Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rough Rider Shirt

Our rugged Bush Poplin, thoroughly washed for softness, is the perfect choice for an authentic shirt tough enough to keep up with the likes of Roosevelt. Tailored in the style of shirts worn by Roosevelt's Rough Riders-like the originals, our men's long-sleeved poplin shirt includes two large button-through pockets and military-style buttons. Pure cotton poplin. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough Rider Shirt
Review 1 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rough Rider feels so smooth,
December 19, 2014
By: Darkstar23
from London
"The Rough Rider shirt pretty much lives up to my expectations. The poplin is very comfortable and the collar detail adds style to a shirt you probably won't be wearing with a tie, making it a very distinctive white shirt. Sleeve length is fine and my only reservation is that I'd ideally have liked it to be a bit longer; a little more night shirt-like since I'd imagine few people are going to tuck this in. Nonetheless, I'm very pleased with the item."
Review 2 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ultimate white shirt!,
December 17, 2014
By: Andymack
from Bath UK
"If you've ever hankered after a simple, very high quality open necked white shirt then look no further - this shirt fits the bill completely. Excellent medium weight cotton, a roomy cut - comfortable fit and well tailored - I just know that this shirt is going to get better and better with age - a sure sign of fine clothing!"
Review 3 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort with style,
December 5, 2014
By: Britpet
"Really comfortable fit, soft cloth makes this a pleasure to wear. The styling is cool enough to make it attractive in almost any setting at the pub or the weekend bar be que
Or just hanging out in the yard.
"
Review 4 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product and Design,
November 21, 2014
By: BobMBE
from Staines upon Thames
"This product is of exceptional quality and design. It looks good with jacket or just with jeans. Exceptionally High Quality."
Review 5 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
November 19, 2014
By: Sully333
from Ny ny
"Only critique I would make of the high quality shirt is that it should have side seems at the bottom of the shirt. Is a little tight getting on and off."
Review 6 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality shirt,
November 14, 2014
By: Barmul
from Rugby,Warwickshire
"Fine shirt, hard wearing and looks good with jeans"
Review 7 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
November 14, 2014
By: natey
from california
"every thing I buy from Orvis is
consistently good quality, well
styled and always available in
my size.
"
Review 8 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
November 11, 2014
By: BeauB
"Great shirt, really enjoy wearing. Very comfortable and sized right. Great for work and the weekends. Great looking!"
Review 9 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A different white shirt,
November 3, 2014
By: Barklley
from Berkeley CA.
"I always am searching for a veriation with fabric and engendering on The White Shirt."
Review 10 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Built Shirt,
October 22, 2014
By: AnalogGuy
from Houston, Tx
"Orvis always over-sizes, which I like in casual wear. This shirt is well made, and can last several days, if needed, as on a fishing trip. Popovers do not appear in most catalogs, and few can compare to the strength of this material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 19, 2014
By: ERowe
from Brandon, MS
"This shirt is as advertised. A shirt with traditional styling, large chest pockets, double stitched seams and heavy fabric. A perfect fall winter selection. It is hard to find shirts made like this today. This shirt last for decades. I love this shirt, I purchased two."
Review 12 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 15, 2014
By: Hollywood1939
from California
"Missed the chance to buy this shirt before as they sold out fast. When I saw that it was available again I bought it immediately. I'm glad I did, it is a great shirt and fits perfectly.
Make me want to storm a hill!
"
Review 13 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly an Original,
October 15, 2014
By: PAPTPL
from NY
"If you are looking for a different look
and are more comfortable in polo's than button down shirts, this is a nice alternative. Purchased this shirt to go with vests I have bought over the years from Orvis. It's a casual look with a unique style. Very pleased.
"
Review 14 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile White Shirt,
October 7, 2014
By: SteelheadDiver
from Orvis, Pidgeon Forge, Tennessee
"Packing light is a precise skill that requires the right tools. This white Rough Rider Shirt is the perfect tool for the job. I can wear it with jeans, dress pants or waders and look like I belong wherever I am. It goes under a sweater on cold days and with shorts in the heat. The cotton is sturdy enough to stop a rip and handle a little bleach to get out those stubborn stains that white attracts. A white shirt goes with everything you pack so if you're going to pack one, this is the one to pack."
Review 15 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orvis experience,
September 30, 2014
By: Givo
from Moorestown NJ
"I never need to question the quality of an Orvis product but getting the correct size is tricky. At other high-end clothiers I'm a spot on medium. At Orvis maybe a small. But with their lenient return policy it's never an issue."
Review 16 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
September 25, 2014
By: Bootsnboomer
from Pacific NW & sunny AZ
"A comfortable shirt--a great fit, and a good look. I am between a large and a medium, so this roomy sized Medium is perfect for me."
Review 17 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Humid
"Usually any product I buy from Orvis is very good. But recently I purchased three shirts all long sleeve mens medium. In each case the sleeves are too short but body fine.
As a result I'm afraid I will have to look at other sources for future purchases.
"
Review 18 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not have enough of these.,
September 16, 2014
By: Gomlin86
from Nashville, TN
"Simply in the title. I own this shirt for travel, lounging, and working on the farm."
Review 19 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very fine shirt indeed.,
January 11, 2014
By: Philemon
from Morcombelake. Dorset. UK
"The Roughrider shirt is a worthy successor to the late lamented Malpai. This is my second. Some of us prefer the 'over -the-head' style of shirt. It is quite often smarter than a more conventional shirt, which can become unbuttoned and flap about. The material is strong, but not at all coarse and should wear well. With my tan trousers all I need is a large blue and white polka-dot bandanna to be ready to scramble up Kettle Hill after the great man. Excellent value!"
Review 20 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 7, 2013
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I bought this shirt when it first was offered several years ago. Mine was white, and if I had to quibble, it was a warmish, not bright/crisp shade of white which I prefer; but that's purely and totally subjective. It's a very comfortable shirt with a loose fit - and that makes sense because it allows more functionality when actually wearing this shirt and doing something other than simply looking stylish. And, yep, it does have a unique look to it. Quality is high, fits comfortably, wears well and priced fairly."