Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase

If you need more—more capacity, more pockets, and a more rugged exterior—this is the briefcase for you. Tough Bullhide handles the abuses of morning commutes and life on the job, with a patina that's the envy of every colleague in your meeting room. The main compartment boasts three pen pockets, two large sleeves for a PDA and mobile phone, and business card slots. The second is fully lined with nylon; a laptop slips in and out with ease. One outside slip compartment holds the daily paper. D-rings for included shoulder strap make it easy for you to carry in comfort. Snag-free nylon zips. Rugged brass and all nylon zips. Dimensions: 13"H x 17"W x 5¼"D; 1,160 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
3
55 of 68(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Review 1 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Gift,
December 12, 2011
By: woods7079
from Charlotte, NC
"My wife bought this bag for me last year. We have been together for over 19 years and, besides our daughter, this is the best gift she has given me. This bag requires you a man to possess a certain amount of pride in style and strength to carry. Perfect gift!"
Review 2 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right on Target,
December 10, 2011
By: Estes
from Dixon, IL
"The case was just was was described in the ad. The recipient, a premed student will carry her computer, class notes, and essentials in it ---And th strap leaves her hands free to cope with the bus to class."
Review 3 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right Gift: Right Time,
November 4, 2011
By: spikeyboy
from Darien, Ct.
"This was a gift that came in the most timely manner with the extra initials on it. The recipient was completely satisfied."
Review 4 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
November 2, 2011
By: JohnP
from San Anselmo
"I am very pleased with my purchase. It is exactly what I needed and wanted. Looking forward to many years of use. Thanks."
Review 5 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 years and going strong,
August 25, 2011
By: floridakeys4sale
"This bag has performed well. I think the more beating it takes, the better looking the character. The open "newspaper" sleeve is great for easy access to notebook, ipad, etc. without having to unzip or unsnap. In six years of daily hauling around, I have purchased 2 additional straps as the synthetic shoulder pad does wear out. But, that's a small investment to keep this bag running with my schedule. The dark interior of the center partition makes it tough on my older eyes to find stuff down in the dark. A light tan nylon would help me find things better. Those are my only 2 gripes. But hey, designing a bag that satisfies every user is tough, but Orvis has come real close on this one and I am happy."
Review 6 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bullhide briefcae,
August 15, 2011
By: iisdking
from Bloomfield Hills , MI
"I was looking for a brief case that I could carry my computer in as well as files and other materials but was not bulky, or boxy typical of those I have had for the last 30 years. this was "perfect" Leather was stylish and will compartmentalized. The size also allowed materials that were beyond standard paper size to easily fit in. In addition the case is very attractive and durable and I look forward to it carrying me to retirement in style."
Review 7 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distinctive w/ Exceptional Character`,
August 15, 2011
By: Bernard132
"This briefcase truely "hits the mark". Plenty of room and easy access to files and laptop. The leather is rich and distinctive. Will enjoy this business accessory for many years to come! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 8 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb product,
July 12, 2011
By: Orvisman1
"This is the 2nd time I am purchasing this beautiful case. This is because a dear friend swiped it from me the first time! Need I say how much I like this product?"
Review 9 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Case,
July 7, 2011
By: GLDI
from St. Louis, MO
"Love my new case. Color, quality, and character of leather is outstanding. Sturdy and well constructed. I do miss the brass zipper that is on my other (older) bullhide duffel, but otherwise I couldn't be happier with the bag."
Review 10 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
April 24, 2011
By: rchan
from TN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This briefcase holds much more than I thought it would without the bulging look. It has a variety of inner compartments, pockets, and sections that really make it functional. The strap is great for when you have to cram a little too much in it, which is usually the case, isn't it? The outside look is rugged and distinctive, but will fit right in and be acceptable from board room to barn."
Review 11 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some blemishes on a great product,
March 23, 2011
By: Travelingbriefcase
from Santiago, Chile
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I spent a very long time looking for a large leather briefcase that could carry my notebook and documents with ease. As a long time Orvis fan, the bullhide leather briefcase was one of the first I saw and the one I ended up buying a few years later.
The briefcase has many strongpoints: it´s large, extremely well made, well organized, and simply looks good. Although the price is not cheap, I believe the briefcase is an excellent value for money as many similar briefcases can easily cost double or more.
I have taken a star off on design and one off on durability for the following reasons:
- Although design is very good, I agree with other reviewers that the internal division (in the non-notebook section) is extremely “floppy“ making it harder to access the compartments in that area (business card holder, pen holder and other pockets). The internal design would benefit greatly from a stiffer internal divider.
- I´ve had a problem with the shoulder strap. The shoulder strap has a shoulder pad that is leather on the outside and has a synthetic non-slip material
on the inside to prevent the strap sliding of your shoulder. After less than 1 years regular/frequent (but not daily) use the synthetic lining has ripped along the seam, has become unstuck and is likely to rip completely within a few months leaving the shoulder strap exposed. This is extremely disappointing considering the overall quality of the briefcase (that still looks new). This is clearly sub-standard quality in a first-class briefcase.
"
Review 12 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullhide: expand the line please,
February 9, 2011
By: TravelingMan
from Arizona
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weight: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is great stuff. You are competing with Ghurka design and quality at a much more intelligent price. Good for you! I want you to expand the line please. I wish your next design was big enough to be to full carry-on-size. Please make it in a convertible back pack for me, and maybe much later a roll-a-board for those that need wheels. In an airport, seems like 80% of people are using backpacks now."
Review 13 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullhide,
January 15, 2011
By: RunForestRun
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I upgraded to the bullhide after my previous Orvis briefcase was stolen. I love it! Two things that could be improved 1) the embossing could be a little deeper to stand out better, 2) if would be nice if the handles stood up rather than falling to each side when the briefcase is set down. Definitely will purchase more bullhide accessories as money (and wife ;-) ) allow."
Review 14 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugged beauty, great buy,
January 8, 2011
By: MsDWT
from Jacksonville, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this as a gift for my husband, who is very particular about his accessories. I wanted a beautiful, rugged, and clearly masculine briefcase, and I looked at many before finding this one. It exceeds all expectations. It is handsome, substantial, well-designed, and appears likely to be the last briefcase my husband will ever need (he plans to retire in 15 years or so). Don't let the price mislead you; the quality of this case is better than those offered by others at two to three times this price. I want a women's version for myself!"
Review 15 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor exchange policies, quality of materials,
December 27, 2010
By: Spader05
from Colorado Springs, CO
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Capacity: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Weight: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"My wife purchased a Bull hide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase as a Christmas present for me in Nov of 2009. I travel at least twice a month and used it for about 10 months with out a problem.
In October of 2010 I noticed my shoulder started to hurt, the padding on the shoulder strap had separated. I called Orvis and was told that they would send me a new shoulder strap. When I received the strap it was ½ inch instead of the 1-inch original strap that came with the bag. I called Orvis and told them they sent me the wrong strap. I was told that Orvis could not send me 1-inch strap and that the ½ inch strap was the best they could do.
As I was waiting for a new strap I started to check the interior of the bag. The plastic coating on the inside lining of the bag started to peal away from the nylon lining. When I called Orvis the second time they said that they would replace the bag and even put on the initials that my wife had put on the bag.
I sent the old bag to Orvis and waited for a replacement. What Orvis did not tell me is when they received the bag they charged my wife’s credit card another $303.00. When we called and asked about it they said they would credit the card when they shipped the new bag. We were told to expect not to see the refund on the credit card for one or two billing cycles, which means I get to pay interest on a bag that was given to me as a gift. Not to mention that if I had been given the bag by someone else they would have had that their card without knowing about it.
Over $300.00 is quite a bit to pay for a briefcase. I expected much more from an Orvis Product and from their customer service.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 13, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issues he encountered. Orvis greatly appreciates your honest feedback about our products and services as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them.
Review 16 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!,
December 9, 2010
By: PTRio
from Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have owned this briefcase for 3.5 years now and it has several hundred thousand miles on it, and has many yet to go before I ever think about replacing it.
I have not had any of the problems mentioned by other reviewers with respect to the die transfer onto clothing. It is a bit heavy, but it makes up for it in durability. I stuff this thing with my heaviest items, and fill it to 150% capacity when I travel. I fully expected the handles to separate or fall off, but nothing of the sort so far. My shoulder will probably separate before the handles on this bag do."
Review 17 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Briefcase Color Rubs Off on Clothing,
October 5, 2010
By: ChevyChase
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Capacity: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weight: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I recently purchased this briefcase from the Orvis shop in Bethesda, MD. Like some other reviewers, I found the briefcase very attractive but completely unusable because the brown color from the leather rubs off on dress clothing and office furniture. Can anybody offer any suggestions?"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 30, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We offered this suggestion to our customer that wiping the briefcase using a soft cloth to remove any excess dye from the bag and then applying a leather conditioner would be helpful to seal leather on the briefcase. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and for use in future product refinements. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all their purchases.
Review 18 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but has its flaws,
September 30, 2010
By: smhiggins
from Columbia, SC
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weight: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"If your looking for a good looking bag to carry along all your files and laptop in, this bag fits the bill. However, like a previous reviewer stated, the bag rubs against your pants when you walk and the leather stains them. For this reason alone, I do not use the bag anymore."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 30, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. We are grateful for this honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded this comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 19 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
its a great brief case with one major flaw,
September 11, 2010
By: SMK9
from New York, NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this briefcase a couple years ago. Its beautiful, has a lot of capacity to hold everything I need on important business trips, and is very functional. But there is one major problem with this product -- I can not travel with this bag while wearing khaki pants. The leather of the bag rubs off on my clothes when I carry it always leaving brown leather stains on my pants. I would use this briefcase more if it weren't for this fact."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 14, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 20 for Bullhide™ Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
premature retirement,
September 4, 2010
By: PLand
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Capacity: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Weight: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I've owned the Orvis Bullhide Briefcase for nearly 3 years. During this time I've used it daily and have put over 300K of domestic and international air miles on it. I've recently decided to put it into early retirement.
I initially purchased this bag because I liked the look and materials. It really stood out from all the boring black nylon bags you see everywhere. And despite the issues that others have noted about the interior design, floppy dividers, etc. (which I agree with) I was able to make it work for my purposes.
The reason I'm retiring the bag is twofold. First the interior hook and loop patches and dividers are coming unstitched. Second, the outside stitching is pulling apart and the leather piping on the bottom and sides is wearing through. When I purchased the bag I was hoping that it would have developed 'character' by this time; however, it's just starting to look beat up. I'm sure I could get several more years of use out of the Orvis bag but I need something that conveys a more professional appearance.
Prior to carrying the Orvis Bullhide Briefcase, I carried a black ballistic nylon bag from a well known company for over 15 years (purchased in 1991). Yes, it' s boring and everybody and their brother carries something similar but I can't deny that the ballistic nylon bag is still in great shape. I plan to buy a new shoulder strap and put it back into service."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 8, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.