Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gulley Fish

Ever wanted a fly to act like a Rapala? This bass casting sinker is it, complete with front lip to give it incredible action. Strip this little fly and it's hard to tell the difference between the fly and the real thing. Size: 1/0.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gulley Fish
Review 1 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lure fly,
May 28, 2014
By: Jimiw
from Saint Cloud . Florida
"Have used it a few times. An got some pan fish. Works pretty good. I'll keep using it."
Review 2 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
has potential,
May 26, 2014
By: tiler
"this fly has amazing and perfect action. when it works the way it is suppose to. this fly comes with a lip as if its for a spinning rod which is amazing. but that lip is very touchy. I haven't gotten my flies to work but one in the months that I have had them. its constant fooling with the lip to try and make it work right until you get so frustrated that you just give up. but the one time I did get the fly to do what it was made to do it was amazing. over all this fly has wonderful potential but needs a better lip."
Review 3 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good purchase,
March 24, 2014
By: sicilianoneto1426
from orlando<FL
"very nice lure caught some fishes.I would like to have a smaller one too."
Review 4 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 3, 2012
By: Scoutingtrout
"I've had good success with these on Stripers when they are feeding near the surface"
Review 5 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Bass Lure,
July 22, 2011
By: RonM
"The 1/0 fly size may be best used as an ultralight lure. It's a bit large for my 8'10" 6wt rod that I use for pond fishing. I expect it will work well on an ultralight rod & reel. Good lure action that attracts bass."
Review 6 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fly ROCKS ladyfish!,
March 28, 2011
By: indianaflyguy
from New Albany, IN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use ladyfish for cut bait in the Everglades and this fly puts ladyfish in the boat! I caught about 40 in an hour. The fly was totally destroyed after that, but it was worth it!"
Review 7 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good LMB and Striper Fly,
May 30, 2010
By: SailSoon
from NC
"I've had good success with these on farm pond Bass and for Stripers when they are feeding near the surface. When the Stripers are batting the popper around instead of eating them, this usually does the trick. They should put a little rattle in them."
Review 8 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fly,
September 30, 2009
By: TidewateR
from Louisiana
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is more lure than fly, but whatever it is, no fly can match the action of a Gulley Fish. They work really well for Redfish and Speckled trout, and probably a host of other saltwater species. I hope they create a suspending model soon."
Review 9 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wakes up sleeping fish,
March 30, 2009
By: Johnathon
from GA
"This fly wakes up every sleeping bass after my streamer fishing slows down. The rainbow trout pattern is a go to fly for topwater action. Slow twitches work best."
Review 10 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Largemouth Attractor,
July 31, 2008
By: MSep
from North Carolina
"I was thrilled to see this fly as the Original Rapala is my favorite go-to spinning lure. Largemouth love it. Great action!!!! I suggest you tie this on with a Rapala Knot rather than the usual cinch, giving it freedom to move. I found that the cinch knot tended to slip around on the hook's eye and, when it gets off center, causes the fly to roll rather than wiggle. I chase bass in my local North Carolina Piedmont haunts and this is now my favorite largemouth attractor."
Review 11 for Gulley Fish
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fly,
June 12, 2008
By: Dale
"I used this for the first time a few days ago when nothing else was working and had great success. I left it on for the rest of the day and caught several bass (largemouth and smallmouth). I was really impressed and will definetly order a few more."