Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts

Our men's Madras shirt gives you more durability and the same traditional comfort in the heat. Our pure cotton travels better than ordinary cotton because it's woven with more yarns for added durability. Yet it remains as breathable, cool, and comfortable as traditional madras. Button-down collar. Men's madras shirt has a single button-through pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
3
61 of 72(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Review 1 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
too cool for school,
July 21, 2014
By: COWBOY13
from Morrison, Colorado
"Having been informed that I was attending a seminar in Orlando, Fl. in the middle of July (ugh), I knew I had to have something cool, comfortable and classic to wear for the 3 day affair. As fate would have it, I had just recieved my Orvis catalogue and found what I was looking for. My sessions were cool, comfortable and best of all, the complements only made me more confident. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 2 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To Cool for School,
July 21, 2014
By: COWBOY13
from Morrison, Colorado
"Having been informed that I was attending a seminar in Orlando, Fl. in the middle of July (ugh), I knew I had to have something cool, comfortable and classic to wear for the 3 day affair. As fate would have it, I had just recieved my Orvis catalogue and found what I was looking for. My sessions were cool, comfortable and best of all, the complements only made me more confident. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 3 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool & comfortable,
June 27, 2014
By: Rick439
from Mt.Sterling,Ky.
"Next to my hemp tencil shirts this shirt is extremely cool and very comfortable."
Review 4 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OK, but,
June 25, 2014
By: JohnElliot
from Boulder, CO
"Quality is good. Did not realize the color was so large, nor did I realize it was button down."
Review 5 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
June 23, 2014
By: Etienne2
"Nice, light, roomy, cool shirt. No need for the button on the front pocket."
Review 6 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful,
June 12, 2014
By: harley354
"Comfortable is the only way to describe this shirt. The color is much better in person. The pictures for some reason just don't bring out the true colors."
Review 7 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flash Back,
June 11, 2014
By: MadrasJim
from Penna.
"This shirt and fabric remind me of the 60's when it was and cool and cold to wear all natural indian madras."
Review 8 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool threads,
June 6, 2014
By: SonomaB
"This is a very comfortable, good looking shirt. Very well made,too."
Review 9 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
May 12, 2014
By: Sandig
"Nice looking, top quality casual summer shirt. Love the colors."
Review 10 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Madras,
May 7, 2014
By: bisonfan
from Harrisburg, PA
"Nice lightweight Madras shirt with cool color pattern > I would have give it 5 stars, but the blue does not pop out as bright as it does on web pictures..."
Review 11 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous, breezy,
April 30, 2014
By: Jeej
from DenverCO
"Classy muted colors, easy care.. My man looks great!"
Review 12 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice feel but colors a bit drab,
April 29, 2014
By: gleis
"My husband has this shirt in the brighter southwest colors, and loves it so much I ordered this without thinking twice. I can't quite figure out what it is about the colors. The gray with the muted green and blue, while true to the screen, is pretty drab in person, and as a whole just reads gray. That said, the weight and the breathability are great, so definitely will keep, just not the strong runner up to the original I'd hoped it might be."
Review 13 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Shirt,
April 22, 2014
By: DaveSt
from Napa, cA
"Really love this shirt. Material is light and the colors are well matched. I would have purchased another if they offered one with a button collar."
Review 14 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a classy yet comfortable summer shirt,
April 14, 2014
By: johabrookie
"well made, great color combo and not too 'boxy'. Brings to mind warm summer days and nights. Good value"
Review 15 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent style, fit and value,
February 13, 2014
By: RC111
from Texas
"Excellent shirt, great fit and the quality is what you would expect from Orvis."
Review 16 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor quality,
August 5, 2013
By: Wayon
from Victoria BC
"The shirt arrived and I was eager to try it on. Much to my dismay the shirt was super thin and looked like a rag.After trying it on it was too long and wasn't attractive at all.Don't bother with this shirt."
Review 17 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Shirts,
July 8, 2013
By: grasscutter
"Excellent shirts for design, colour and comfort. Very stylish."
Review 18 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green Madras,
July 4, 2013
By: Jimmyr
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This one of the coolest shirts I have owned. It is very handsome and stylish and I wore it to a meeting this week with khaki pants and it was great. It is a necessity for summer survival."
Review 19 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Travel Wear,
July 1, 2013
By: MSInverness
from Inverness, IL
"Bought this shirt for 3 weeks Europe trip (England, France, Switzerland and Italy). Great travel shirt. Washed in woolite in sink and dries amazingly quick. Completely happy."
Review 20 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Plaid Shirt,
May 13, 2013
By: Marky48
from Lombard, IL
"Yes, I am now...middle-age....and yes, my...girth has gotten a tad bit big. BUT, this shirt was beautiful! Not only are the colors astonishing but the fit was good. For the...slighty bigger crew out there (I usually wear a 2XL) this shirt is perfect!
Please note: this shirt is 100% cotton so a dry cleaning or two should go a long way to keep wrinkles at a minimum.
Despite that, a wonderful purchase of a very nice and stylish shirt!
"