Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!

Take old-school comfort, timeless style, and long wear out on the trail. These men's hiking boots, made exclusively for Orvis by Merrell®, are crafted in Italy from highly water-resistant 4mm-thick Pittards® leather with an all-leather bellows tongue. Built for a lifetime of hiking—even with a heavy pack—these boots feature an antimicrobial knit lining and dual-density footbed with microporous rubber midsole. High-traction Trek rubber Vibram® lug outsole. Men's Merrell hiking boots in brown. Italy. Whole and half sizes: 8-11½, 12, 13. 3 lbs., 12 oz. in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Review 1 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built to Last A Lifetime,
March 11, 2013
By: Jeffroski
from Moscow, ID
"I've been wearing my new boots for a week and I love them. They are built to last and it will take a while to break them in. I'm sure once they are broken in they will be the most comfortable shoes you can wear - just like a pair of combat boots."
Review 2 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifetime Boot,
December 29, 2012
By: MasoniBaloni
from Washington, D.C.
"I bought this boot as the last hiking boot I will ever buy. (I'm 36 and expect to live to 100.) I think I could possibly, if I quit my job and devoted my entire life to hiking, wear this boot out. But I doubt it because it is so rugged. That being said, it is taking a little bit of time to break in. I definitely recommend breaking these in slowly, increasing your distance gradually. After a month, I can walk five miles in them. I think they are broken in now and I could actually hike in them now and for the next 50 years. They are broken in specifically for my feet and so are almost custom hiking boots. They are also beautiful, I wear them around town (DC) and get quite a few envious stares. I bet all these yuppies wish they could free their tired toes from their tasseled loafers and city streets ..."
Review 3 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome, rugged, and comfortable.,
October 9, 2012
By: sambam
from Chicago, IL
"These boots are very good looking. They are as at home on the city streets as they are on the trail. I had actually tried on Merrell Wilderness in black (not the Orvis special edition) before I ordered so I could figure out my size, and I must say, the Orvis edition is much nicer. The leather is softer and more supple, making the boot comfortable right off the bat. I can't speak to the technical capabilities of the boot just yet, because I have only worn them around town, but they look and feel bombproof, so I imagine they will be able to handle whatever I can throw at them."
Review 4 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots,
January 24, 2012
By: EagleTroutBum
from Eagle, CO
"Love the look and feel of these boots. Despite reading other reviews, will certainly take some time to break in but will be well worth it. Also run a bit big, would recommend a 1/2 size down. Very confident they'll last a lifetime!"
Review 5 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots,
November 10, 2011
By: CJJackson
"This is an awesome hiking boot!! Quality and comfort are exceptional. I took them out of the box and went for a 10 mile hike. They were a bit stiff at first but loosened up pretty quickly. They are a tad on the heavy side, but rugged and capable of much abuse. And the look is unbeatable. This boot blends the classic look with new technologies seamlessly. I'm actually thinking of buying another pair, and would definitely recommend the boot to others. As a caution, I will add that new technologies have been developed for a reason. Newer boots are lighter and, in my experience, can provide a slightly better fit and enhanced cushion and comfort over the long haul. But, personally, I'd rather forgo a little comfort and have an awesome looking, bomb proof boot I can't wait to put on."
Review 6 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not the 70's anymore,
September 16, 2011
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"Had a pair of boots that looked like these in the 70's. It is was most hiker wore and they were great...if you didn't walk too far. The old ones hurt your feet, but at least your feet looked good with those red-laces.
These boots bring back a lot of those old memories, but are extremely comfortable. My feet are now a good bit older and could not stand up to the abuse of the old boots so I was thrilled to see Merrell offer these.....great old look with one of the best hiking boot makers around."
Review 7 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Boots.,
August 12, 2011
By: Longshot
from Broken Arrow, OK
"I have only had these boots for a couple of weeks, but was pleased with their quality as soon as I got them out of the box and slipped them on. I wear a size 11, and they fit almost perfectly. Leather boots need to be properly broken in, but I could feel the leather start conforming to my foot just wearing them around the house and yard almost immediately. They will need a leather waterproofing agent this winter, but that's to be expected. Merrell makes boots like this, but you can't get these boots made with this good looking brown leather anywhere but Orvis. You could get cheaper boots, that will start to get scuffed pretty quickly, or you can get this high quality pair, take care of them, and use them for a decade or more. I'm looking forward to using these boots for many years!"
Review 8 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buy'em,
January 27, 2011
By: bootguy
from Macomb, IL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was pretty ambivalent towards these boots for the first week. They looked weird and weren't overly comfortable.That's to be expected though. Legitimate leather hiking boots need a bit of time to break-in and conform to your foot. Now I'm at the end of week two and I am pleased. These boots look and feel awesome. I've been purposely walking in snow to see how the hold up and they have. I experience no leaking and the vibram soles have provided with plenty of traction. If you're thinking about purchasing these bad boys, do it.
A little of advice though: If you're going to wear a $300 pair of boots, you have to buy a serious hiking sock. Your feet will roast if you wear regular ole gym socks. Fork out the cash and get some Smartwool hiking socks. They add extra comfort and keep your feet warm without making them sweat.
"
Review 9 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heirloom Quality,
October 1, 2010
By: RBUSFP
from South Bend, IN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased a pair of these boots in 1995. Recently, I had them repaired, resoled, and refinished for $65. They are good to go for another 15 years. Buy a pair today!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These boots LOOK great but...,
April 12, 2010
By: jfreedman
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I saw these boots and loved the design. I live in Boston and am from Maine so I get a lot of wear out of my hiking boots. Great boots until I took them out in the wet weather. They leaked! Hiking boots that can’t keep water out at all for this price?! It was more than I could deal with and I returned them. I know Orvis doesn’t say they are waterproof…but my feet were wet 5 minutes after leaving the house in the wet snow. Too bad because they looked great!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the boots failed to meet expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these concerns. Our goal is to make sure these boots are absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 11 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots Ever,
February 7, 2010
By: Naugy
from NY,NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Better than expected. Sturdy Boots, runs true to size."
Review 12 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal hiking boot,
February 5, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Brooklyn, New York
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wonderful leather, great fit. Other boots of similar quality cost more, and aren't as good-looking. The amount of support is perfect - not too stiff, and not loose. No complaints, whatsoever, except that the boots seems no longer to be available! I'm glad I got a pair when they were in stock, and I hope Orvis will stock them again."
Review 13 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best boots ever,
February 4, 2010
By: czechboy
from Brookings, Oregon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rock solid, yet breatheable nubuck, pebbled to make it more supple. Very supportive. I couldn't be happier with these boots. They have all the advantages of the 1980s vintage Asolo Yukons, with the flexibility and comfort of a lighter boot. What a refreshibng change from all the junk that calls itself "hiking boots" nowadays."
Review 14 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Boots,
January 28, 2010
By: WarEagle
from Roswell, Georgia
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These boots reflect the simplicity that all great products have. They are made od excellent leather and are lighter on your feet than you may think. Great attention to detail is obvious. I plan on using these for many, many years and they should only improve with age. Thanks Orvis for offering these throwback hiking boots. They would be impossible to find anywhwere else."
Review 15 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old school comfort and style.,
January 13, 2010
By: Ash1
from New York, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While I've only worn these a short time, I'm very happy with the fit and sturdy construction. I also own a pair of Merrel Wilderness boots (like these but in black) and I'm on my forth resole. You'll wear out three pairs of modern tech boots before you'd even consider retiring these, so they are definitely worth the money. Plus, synthetics never really conform to the shape of your feet. Get a pair- you'll be doing your feet and ankles a favor."
Review 16 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged, Comfortable, Classic.,
October 14, 2009
By: PoleBrookWulff
from Adirondacks
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've worn these for the last two months and couldn't be happier with the performance. Solid construction, high quality materials, and nice leather(not as glossy as shown in the picture). They repel water, mud, and anything else you can throw at them. They're worth the $225!"
Review 17 for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
October 7, 2009
By: Christofer
from New York, NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"They are a little lighter in color than depicted but other than that they are exactly as shown. I found they ran a little big, no doubt to compensate for large wool socks. If you use a smartwool or other thinner sock for alpine hiking then you may want to get a half size smaller or a full size for a tighter fit."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Merrell Vintage Alpine Hiking Boots—an Orvis Exclusive!
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1