Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Invincible Extra Socks

We put more into our socks so you can get more out of them. The heel and toe of our Invincible Extra Socks, the two most wear-prone areas, are designed to survive 20,000 abrasion cycles in laboratory testing. Made in Vermont of the finest merino wool for softness, moisture management, and odor control, blended with nylon and Lycra® for strength, durability, and resiliency to make our socks the best you can buy. A special 1x1 rib knit eliminates bunching and breakdown. In gray, olive, dark gray, tan, navy, black. Three pairs per pack, same color. Mid-calf length. Merino wool/nylon/Lycra. Washable. Made in USA.Fits shoe sizes: M(8-9½), L(10-11½), XL(12-13½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (380 reviews)
5 stars
282
4 stars
47
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
15
339 of 380(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invincible Extra Socks
Review 1 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and comfortable,
January 29, 2015
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"I had been a fan of Smartwool, until I tried these socks. I like the added wool in the heel and toe, and I like the height, as these socks stay in place all day and are long enough even when seated. Very comfortable and quality built. Well made wool socks may cost a little more than other materials, but wool works for all seasons."
Review 2 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Still good, used to be better,
January 19, 2015
By: NGinNJ
from NJ
"A year ago, I bought my first set of these socks. Since I had been very pleased with my purchase, I bought a second set this winter.
These are still good socks. They are well made, comfortable to wear, and appear to be strong. But these are not as good as my last set. After the wash, they lost some shape and even seem to have shrunk a little."
Review 3 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks,
January 9, 2015
By: pbarone
from los ángeles, california
"these are the most comfortable socks I have ever purchased"
Review 4 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good sock,
January 6, 2015
By: shooter2
from Savannah Ga.
"I usually do not rate products but must say that this is a very good sock with a great fit. I do not say nice things about anything so you know that these sock are a good buy."
Review 5 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks,
January 6, 2015
By: Susan171
"Purchased as a gift for my SIL for Christmas. He loves them and is out on the slopes in them now!"
Review 6 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks,
January 3, 2015
By: BlufftonMom
from South Carolina
"My husband loves these socks. He says they are comfortable, don't fall down and he was pleased with the colors."
Review 7 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best, warmest socks,
January 1, 2015
By: CityWoman
"Orvis Invincible socks are the best for comfort and warmth. These made a great stocking stuffer gift for Christmas. I also have several pairs of the women's for myself!"
Review 8 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sock,
December 31, 2014
By: JohnMich
from Michigan
"This is my second purchase of these socks. My first purchase was 3 years ago and I am still wearing the socks. No holes, no significant stretching, some fuzzing around the heals. I'm 5'10", 250lbs with good size calfs. The sock is thicker than normal, but I wear year round as dress socks to work and causal outings (I also have EEE feet).
Over all, a great sock.
"
Review 9 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XMAS SOCKS,
December 29, 2014
By: momo47
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"These were a gift for my husband, but he picked them out, & loves them!"
Review 10 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Socks,
December 29, 2014
By: FFman
"Quality- natural wool fiber, well-made and fit. Must have!"
Review 11 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
December 26, 2014
By: MiniMimi
from Wayne MI
"I bought these for our son, who is a Boy Scout Leader. He is outdoors with the boys a great deal and the weather is never an issue, they are just out. He asks for these socks every few years because he depends on them to keep his feet warm and comfortable."
Review 12 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best socks, period,
December 26, 2014
By: Cubanchem73
from TX
"I WAS a diehard Smartwool sock man, but lately, they haven't even lasted me 6 months without wearing out. So I tried the Invincible sock and I am a convert. No more Smartwool, Invincible socks for me from now own. Home-run Orvis."
Review 13 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extraordinarily good socks!!!,
December 23, 2014
By: Croughbonz
from Washington State
"Socks that fit, because they come in multiple sizes; comfortable, because they are well engineered and constructed; wear well, because of excellent materials; good color choices, because designers have good taste; and very good value, because they age gracefully."
Review 14 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest socks,
December 22, 2014
By: bbath
from Round Hill, Virginia
"My son-in-law wears only Invincible socks and he has been receiving them from me for years. Think he owns every Orvis shirt in your catalog."
Review 15 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves,
December 20, 2014
By: ElleBelle
from East Berlin, PA
"My husband loves these socks and requests them every Christmas"
Review 16 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, but nothing special,
December 18, 2014
By: BZNflyfisher
"These are nice socks, but nothing to get excited about for the price. They seem to run on the small side. I wear a size 10 shoe and the large just fits. They are warm. I use them as a dress sock in the winter. I have plenty of socks that have lasted 5 years plus, so I hope these will, too. In general, nice, but way over priced."
Review 17 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Socks Everrrrrrrrrr!,
December 18, 2014
By: crabux
"My husband has ankle bone spurs and always wears out socks way too soon. These socks are still like new after years of wearing! His sock drawer probably resembles a sock display at your store. These are the ONLY socks he will wear!"
Review 18 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
American made!,
December 17, 2014
By: ruggedmen
"Last year I was thrilled to find the catalogue for men had a special American Made section. Hooray.
Support American manufacturers and American workers.
I gave these socks to my husband, my two sons, and my son-in-law for Christmas. "Best socks ever," they agreed, and all of them asked for more this year.
"
Review 19 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sox,
December 16, 2014
By: Hrjm
from Morgan Hill, CA.
"Truly the best sox I have ever worn. Excellent material, excellent cut and fit"
Review 20 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best socks,
December 16, 2014
By: mvpalmer
from Denver, CO
"Hubs has been wearing these socks for years. They last a VERY long time compared to standard brands. The only thing that wears out over time is the band at the top where you grab to pull them up - not the heels or toes or anywhere else. We will continue to buy these forever as long as Orvis continues to make them."