Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Invincible Extra Socks

We put more into our socks so you can get more out of them. The heel and toe of our Invincible Extra Socks, the two most wear-prone areas, are designed to survive 20,000 abrasion cycles in laboratory testing. Made in Vermont of the finest merino wool for softness, moisture management, and odor control, blended with nylon and Lycra® for strength, durability, and resiliency to make our socks the best you can buy. A special 1x1 rib knit eliminates bunching and breakdown. In gray, olive, dark gray, tan, navy, black. Three pairs per pack, same color. Mid-calf length. Merino wool/nylon/Lycra. Washable. Made in USA.Fits shoe sizes: M(8-9½), L(10-11½), XL(12-13½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.479 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (359 reviews)
5 stars
265
4 stars
44
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
15
319 of 359(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Invincible Extra Socks
Review 1 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sox,
December 16, 2014
By: Hrjm
from Morgan Hill, CA.
"Truly the best sox I have ever worn. Excellent material, excellent cut and fit"
Review 2 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best socks,
December 16, 2014
By: mvpalmer
from Denver, CO
"Hubs has been wearing these socks for years. They last a VERY long time compared to standard brands. The only thing that wears out over time is the band at the top where you grab to pull them up - not the heels or toes or anywhere else. We will continue to buy these forever as long as Orvis continues to make them."
Review 3 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis is the Best,
December 13, 2014
By: Stance
from Bryn Mawr, PA
"Every thing I have bought has been perfect. Never had to complain or return anything. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 4 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sox,
December 13, 2014
By: Gretchenll
from IN
"I ordered these for my husband for Christmas. He had others and really likes them."
Review 5 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Socks,
December 13, 2014
By: Phil62
from Northern Ohio
"These are the best mid weight socks I have ever owned. They stay up and form to your foot. The merino wool content is higher than their competition and above all they are comfortable !"
Review 6 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
December 10, 2014
By: hotrodgarry
from 0rvis online
"I recently made a second purchase of Invincible extra socks. When first presented with the price I was surprised by the cost of 3 pair of socks ,but when I could not wear out any of the Orvis socks compared to going thru other manufactures product in a relatively short period of time I realized the tremendous value of the Orvis product Outstanding value !"
Review 7 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 4, 2014
By: Joanir
from Minneapolis, MN
"I wanted a perfect "English type" dress vest for my husband (who has many jackets, etc which we got in England during our many stays there. Lo, and behold, there was the perfect moleskin vest in my Orvis catalog and after ordering it my salesman informed me I had scored the last one in my husband's size. Indeed, that was my lucky day!!"
Review 8 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks!!,
December 3, 2014
By: Leo380
from Central NC
"Not as bulky as some others but just as warm. I ordered a three pack and shortly after I received them I ordered an additional package. These socks are warm and fit well. I'm looking forward to testing their longevity. Although a bit pricey, if they last longer than some other wool socks I've owned, they will be a very good value"
Review 9 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sock,
December 2, 2014
By: acemasonboro
from Masonboro, NC
"Socks are very high quality and comfortable. I do wish they either came in an assorted color package or you could buy one pair at a time."
Review 10 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just feel GOOD,
December 1, 2014
By: billy521931
from Edna, Texas
"Nothing makes one more comfortable than having your
feet warm and comfy on a cold
winter day. These do the trick!
"
Review 11 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best socks ever,
November 26, 2014
By: BubXXXXXX
from NW Louisiana
"Best I have ever owned. Well worth the money. Wear them year round. Never hot or cold, always nice. Have never creped down. Been wearing nothing else for at least 7 years."
Review 12 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best socks I own,
November 26, 2014
By: WillieMac
from Durango, Colorado
"In my humble opinion, you simply can't find a better socks. These are warm, extremely long lasting and hold their shape. They are a bit expensive but worth every penny based on their durability alone."
Review 13 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very wearable socks,
November 25, 2014
By: caperguy
"I love the way these socks wear. They are very comfortable, and the parts of socks that typically wear out first -- the heel, the ball of the foot -- are extremely durable. However, about half of my socks tore about one inch down, where the upper part meet the main part of the sock. Several of them tore when I first put them on, because I was holding the sock by the end. I had to learn to be careful with the socks in that regard."
Review 14 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Feeling Socks!,
November 24, 2014
By: Gatorman6
from Neptune Beach, FL
"Best socks ever even in warm climates. They wear like iron and look fresh and new even after months of wear.
So glad I made the purchase.
Perk Perkiins is right!
"
Review 15 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever,
November 21, 2014
By: Jill456
from New Jersey
"Several years ago bought these socks for my husband. He adores them. The padded bottom is very comfortable. This year bought another set of 3. I predict he will be very happy with this gift."
Review 16 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great socks!,
November 19, 2014
By: swilphy
from Northern Michigan
"priced right! great socks for warmth and comfort for northern Michigan!"
Review 17 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foot's Best Friend,
November 19, 2014
By: GoGreen33
"My second set of Orvis Invincibles in the past 10 years - don't know why I waited so long to replenish. Might be too heavy for summer use."
Review 18 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
November 18, 2014
By: gardeningj
from Derbyshire UK
"My husband is a keen gardener, very tall and is fussy about his socks. They have to be the right thickness and length to wear with work boots and wellingtons, not fall down at any time and be wearable all the year.
These socks fulfill all his criteria and are replacing all the other pairs that I have bought elsewhere and now lurk in the back of the sock draw.
"
Review 19 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of Life's Pleasures,
November 14, 2014
By: vincey
from Esher UK
"One of the great pleasures of life is the first time you pull on a new pair of socks. However with these socks you keep on getting pleasure from pulling them on. That's enough pleasure for me to take the time to write this recommendation."
Review 20 for Invincible Extra Socks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big and Little,
November 10, 2014
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"It's great to find socks in sizes instead of one-size fits everybody else. Those of us with small feet can wind up trying to fold an extra inch of length under our toes, or shopping in the kids' department.
But -- these socks are thick, so that they may require somewhat wide shoes in order to fit properly. They should be good for winter wear.
The general quality and appearance seem to be excellent."