Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt

Soft, pure cotton makes this houndstooth button down shirt a comfortable pairing with your favorite sweater and trousers. Classic shirt design with a button-down collar and adjustable cuffs. Button-through chest pocket. Houndstooth in tan/navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
96 of 101(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Review 1 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the country gent,
December 18, 2014
By: sunsettter
from The great southwest
"Fit perfectly right out of the box. Nice pattern, sedate and sporty at the same time. And I like the flap pocket better than a plain pocket."
Review 2 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fits like a glove,
December 15, 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"This finely textured and printed shirt is both formal and casual and is a joy to wear. The (almost) suede lining holds the shirt cleanly to the body and keeps its appearance neat"
Review 3 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
December 3, 2014
By: Mily
"Love the pattern. Different than most shirts. Nice fit and comfortable fabric."
Review 4 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful product,
November 26, 2014
By: Syd2
from Darby, MT
"The look is terrific and the quality is excellent! My almost 70 year old husband will be very happy to open this Christmas gift!"
Review 5 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Purchase of Same Shirt,
November 20, 2014
By: BoulderSusan
from Boulder, CO
"Bought my husband this same shirt for Christmas last year. He's a cigar smoker and burned a hole in it. It was his favorite shirt, so I've bought him another one for Christmas this year. Let's hope he doesn't burn a hole in it again!"
Review 6 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
November 3, 2014
By: thanksgivingman
from Clinton, MS
"Great looking shirt! Great wearing shirt! Works great for Casual and Business Casual. A good heavier weight fabric! Loved it so much I bought two!!!!"
Review 7 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, suggest to all,
November 3, 2014
By: jandlganes
from Raleigh, NC
"Finally a good quality shirt with sleeves that are long enough without having to buy a XXL. Very warm and comfortable to wear."
Review 8 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
September 4, 2014
By: CharlieMakita
from Raleigh, NC
"Nicely weighted shirt, but not too heavy. I wear it to the office and also the stream.
Best thing is it doesn't wrinkle to badly like most pure cotton shirts.
"
Review 9 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fall/Winter shirt,
March 17, 2014
By: DrWillie55
from Chapel Hill NC
"Good quality and looks on this shirt. Medium fits well. I'm 5'8" 180 lbs wear 42 short suit/jacket. Appears to be good quality and feels good. Just got it so can't report on longevity.
Warm shirt in our cool Winter"
Review 10 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks Great,
March 14, 2014
By: JOEBREN
"Great looking shirt and very comfortable, but not as generous on sizing as the Montana Morning shirt I bought at the same time. A medium size is a neat fit, so you might want to order a large if you're borderline M/L."
Review 11 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Shirt,
March 3, 2014
By: Sticker
from Charlotte, NC
"This shirt is appropriate for casual or office. Looks terrific with jeans and/ or a blazer. Or khakis. Material has nice body (no pilling) and yet is very soft to the touch. The fit is perfect for me (44 chest) in size (L) and the sleeve length is generous, in spite of my 34/35 arms.
I have received several complements on this shirt already.
Flannel comfort with dressy looks. I could not be more pleased. Oh, and did I mention that it was on sale? Well worth the full price!
"
Review 12 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handsome,
March 1, 2014
By: JungleJoan
from Brentwood, TN
"excellent quality shirt in a not-run-of the-mill patterned fabric. black/brown/tan pattern works with all jeans/pants colors."
Review 13 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort,
February 21, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"That's what it's built for...comfort. And very stylish too!"
Review 14 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fine Shirt,
February 21, 2014
By: runtaylor
from Ohio
"This shirt is well constructed and good looking. The shirt is heavier and warmer than I anticipated -but that is not a bad thing. I have received many complements. It fits true to size for me.
As always, I appreciate Orvis quality of products. They never disappoint.
"
Review 15 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Shirt,
February 17, 2014
By: Jcory
"I like this shirt. The fit is fairly good and loose without being oversized. My only gripe is the sleeve length which seems to be a recurring issue with many of these shirts. For the stated size the length is never quite long enough for 34-35 length sleeve. This a nice shirt with a nice quality feel to it and it works for both casual and semi-dress occasions. A very good product."
Review 16 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent shirt,
February 14, 2014
By: Invictair
from Ann Arbor, MI
"I wanted a shirt that would match several pairs of pants, be a bit heavier and a bit less formal than a regular dress shirt. This shirt is ideal, the black and cream houndstooth is a good match with most everything and the weight is ideal.
Very happy with my purchase."
Review 17 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pictures do lie,
February 13, 2014
By: jacqueflacque
"This shirt is even more attractive than the photo int the catalogue. And, perfect fit."
Review 18 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well Made,
February 12, 2014
By: Wilbur60
from Ottawa, Canada
"Well made shirt... Heavier than I expected. I like the patch pocket it gives the shirt some distinction . It is a full size fit..."
Review 19 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 12, 2014
By: Corp
from Larchmont NY
"Good looking and besides very warm needed Forrest this season"
Review 20 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt!,
February 12, 2014
By: catz5
from georgia
"love the fabric and fit! Have considered purchasing for some time now and so glad I snagged it somewhat reduced."