Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt

Year in and year out, the most popular travel shirt we sell. You'll never be cooler than in this lightweight shirt made of Drylite™. Its special nylon/polyester blend is soft, wicks moisture, and the construction sports vents to allow air circulation. Adjustable three-position sun collar and 30+ UPF for UV protection. Pleated bellows pockets. Hidden security zip pocket. Handy roll-up sleeve tabs and utility tab. Nylon/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Review 1 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mens travel shirt,
July 17, 2014
By: Gibsoncrt
from East Greenwich, RI
"I bought this shirt for an October trip to Italy and Israel. This will be a perfect shirt to travel in any climate."
Review 2 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Sleeve Fishing Shirt,
January 16, 2014
By: WoodyL
"the shirt was purchased to use in the Caribbean; it worked out just fine. The garment is very well made along with the fabric being soft to touch. the sleeve straps work well if you want to wear the sleeves rolled up. the pocket with the zipper is a good feature while the other pocket opens too easy when you bend over. Look forward to using it again on future fishing excursions."
Review 3 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fishing shirt,
January 16, 2014
By: DhWa
"The sleeves were adequate length. There was generous shirt tail."
Review 4 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing shirt,
December 24, 2013
By: Gpants
from Saratoga NY
"Great to wear outdoors and on the go. It washes nice as well."
Review 5 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too Large,
August 12, 2013
By: Thudriver
from St. Louis, MO
"I like this shirt but I should have ordered one size smaller. They run large."
Review 6 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
December 31, 2012
By: Zinman
from Chapel Hill, NC
"I am addicted to double pockets and this shirt is a slightly cooler version of the other Ex Officio models. I love the comfort and the uses in multiple climates that these shirts provide. Would like to see this model in dark blue,"
Review 7 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go Fishing,
October 22, 2012
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"When my wife told me I needed a new fishing shirt I turned to Orvis for a replacement. This shirt is light weight with adequate pocket space for fishing, more importantly my wife is happy to be seen with me wearing it."
Review 8 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest shirt,
July 25, 2012
By: keosf
from Port Washington, Wi
"We have traveled literally around the world and this shirt or ones like it have always been in our suitcases. We wore them on our daughter's ECOtour in Toluk, Indonesia. It was 100 degrees and we were motoring down the river. We wore the shirt to ward off Malaria mosquitoes and the sun at the equator. Our skin was protected with the SPF 30. These also come in white which we also have. We have dressed them up and worn then to cover up in temples in Thailand and churches in Venice. They are a quick wash in sinks with a little soap and dry in a short while to be worn again. They also have hidden pockets which hide passports and money. If you aren't going around the world, they are a must for art fairs during the summer."
Review 9 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
synthetics vs cotton,
May 16, 2012
By: mikedg
"This is an excellent shirt, light weight, easy to care for and the like. BUT, the trade off is the absence of cotton. Cotton is more absorbent,more hardy and seems to hold up better than the synthetics. Most of all the cotton "feels" natural, because it is."
Review 10 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice shirt,
May 14, 2012
By: gadmoe
"i already own a few other exofficio shirts that i use for fishing and occasionally wear out to casual dinners and the like and i needed a new one. I never had issues with any of the shirts including this one as they are very comfortable with vented back, adjustable collar, rollup sleeve tabs and other features . This served me well as the others on my last fishing trip"
Review 11 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too flimsy to roll sleeves easily,
August 31, 2011
By: coolea
from Roanoke, Va.
"The shirt is very light and airy, and this makes for a good long-sleeved summer shirt..
Unfortunately it is just about impossible to roll up the sleeves with a neat fold.
I suppose this is a function of the fabric's weight."
Review 12 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
December 21, 2010
By: mobjackbaycapt
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I reviewed all of the technical shirts and decided on the ExOfficio to purchase. I bought one and liked it so much that I then bought 3 more since they were on sale. I wore the first shirt on a trip to Chicago to attend a Cubs game with my daughter, it was very comfortable in the August weather. All of the shirt design features and fabric make it a winner."
Review 13 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight travel shirt,
October 14, 2010
By: Troutn2
from Raleigh, NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have 3 regular Air Strip shirts. When I saw the lite version, I ordered one. The fabric is very light, soft and comfortable. Time will tell if it "pills" like one reviewer experienced. So far it is every bit as nice as the other Ex Officio's and was a pleasure to wear on a recent trip to Ireland. It dries quickly whether one is caught in a rain shower or laundering the shirt."
Review 14 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt,
October 14, 2010
By: ISHI
from Berkley, Mi
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This shirt is very comfortable, has the typical ExOfficio quality that you expect. Nice and light weight with plenty of ventilation for those hot summer days. Looks good enough to wear to work also."
Review 15 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the materia,
October 8, 2010
By: WARaven
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I think the sizing is off. I wear a M. and it is large for a M"
Review 16 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 6, 2010
By: ColoradoKENO
from Lone Tree, Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is actually the 2nd one of these shirts I have purchased! I wear it fishing from the rocky mountains down to costa rica! perfect shirt and it looks good!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of Ex Officio's Best Shirts!,
July 10, 2009
By: OrangeCrush
from Farmington Hills, MI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As the previous reviewer stated, the 1 star negative review for this shirt is in fact incorrect. This is not the Lite version of the Air Strip Shirt. He is referring to the separate "Lite" version of this shirt recently released by Ex Officio so while his review may in fact be correct, its simply in the wrong place and may in fact end up misinforming people regarding this version of the shirt. Orvis should either remove that review or move it over to the Air Strip Lite shirt page, if it still exists.
I absolutely LOVE field shirts. I easily own over 50 of them and am constantly buying more. While I do not buy exclusively from any one company, Ex Officio is easily one of my favorite and makes up a large percentage of the shirts that I have. The Air Strip shirts are fantastic shirts. They are super light, dry extremely fast, do not wrinkle easily and of course they look amazing. One of the best things about this particular shirt is the absolutely mind boggling number of colors available and most of them are great colors. In fact I have such a hard time deciding which colors to get that I wind up buying a bunch of them which is probably why I have so many of these shirts in my closet.
There are now a lot of options out there in regards to these types of shirts, more than I have ever seen before, and the Air Strip shirt is certainly amongst the best of the pack. If your doing any sort of outdoor activity, traveling or even just going out for a night on the town, the Air Strip shirt is certainly one of your better options available.
Bottom line - Its one of Ex Officio's best shirts available and that is really saying something as Ex Officio know how to make amazing shirts and have quite a few of them in their current lineup. Highly recommended!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Fishing and Outdoor Shirt,
June 2, 2008
By: Luv2Fly
from Richardson, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I own several of the Air Strip shirts, some older than 10 years old. These are are my favorite fishing and outdoors shirts, they are light, breezy, wear like iron and stay looking sharp for many years. I have put many hours of fishing and general outdoor wear on my newer shirts and found them to wear just as well as my older ones, and I like the newer colors. Well worth the money.
To the other reviewers comments. I have a S/S Air Strip Lite shirt that did the same thing, but this shirt being reviewed isn't the Lite version and I found it didn't have any the problems as described."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
change in material poor,
May 13, 2008
By: chrism
"I have been buy this shirt for over ten years. The manufacturer recently changed the fabric to a "lite" version. It does not hold up as well, the fabric gets little snow balls all over it in approx. 4 to 6 months. I have returned two already. Do not buy, you will not be happy."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 15, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to apologize for the change in the material of this shirt and offered an exchange or full credit. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ExOfficio® Air Strip Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1