Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Farrier's Belt

Over the years, the horses that work the land and the riders who work with them have developed a rhythm, a language, and a culture all their own. The accessories that serve this relationship are unique. Like the horse-hoof pick attached to the leather loop of this full-grain leather belt. Full brass hardware. Leather belts in brown. 1⅛" wide. Made in USA. Even waist sizes: 42. 1⅛" wide.Order same size as pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Farrier's Belt
Review 1 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average,
March 27, 2013
By: murti88
"the brass element is not as shiny as seen in the foto. your sizing information does not match the realty. You recommended one more than your belt size is not true."
Review 2 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Inferior,
December 28, 2012
By: Ilias
"Belt was very nice looking,unfortunately, quality is poor as belt was not put together properly. I need to return it."
Review 3 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good choice,
December 25, 2012
By: GoBcks
"Quality leather and finish. Fits well and is distinctive"
Review 4 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather belts - what ORVIS does best,
September 10, 2012
By: MWShropshireLad
from England
"A good jean belt - using 4mm thick quality tanned leather, with solid brass buckle - looks great."
Review 5 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Farrier Belt,
July 27, 2012
By: ClouserMinnow
from Nantucket, MA
"They Farrier belt is a good classic belt. It looks sharp and is great casual belt with jeans or khaki's. It is not a formal look so I'd not wear it for work but I love the style of the hook. It's actual size is bigger then it's sizing suggests. I wear and bought a 38 but probably should have gone with a 36 since it's already hooked on the last loop and the leather will still stretch."
Review 6 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why did I wait so long ?,
June 11, 2012
By: JiminKY
from Lexington, KY
"I had seen this belt in ORVIS Catalogs for a long time but did not buy it . I needed a belt to wear with my jeans and chinos so I bought the Farrier's belt. Why did I wait so long?
It is well constructed and looks great.
One suggestion. When ordering this belt use your actual waist size. Normaly when you buy a belt you get it in one sixe up (ie. 38 waist,40 belt ) when buying this belt if you have a size 38 waist buy a size 38 belt.I made the mistake of ordering a size up and had to send it back for the smaller size. As always ORVIS was quick to make the exchange but I had to wait 10 days to wear my ney belt. Love It !
"
Review 7 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
January 11, 2012
By: HalifaxGuy
"Excellent quality. Came out of the package exactly as described in the catalog. Orvis never disapppoints."
Review 8 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave as a Gift..Very well Recieved,
January 4, 2012
By: JOEYOfromCHICAGO
from Chicago, Illinois
"Bought as a gift for a family member who sawe it in the catalog. When I recieved it I thought the buckle was a little more brassy than pictured but sent it on anyway. My friend loved says it he enjoys it since it is a unique designa nd really dresses up a pair up jeans or khakis. I asked about the dull brass finish and he agreed it did seem shiner in the picture from the catalog but not a major issue for him... he loves it."
Review 9 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great look, comfortable belt,
December 31, 2011
By: texjonmac
from Ft Stockton TX
"the farrier's belt is one of the best looking and most comfortable belts I've ever worn. It is very functional and is a badge for horse people without being quaint. It has some elegance to it as well as being very well-made. I've enjoyed mine for a year or so and bought the second one as a Christmas gift for a friend who had admired itl."
Review 10 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great belt,
December 4, 2011
By: Johnny73
from Little Rock, AR
"This is the best belt I have ever purchased. Another review mentioned a problem with the leather but I have had this belt for a couple of years and have worn it almost daily and it has been great. I am just now writing this review because I am purchasing another one."
Review 11 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 21, 2011
By: jksdh
from NYC
"A great belt, but not a lot of adjustment options dues to the "buckle"."
Review 12 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Haul Comfort,
November 18, 2011
By: AnthonyG
from North Carolina U.S.A.
"Ive been wearing this belt for about 3 weeks . I work long and tough hours so comfort is of great importance . Im loving this belt . It looks good . Wear is making it look better . And It has never reminded me that Im wearing it . I felt it was a bit pricey but the belt itself cured the remorse ."
Review 13 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Belt Info,
September 12, 2011
By: Llib
from Cleveland OH
"Attractive, well made belt. Easy to use. Be sure to go with your exact waist size since, in my case, going one size up meant I am using the last "hole" on the belt to tighten it. Using your exact waist size will permit you to go up or down with the belts existing holes."
Review 14 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
June 23, 2011
By: Rangerlicious
"I have been thinking about getting the belt for a year now -- I've purchased Orvis before and have never been disappointed. This belt did not live up to expectations or the picture. Metal "buckle" was not shiny/smooth/finished brass as in the picture -- rough, not shiny and unfinished like it was just forged but not sanded and buffed to a shine. Leather of the belt was flimsy and not thick and supple like morst Orvis leather I have seen in the past."
Review 15 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorly made,
June 14, 2011
By: Adam1471
"My girlfriend purchased this belt for me a few months ago for my birthday.
I was very excited at first, it is indeed a beautiful belt.
After one week of wear the metal pin that holds the buckle together fell out. I replaced it with copper wire, which works, but I was disappointed.
After one month of regular wear the leather looks more worn than any other belt I own.
I would only recommend this belt to the occasional wearer, though it is a great concept."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent belt,
March 17, 2011
By: PoliceGuy
from Summerville, SC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this a few weeks ago. I have worn it every day. Looks great with dress pants and jeans. Good price also."
Review 17 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice looking belt,
March 16, 2011
By: RedHot1
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Might run a tad small, but did fit. Size up if you have any doubt, would be my recommendation. I was hoping for a nice "leather" smell but it didn't have any - could have been vinyl for all the smell it had! :(
Nonetheless a sexy belt on a man.
"
Review 18 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great return policy,
March 3, 2011
By: Fourlabs
from Harpers Ferry Wv
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great looking belt.Return policy great as I had to return belt after several years of non use and expanded waist.It was replaced by the next larger size without any problems or excuses.A little pricey but well worth it for the return service alone.
This should go well with the new Ultimate Travel Jacket I just got in the door.
"
Review 19 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique,
February 12, 2011
By: woodyaw
from Long Island, NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Style- something different in belts. I wish it came in black too or brown with a silver buckle. Orvis says you should order your waist size, I suggest you go a size up."
Review 20 for Farrier's Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
January 7, 2011
By: JPW13
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great belt for the price. The brass hoof-pick is not too shiny, but just right. No fake distressing, just good quality leather that should last. Fits well with jeans or anything business casual. Looking forward to wearing it to Keeneland this Spring."