Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rough Rider Shirt

Our rugged Bush Poplin, thoroughly washed for softness, is the perfect choice for an authentic shirt tough enough to keep up with the likes of Roosevelt. Tailored in the style of shirts worn by Roosevelt's Rough Riders-like the originals, our men's long-sleeved poplin shirt includes two large button-through pockets and military-style buttons. Pure cotton poplin. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
51 of 55(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough Rider Shirt
Review 1 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough rider shirt - a real softy.,
July 12, 2015
By: ashirtbyanyothername
from California
"Teddy 'bull-moose' Roosevelt notwithstanding, this is a comfortable, well-made, easy on - easy off shirt. As long as it can stand up to the combat inside a washing machine I'll be happy."
Review 2 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
June 28, 2015
By: BravoSierra
from Wiltshire, UK
"This is a strong yet comfortable and stylish shirt. The 'large' is a comfortable fit for me (6' 1" x 90kg). I particularly like the placket detail which allows the shirt to be put on or removed easily, yet adds a bit of style. The long sleeves make it useful for all seasons.
I like this shirt so much that I ordered two more (another blue and one white)."
Review 3 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt: Ever,
June 17, 2015
By: MKCDetroit
from Detroit, MI
"I just love this shirt -- high-quality, heavy-weight poplin, distinctive yet conservative styling. It dresses up well with khahkis or down with shorts on those in-between days. Bought one in blue. Then two weeks later a back-up and weeks later one in white, This can be a signature-type shirt. Would like to see 1-2 additional colors. One comment on the cut -- it is rather full. I find the L to be an L bordering on XLin terms of the fit at the waist. So if you are looking for a modern slim fit cut, it probably isn't for you."
Review 4 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic style, classic quality,
May 26, 2015
By: ChrisBentley
from Philadelphia, PA
"The Rough Rider shirt is a classic western style popover shirt in a durable heavyweight cotton. If you want a more modern, trim fit order down a size, I'm 6'2" 210lbs and a Large fits perfectly."
Review 5 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
May 24, 2015
By: SeamusinAyr
from Ayr Michigan
"Absolutely love this shirt! It has a rough and ready look about it. It is comfortable right out of the box.
When I first tried it on my daughter said "Daddy, that shirt is you."
Now, if I could only get it in British Khaki and Olive drab."
Review 6 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
May 5, 2015
By: rastaman
from Cincinnati, OH
"Very comfortable love the shirt the quality is great. My favorite shirt. Love it"
Review 7 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Loved the shirt, but...,
April 4, 2015
By: JaredK
"The buttons broke to pieces in the laundry after about 3 washings. First one shirt, then the other. No other shirts (from other vendors) in the same loads were affected, so it's something about these buttons. Customer service noted this problem hadn't been reported previously, so it may have been a bad batch."
Review 8 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast becoming the favorite,
April 2, 2015
By: ratchettt
from Tennessee
"The fabric finish is fantastic. Shirt has good blouse and fits nice and comfortably. Looks are rugged with yoke shoulder and upper button tab. Collar is unstructured but hangs in a nice downward curved flair. These are sharply styled for "today" even though the design is retro. I am buying a second white(originally ordered one each color)so as to always have one clean and ready to wear white.
Highly recommend."
Review 9 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough rider shirt,
March 31, 2015
By: Gilbert2
from London
"Excellent quality as you would expect. Comfortable fit. Material is soft and appears robust for everyday wear."
Review 10 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I did not like this shirt,
March 30, 2015
By: RaoulAlf
"Weird cut -- puffy shirt on Seinfeld. Heavy fabric. I returned."
Review 11 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice shirt.,
March 20, 2015
By: russl
from mokena il
"Had one already and liked to much bought another in another color.
very well built, nice change to average button shirt.
Russ"
Review 12 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Shirt!,
February 19, 2015
By: FlyboyII
from Kansas City, MO
"Great looking shirt, great color (blue), and fits perfectly. I purchased this shirt after reading the very positive reviews and have no other shirt like it. It is an attractive shirt and would recommend this to a friend."
Review 13 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt - Navy XXL,
February 16, 2015
By: pdc53
from Lancaster, UK
"This is such a good shirt. Straightaway it became my favourite. The cut and feel is so good. The quality is great and the styling fantastic. I wanted to buy two more navy shirts straightaway because I knew they were so good, but will have to wait for new stocks. I couldn't wait, so bought a white one. Highly recommended. There is nothing I don't like about this shirt."
Review 14 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
January 29, 2015
By: cindyo570
from Calera, AL
"Just what I was looking for. Great shirt, great fit. Loved it"
Review 15 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
January 26, 2015
By: ennisbe
from Phoenix AZ
"Comfortable and well put together. It has become my favorite shirt!"
Review 16 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt,
January 20, 2015
By: alabamadmd
from Birmingham, AL
"Can't decide between a full button-up and a golf polo? Problem solved. This shirt is very unique and people notice."
Review 17 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt,
January 18, 2015
By: Brik
from AZ
"This is a very comfortable and distinctive shirt. The poplin feels soft when wearing it and yet tough. When wearing the shirt it also seems to make my shoulders look wider and my waist narrower - always a good thing. I bought the Navy Blue shirt as I already have the White bush poplin long sleeve shirt. Would love to see this shirt in some other colors such as khaki, green, gray and brown."
Review 18 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the same shirt as original,
January 4, 2015
By: MaineBob
"I bought 2 of the original Rough Rider shirts. Still wearing them. I purchased a new one. The shirt I received was smaller and not as nicely made. I returned it. Good return service as always."
Review 19 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt!,
January 4, 2015
By: BigFlyFisherB4U
from Sanford, FL
"Like all Orvis products I've purchased, this is a quality shirt. Great style, construction, color and fit. I've received many compliments on the shirt, even from people I don't know."
Review 20 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
January 3, 2015
By: rmarkusmc
from Twentynine Palms, CA
"This shirt fits exceptionally well, is extremely comfortable, especially for outdoor activities. The shirt offers a great degree of mobility for shooting and fishing. I would definitely recommend to any outdoorsman."