Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Little Red Knot Book

Fly fishing knot book by Harry Nilsson. Without strong knot tying all your expensive fly-fishing gear and fishing efforts are futile. The Little Red Knot Book, is an illustrated pocket guide book that includes all the knots you need to know. This 72-page fly fishing book contains instructions and diagrams on how to tie over 50 of the best fishing knots known to man.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Little Red Knot Book
Review 1 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 17, 2014
By: Fisherkoenig
from Driftless Midwest
"I was a little concerned purchasing this book, since knot books can become difficult to follow. To my relief, the drawings are pretty easy to follow and the description of the knot is useful in telling what situations it is best used in. Although I have not used any "in action" yet, I think this will prove to be a good book. The only reason it did not get five stars is because I cannot speak to how well the knots hold up against a fish."
Review 2 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2014
By: 075692d
"between the little red book and the knot tying tool I'm set."
Review 3 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Trust me - keep this in your vest or on your drift boat. It's great to have handy, and a helpful tool to give to your first time fly fishing guests."
Review 4 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Book,
September 20, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Little Red Fishing Knot Book by Harry Nilsson deftly describes how to tie all the knots that I use in fly and spin fishing. I keep this book in my vest year-round, and have given several as gifts to new anglers."
Review 5 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful Tool,
February 7, 2013
By: Red717
from New Brunswick, Canada
"I will practice these knots during the winter months & keep this book in my fishing vest throughout fishing season."
Review 6 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep it handy,
January 28, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"Bought this book when I first started into fly fishing and it has paid off time and time again. This is a great reference for anglers of any age and type (fly, spin, baitcaster). This diagrams are great. The best part is that the book fits great into any fly vest for easy reference on the river."
Review 7 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for those new to the sport,
January 24, 2013
By: JohnMc28
from Leesburg, Va
"Being new to the sport, it makes a great guide of knots to practice and learn to get it right!"
Review 8 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool on the water,
December 20, 2012
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I've had a tough time learning and then remembering all the different knots in fly fishing. This little book fits neatly in my vest and comes out anytime I'm not sure what to do. The group of dads that I go fishing with has recently added another new recruit. He now uses this book too. It has all the knots and easy to understand directions and drawings. It's by far the simplest solution I've found for learning to tie knots the right way. Don't hit the river without it!"
Review 9 for The Little Red Knot Book
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep this in your vest,
October 27, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have lost way too many fish to bad knots. This is a great little reference book to keep in your pocket. There are occassioins when I don't get on the river for 6 to 8 month stretches, and this book helps me quickly remember some of the better knots."