Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Super Wading Tac-L-Pak

The Super Wading Tac-L-Pak has 27 pockets. It's a full 2" shorter to keep fly boxes high and dry, even in water above your waist. (Does not have upper front chest pockets, inside map pocket, or side-entry rear cargo pocket as found on original.) In tan. 55% cotton/45% poly poplin. Washable. Fishing vest sizes: XXXL(54-56). Size Large is 18" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Review 1 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
August 15, 2012
By: Gcom
from South Wales, UK
"Having already purchased a 'long' waistcoat tac-l-pak many years ago and found it to be of excellent quality I was prompted to look again as I required a 'short' waistcoat. The quality is still excellent with robust zips and strong stitching. The pockets are large, capable of holding big fly boxes. The inner tippet holder pockets are slightly larger than most but can still be a little difficult when handling the larger spools.
My only real criticism is the rod keeper high on the left sholder. On both garments the keeper is too short and has come apart at most inopportune moments. I have modified my old long waistcoat to have a much long keeper. I will do the same with the 'short' one after almost losing a kept rod as I was changing a fly mid-stream.
Overall another excellent item from Orvis. Better than all other waistcoats I perused."
Review 2 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Wading Tac-L-Pak Fly Vest,
April 26, 2013
By: NymphMaster
"Perfect for deep wading as I do.Plenty of pockets to hold all my gear.Keeps all my gear dry. Extremely comfortable. A good investment."
Review 3 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed with embroidery experience,
March 11, 2013
By: Canuck14
from London, UK
"I've always been a big Orvis fan but I'm sad to say I was disappointed with this purchase and ultimately returned it.
To be clear, the vest itself was OK but I have 3 issues with the optional embroidery process that really left a bad taste in my mouth and led me to return this product.
The first issue is that the website stated up to 8 letters could be embroidered on the chest pocket but after a few failed attempts and an e-mail to the customer service department, I was told the website is incorrect and only 3 letters could be embroidered. Fair enough, but the website still incorrectly says up to 8 letters can be embroidered and I made my initial purchase weeks ago! My surname is exactly 8 letters long so I was disappointed I would have to embroider my initials opposed to my entire surname.
Secondly, the website allows the user to preview the embroidery which is a great feature but be aware that the preview shows the embroidery on the front left pocket and when I received the vest I was surprised to find the embroidery on the front right pocket. Again, not a huge deal but why wouldn’t the website preview reflect reality?
Thirdly, and most importantly, when my vest arrived I was extremely disappointed to see that my embroidered initials were crooked. This is just unacceptable and the product should have never been sent to me in this condition.
I’ve always viewed Orvis products as being “life long” companions but this only holds true if the product arrives as promised. There are some simple fixes here and I hope Orvis executes them to get back on track. In the meantime, my search for a new fly fishing vest continues…"
Review 4 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 16, 2013
By: Snog
from Falmouth, ME
"As a traditionalist, I appreciate the timeless design, and ability to carry all that I need for a day on the river without adding too much bulk"
Review 5 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great gift,
January 12, 2013
By: ADK46
from Syracuse, NY
"I purchased this as a Xmas gift for my son. He loved it, just like mine from ~ 15 years ago. Just as many pockets, same consistent quality and a perfect cut to wear while wading. Highly recommended purchase, awesome deal for the money."
Review 6 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A hit with grandson!,
January 1, 2013
By: Grammietoo
"Quality is excellent - grandson is eager to get out to use it!"
Review 7 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: fishjoe
"I first purchased myn Super Wading Tackle Pack in Roscoe NY, in 1983. I was fishing the beaverkill and my friends made fun of my vest. I bought the Orvis vest and it was the best thing I ever bought for fly fishing. After 29 plus years the vest is still worthy of any stream or river. It shows hardly any wear. But for my 29th. wedding aniversary, my wife gtave me a new SUPER WADING Tackle Pack Vest. The new vest is beyond compare. This will be the last vest that I will ever need. The vest from 1983 I will give to my neighbors son. This will get him hooked on flyfishing and Orvis. Quality is everthing."
Review 8 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Deal,
December 28, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Atlanta, GA
"Got this vest on sale, but after using it a few times I would have paid well over retail for it. Love the vest."
Review 9 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A New Season Awaits,
December 28, 2012
By: DougM
from The Woodlands, TX
"Orvis outdid themselves this time; just think, a vest that fits extremely well, has nicely located pockeds, is made of quality materials, and when loaded with do-dads and gadgets, is comfortably ready to go now ...
Just remember not to let your buddy somehow "accidently" take yours instead of his!"
Review 10 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest for the buck,
December 28, 2012
By: flyrod47
from Most of my fishing is done in Colo.
"The vest was better than the catalog description. Plenty of pockets was not an exaggeration. Product was sized correctly. This vest will fit a big man. Cannot say enough good things. Quality Orvis product sums it up."
Review 11 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice for chest wading,
November 18, 2012
By: Gillfishman
from s.wales.uk
"Nice well made ,and short for deep wading,....with no chance getting the bottom wet.plenty of pockets."
Review 12 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Make a good shorty vest even better,
October 20, 2012
By: TinyOlive
from Hamburg, NJ
"I would like to see this vest made with zinger sleeves on both sides of the front. Also, would like to see wrap-around zippers on the four external fly box pockets to make extracting the boxes easier. Lastly, make the small external rear pocket on the righthand side the same size as the other three."
Review 13 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first Choice!,
October 10, 2012
By: Tonytee
from South Wales, U.K
"Very comfortable, well made, lots and lots of pockets and the perfect size for wading. I have used Orvis for the last twenty years and do not hesitate to recommend this vest."
Review 14 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tac-L-Pac Wading Vest,
July 28, 2012
By: TroutWizard
from Western MA
"Perfect complimentary to all my fly fishing accessories. All pockets in the right place with the right size at all locations for me anyway. I think this is a must buy for the serious fly fisherman who spends all day on the water!!!!"
Review 15 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Value For Money.,
July 11, 2012
By: MrRW
"I purchased the Super Wading Tac-L-Pak to replace my old jacket. Requiring a comfortable hard wearing jacket I found it fit me perfectly first time. The jacket's pockets and features were perfectly positioned and after only several times on the river it now feels like an old friend.
Fantastic value for money, practical and works with you whether stalking brownies in narrow streams or boat fishing large lakes or lochs.
"
Review 16 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
May 1, 2012
By: AvidFisherman
"This is a good jacket and feels comfortable with all my gear in it. There are lots of pockets for everything. The only problem I had was the Velcro was already coming off of one pocket when I took it out of the package. It needs to be sown better."
Review 17 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
April 16, 2012
By: Gvhiii
from Perrysburg, Oh
"After 20 years I retired my old tac l pack to buy this one. If you have to wade deep or get thru heavy undercover to get to the stream this is your vest. The new design mesh vests don't have the pocket space this does and require extra gadgets to be hung on the vest to carry items such as tippet spools. I have been in water over my waist and not got my fly boxes wet. By the way the old vest is hanging in the closet in case I need a spare vest for someone. It is still functional. Great job Orvis"
Review 18 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
April 10, 2012
By: furnace
from milton ny
"Have had other vest , but this one by far has all the pockets needed to carry flyboxes ,large ones , a couple of reel or spools pockets and all your accessories . And your able to wade deep (shorter length) so you don't get your dry flys wet. And it's comfortable to boot."
Review 19 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and easy to wear,
March 29, 2012
By: FredT
"I had a eally bulky Simms vest prior to this Orvis Tak-L-Pak. Its so much lighter and easy to wear I forget I have it on. The pockets are easy to access and the velcro fastenings make for easy opening. A sound buy and well worth the money."
Review 20 for Super Wading Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B-E-A-utiful,
January 10, 2012
By: Arkauer
from Auburn Hills, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Down right the best fishing vest I have ever purchased. I ordered the wading version because I usually find my self in stomach deep water. This vest has tons of room and specialized pockets to hold all of my fishing supplies. The vest keeps everything high and dry. I am 6'3" and right around 170 lbs. I purchased a medium and the vest sits right around my diaphram. It also is super comfortable because the neck has a built in comfort strap. I am very happy with my purchase."