Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest

The Original Super Tac-L-Pak has 31 pockets in all, designed to accommodate all the equipment needed on the stream. Men's fishing vest in tan, olive. 55% cotton/45% poly poplin. Washable. Imported.Men's fishing vest sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56). Size Large is 20" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
54 of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Review 1 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tac-L-Pak dejavu,
July 6, 2015
By: papheasantman
from Pa.
"THE TAK-L-PAK WAS MY 1ST VEST WHEN i STARTED FLY FISHING IN THE EARLY 80'S. i FINALLY GOT TO PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE IN MY 60'S. STILL A GREAT VESTAND AT A GREAT ORVIS SALE PRICE AND FREE SHIPPING I AM TOTALLY DELIGHTED."
Review 2 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fine product,
July 6, 2015
By: WYflyman
from WY
"Just received appears well made. Ton of pockets in a traditional styled vest. So far very impressed."
Review 3 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Tac-L-Pak Vest,
July 6, 2015
By: jimmyheck
from Fairview Hts, Il
"Fits well and comfortable to wear all day. Right length to keep bottom of vest dry also keeps items in pocket from getting wet."
Review 4 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality VEST with a lot of pockets,
July 2, 2015
By: Splashpool
from Red BLUFF, calif
"This VEST has every pockets I needed and is very well organize pockets for all my things. I always carry the kitchen sink with me to fish and it had room for all my necessities. I love it and brought another for my son. Comfortable too! You derve tjis, get one."
Review 5 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of pockets!,
June 25, 2015
By: dwwatso
"Got this vest b/c it has more pockets than most fishing vests. I especially like the two fly reel pockets on the back. It is easy to over-stuff, though, so that it weighs more than a tackle box."
Review 6 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New vest,
May 11, 2015
By: Tdani
from Littleton,CO
"I went to the store at Park Meadows and they did not have the vest in stock. The clerk easily help me order it online in the store and received free shipping. I am totally satisfied with the vest."
Review 7 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
May 7, 2015
By: labrador4fly
from Central Labrador, CANADA
"Another quality product from ORVIS.
Lots of pockets,quality zippers, and
the comfort off the vest is what you
would expect from ORVIS . You can carry all your fishing gear with room to spare and yet the vest fits snug.I believe this vest will last for years .
"
Review 8 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Tac-L-Pack Vest,
February 9, 2013
By: Orion50
from Bailey, CO
"I purchsed my origionl Tac-L-Pack vest 25 years ago. Finally the velcro started wearing out but the vest is holding on strong. It just got smaller or I got bigger! I looked at many vests before coming back to Orvis. The Tack-L-Pack in my opinion is superior to vests that have twice the price. This new vest has more pockets than my origional Tac-L-Pack. It still has the dual zippered pockets on the front bottom which is a must for all of my large fly boxes. The quality is still outsdanding, and I would reccomend this vest to anyone over all the vests I have seen. If this one lasts as long as my first one it will be around to hand down to my Grandson. :-) Outstanding product."
Review 9 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 23, 2013
By: duffy5319
from Williamstown, Wv
"Purchased vest recommended by a good friend, he has owned one for a long time. I received mine and was very happy. Great Vest with lots of storage. Would recommend to everyone."
Review 10 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Vest,
January 18, 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"A quick drying, comfortable vest. I already own one and had it for a few years so I thought I'd pick up another whle they were on sale. The 27 pockets make it ideal for whatever you need to carry on with you while on the creek. This really is a great vest and deservesa "five stars.""
Review 11 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed in Orvis,
January 13, 2013
By: LabradorMan1
from Blackhills, SD
"I have been an Orvis customer now for 20+ years and buy everything from clothes to gear from them. The Super Tac-L-Pak Vest I recently purchased is not up to the normal Orvis standard. The material and workmanship are not what I remember or what exists in my older Orvis vest. To top things off, it arrived with the monogramming uneven with the first letter lower than the next two. Also the thread on the monogram was coming out. Needless to say, it went back, I'll see what Orvis does to remedy the situation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest,
December 15, 2012
By: troutguy2
from Morgantown, WV
"Have tried three other vests over the years but the Tac-L-PaK is the best. You can carry all the flies, tippet and leaders, floatant etc, and have room for your raingear, water and lunch. I can't wait to get my new vest ready for the spring fishing!"
Review 13 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The perfect vest.,
November 26, 2012
By: toefisher
"After looking at several vests, your vest had all the features I need. The price point and quality were strong selling points."
Review 14 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Was great for a while, but...,
November 16, 2012
By: Welch
"Bought one of these years ago. Used it for a few years and had to pack it away when I moved.
After I moved back into flyfishing country from the midwest, I discovered like another user had, that the "sewn on" pockets were coming off.
I loved this vest, but the thread used to construct it is not in for the long haul."
Review 15 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
October 28, 2012
By: OregonTroutBum
from Oregon
"I have tried a lot of vessts through the years, and this is the one. Comfortable in all weather conditions, light weight and roomy enough for all of your essentials. Especially helful are the 2 reel pockets on the vest and the smaller pockets for floatant and other necessities when you are on the river. The best part of the vest wasn't the actual vest, but the help when i ordered the vest. Orvis' legendary customer service people helped me make this a great purchase."
Review 16 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 16, 2012
By: Speckhead
"Best vest on the market bar none!
I know everyone seems to be using packs these days, but why?
This vest still has it all, hard to improve on perfection.
"
Review 17 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Vest -"Secret" Features,
August 3, 2012
By: MrBTrout
from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
"This is a high end vest and worth every penny. You could pay much more for a vest but, in my opinion, this is the best designed, most functional, and practical fishing vest on the market. I fully agree with many of the other user comments about the many useful features and specialized pockets. There is a very logical and intuitive place for everything you need for a full day on the water, plus much more.
When I opened the package and fully examined the vest, there are at least a couple of "secret" or unadvertised features that really put the vest over the top for me:
-This vest is very very comfortable to wear due partly to an "internal support yoke". This is actually a 2 inch, high strength strap that goes from the middle of of one shoulder to the middle of the other shoulder (under the top part of the zippered net scabbard pocket). It is really the backbone of this vest and, as with most products, it is what you don't see that really makes a difference.
-The other very useful feature, mentioned in the vest's info tag but no where else, is that the 2 top zippered chest pockets can be used to keep insect identification and other guides up and away from the water. I have several such small guides which I could never keep all in place and easily accessible until I got this vest.
- Finally, the vest is made of a heavy duty material. I fish in the Eastern Slopes of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta and this vest takes the bite out of crisp mornings and evenings. On very hot days, the wide arm openings keep it comfortable.
"
Review 18 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very rugged performer,
July 10, 2012
By: kcmo710
from Fairway, KS
"I have had this vest for about 25 years, give or take, but it has never failed me, whether I am trout fishing, bass fishing, or catfish fishing. On all of our family's trips, it was rolled up and stuffed in some corner of the van or trailer. It's been rained on, hailed on, covered in stinking mud, blood, sweat, etc... but I just empty it and run it through the wash to make it all good.
After some size increases on my part, I have passed it on to my 11 year old son, who has already broken it in with his first trout and bass.
Through all my use, nary a zipper nor velcro patch has failed or come loose.
Thank you Orvis!!!"
Review 19 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
June 28, 2012
By: possibility
from Crowborough.
"Very well designed for fly fishing and very well manufactured. If you run out of pockets on the front, there is more on the back. No more heavy shoulder bags to trip over and no sorting out the bag before you go. Only one problem, where do I put the fish?"
Review 20 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best I have ever have,
June 15, 2012
By: flyfishing24
from NJ
"Looks and fit perfectly. Every pokets and comparments designed in the proper way. First time I was so comfortable on the river when was fishing last week with this west on my back.
Thank You Orvis.
"