Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt

Soft, pure cotton makes this houndstooth button down shirt a comfortable pairing with your favorite sweater and trousers. Classic shirt design with a button-down collar and adjustable cuffs. Button-through chest pocket. Houndstooth in tan/navy. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
88 of 93(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Review 1 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
September 4, 2014
By: CharlieMakita
from Raleigh, NC
"Nicely weighted shirt, but not too heavy. I wear it to the office and also the stream.
Best thing is it doesn't wrinkle to badly like most pure cotton shirts.
"
Review 2 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fall/Winter shirt,
March 17, 2014
By: DrWillie55
from Chapel Hill NC
"Good quality and looks on this shirt. Medium fits well. I'm 5'8" 180 lbs wear 42 short suit/jacket. Appears to be good quality and feels good. Just got it so can't report on longevity.
Warm shirt in our cool Winter"
Review 3 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks Great,
March 14, 2014
By: JOEBREN
"Great looking shirt and very comfortable, but not as generous on sizing as the Montana Morning shirt I bought at the same time. A medium size is a neat fit, so you might want to order a large if you're borderline M/L."
Review 4 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Shirt,
March 3, 2014
By: Sticker
from Charlotte, NC
"This shirt is appropriate for casual or office. Looks terrific with jeans and/ or a blazer. Or khakis. Material has nice body (no pilling) and yet is very soft to the touch. The fit is perfect for me (44 chest) in size (L) and the sleeve length is generous, in spite of my 34/35 arms.
I have received several complements on this shirt already.
Flannel comfort with dressy looks. I could not be more pleased. Oh, and did I mention that it was on sale? Well worth the full price!
"
Review 5 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handsome,
March 1, 2014
By: JungleJoan
from Brentwood, TN
"excellent quality shirt in a not-run-of the-mill patterned fabric. black/brown/tan pattern works with all jeans/pants colors."
Review 6 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort,
February 21, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"That's what it's built for...comfort. And very stylish too!"
Review 7 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fine Shirt,
February 21, 2014
By: runtaylor
from Ohio
"This shirt is well constructed and good looking. The shirt is heavier and warmer than I anticipated -but that is not a bad thing. I have received many complements. It fits true to size for me.
As always, I appreciate Orvis quality of products. They never disappoint.
"
Review 8 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Shirt,
February 17, 2014
By: Jcory
"I like this shirt. The fit is fairly good and loose without being oversized. My only gripe is the sleeve length which seems to be a recurring issue with many of these shirts. For the stated size the length is never quite long enough for 34-35 length sleeve. This a nice shirt with a nice quality feel to it and it works for both casual and semi-dress occasions. A very good product."
Review 9 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent shirt,
February 14, 2014
By: Invictair
from Ann Arbor, MI
"I wanted a shirt that would match several pairs of pants, be a bit heavier and a bit less formal than a regular dress shirt. This shirt is ideal, the black and cream houndstooth is a good match with most everything and the weight is ideal.
Very happy with my purchase."
Review 10 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pictures do lie,
February 13, 2014
By: jacqueflacque
"This shirt is even more attractive than the photo int the catalogue. And, perfect fit."
Review 11 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well Made,
February 12, 2014
By: Wilbur60
from Ottawa, Canada
"Well made shirt... Heavier than I expected. I like the patch pocket it gives the shirt some distinction . It is a full size fit..."
Review 12 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 12, 2014
By: Corp
from Larchmont NY
"Good looking and besides very warm needed Forrest this season"
Review 13 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt!,
February 12, 2014
By: catz5
from georgia
"love the fabric and fit! Have considered purchasing for some time now and so glad I snagged it somewhat reduced."
Review 14 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Man sized comfort!,
February 12, 2014
By: FindlayFlyBoy
from Findlay, OH
"Finally, a shirt that fits and wears like the size it says it is.
I'm 6'1" and have a problem finding shirts with tails that stay tucked in and sleeves that follow the full range function of my arm movement.
"
Review 15 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
February 11, 2014
By: jwhirred
from Columbus, OH
"Sort of an "outdoorsy" dress up shirt. Great weave, warm, soft even without bother of t-shirt under it. Well made. Could be worn as a layer over a t-shirt and left open. Laundered nicely, needed only a bit of pressing to look great."
Review 16 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great style and weight,
February 11, 2014
By: wcline
from Irvine, CA
"The Spencer Houndstooth shirt is a real gem. Classic pattern, well made and in a weight that's not too heavy yet provides warmth and comfort in cool weather. The sizing is also ample without being blousy. Perfect shirt for this time of year."
Review 17 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Value,
February 11, 2014
By: LAFinley
from Woodland Hills, CA
"The Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt is soft and supple yet rugged in wear and appearance. And, for the price, it cannot be beat or even matched. Attention to detail was not overlooked from the "Orvis" engraved buttons to the interior collar."
Review 18 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase ever,
February 10, 2014
By: clej
from west bloomfield, Mi
"very satisfied with fit, quality, workmanship. Very classy shirt. Looking forward to my next purchase"
Review 19 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look.,
February 7, 2014
By: Craigster
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is one great looking shirt. Very comfortable, true to size, and can be worn with dress, casual trousers or jeans. Have received many compliments on this shirt."
Review 20 for Spencer Houndstooth Pure Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
February 4, 2014
By: Sacriver
"Wonderful texture. Good for casual business dress or just Saturdays."