Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tippet Spool Holder

Easy-to-use fly-fishing tippet spool holder holds up to four spools securely. Stretch cord holder can be clipped for convenience. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
67 of 71(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tippet Spool Holder
Review 1 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Tool for the Vest,
July 13, 2015
By: UncleB
from Maple Valley, WA
"I'm a vest guy and ever since Orvis went to the larger diameter tippet spools, they don't fit in the old vest tippet spool pockets. This tippet spool dangles nicely from the vest keeping my spools organized and readily accessible. I'd rather have the smaller diameter spools, but that ship has sailed, so this tool works well for me."
Review 2 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Essential Accessory,
June 23, 2015
By: OKCorral
from White Plains, NY
"This is an essential accessory - I like that it has a light weight carabiner which makes it easy to attach to vest, etc."
Review 3 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Defective design?,
May 25, 2015
By: BostonJimBo
from Boston
"It would seem that the pushbutton ball should slide up along the rubber covered nylon rope to hold the spools together, yet the opening is too small and it can't be moved from where it is? I contacted customer service and they just sent me another one just like it. I must be missing somethimg?"
Review 4 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little,
May 6, 2015
By: Lonestarjae
from Lubbock, Tx
"Good product Would recommend this to anyone. Good quality"
Review 5 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy Spool Holder,
April 13, 2015
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Saves me having to dig around in the pockets of my vest / pack / jacket for tippet when changing my leader or building a new one."
Review 6 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
February 26, 2015
By: Luckyjuan
from New Mexico
"I reallly like the way i can choose to place my spools on with my fishing gear or just move it to another location when the climate changes and i wish to change up my arrangment for whatever reason. Good Stufff!!"
Review 7 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally!,
February 26, 2015
By: DF2656
"I've never had a Tippet Spool Holder before and I'm not quite sure why. In the past I've kept my spools "organized" in a pocket(s) in my vest or in a gear bag. Inevitably I would get frustrated when out on the water. This spool holder is awesome and has already made my life easier while fishing."
Review 8 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tired of Tippet Tangles?,
November 14, 2014
By: Rick4477
"Have employed various means of accessing tippet spools. Orvis spool holder is light, sizeable and eminently attachable to vest, pack, or jacket. Simple but effective!"
Review 9 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does Its Job,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Bought this for my sling pack. Looks good and does it's job."
Review 10 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally organizes my tippets,
October 12, 2014
By: reno124
from western mass.
"easy to use. used to keep various tippet spools in pockets. now all spools are fixed together. organized and easy to locate. can attach to vest loop or to rings on sling pouch. works great."
Review 11 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more hassle.,
September 26, 2014
By: Bengali
from OC, California
"What a great addition to my vest. No more zipping and unzipping pockets and pouches looking for the tippet you need. This spool holder solves that problem and makes finding and using new tippet a breeze. Liked it so much, I bought one for a fishing buddy too."
Review 12 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy Dandy,
September 24, 2014
By: cdcovington
from King, NC
"This tippet spool holder conveniently attaches at each end to my sling pack, so that I've got all my tippet spools readily at hand. Need 6x for a delicate dry? No problem; lickety split. Can't turn over a heavy nymph? Lost half of your leader's tippet section? 4x coming right up. No more digging in vest pockets, losing valuable fishing time. A little organization goes a long way."
Review 13 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good,
August 20, 2014
By: Paul0808
from Lynn, MA
"There is a reason why every picture of the sling packs has one of these on it, it is a really handy way to store tippet spools. I was surprised that it didn't come with the pack."
Review 14 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy,
August 4, 2014
By: revlloy
"This was a very easy accesory to set up. My tippet spools were not hard to get on the holder. Alos, the clips fit my Ovis Safe-Passage Sling Pack perfectly. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cleans up front of my fly vest,
July 19, 2014
By: HERB2
from Jackson Hole, WY
"The Orvis Tippet Spool Holder eliminates that constant battle to locate the correct size Tippet, as it allows you to neatly organize your spools according to size and place them almost anywhere, via the large snap ring on top. It also comes with a smaller snap ring on the bottom to attach another item, protected from constantly becoming caught on your line."
Review 16 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Very Well,
May 30, 2014
By: SCFlyFisherman
from Greenville, SC
"The Orvis Tippet Spool Holder is exactly what I was looking for to store and organize my tippet spools. The clips on each end made it very easy and convenient to add or remove my spools. My fishing buddy saw it on my sling pack and commented that he wanted to get one for himself. Excellent product!"
Review 17 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tippet right there,
May 3, 2014
By: kommanderk
from Catskills NY
"When I got my new Sling Pack this seemed the perfect way to keep tippet and it is."
Review 18 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 31, 2014
By: Samb
from Troy, OH
"This has become great addition to my sling pack. Keeps my tippet organized and easy to access."
Review 19 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits the bill,
March 25, 2014
By: ITFisher
from Colorado
"Nothing wrong with this product fits perfectly between the loops on my Safe Passage sling pack."
Review 20 for Tippet Spool Holder
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Not sure what purpose the push lock serves on this item. The plastic sleeve that holds the spools is too thick to slide through the push lock, so you can't slide it down to secure a small number of spools. But is serves the purpose."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceMarch 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Tippet Spool Holder. The push lock ball is purposely affixed for security, and is not designed to move. The holder hangs vertically, allowing gravity to limit movement of spools if only a small number are loaded. Again, we appreciate your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all our products.