Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rough Rider Shirt

Our rugged Bush Poplin, thoroughly washed for softness, is the perfect choice for an authentic shirt tough enough to keep up with the likes of Roosevelt. Tailored in the style of shirts worn by Roosevelt's Rough Riders-like the originals, our shirt includes two large button-through pockets and military-style buttons. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough Rider Shirt
Review 1 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very fine shirt indeed.,
January 11, 2014
By: Philemon
from Morcombelake. Dorset. UK
"The Roughrider shirt is a worthy successor to the late lamented Malpai. This is my second. Some of us prefer the 'over -the-head' style of shirt. It is quite often smarter than a more conventional shirt, which can become unbuttoned and flap about. The material is strong, but not at all coarse and should wear well. With my tan trousers all I need is a large blue and white polka-dot bandanna to be ready to scramble up Kettle Hill after the great man. Excellent value!"
Review 2 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 7, 2013
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I bought this shirt when it first was offered several years ago. Mine was white, and if I had to quibble, it was a warmish, not bright/crisp shade of white which I prefer; but that's purely and totally subjective. It's a very comfortable shirt with a loose fit - and that makes sense because it allows more functionality when actually wearing this shirt and doing something other than simply looking stylish. And, yep, it does have a unique look to it. Quality is high, fits comfortably, wears well and priced fairly."
Review 3 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Alternative Shirt,
November 6, 2013
By: JPCollins
from Bath, UK
"Just as comfortable as other Orvis shirts with an alternative style. Especially like the different style of buttons on the chest and the collar style."
Review 4 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roosevelt's Pullover Shirt,
October 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Colorado
"I have waited for years for Orvis to offer this shirt again, and am very pleased that they have brought it out in navy blue as well as white. It was last available in khaki and white, and I purchased both colors when it was first offered in the Theodore Roosevelt Collection. I bought more than twenty of them and have never regretted having so many on hand, because the khaki ones are good for everyday wear and the white ones look great with a sweater or jacket.The great advantage of this shirt is the five button pullover placket and the two large pockets. There was a good reason why most shirts were made in the pullover style back in Roosevelt's day. If you have ever worked in the woods or out in the desert, you will quickly feel the advantage of these "old fashioned" shirts. Pullover shirts don't allow as many things to get under your shirt as you move through the trees and sagebrush, and dust doesn't have as many openings to blow into with a pullover placket. Orvis has actually improved the upper button flap with this latest shirt, making it better looking, but the collar is slightly longer. This shirt wears well and looks good without ironing. Welcome back. Bully!"
Review 5 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roughrider shirt,
October 11, 2013
By: Shark817c
from Anchorage, Alaska
"I got the white color. I am inbetween a Large and XL and was afraid the XL would be too big, and I was sure glad I got the large. It washed up well, fit good and looks sharp. I am thinking of getting the blue color. Living in cold country of Alaska, this shirt is heavy enough to wear all year round."
Review 6 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roughrider Shirt,
October 3, 2013
By: hal1955allen
"It is aove the head to put it on at first you think it is going to be to small . After you have it on fits great with 2 big pockets an stays tucked in pants . I liked this shirt so much I have ordered 2 more in white an blue . First class shirt"
Review 7 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
October 1, 2013
By: ennisbe
from Phoenix AZ
"It was everything I expected. True blue in color and roomy, comfortable fit. The shirt is true to size. You may want to go a size smaller if your looking for a slim fit. Thanks Orvis for a great shirt!"
Review 8 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent workmanship and material weight,
September 26, 2013
By: MartyG
from Burns, TN (Nashville)
"A very sturdy and attractive shirt. Good size pockets and great fit. The color is a deep blue and buttons & button-holes are done in a very quality fashion. I will wear it often, both outdoors and to casual, but very nice affairs. Shrinkage was very, very little and it was easy to touch-up with an iron if desired, but not necessary."
Review 9 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Shirt,
September 18, 2013
By: skipmitz
from MTV, OH
"I chose the white version of this shirt as I felt it would look great with jeans and casual khakis. It has a crisp but relaxed fit. Love it."
Review 10 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider,
October 4, 2007
By: Richard
"I am Canadian through and through but wearing this classic makes me see a little red white and blue. Great feel, great comfort, great look - its a winner."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.