when I began to look closer at the stitching It was loosely stitched and the thin fabric did not hold the thread well. This area was in the corners of the orange bag on the back and the orange bags on the front. Wearing the vest felt alright and if it weren't for this flimsy fabric and loose stitching it would probably be a pretty good item. The velcro and floppy material make the front pockets hard to use. Overall it left me with the impression that these pockets would tear out after a few uses and in brush they would likely get shredded. The cost of this item and the quality are severely out of balance and after this purchase I'm wandering, is Orvis still worth it?"
Review 9 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Idea,
February 14, 2013
By: SunCityScott
from Arizona
"Good design, very comfortable, BUT fabric was too lite or thin for field use. Shoulder straps need clips for binoculars (vest could double as binocular harness). Orange is unnecessay..greens, tans, taupe better for more uses. Twik this product and you got a great field vest."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mack-Daddy of Hunting Vest,
November 12, 2012
By: ringnecknut
from Saint Cloud, MN
"If you are an all day bird hunter, this is the only vest to own. After 7 hours in the field and 5-6 miles of walking, it feels as good as when you put it on in the morning. Great support, little or no stess on the shoulders and back, straps do not slid down, plenty of storage compartments and it looks great."
Review 11 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
May 23, 2012
By: CJApplewood
from Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This suspension vest is excellent. Over the last year and a half I have worn the vest practically every weekend for either training or hunting and it looks as good as new. My favorite feature is likely the water bottle holders - the vest can hold two good sized water bottles securely. The game pouch can also hold the daily limit of pheasants! The suspension vest is perfect because it can be worn over a short sleeved shirt or hunting jacket, with many different options to adjust the fit."
Review 12 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bird N' Lite,
April 11, 2012
By: Jovo
from Suburban Chicago
"Great vest! Sizing runs large, however this thing has adjustment straps all over the place. Take time and try this vest on with your hunting jacket / Clothing on."
Review 13 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
December 31, 2011
By: Shotgunhunter
"I purchased this vest to support my upland bird hunting. Quite a good vest with pockets and space with load distribution.
Purchased one size bigger to fit over my jacket. Worked very well and adjustability is enough that I can wear without a jacket as well.
Works very well. The vest itself does feel heavy, but with the carry strap around your waist, you do not feel the weight.
The bird pocket is quite big with enough space. The pocket does not seem to open all the way to facilitate easy cleaning, but as it is big thus getting in to clean is fairly easy.
Would recommend this product to a buyer requiring enough space for carry birds and equipment.
Thanks"
Review 14 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
October 5, 2011
By: Uplander62
from Calgary
"Once you get everything adjusted it's nice to hunt in.
A few things I found were that it's a little hotter to hunt in then my old Orvis strap vest. The front pockets are not great when you have them loaded with shells and the hook and loop closers can be though to get in with one hand. I also found that when bringing the gun up it would catch on the bottom of padded strap if you didn't have it pulled tight.
But with water and birds in the back it's very nice to wear while hunting."
Review 15 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
February 18, 2011
By: Cull
from Reston, Va
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I finally got around to replacing my standard hunting vest with a suspension system vest. I used it for 2 weeks in January hunting upland game and it met or exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it to others."
Review 16 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last Best you will need to buy!,
February 5, 2011
By: CarolinaBirdHunter
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Although I started upland hunting <2 yrs ago, I have tried close to 1/2 dozen vests and can say that this one has it all. Roomy game pouch with front load capability, good size pocket for water bladder and most importantly the back support system which really helps when carrying a heavy game bag on a long days hunt. Excellent overall quality. Would love to see deeper water bottle pockets as my drink as fallen out a time or two while picking up birds."
Review 17 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!,
February 16, 2010
By: Karl
from Winter Haven, FL.
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Finally a vest that does it all! This is the vest that I have been looking for the last 20 years. First and foremost it is extremly comfortable. It carries plenty of shells, water for me and the dogs , e-collar transmitter and room to spare for any and all things needed for a great day of hunting. It is also extremely durable and sheds brairs with ease. Highly reccomended!"
Review 18 for Suspension System Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suspension Vest,
December 14, 2009
By: Vestman
from San Diego CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just completed a Quail hunting trip with the Bird and Light Vest. Over all good confortable fit. I have a GSP that drinks a lot of water and the bottle holders a little too short for a 24oz bottle. When I bent over they fell out. Holders need to be at least another 1" to 2" taller. I needed a D ring or strap to hold my ecollar transmitter stiched just under the sholder pad. One on each side would be great. The shoulder pads were a great platform forming a shooting pocket and recoil absorbtion. Need more shell loops if possible, May be six on each side or a fold out shell loop system that holds 12 like the browinging vests. The more D rings or attacement points the better for holding small gear like a coolpix camera. Overall excellent design!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Suspension System Vest
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2