Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Invincible Extra Socks

We put more into our socks so you can get more out of them. The heel and toe of our Invincible Extra Socks, the two most wear-prone areas, are designed to survive 20,000 abrasion cycles in laboratory testing. Made in Vermont of the finest merino wool for softness, moisture management, and odor control, blended with nylon and Lycra® for strength, durability, and resiliency to make our socks the best you can buy. A special 1x1 rib knit eliminates bunching and breakdown. In gray, olive, dark gray, tan, navy, black. Three pairs per pack, same color. Mid-calf length. Merino wool/nylon/Lycra. Washable. Made in USA.Fits shoe sizes: M(8-9½), L(10-11½), XL(12-13½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (344 reviews)
5 stars
251
4 stars
43
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
15
304 of 344(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invincible Extra Socks
Review 1 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very wearable socks,
November 25, 2014
By: caperguy
"I love the way these socks wear. They are very comfortable, and the parts of socks that typically wear out first -- the heel, the ball of the foot -- are extremely durable. However, about half of my socks tore about one inch down, where the upper part meet the main part of the sock. Several of them tore when I first put them on, because I was holding the sock by the end. I had to learn to be careful with the socks in that regard."
Review 2 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Feeling Socks!,
November 24, 2014
By: Gatorman6
from Neptune Beach, FL
"Best socks ever even in warm climates. They wear like iron and look fresh and new even after months of wear.
So glad I made the purchase.
Perk Perkiins is right!
"
Review 3 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever,
November 21, 2014
By: Jill456
from New Jersey
"Several years ago bought these socks for my husband. He adores them. The padded bottom is very comfortable. This year bought another set of 3. I predict he will be very happy with this gift."
Review 4 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks!,
November 19, 2014
By: swilphy
from Northern Michigan
"priced right! great socks for warmth and comfort for northern Michigan!"
Review 5 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foot's Best Friend,
November 19, 2014
By: GoGreen33
"My second set of Orvis Invincibles in the past 10 years - don't know why I waited so long to replenish. Might be too heavy for summer use."
Review 6 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
November 18, 2014
By: gardeningj
from Derbyshire UK
"My husband is a keen gardener, very tall and is fussy about his socks. They have to be the right thickness and length to wear with work boots and wellingtons, not fall down at any time and be wearable all the year.
These socks fulfill all his criteria and are replacing all the other pairs that I have bought elsewhere and now lurk in the back of the sock draw.
"
Review 7 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of Life's Pleasures,
November 14, 2014
By: vincey
from Esher UK
"One of the great pleasures of life is the first time you pull on a new pair of socks. However with these socks you keep on getting pleasure from pulling them on. That's enough pleasure for me to take the time to write this recommendation."
Review 8 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big and Little,
November 10, 2014
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"It's great to find socks in sizes instead of one-size fits everybody else. Those of us with small feet can wind up trying to fold an extra inch of length under our toes, or shopping in the kids' department.
But -- these socks are thick, so that they may require somewhat wide shoes in order to fit properly. They should be good for winter wear.
The general quality and appearance seem to be excellent."
Review 9 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great socks but..,
November 6, 2014
By: MatthewArnold
from NYC
"I have had many pairs of these socks over the last few years. They feel great and wear very well.....Except that the thick top element tears away from the rest of the sock after a while. It has happened many times (it is the only reason that I throw away a sock; I have never had a heel or toe wear out). At least you can keep the other one of the pair to match with the next one that tears."
Review 10 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found Them...,
November 5, 2014
By: TCNC
from North Carolina
"I've been looking for the "perfect" pair of socks. Socks that fit well, are comfortable and wear well. These socks are "perfect." Best pair of socks I've purchased in a long time."
Review 11 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks,
November 4, 2014
By: RandyJR
"These socks were better than expected. Great fit , great value and they were exactly what I needed. I will be purchasing more of these."
Review 12 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
October 31, 2014
By: penashe
from Ontario, Canada
"Great fit and feel. I wear 9 1/2 shoes and medium fit perfectly."
Review 13 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the price,
October 29, 2014
By: susanjgd
from cincinnati oh
"I have purchased these over and over for gifts and am completely satisfied with the quality and fit. They really last."
Review 14 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
October 28, 2014
By: RickRM
"I have owned several pairs of these socks in a variety of colors for a few years. Very durable, extremely comfortable. Even the elastic at the top holds them up after years. Great for work and casual wear."
Review 15 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than I thought,
October 28, 2014
By: Eric47
from Silver Spring Maryland
"These socks are so comfortable and thick in the right places that i have stopped wearing any shoes over them in my house."
Review 16 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
socks for walking,
October 22, 2014
By: kosto
from detroit mi
"i walk 4 miles twice a week these socks hold up better than cashmere"
Review 17 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Best Socks,
October 15, 2014
By: MikeMCS
from San Antonio, TX
"These are the best and most comfortable socks I've ever worn!"
Review 18 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Also the best socks I have owned,
October 13, 2014
By: Galen2
from Minneapolis
"I am a sock fanatic. I have specialized socks for hiking, backpacking, biking, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, kayaking, etc. Each is specially suited for for certain aspects of their use. These Invincible Extra socks are for everything else. I have purchased a couple dozen pairs of these socks over many years. They have padding in the right places, they stay up. Just don't pull them up by the elastic around the top. Reach a little lower to pull them up and you'll get great life out of them."
Review 19 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Socks!,
October 7, 2014
By: Karttikeya
from Boston, MA
"This is arguably one of the best pairs of socks I've owned. They're not too think but have decent cushioning and are very comfortable and decently warm. I would but this again when I'll need more and so should anyone who is looking for great fall socks."
Review 20 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
October 2, 2014
By: OJHJR
from GA
"Invincible socks feel good, wear very well, and don't snag. I use them for motorcycle boots, hunting boots, cowboy boots and sneakers. This is my second order; not because my first set wore out, but because I wanted more of them."