Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest

The Original Super Tac-L-Pak has 31 pockets in all, designed to accommodate all the equipment needed on the stream. Two pin-on fleece patches are included. Men's fishing vest in tan, olive. 55% cotton/45% poly poplin. Washable. Imported.Men's fishing vest sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56). Size Large is 20" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.653 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Review 1 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Tac-L-Pack Vest,
February 9, 2013
By: Orion50
from Bailey, CO
"I purchsed my origionl Tac-L-Pack vest 25 years ago. Finally the velcro started wearing out but the vest is holding on strong. It just got smaller or I got bigger! I looked at many vests before coming back to Orvis. The Tack-L-Pack in my opinion is superior to vests that have twice the price. This new vest has more pockets than my origional Tac-L-Pack. It still has the dual zippered pockets on the front bottom which is a must for all of my large fly boxes. The quality is still outsdanding, and I would reccomend this vest to anyone over all the vests I have seen. If this one lasts as long as my first one it will be around to hand down to my Grandson. :-) Outstanding product."
Review 2 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 23, 2013
By: duffy5319
from Williamstown, Wv
"Purchased vest recommended by a good friend, he has owned one for a long time. I received mine and was very happy. Great Vest with lots of storage. Would recommend to everyone."
Review 3 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Vest,
January 18, 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"A quick drying, comfortable vest. I already own one and had it for a few years so I thought I'd pick up another whle they were on sale. The 27 pockets make it ideal for whatever you need to carry on with you while on the creek. This really is a great vest and deservesa "five stars.""
Review 4 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed in Orvis,
January 13, 2013
By: LabradorMan1
from Blackhills, SD
"I have been an Orvis customer now for 20+ years and buy everything from clothes to gear from them. The Super Tac-L-Pak Vest I recently purchased is not up to the normal Orvis standard. The material and workmanship are not what I remember or what exists in my older Orvis vest. To top things off, it arrived with the monogramming uneven with the first letter lower than the next two. Also the thread on the monogram was coming out. Needless to say, it went back, I'll see what Orvis does to remedy the situation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest,
December 15, 2012
By: troutguy2
from Morgantown, WV
"Have tried three other vests over the years but the Tac-L-PaK is the best. You can carry all the flies, tippet and leaders, floatant etc, and have room for your raingear, water and lunch. I can't wait to get my new vest ready for the spring fishing!"
Review 6 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The perfect vest.,
November 26, 2012
By: toefisher
"After looking at several vests, your vest had all the features I need. The price point and quality were strong selling points."
Review 7 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Was great for a while, but...,
November 16, 2012
By: Welch
"Bought one of these years ago. Used it for a few years and had to pack it away when I moved.
After I moved back into flyfishing country from the midwest, I discovered like another user had, that the "sewn on" pockets were coming off.
I loved this vest, but the thread used to construct it is not in for the long haul."
Review 8 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
October 28, 2012
By: OregonTroutBum
from Oregon
"I have tried a lot of vessts through the years, and this is the one. Comfortable in all weather conditions, light weight and roomy enough for all of your essentials. Especially helful are the 2 reel pockets on the vest and the smaller pockets for floatant and other necessities when you are on the river. The best part of the vest wasn't the actual vest, but the help when i ordered the vest. Orvis' legendary customer service people helped me make this a great purchase."
Review 9 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 16, 2012
By: Speckhead
"Best vest on the market bar none!
I know everyone seems to be using packs these days, but why?
This vest still has it all, hard to improve on perfection.
"
Review 10 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Vest -"Secret" Features,
August 3, 2012
By: MrBTrout
from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
"This is a high end vest and worth every penny. You could pay much more for a vest but, in my opinion, this is the best designed, most functional, and practical fishing vest on the market. I fully agree with many of the other user comments about the many useful features and specialized pockets. There is a very logical and intuitive place for everything you need for a full day on the water, plus much more.
When I opened the package and fully examined the vest, there are at least a couple of "secret" or unadvertised features that really put the vest over the top for me:
-This vest is very very comfortable to wear due partly to an "internal support yoke". This is actually a 2 inch, high strength strap that goes from the middle of of one shoulder to the middle of the other shoulder (under the top part of the zippered net scabbard pocket). It is really the backbone of this vest and, as with most products, it is what you don't see that really makes a difference.
-The other very useful feature, mentioned in the vest's info tag but no where else, is that the 2 top zippered chest pockets can be used to keep insect identification and other guides up and away from the water. I have several such small guides which I could never keep all in place and easily accessible until I got this vest.
- Finally, the vest is made of a heavy duty material. I fish in the Eastern Slopes of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta and this vest takes the bite out of crisp mornings and evenings. On very hot days, the wide arm openings keep it comfortable.
"
Review 11 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very rugged performer,
July 10, 2012
By: kcmo710
from Fairway, KS
"I have had this vest for about 25 years, give or take, but it has never failed me, whether I am trout fishing, bass fishing, or catfish fishing. On all of our family's trips, it was rolled up and stuffed in some corner of the van or trailer. It's been rained on, hailed on, covered in stinking mud, blood, sweat, etc... but I just empty it and run it through the wash to make it all good.
After some size increases on my part, I have passed it on to my 11 year old son, who has already broken it in with his first trout and bass.
Through all my use, nary a zipper nor velcro patch has failed or come loose.
Thank you Orvis!!!"
Review 12 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
June 28, 2012
By: possibility
from Crowborough.
"Very well designed for fly fishing and very well manufactured. If you run out of pockets on the front, there is more on the back. No more heavy shoulder bags to trip over and no sorting out the bag before you go. Only one problem, where do I put the fish?"
Review 13 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best I have ever have,
June 15, 2012
By: flyfishing24
from NJ
"Looks and fit perfectly. Every pokets and comparments designed in the proper way. First time I was so comfortable on the river when was fishing last week with this west on my back.
Thank You Orvis.
"
Review 14 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
April 26, 2012
By: xray14
from Arizona
"This is a great fly fishing vest.! Plenty of pockets to store flies, leaders, tippets etc. Very comfortable to wear. Excellent quality!""
Review 15 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
March 26, 2012
By: drtom3
from Boonton, NJ
"I've worn may Orvis vests in the past. What I particularly like about this vest is the pocket design that allows plenty of room for fly boxes as well as specific pockets for tippit spools and leader wallets."
Review 16 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
March 6, 2012
By: Snoekvis
from Lier Belgium
"Superb vest.
Soft collar and plenty of space to move your arms while you are trowing.More than enough pockets,you can get rid of anything .Good stuff for a fair price.And I must say Orvis has a fantastic shipping service.Thanks.
"
Review 17 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Original Super Tac=L-Pak Vest,
February 28, 2012
By: Duck3
from Northeast Missour
"The vest is very well made. The material is heavy and will withstand alot of abuse. My favorite feature are the many pockets that it has. They are well placed and easy to reach while fishing."
Review 18 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After all these years,
February 8, 2012
By: Tarzs
from Carlsbad, Calif.
"I have had the same vest for who knows how many years, worn in and comfy. but it finally it wore out and I got to big for it. the super tac-Lpac vest is everything I have been looking for. So many of the new vest changed all the simple locations of the front & rear pockets that it made them uncomfortable to use while fishing. this one is like the old vests just NEW."
Review 19 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Vest,
January 11, 2012
By: suemac
"I just received this vest and love the feel, the pockets, the organization. Wonderfurl"
Review 20 for Original Super Tac-L-Pak Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pockets Galore,
December 31, 2011
By: Jwill14
from Little Rock, AR
"There is nothing worse than being on the river wishing you had the one thing you decided to leave in the car because it didn't fit in your vest. This vest can carry it all! Also it has ZIPPERS so valuable flies and leaders and such can't fall out. It's winter weight makes it a little warm, but I just love the design."