Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rough Rider Shirt

Our rugged Bush Poplin, thoroughly washed for softness, is the perfect choice for an authentic shirt tough enough to keep up with the likes of Roosevelt. Tailored in the style of shirts worn by Roosevelt's Rough Riders-like the originals, our shirt includes two large button-through pockets and military-style buttons. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough Rider Shirt
Review 1 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 19, 2014
By: ERowe
from Brandon, MS
"This shirt is as advertised. A shirt with traditional styling, large chest pockets, double stitched seams and heavy fabric. A perfect fall winter selection. It is hard to find shirts made like this today. This shirt last for decades. I love this shirt, I purchased two."
Review 2 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 15, 2014
By: Hollywood1939
from California
"Missed the chance to buy this shirt before as they sold out fast. When I saw that it was available again I bought it immediately. I'm glad I did, it is a great shirt and fits perfectly.
Make me want to storm a hill!
"
Review 3 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly an Original,
October 15, 2014
By: PAPTPL
from NY
"If you are looking for a different look
and are more comfortable in polo's than button down shirts, this is a nice alternative. Purchased this shirt to go with vests I have bought over the years from Orvis. It's a casual look with a unique style. Very pleased.
"
Review 4 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile White Shirt,
October 7, 2014
By: SteelheadDiver
from Orvis, Pidgeon Forge, Tennessee
"Packing light is a precise skill that requires the right tools. This white Rough Rider Shirt is the perfect tool for the job. I can wear it with jeans, dress pants or waders and look like I belong wherever I am. It goes under a sweater on cold days and with shorts in the heat. The cotton is sturdy enough to stop a rip and handle a little bleach to get out those stubborn stains that white attracts. A white shirt goes with everything you pack so if you're going to pack one, this is the one to pack."
Review 5 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orvis experience,
September 30, 2014
By: Givo
from Moorestown NJ
"I never need to question the quality of an Orvis product but getting the correct size is tricky. At other high-end clothiers I'm a spot on medium. At Orvis maybe a small. But with their lenient return policy it's never an issue."
Review 6 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
September 25, 2014
By: Bootsnboomer
from Pacific NW & sunny AZ
"A comfortable shirt--a great fit, and a good look. I am between a large and a medium, so this roomy sized Medium is perfect for me."
Review 7 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Humid
"Usually any product I buy from Orvis is very good. But recently I purchased three shirts all long sleeve mens medium. In each case the sleeves are too short but body fine.
As a result I'm afraid I will have to look at other sources for future purchases.
"
Review 8 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not have enough of these.,
September 16, 2014
By: Gomlin86
from Nashville, TN
"Simply in the title. I own this shirt for travel, lounging, and working on the farm."
Review 9 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very fine shirt indeed.,
January 11, 2014
By: Philemon
from Morcombelake. Dorset. UK
"The Roughrider shirt is a worthy successor to the late lamented Malpai. This is my second. Some of us prefer the 'over -the-head' style of shirt. It is quite often smarter than a more conventional shirt, which can become unbuttoned and flap about. The material is strong, but not at all coarse and should wear well. With my tan trousers all I need is a large blue and white polka-dot bandanna to be ready to scramble up Kettle Hill after the great man. Excellent value!"
Review 10 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 7, 2013
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I bought this shirt when it first was offered several years ago. Mine was white, and if I had to quibble, it was a warmish, not bright/crisp shade of white which I prefer; but that's purely and totally subjective. It's a very comfortable shirt with a loose fit - and that makes sense because it allows more functionality when actually wearing this shirt and doing something other than simply looking stylish. And, yep, it does have a unique look to it. Quality is high, fits comfortably, wears well and priced fairly."
Review 11 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Alternative Shirt,
November 6, 2013
By: JPCollins
from Bath, UK
"Just as comfortable as other Orvis shirts with an alternative style. Especially like the different style of buttons on the chest and the collar style."
Review 12 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roosevelt's Pullover Shirt,
October 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Colorado
"I have waited for years for Orvis to offer this shirt again, and am very pleased that they have brought it out in navy blue as well as white. It was last available in khaki and white, and I purchased both colors when it was first offered in the Theodore Roosevelt Collection. I bought more than twenty of them and have never regretted having so many on hand, because the khaki ones are good for everyday wear and the white ones look great with a sweater or jacket.The great advantage of this shirt is the five button pullover placket and the two large pockets. There was a good reason why most shirts were made in the pullover style back in Roosevelt's day. If you have ever worked in the woods or out in the desert, you will quickly feel the advantage of these "old fashioned" shirts. Pullover shirts don't allow as many things to get under your shirt as you move through the trees and sagebrush, and dust doesn't have as many openings to blow into with a pullover placket. Orvis has actually improved the upper button flap with this latest shirt, making it better looking, but the collar is slightly longer. This shirt wears well and looks good without ironing. Welcome back. Bully!"
Review 13 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roughrider shirt,
October 11, 2013
By: Shark817c
from Anchorage, Alaska
"I got the white color. I am inbetween a Large and XL and was afraid the XL would be too big, and I was sure glad I got the large. It washed up well, fit good and looks sharp. I am thinking of getting the blue color. Living in cold country of Alaska, this shirt is heavy enough to wear all year round."
Review 14 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roughrider Shirt,
October 3, 2013
By: hal1955allen
"It is aove the head to put it on at first you think it is going to be to small . After you have it on fits great with 2 big pockets an stays tucked in pants . I liked this shirt so much I have ordered 2 more in white an blue . First class shirt"
Review 15 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
October 1, 2013
By: ennisbe
from Phoenix AZ
"It was everything I expected. True blue in color and roomy, comfortable fit. The shirt is true to size. You may want to go a size smaller if your looking for a slim fit. Thanks Orvis for a great shirt!"
Review 16 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent workmanship and material weight,
September 26, 2013
By: MartyG
from Burns, TN (Nashville)
"A very sturdy and attractive shirt. Good size pockets and great fit. The color is a deep blue and buttons & button-holes are done in a very quality fashion. I will wear it often, both outdoors and to casual, but very nice affairs. Shrinkage was very, very little and it was easy to touch-up with an iron if desired, but not necessary."
Review 17 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Shirt,
September 18, 2013
By: skipmitz
from MTV, OH
"I chose the white version of this shirt as I felt it would look great with jeans and casual khakis. It has a crisp but relaxed fit. Love it."
Review 18 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider,
October 4, 2007
By: Richard
"I am Canadian through and through but wearing this classic makes me see a little red white and blue. Great feel, great comfort, great look - its a winner."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.