Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Traditional Surcingle Belt

Add a handsome finishing touch to chinos, jeans, or your favorite shorts with a pure wool surcingle belt. Premium leather tabs and solid brass buckle. Fabric belts for me in maroon, khaki, navy. 1¼" wide. USA.Men's belts in even waist sizes 34-42.Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Review 1 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice belt,
October 16, 2012
By: CommittedEventer
from Rockville, MD
"I had been looking for nice web belts to wear with my riding breeches when riding my horses. The quality of materials and workmanship are first rate. While more expensive than other web belts I have purchased, the quality of the belts is consistent with the price."
Review 2 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied Purchase,
September 5, 2012
By: Tunasan
from Seattle, WA.
"The belt arived as ordered.
The leather on the belt was of higher quality then expected.
I ordered a size 42. The size 42 belt was really about a 40 on the center hole. I would order one size larger next time.
"
Review 3 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replacement,
August 22, 2012
By: zoed
"Good quality belt. However was not the exact replacement I had purchased 20 yrs ago but close enough for me to keep."
Review 4 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
August 19, 2012
By: Wilifepix
from Maryland
"Nice belt but the stitching on the leather did not hold up after a year. The belt fell apart. I have had other Orvis belts and I have been satisfied with the life-span. So, I am a bit disappointed that this totally failed."
Review 5 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size up,
August 14, 2012
By: davidjon
from West Lafayette, IN
"Not as good a value as the striped cotton and surcingle belt, but serviceable. Definitely need to size up one pants size as it runs small."
Review 6 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wrong color,
July 30, 2012
By: Shun
from Atlanta, GA
"This is a nice belt but I did not like the color. It is listed as maroon but the red is so dark it is almost a purple. I was hoping for something closer to crimson."
Review 7 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice belt,
July 10, 2012
By: WinstonsDad
"Belt is high quality and well designed. Just what I expect from Orvis."
Review 8 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What I was looking for,
June 30, 2012
By: Picadilly
from Charleston, AR
"Believe it or not, this type of belt is hard to find in a dept. store. I ordered the Navy and Khaki. The only thing is that the leather is very stiff and might crack after years of use. Otherwise what I expected."
Review 9 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At Last,
June 25, 2012
By: harmie
from Traverse City, Michigan
"I've been trying to replace my favorite belt for a year but couldn't find the same style. Perfect match. Good price. Bought three. Life is good."
Review 10 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
June 7, 2012
By: bingo66
"If you play golf, these belts are practical and great value."
Review 11 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
June 15, 2011
By: DannyPie
"These old-style belts are made of the best quality materials."
Review 12 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Belts Never Die -- They Just Retire!,
March 19, 2011
By: DrDon
from Ashland, OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased two (2) of these belts (Khaki and Navy) to replace the ones I purchased from Orvis back in the early 1990's. The new belts are virtually the same as the ones I replaced. Following the sizing advice (ordering one size larger than your actual waist size) on the Orvis Web-site, I tried on each belt when they arrived to ensure the sizing was right. It was perfect! The craftsmanship and materials that went into making each belt is VERY GOOD and the purchase price was reasonable. They represent an outstanding value and I would definitely recommend them to a friend. As a matter of fact, I am planning to purchase the Maroon belt for my son-in-law when it becomes available in May 2011."
Review 13 for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditional Surcingle Belt,
November 21, 2009
By: Producer
from Hampstead, London
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the Melon coloured belt and was a bit surprised that the colour was actually more Pink than Melon. Orvis quickly offered a replacement, but I have decided to stick with it. Very impressive speed of reply from the Customer team though."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Traditional Surcingle Belt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2