Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rough Rider Shirt

Our rugged Bush Poplin, thoroughly washed for softness, is the perfect choice for an authentic shirt tough enough to keep up with the likes of Roosevelt. Tailored in the style of shirts worn by Roosevelt's Rough Riders-like the originals, our men's long-sleeved poplin shirt includes two large button-through pockets and military-style buttons. Pure cotton poplin. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough Rider Shirt
Review 1 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product and Design,
November 21, 2014
By: BobMBE
from Staines upon Thames
"This product is of exceptional quality and design. It looks good with jacket or just with jeans. Exceptionally High Quality."
Review 2 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
November 19, 2014
By: Sully333
from Ny ny
"Only critique I would make of the high quality shirt is that it should have side seems at the bottom of the shirt. Is a little tight getting on and off."
Review 3 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality shirt,
November 14, 2014
By: Barmul
from Rugby,Warwickshire
"Fine shirt, hard wearing and looks good with jeans"
Review 4 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
November 14, 2014
By: natey
from california
"every thing I buy from Orvis is
consistently good quality, well
styled and always available in
my size.
"
Review 5 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
November 11, 2014
By: BeauB
"Great shirt, really enjoy wearing. Very comfortable and sized right. Great for work and the weekends. Great looking!"
Review 6 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A different white shirt,
November 3, 2014
By: Barklley
from Berkeley CA.
"I always am searching for a veriation with fabric and engendering on The White Shirt."
Review 7 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-Built Shirt,
October 22, 2014
By: AnalogGuy
from Houston, Tx
"Orvis always over-sizes, which I like in casual wear. This shirt is well made, and can last several days, if needed, as on a fishing trip. Popovers do not appear in most catalogs, and few can compare to the strength of this material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 19, 2014
By: ERowe
from Brandon, MS
"This shirt is as advertised. A shirt with traditional styling, large chest pockets, double stitched seams and heavy fabric. A perfect fall winter selection. It is hard to find shirts made like this today. This shirt last for decades. I love this shirt, I purchased two."
Review 9 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough Rider Shirt,
October 15, 2014
By: Hollywood1939
from California
"Missed the chance to buy this shirt before as they sold out fast. When I saw that it was available again I bought it immediately. I'm glad I did, it is a great shirt and fits perfectly.
Make me want to storm a hill!
"
Review 10 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly an Original,
October 15, 2014
By: PAPTPL
from NY
"If you are looking for a different look
and are more comfortable in polo's than button down shirts, this is a nice alternative. Purchased this shirt to go with vests I have bought over the years from Orvis. It's a casual look with a unique style. Very pleased.
"
Review 11 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile White Shirt,
October 7, 2014
By: SteelheadDiver
from Orvis, Pidgeon Forge, Tennessee
"Packing light is a precise skill that requires the right tools. This white Rough Rider Shirt is the perfect tool for the job. I can wear it with jeans, dress pants or waders and look like I belong wherever I am. It goes under a sweater on cold days and with shorts in the heat. The cotton is sturdy enough to stop a rip and handle a little bleach to get out those stubborn stains that white attracts. A white shirt goes with everything you pack so if you're going to pack one, this is the one to pack."
Review 12 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orvis experience,
September 30, 2014
By: Givo
from Moorestown NJ
"I never need to question the quality of an Orvis product but getting the correct size is tricky. At other high-end clothiers I'm a spot on medium. At Orvis maybe a small. But with their lenient return policy it's never an issue."
Review 13 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
September 25, 2014
By: Bootsnboomer
from Pacific NW & sunny AZ
"A comfortable shirt--a great fit, and a good look. I am between a large and a medium, so this roomy sized Medium is perfect for me."
Review 14 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Humid
"Usually any product I buy from Orvis is very good. But recently I purchased three shirts all long sleeve mens medium. In each case the sleeves are too short but body fine.
As a result I'm afraid I will have to look at other sources for future purchases.
"
Review 15 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not have enough of these.,
September 16, 2014
By: Gomlin86
from Nashville, TN
"Simply in the title. I own this shirt for travel, lounging, and working on the farm."
Review 16 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very fine shirt indeed.,
January 11, 2014
By: Philemon
from Morcombelake. Dorset. UK
"The Roughrider shirt is a worthy successor to the late lamented Malpai. This is my second. Some of us prefer the 'over -the-head' style of shirt. It is quite often smarter than a more conventional shirt, which can become unbuttoned and flap about. The material is strong, but not at all coarse and should wear well. With my tan trousers all I need is a large blue and white polka-dot bandanna to be ready to scramble up Kettle Hill after the great man. Excellent value!"
Review 17 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 7, 2013
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I bought this shirt when it first was offered several years ago. Mine was white, and if I had to quibble, it was a warmish, not bright/crisp shade of white which I prefer; but that's purely and totally subjective. It's a very comfortable shirt with a loose fit - and that makes sense because it allows more functionality when actually wearing this shirt and doing something other than simply looking stylish. And, yep, it does have a unique look to it. Quality is high, fits comfortably, wears well and priced fairly."
Review 18 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Alternative Shirt,
November 6, 2013
By: JPCollins
from Bath, UK
"Just as comfortable as other Orvis shirts with an alternative style. Especially like the different style of buttons on the chest and the collar style."
Review 19 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roosevelt's Pullover Shirt,
October 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Colorado
"I have waited for years for Orvis to offer this shirt again, and am very pleased that they have brought it out in navy blue as well as white. It was last available in khaki and white, and I purchased both colors when it was first offered in the Theodore Roosevelt Collection. I bought more than twenty of them and have never regretted having so many on hand, because the khaki ones are good for everyday wear and the white ones look great with a sweater or jacket.The great advantage of this shirt is the five button pullover placket and the two large pockets. There was a good reason why most shirts were made in the pullover style back in Roosevelt's day. If you have ever worked in the woods or out in the desert, you will quickly feel the advantage of these "old fashioned" shirts. Pullover shirts don't allow as many things to get under your shirt as you move through the trees and sagebrush, and dust doesn't have as many openings to blow into with a pullover placket. Orvis has actually improved the upper button flap with this latest shirt, making it better looking, but the collar is slightly longer. This shirt wears well and looks good without ironing. Welcome back. Bully!"
Review 20 for Rough Rider Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roughrider shirt,
October 11, 2013
By: Shark817c
from Anchorage, Alaska
"I got the white color. I am inbetween a Large and XL and was afraid the XL would be too big, and I was sure glad I got the large. It washed up well, fit good and looks sharp. I am thinking of getting the blue color. Living in cold country of Alaska, this shirt is heavy enough to wear all year round."