Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts

Our men's Madras shirt gives you more durability and the same traditional comfort in the heat. Our pure cotton travels better than ordinary cotton because it's woven with more yarns for added durability. Yet it remains as breathable, cool, and comfortable as traditional madras. Button-down collar. Men's madras shirt has a single button-through pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
45 of 55(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Review 1 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a classy yet comfortable summer shirt,
April 14, 2014
By: johabrookie
"well made, great color combo and not too 'boxy'. Brings to mind warm summer days and nights. Good value"
Review 2 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent style, fit and value,
February 13, 2014
By: RC111
from Texas
"Excellent shirt, great fit and the quality is what you would expect from Orvis."
Review 3 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor quality,
August 5, 2013
By: Wayon
from Victoria BC
"The shirt arrived and I was eager to try it on. Much to my dismay the shirt was super thin and looked like a rag.After trying it on it was too long and wasn't attractive at all.Don't bother with this shirt."
Review 4 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Shirts,
July 8, 2013
By: grasscutter
"Excellent shirts for design, colour and comfort. Very stylish."
Review 5 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green Madras,
July 4, 2013
By: Jimmyr
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This one of the coolest shirts I have owned. It is very handsome and stylish and I wore it to a meeting this week with khaki pants and it was great. It is a necessity for summer survival."
Review 6 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Travel Wear,
July 1, 2013
By: MSInverness
from Inverness, IL
"Bought this shirt for 3 weeks Europe trip (England, France, Switzerland and Italy). Great travel shirt. Washed in woolite in sink and dries amazingly quick. Completely happy."
Review 7 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Plaid Shirt,
May 13, 2013
By: Marky48
from Lombard, IL
"Yes, I am now...middle-age....and yes, my...girth has gotten a tad bit big. BUT, this shirt was beautiful! Not only are the colors astonishing but the fit was good. For the...slighty bigger crew out there (I usually wear a 2XL) this shirt is perfect!
Please note: this shirt is 100% cotton so a dry cleaning or two should go a long way to keep wrinkles at a minimum.
Despite that, a wonderful purchase of a very nice and stylish shirt!
"
Review 8 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt,
April 1, 2013
By: lad0206
from Dallas, TX
"A little dressier than some other short sleeve shirts - the fabric is very light and if it holds up to normal washing and wearing it will be a favorite - lovely color!"
Review 9 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color was off,
March 30, 2013
By: Elton
"Nice shirt, but the colors were more muted in the shirt itself when compared with the catalog."
Review 10 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I appreciate it,
March 28, 2013
By: sunuprider
from up high in the sno-pack
"fence lines or mountain tops im on horse back 14 to 16 hours a day you learn to depend on your gear. if it dosen't do what they say it does , it stays in the barn. Fit,function,and comfort ..well done, tipping my hat"
Review 11 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect casual warm weather shirt,
March 6, 2013
By: pialph59
from Chicago suburb
"I own numerous Orvis short sleeve shirts-mainly the madras type. My preference is a conservative pattern, and there are numerous from which to choose. The fit is fine, comfortable, and "coolest"."
Review 12 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good shirt,
January 19, 2013
By: MarkfromFL
from Central Gulf Coast, FL.
"Shirt looks nice, I use for knocking around the house and run errands to the bank or for groceries. Great for the hot climate here in Florida. Billowy, breezy and comfortable, colors contrast nicely with any of my pants or shorts. Like the button down collar, too."
Review 13 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Shirt,
October 16, 2012
By: boomer2
from Liberty Lake, WA
"Bought it for my husband to go on a cruise. Looks just like the picture! It's a great shirt."
Review 14 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Madras Shirt,
September 18, 2012
By: Rusty275
"Color is blahh, would not have bought this shirt in the store, on-line color looked more vibrant."
Review 15 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All good except for a defect,
September 18, 2012
By: speedsampson
"I liked the look and feel of this shirt, but as soon as I took it out of the bag I noticed a horizontal line on the chest opposite the pocket. It looked like a thread had been pulled too tight or something. I was concerned that I would have to pay to return it because of the way the return policy is written on the invoice, so I called to ask. The answer was that if they agree there was a defect, the postage will be credited to your account. I'll be returning it this week for an exact exchange."
Review 16 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great End of Summer Shirt,
September 10, 2012
By: Steady
from San Diego, CA
"Have gotten a number of compliments on this shirt. Colors, fit, wearability - all excellent."
Review 17 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A Nice Shirt, But...,
September 4, 2012
By: Recuerdo
"I have been looking all summer long for a reasonably priced madras shirt, and I thought I found a suitable one at Orvis. However, the shirt's actual combination of colors was quite different from the web photo, and thus it did not fit with other items already purchased. But the shirt's wide collar was the principal reason I had to return it for a refund. Unfortunately, too many shirt makers now are increasing the standard width of collars, and this information is almost never disclosed in a shirt's online or catalog description or general sizing information. I guess I need to ask about this before ordering because shipping charges add up quickly when items do not work out--that is, shipping charges are paid twice!"
Review 18 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Coolest shirt" indeed!,
August 21, 2012
By: RichSC
from South Carolina
"Catalog stated "coolest shirt" I'll ever own. I agree 100%. I am from South Carolina-hot, humid. I was in New York and tried to purchase from 5th ave. store...they were out so clerk ordered for me on phone. When I returned home it was in the mail. It feels great and looks even better. Thanks Orvis."
Review 19 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fine If You Don't Perspire,
August 19, 2012
By: Anonymous
from New York Metro Area
"A shirt made for summer wear should be able to hold its color when the heat produces normal perspiration conditions; this one didn't. Stains, running and blotchy coloration showed up after only one hot day's wear and a subsequent cold-water wash, and the shirt became unwearable. This was an atypical experience for an Orvis product, but very disappointing nonetheless."
Review 20 for The World's Coolest® Cotton Madras Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ProfP,
August 11, 2012
By: ProfP
from Copake, NY
"Beautiful shirt. Great colors and very soft material. Ideal for hot summer days. Casual but dressy."