Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines

Orvis backing is braided Dacron on spools, precision processed with uniform strength. 30-lb. test is great for steelhead, salmon, bonefish, stripers, and more. 20-lb. test is for trout, bass and most freshwater fishing. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
73 of 73(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Review 1 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent backing,
August 19, 2014
By: georgiawoodswalker
from woods in georgia
"I have used this on several 3-7 wt rods. I've used it in fresh and salt water for about 8 yrs now and have no complaints . Its easy to use, pliable, gentle on the flyline, dries quick and seems to resist dry rot or weakening. I really can't see how it could be any better"
Review 2 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can find it at Orvis,
May 4, 2014
By: wtforward
from northern,Il
"Prefer 12lb backing for both of my 3wt's and two of my 4's. Finding it though can be a chore, in fact I no longer bother to look anywhere else, I just come to Orvis.
This line wears well and is easy to see. What else can I ask for.
"
Review 3 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12lb Dacron Backing Dreamer,
May 1, 2014
By: KelseycreekCustomRods
from BlueRidge Mountains, Ga.
"I purchased this for a 2.5" reel that is slated for a 1wt line of 85'. The smaller 12lb size allowed for a larger backing run for those unexpected 16+ inch Browns. Product loaded very easily and when break strain tested, it exceeded the 12lbs on 5/5 tests. Good quality material that I look forward to owning for years of service."
Review 4 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what i was looking for,
February 24, 2014
By: Culpepper
"Would like to have had some instruction as to the backing length for various fish species"
Review 5 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fine quality backing,
November 19, 2013
By: troutman2
"This 12 lb test backing is ideal for smaller fly reels. Allows you to spool on far more backing than you'd get with 20- or 30 lb test."
Review 6 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ideal backing,
November 7, 2013
By: Rigs
"Have used this backing before, so new it would be perfect for my new spool and line. Comes in different lengths so could choose the ideal length for my needs. Excellent."
Review 7 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always great stuff,
September 24, 2013
By: racebear
"Orvis always is a great choice. Products and service. Just picked up new wading boots too, used them yesterday and they too are fantastic."
Review 8 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line Backing,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I only use Orvis braided 20-lb test Dacron backing on my CFO reels. It spools and knots well, builds up the arbor diameter and makes me smile when it exits my tip-top. I wish that would happen more often."
Review 9 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Reel Backing,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"The backing material has worked great. It takes up space on the reel as it is supposed to."
Review 10 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Backing,
August 18, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Exciting to see how this backing will perform when I get to use it. Looks like a good quality backing."
Review 11 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dacron Backing for mid weight fresh water,
August 14, 2013
By: ChiefSwift
from Austin, TX
"Fills the reel well, nice feel, reasonably priced. I'd recommend this backing over the others I've tried.
Orvis' line reacts more as you would expect, that is "naturally," than many of the synthetic on the market"
Review 12 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Line! Good Value!!,
July 4, 2013
By: Oldawg
"Being new to fly fishing I needed an easy way to fill my first fly reel. This 50 yard spool fit the bill perfectly. The correct amount of quality line at a reasonable price. Orvis' communication was great and shipping was fast. I'm sure I'll be doing more business with them in the future."
Review 13 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Dacron,
June 26, 2013
By: sbrouwers
"What can I say. It's dacron backing. Does a great job at what it's supposed to do."
Review 14 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis backing,
June 7, 2013
By: SpanFly
from Mooresville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used this backing on my CFO and 8'4" T3 to land over 30 wild bows and browns at a small creek in NC including a 18" hog of a brown"
Review 15 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
May 1, 2013
By: bonefishcity
"Great backing. Nothing wrong, very strong. Buy it."
Review 16 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works as advertised,
April 17, 2013
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"Backing is the Rodney Dangerfield of fly fishing equipment. It gets no respect. It's there but almost never gets called upon to function. This backing is functional and I get to support a good company. I need no more."
Review 17 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great value !!!!,
February 19, 2013
By: oracle
from the south
"Great cost and value for the 30 pound line! I use it for trout fishing and it exceeds all my expectations."
Review 18 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great backing! Very happy with Orvis!!,
January 3, 2013
By: SpanFly
from Mooresville, NC
"I added this great Orvis brand backing to my Access II reel that I have on my 9' Helios 4 wt and its perfect for most of my trout expeditions throughout western NC and eastern TN. Thank you Orvis!!!"
Review 19 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly Line Backing,
December 28, 2012
By: Fishermanbill
from El Dorado Hills California
"The 0rvis backing was supple and easy to tie knots to the reel and to the fly line. It is strong and sets up very well on the Mirage reel spool."
Review 20 for Orvis Braided Dacron Backing for Fly Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Insurance,
November 26, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought the 12# for my 3-wt rig. I doubt that I'll ever getting into the backing on that set-up, but it is nice to know that if I ever hook into a monster, that I have it there, ready to go."