Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tippet Spool Holder

Easy-to-use fly-fishing tippet spool holder holds up to four spools securely. Stretch cord holder can be clipped for convenience. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.608 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
48 of 51(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tippet Spool Holder
Review 1 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 31, 2014
By: Samb
from Troy, OH
"This has become great addition to my sling pack. Keeps my tippet organized and easy to access."
Review 2 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits the bill,
March 25, 2014
By: ITFisher
from Colorado
"Nothing wrong with this product fits perfectly between the loops on my Safe Passage sling pack."
Review 3 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Not sure what purpose the push lock serves on this item. The plastic sleeve that holds the spools is too thick to slide through the push lock, so you can't slide it down to secure a small number of spools. But is serves the purpose."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceMarch 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Tippet Spool Holder. The push lock ball is purposely affixed for security, and is not designed to move. The holder hangs vertically, allowing gravity to limit movement of spools if only a small number are loaded. Again, we appreciate your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all our products.
Review 4 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best for guide pack,
March 15, 2014
By: Hughabio
"Great product to keep spools easily accessible. A little on the big side for my sling pack but I plan to get a guide pack and will use it on that."
Review 5 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what I need,
February 10, 2014
By: COPhisher
from Where they bite, CO
"This is a good tippet holder to go with a few rolls of Orvis Super Strong Tippet. It has a large clip on the top to attach to your kit and a smaller one to attach a Tie-Fast to."
Review 6 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
February 10, 2014
By: Flatsbrats66
from Cape Cod, Ma
"I bought this spool holder last year and it's awesome. No more digging through my waiters or my sling pack while I'm fishing the flats of Cape cod. I like it do much that I bought two more to give to my saltwater fly fishing buddies. Can't wait for spring. Fish on!!"
Review 7 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and convenient,
January 16, 2014
By: Syrhead
from Redmond, WA
"It's perfect because it's so simple and just works."
Review 8 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So convenient,
November 11, 2013
By: Cutthroat509
from Yakima,Wa
"I bought this tippit holder it so convenient too have on my Orvis sling pack I absolutely love it I would buy it again and recommend it too anyone."
Review 9 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Functional,
September 24, 2013
By: TZCooper
from Georgia
"This does exactly what it's designed to do easily. It's a necessary part of anyone's gear."
Review 10 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 31, 2013
By: Mambo5
"Had never used a spool holder previously. Once I started, I am now hokked. Makes replacing tippets while fishing so much easier, and organized."
Review 11 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
holder,
June 23, 2013
By: fishking
from uk
"is very good would helpif you could tighten up when you onlt have 2\3 spool on"
Review 12 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy Once,
May 1, 2013
By: TNTucker
from Nashville
"Simple product that performs as it should. Happy, Happy, Happy!"
Review 13 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great spool holder,
May 1, 2013
By: outdoorsman33
"This is a good spool holder for the price. It easily held 3 spools each of different line size. Overall great product."
Review 14 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
March 23, 2013
By: daj64
from Pennsylvania
"Works great with my new sling pack. Would highly recommend."
Review 15 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great device,
March 15, 2013
By: NWest
"Extremely useful item. I have it on a guide sling and no more rummaging in waistcoat pockets for Tippett spools"
Review 16 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Must Have,
March 5, 2013
By: flyfishercliff
from State College, PA
"If you buy a Safe Passage Sling Pack, you must have this tippet holder, or I suppose you could use a piece of bailing wire to secure your spools. I would have given it 5-stars if it came with the sling, and not having to follow-up with another order."
Review 17 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as good as the original,
February 20, 2013
By: Imago
from North Yorkshire, UK
"I've had an older version of this with an elastic cord. This new version is not elastic and is coated with stiff shrink wrap plastic. I had to remove this as the 'toggle' won't go over this plastic and so you couldn't hold a small number of spools in place. they were left loose and rattling. Why change something that works? You can adapt this one, as I did, but the old version was better."
Review 18 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first disappointing Orvis product,
November 9, 2012
By: Puck1577
"The idea is terrific but the design needs some help. The ball slide won't fit over the plastic sleeve covering the nylon string. This prevents one using less than 5 tippet spools without them sliding all around."
Review 19 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like a charm!,
October 18, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I like it! Just the right size.
Mine is currently loaded with 6 spools of 70m length Mirage tippet, so it holds quite a bit."
Review 20 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good,
October 12, 2012
By: mpearson
from N.C
"Product works great with my new sling pack. I attached the hooks to the additional lanyards on the sling pack and they carry nicely on the outside of the sling pack making it more convienient to re-line without digging around in my pack. I would recommend this product to anybody."