Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Caddis Emerger Hook

A short shank and a special curved bend make this light-wire hook perfect for shrimp imitations, caddis pupae, and caddis larvae. 1X fine.Even hook sizes: 10-22.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Caddis Emerger Hook
Review 1 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 10, 2014
By: Luv2Tie
from San Diego
"I bought these for tying emergers but soon found out that I could tie a multitude of flies. They are great for detached body as well definitely would recommend this product and I'll be buying all the sizes."
Review 2 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for all sorts of nymphs,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"This hook is very good for all sorts of nymphs, not only Caddis flies. That is because of its wide hook gap.
I wish it would also come in barbless.
"
Review 3 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to hook,
February 20, 2014
By: troutster
from St Clair shores, michigan
"I fish a lot in spring and summer in northern michigan
The emerger hook is on the end of my Tippett most of the time
I use it for caddis and mayflies,
Klinkhammers and extended bodies
I guess it's my go to hook!
Thanks orvis
"
Review 4 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Forged,
January 16, 2014
By: NickGiordano
from Beaufort, SC
"You may be able to find competitors hooks out there for cheaper. All too often I have a No Name Hook in the vise and they aren't straight, then they snap when I bend them back. You never have any faulty hooks from Orvis."
Review 5 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hooks,
January 2, 2014
By: bestatthegame
from michigan
"I have used these hooks before and find them to be the best on the market."
Review 6 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"Where I fish has a very hardy and long lasting midge hatch. I tie lots of midges, so I bought a 50 pack in size 20. Great hooks and, because of the wider gap and sharpness, were very easy to hook up with trout. It is a size 20, though, so do not expect to hook up with every trout. Still, great hook."
Review 7 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Sharp, Stick Point,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"I love tying on these hooks. I use these in mostly sizes 16-22 for midges. The point on these are very sharp and I have no problems hooking fish. Put the point on your thumb nail and feel for yourself. The barb pinches down easily and out of several hundred hooks I have not yet had a single point break off. The fly is the single cheapest thing you need in fly fishing and it is one of the most important. Don't cut corners on cheap hooks. Tie with the best and when you hook up with that hog you won't have any regrets."
Review 8 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caught fish,
August 3, 2012
By: finshingforteaching
from CO
"Tied a dozen zebra midge with it, tried one the next day and caught 10 more rainbow with it. At the end of the it was sharp enough and back to my fly box. I'm wondering I will have chances to use the rest this year."
Review 9 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Design,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you are reading this review, you are a fly tier. And if you tie flies, you care about quality and the finished product. These are high quality hooks - strong and sharp. Great design for nymphs."
Review 10 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hooks,
April 24, 2012
By: StogieLvr
"For tying Orvis hooks hold up to the pressure and strain a novice like me put on them. I especially like to use Orvis hooks on the smaller sizes 18 to 24."
Review 11 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good hooks,
January 30, 2012
By: MD2020
from Washington, MO
"I bought these primarily for midges. Good hooks - no regrets"
Review 12 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile,
August 30, 2011
By: Wideloop
"Fine wire and short shank allows tying tiny dries with wider hook gape. Great for microcaddis and midges dry and sunk."
Review 13 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for shrimps,
August 19, 2011
By: zelon
from Twyford, Berkshire, UK
"These may be called emerger hooks but I buy them because of their shape. I find I can tie a much more closer shrimp pattern on these than the ones classified for shrimps. Best weighted for a shrimp fishing in anything more than 2-3 feet of water as they get down that much faster. Love the offset bend as it aids hooking more than an inline bend. Good sharp point and small barb."
Review 14 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Over-all Hook-Versatile,
July 8, 2010
By: lilrhodes
from Southern Itlay
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've tried numerous scud/emerger/wet fly hooks, and this hook is hard to beat, quality superb - similar to the Daiichi 1130. If I had a recommendation to upgrade this fine hook, I would offer it in a barbless model . . . maybe with a point flaring sharply up like the wet type fly hooks in Europe that are barbless to hold a little better. I would offer it in larger sizes too, like 8 & 6. I think size 10 is the largest, and I need larger sizes too. I use all sizes of this hook, size 16 & 14 are probably the most common, though. . . and for midges 18, 20, 22. This IS my go to hook in small sizes like 20s or even 18s with this type of bend. And, I use it for tying small dry flies like small Caddis or midges, BWO cripples, emergers & parachutes because of the thin wire, as well as wet flies. It is a very versatile hook, and if I had to choose one hook to have above all others, this model would probably be it, even for nymphs, because the natural nymph curls-up when in the drift/current often. I use it for bead heads too, and this is where the larger sizes are nice. Wet flies, size 14 & 12 are my favorites. . . but I use larger and smaller depending on what insects are on the river. I have had great success over the years with this hook, and I really like the large hook gape! Last, but not least, the service that Orvis offers is superb, and the hooks are offered in large quantities, making them economically a good buy too."
Review 15 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks,
March 15, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"All of orvis' hooks are great quality and will stand up to the test of time. This particular hook is great for those new curved shank emerger, grub, brassie type flies. Just used this hook to tie up some new brassies and give them a shot this year. They look great and the curvature of the hook gives them a more lifelike appearance (with less hook revealed to give your fly away)."
Review 16 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY FAVORITE HOOK,
November 22, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I KNOW A LOT OF TIERS WHO WONT TUCH THIS TYPE OF HOOK WITH A 10 FT, POLE, I ON THE OTHER ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS HOOK IT IS A LITTLE MORE CHALLENGING TO TIE ON,SURE BUT THAT THE POINT TO KEEP PUSHING TYOUR TYING LIMITS SO YOU CAN KEEP LEARNING AND NOT STAY TYING THE SAME OLD FLIES DAY IN AND DAY OUT.THIS HOOK IS SUPER STRONG,SUPER SHARP,AND YOU CAN TIE AN INFINATE AMOUTOF FLY TYPE ON IT. HANDS DOWN IT IS THE BEST HOOK OUT THERE AND THAT EVEN GOES FOR ITS QUALITY,ITS AMAZING HOW ORVIS HAS THE ABILITY TO HAVE SUCH STRONG DEPENDABLE HOOKS,IVE EVEN TIED FLIES ON THE SAME HOOK 2-3 TIMES,FISF TEARS UP THE FLY,REBUILD THE FLY ON THAT HOOK 9 TIMES OUT OF 10 IVE GOTTEN THE HOOKS BACK IN PRISTINE CONDITION AND WITH HOOKS BEING THE MOST EXSPENSIVE PART OF THE FLY IN MOST CASES IT IS AWESOME THAT THE ORVIS HOOKS HOLD UP TO THAT ABUSE AND CAN BE USED AGAIN I HAVE ONE IVE RETIED 4 TIMES NOW AND YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW IT.THE HOOK SHOWS NO WEAR WHAT-SO-EVER GO ORVIS!!!!"
Review 17 for Caddis Emerger Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Than an Emerger,
October 28, 2009
By: theKoz
from Petoskey, MI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Many people over look multi-faceted hooks- there are many uses for the Orvis #1639 Emerger/caddis hook. I often tie flying ant patterns on these because of their strong yet thin forged steel, large hook gap allows for a smaller pattern to be tied on a larger hook size for the novice tyer. It is also a lttle known secret to use this hook in Large sizes for extended body mayfly patterns that will remain boyuant even after a few fish. Tight Lines!!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Caddis Emerger Hook
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2