Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Invincible Extra Socks

We put more into our socks so you can get more out of them. The heel and toe of our Invincible Extra Socks, the two most wear-prone areas, are designed to survive 20,000 abrasion cycles in laboratory testing. Made in Vermont of the finest merino wool for softness, moisture management, and odor control, blended with nylon and Lycra® for strength, durability, and resiliency to make our socks the best you can buy. A special 1x1 rib knit eliminates bunching and breakdown. In gray, olive, dark gray, tan, navy, black. Three pairs per pack, same color. Mid-calf length. Merino wool/nylon/Lycra. Washable. Made in USA.Fits shoe sizes: M(8-9½), L(10-11½), XL(12-13½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (325 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
39
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
15
285 of 325(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invincible Extra Socks
Review 1 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Best Socks,
October 15, 2014
By: MikeMCS
from San Antonio, TX
"These are the best and most comfortable socks I've ever worn!"
Review 2 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Also the best socks I have owned,
October 13, 2014
By: Galen2
from Minneapolis
"I am a sock fanatic. I have specialized socks for hiking, backpacking, biking, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, kayaking, etc. Each is specially suited for for certain aspects of their use. These Invincible Extra socks are for everything else. I have purchased a couple dozen pairs of these socks over many years. They have padding in the right places, they stay up. Just don't pull them up by the elastic around the top. Reach a little lower to pull them up and you'll get great life out of them."
Review 3 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Socks!,
October 7, 2014
By: Karttikeya
from Boston, MA
"This is arguably one of the best pairs of socks I've owned. They're not too think but have decent cushioning and are very comfortable and decently warm. I would but this again when I'll need more and so should anyone who is looking for great fall socks."
Review 4 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
October 2, 2014
By: OJHJR
from GA
"Invincible socks feel good, wear very well, and don't snag. I use them for motorcycle boots, hunting boots, cowboy boots and sneakers. This is my second order; not because my first set wore out, but because I wanted more of them."
Review 5 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Sock,
August 12, 2014
By: Samspirit
from Portland, Maine
"Great for casual or dress; outdoor, office, et al. Keeps shape and fit, washes well. A good value."
Review 6 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 11, 2014
By: frjules
from Lafayette, LA
"Love wool socks. These top quality - worth the cost!"
Review 7 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort Plus,
June 16, 2014
By: wisconguy
from Beloit Wi
"A great sock for people who walk a lot and need a healthy footing."
Review 8 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sock in the world!,
June 5, 2014
By: RBCLOUGH
"This is the only sock I wear I've been wearing it for years and I don't expect to change. It is a sock I give as a gift, enough said."
Review 9 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These appear to be on the mark.,
May 27, 2014
By: Sarbones
from Rural TN
"The socks appear to be on the mark. They can be donned without a herculean effort. The tops stay up nicely. I've had them for only a short time, but if they wear as well as their predecessors, they will be long lasting."
Review 10 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Socks,
May 26, 2014
By: SamCinci
"I love the feel of merino wool. It has recently been hard to find well constructed merino socks. Orvis makes the best that I have found. This is my second order having worn out my first. While a little less plus than the previous version, they are still wonderful socks and I would highly recommend them."
Review 11 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last Forever,
May 19, 2014
By: MJF1956
from CT
"It seems like a lot of money for socks, but they last forever. I'm just now replacing a few pair that are at least 10 years old. Best I've found at any price.
If you wear an 11 or bigger shoe, get the XL.
"
Review 12 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great socks, watch the sizing.,
May 5, 2014
By: Chrisrn9s
from Oxford, UK
"Really good quality socks, well made and look like they will be hard wearing. The size chart suggests I should have a large for my shoe size 10UK, but having bought large before and found it a little too tight, I went up to XL and the fit is much better. These are high priced socks compared to the High Street, but the quality is better."
Review 13 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm Socks,
May 3, 2014
By: birdhunter
from Northern Missouri
"These socks are hefty and will keep you warm. They have lots of cushion in the lower foot area, and are thinner on top of the foot. I got the navy and wear them every day in cool/cold weather. They are a bit too warm for use in summer. I would have given them a 5, but they tend to pill quite a bit. Still, these are reliably warm socks."
Review 14 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Socks,
May 1, 2014
By: hmama
from Olyphant, PA
"My husband really loves this socks. And when he's happy, I'm happy."
Review 15 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Invincible??,
April 25, 2014
By: Aileron
from MD Eastern Shore
"I bought these about six months ago. Almost every pair has hole at the top of the sock where you pull to put them on. The socks are very comfortable, but appear to be poorly constructed."
Review 16 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Sentence,
April 16, 2014
By: Brendel9
from Highlands, NC
"The first socks found that go from waders on the river to dress shoes at the club."
Review 17 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Overall Socks,
April 11, 2014
By: CtHusky
from Eastern Connecticut
"I bought 3 pair, wore them once and immediately went back and bought 9 more pair. Padded where it counts (toes, soles, heels). Great-looking for all occasions."
Review 18 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Socks,
April 11, 2014
By: one2many
from Back bay boston
"Bought 6 pair; wore them every day; washing them as worn. Felt great when new; felt the same after wash, not alwayws the case with laundered clothing.
they stay up, dont bunch up in shoes, oxfords or loafers, and provide terrific wicking.
Im sold!"
Review 19 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for hunting and everyday,
April 3, 2014
By: japantiger
from Austin
"I use these socks for hunting and everyday. They wear great, don't bunch, and there's a color for whatever occasion comes your way. Been using them for a year; no issues with a single sock (they even all come back in pairs from the dryer!)."
Review 20 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best socks you can buy,
March 31, 2014
By: rupert56
from Sunderland
"These are incredibly warm, comforatble and good looking socks"