Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt

Soft, pure cotton makes this houndstooth button down shirt a comfortable pairing with your favorite sweater and trousers. Classic shirt design with a button-down collar and adjustable cuffs. Button-through chest pocket. Houndstooth in tan/navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.624 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
111 of 117(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Review 1 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good-looking shirt,
March 20, 2015
By: alfoglen
from Pocatello, ID
"My new good-looking houndstooth shirt is nice enough to wear with a sportcoat or suit, but can also fit in with jeans and a heavy jacket in the cold Idaho winter. I like it."
Review 2 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 13, 2015
By: pescator
"The collar stands up extremely high, possibly due to the lining, possibly due to the cut. The material feels coarse. Not up to Orvis standards."
Review 3 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 26, 2015
By: wbrake
from Birmingham, Al.
"Very comfortable and classic looking shirt. Fit was perfect. Will last a long time."
Review 4 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
you get what you pay for,
February 26, 2015
By: ButtonDown1515
"A little pricy for me BUT you get what you pay for ! A well made quality shirt that will last."
Review 5 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Shirt,
February 9, 2015
By: Franzee
from Caledon, Ontario
"We had Brent and Gayle over for dinner and Brent really liked the Orvis Houndstooth shirt that I had on.
The next week they were travelling to San Diego to visit their son and family so I had Orvis ship one to him to arrive at his son's house. He said that he now looks better than me. I'm sure that you can imagine my retort.
"
Review 6 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
February 5, 2015
By: Florio
"Excellent fit, well made and very comfortable. A great purchase"
Review 7 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 31, 2015
By: syates13
from Albuquerque NM
"Excellent comfort and design casually, everyday or more formal combinations with sports jacket or suit separates in late night attire. Well constructed for the long term and more permanent closet keepers."
Review 8 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
January 23, 2015
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"Found it in the Chicago store on sale, wrong size. The Young man who helped me called and found the right size in another store, they closed the sale over the phone and matched the sale price. Great customer service and a great looking comfortable shirt to boot. Plus I've received a number of compliments on it. Makes me feel good to be an Orvis customer."
Review 9 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic shirt!,
January 5, 2015
By: AlamoGeorge
from San Antonio, TX
"This shirt was purchased as a gift, and it made the recipient look like a man for all seasons. Perfect weight for winter wear in San Antonio's warm climate."
Review 10 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy casual,
January 4, 2015
By: Kingsley
from Ottawa, ON
"I've received lots of compliments on this shirt. Even though it looks like a heavier wool shirt , this updated version is still quite light and comfortable."
Review 11 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice,
January 3, 2015
By: JonRL
from Texas
"Very pretty and soft.
This shirt is cut a little smaller than most Orvis shirts. But no problem for me.
Looking forward to wearing it more.
"
Review 12 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely feel.,
December 24, 2014
By: JRTinMemphis
from Memphis
"Softer than I expected with deep hues. Very pleased with this shirt."
Review 13 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the country gent,
December 18, 2014
By: sunsettter
from The great southwest
"Fit perfectly right out of the box. Nice pattern, sedate and sporty at the same time. And I like the flap pocket better than a plain pocket."
Review 14 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fits like a glove,
December 15, 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"This finely textured and printed shirt is both formal and casual and is a joy to wear. The (almost) suede lining holds the shirt cleanly to the body and keeps its appearance neat"
Review 15 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
December 3, 2014
By: Mily
"Love the pattern. Different than most shirts. Nice fit and comfortable fabric."
Review 16 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful product,
November 26, 2014
By: Syd2
from Darby, MT
"The look is terrific and the quality is excellent! My almost 70 year old husband will be very happy to open this Christmas gift!"
Review 17 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Purchase of Same Shirt,
November 20, 2014
By: BoulderSusan
from Boulder, CO
"Bought my husband this same shirt for Christmas last year. He's a cigar smoker and burned a hole in it. It was his favorite shirt, so I've bought him another one for Christmas this year. Let's hope he doesn't burn a hole in it again!"
Review 18 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
November 3, 2014
By: thanksgivingman
from Clinton, MS
"Great looking shirt! Great wearing shirt! Works great for Casual and Business Casual. A good heavier weight fabric! Loved it so much I bought two!!!!"
Review 19 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, suggest to all,
November 3, 2014
By: jandlganes
from Raleigh, NC
"Finally a good quality shirt with sleeves that are long enough without having to buy a XXL. Very warm and comfortable to wear."
Review 20 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
September 4, 2014
By: CharlieMakita
from Raleigh, NC
"Nicely weighted shirt, but not too heavy. I wear it to the office and also the stream.
Best thing is it doesn't wrinkle to badly like most pure cotton shirts.
"