Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Krystal Flash Wing Material

Superb Clouser Minnow material. Tiny filaments flash tiny points of light. Use a few strands in streamer wings. Over 150 15" strands per package. Metallic colors: silver, gold, copper, black, red, green, royal blue. Pearlescent colors: pearl, olive, peacock, lime green, blue, purple, pink, orange, mixed colors, smolt blue, Gray Ghost, root beer. Fluorescent colors: cerise, fire orange, shrimp pink, chartreuse. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Review 1 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flashy Stuff!,
September 16, 2014
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
"Great flash. Perfect for bonefish and redfish flies!"
Review 2 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Krystal,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This is my "go to" material for when I need to add flash to a pattern using bucktail or craft fur. The stiffness of the krystal flash seems to match up well with those materials quite well. Just a bit is all you need to get that little bit o' flash and make some of your patterns pop a bit."
Review 3 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saltwater Success,
March 11, 2014
By: Jermmr
from Scituate Ma
"The way the fly presents is everything! Adding Kystal flash is like adding the element of extra attraction to my saltwater flies. The shimmer effect you get when you tie this into your saltwater creations is a sure way to get more hits and from there its in your hands, Tight Lines"
Review 4 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krystral Flash,
February 11, 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"Great material and has added the extra flash for my wolly buggers and have done well this winter for just starting to tie flies. Thanks Orvis for starting me out."
Review 5 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
used this product on slat water lures,
January 21, 2014
By: Hawaii808
from Kailua Kona Hawaii
"this is a great product and I add it to all my salt water lures that I make.
Really adds a nice touch to the finished product. I make jigging and small trolling lures and have caught a bunch of fish.
"
Review 6 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Material,
August 15, 2013
By: JimmyK
from Washington, DC
"I am digging the not too bright orange. This stuff has just a little bit of stretch and really looks great on the underbody of my bone fish flies."
Review 7 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
May 20, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"It's Krystal Flash. What more can you say. It's good stuff to have. I use it for a variety of purposes like adding some flash to woolly buggers, a little bling in other flies and most recently as wings on a beetle I am tying."
Review 8 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Krystal flash,
March 28, 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"I have purchased Krystal flash from another seller and Orvis has them beat hands down as far as quality. The packaging is a great plus with the ease of taking out and putting back without the usual mess of flash materials. Thanks Orvis."
Review 9 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have for streamers and nymphs,
March 21, 2013
By: MWPOOLE
from Western Maine
"I have been adding crystal flash to some of the older streamer and nymph patterns used here in Maine. It has successfully produced more strikes which has lead to more hook ups.
Use sparsely a little goes a long way."
Review 10 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 7, 2013
By: raccman
from Broomfield, CO
"I've also seen the product named "Black Pearl" due to the green shimmer points within the strands. Great for legs, underwings, wings, ribbing and tails."
Review 11 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice touch,
October 22, 2012
By: tobey73
from Maine
"Added a bit of this to my all black buggers. Not sure if it will trigger more strikes but it makes the fly look cool."
Review 12 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krystal Flash,
March 4, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Have been using krystal flash as an under body for Body Glass. The krystal flash really makes the Body Glass sparkle. Very sturdy."
Review 13 for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
$1.50 CHEAPER THAN OUR OLD FLY SHOP,
November 20, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I TIE A LOT OF SALTWATER FLIES AND GO THROUGH KRYSTAL FLASH LIKE NOBODYS BUSINESS SO AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE PHOTO'S I USE EVERY COLOR THERE IS POSSIBLE TO USE AND AGAIN NO BETTER PLACE TO GET IT THAN FROM ORVIS,BECAUSE I HAVE BAUGHT BAD FLASH BEFORE AND THE LOCAL SHOP OWNER COULD HAVE CARED LESS,LESSON LEARNED STICK WITH THE BEST(ORVIS) AND YOUR PRODUCTS ARE GUARENTEED TO BE PERFECT AND IF THEY'RE NOT ORVIS WILL REPLACE THEM NO ??? ASK WHERE ELSE CAN YOU GET THAT KIND OF SERVICS?ABSOLUTELY NOWHERE THATS WHY MY GRANDFATHER AND I DRIVE OVER 400 MILES(OF COURSE WERE HEADING TO MICHIGAN AT THE TIME BUT STILL) JUST TO GO TO THE ORVIS RETAIL STORE WHICH IF YOU HAVE NOT BEEN, PUT IT ON THE LIST BECAUSE THOSE STORES ARE REDICULOUSLY INSANE YOU THINK IT THEY HAVE IT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Krystal Flash Wing Material
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3