Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Emergency Wading Staff

Draw this folding staff from its sheath and automatically, by spring-cord tension, you have a solid, strong, durable walking staff in your hand. Black anodized aluminum with cork grip and tungsten-carbide tip. Order by your height: the 50" walking staff for 6-footers and under, the 59" staff for those over 6 feet. ¾" in diameter. Folding staff stows neatly in belt holster (included).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emergency Wading Staff
Review 1 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Safety Investment,
November 2, 2011
By: RickTN
from TN
"For rivers where flow changes rapidly, such as dammed rivers where generators are turned on or for fast moving rivers, this wading staff is an essential safety investment. It unfolds instantly providing additional support to get to shore. I wish Orvis has listed the options for the staff including a compass or camera mount for using the staff as a monopod. The compass was not of interest to me, but I would have loved the monopod capability. The staff is pricey compared to some others, but the quality is well worth it."
Review 2 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent wading staff,
October 7, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"This product works very well. Folds down to a manageable size in its holster. Stows away until you need it, then opens up one-handed in a jiffy and is extremely solid once locked. The cord string attaches to your belt or jacket and is quite secure. A+"
Review 3 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety Stick,
August 30, 2011
By: Shades
"There are other products, but none as good as this one. Obviously designed by a real fly fisherman."
Review 4 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifesaving product,
July 21, 2011
By: Fireball
from Research Triangle Park Area, NC
"Having had a bad experience on a fast-moving river in Canada, when I was almost swept downstream after falling and taking on water in my waders, I decided to purchase a staff. I gave it a good workout last weekend, using it on a river with muddy banks and an uneven bottom with rocks of various sizes. It performed admirably! Whereas my fishing buddies had to hold onto branches or creep down the riverbank to get into the water, I just unrolled my staff and slowly walked down. Once in the water, I kept the staff dangling at my side, off my waiting belt,using it whenever I changed positions by more than a few feet. The staff kept me upright, even though I occasionally slipped on a tangle of mud and leaves or was tripped up by some rocks. I was in the water for nearly 5 hours and never fell, despite difficult conditions. I love the ability to fold the staff up into a very compact unit that can be easily slipped into the holster on my wading belt. When pulled out, it instantly pops back into its user mode. I'm never going wading again without it."
Review 5 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stay on Your Feet,
May 16, 2011
By: Mikey2
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After wading streams in Colorado and falling several times in fast water or on slick rocks I invested in a wading staff. The nice thing about this wading staff is you keep in on your belt but with one hand you can grab the handle a make a quick flip and it is fully extended and locked. It has kept me dry on more than one occasion since I bought it. Keep the attached cord tied to your belt and even if you drop it you will not lose it. Great Product."
Review 6 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Constant Companion,
November 1, 2010
By: Facoli
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased the original Orvis "Follstaff" 5 years ago and wouldn't be without it on fast water. It's saved my bacon more than once and I use it constantly, not just for emergencies. I fish salmon and trout in Labrador and northern Quebec - big water with large, alge covered rocks and the "third leg" plus studded wading brogues are an unbeatable combination. Collapses and stows easily - no more tripping over a wading staff getting in and out of boats or getting hung up walking thought the woods. Just keep it well waxed (candle will do)."
Review 7 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Age Requires Third Leg,
July 9, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like to think that I have lead a fairly active and healthy lifestyle, and that I am in pretty good shape. However, I am almost 50 now, and I hate to admit it, but I don't have the strength or sure footedness I once had. A couple of years back I was wading in the Pine River on the west side of Michigan - I believe the fastest river in the state. I had the good fortune to hook a nice fish, but he headed down stream. I know the rule is - when you can't see bottom and you are up to your waist or higher, you should walk upstream - that way if you step into a hole the current will push and lift you out of it. Conversely, if you are heading downstream and step into a hole, the current will push you into the hole. Well, that is exactly what happend, and I went under and had to swim to the shore - perhaps my most embarassing moment as a fly fisherman. I purchased this staff the next week and it has helped me avoid several bad decisions since then. It is a high quality staff that will last years, and is easily engaged. However, it is pricey, and Orvis has since come out with its own version which seems of equal quality but for significanly less."
Review 8 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifesaver,
March 15, 2010
By: Chaaaz
from Boston, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Think of this staff as a lifesaver - because that it what it could easily be! I used in a spring run-off creek feeding a larger river, and the water was way higher than normal, and began to get way faster, as well. I turned to get out, and the water nearly took me down at the knees! Without this staff, I would have been floating/swimming, and hopefully gotten out. Get one if you wade moving waters. It doesn't take much to get into trouble on the water! This is one thing you can carry that may save your life!"
Review 9 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potentially lifesaving security,
February 26, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I waded out to a favourite section of water where normally I feel comfortable. But the water was high and without realizing it I found I had been pushed bit by bit downstream where the water was much deeper. I turned back upriver but could not make headway as the gravel washed out from under my feet. I pulled my falstaff out from its holster, planted it and barely made my way, baby-stepping, to the riverbank. PS - Store the staff unfolded: do not leave in holster or the cord frays over time."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indispensible,
February 20, 2008
By: Anonymous
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Rhode Island shores, Cuttyhunk weed covered boulders, Penfield Reef cows; a 3/4" carbide tipped Falstaff wading staff while wearing Korkers on your wader boots will get you to, on AND OFF your favorite weed covered boulder or cow safer than any other way short of a step ladder."
Review 11 for Emergency Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It deeper than you think,
November 12, 2007
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"Have you ever found yourself in a stream where the water was deeper and faster than you thought? It is times like these that you could use a third leg. I usually don't carry a wading staff, because I don't like dragging it around to tangle my fly line in. But this one folds up until you need it. So there is nothing in the way, but its just a quick draw when the situation turns scary. I have been glad to have it on many occasions."