Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Malpai Shirts

The original design was rancher Warner Glenn's. The fabric, a sturdy 7.5-oz. cotton twill, is one he insisted on to stand up to rugged use. Garment washed for softness, the men's outdoor shirt features rustproof brass snaps and pockets designed specifically to hold a compact camera. Orvis has pledged a donation to the nonprofit Malpai Borderlands Group for every shirt sold. Men's outdoor shirt is made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
47 of 53(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Malpai Shirts
Review 1 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finest field/casual shirt,
July 11, 2012
By: Andymack
from Bath UK
"I own 4 malpai shirts, they are without doubt the best sporting/casual shirt I have ever owned fine for a day in the field - strong, wind proof , strangely warm when they need to be and cool also when appropriate. Like all really fine quality, classic garments the just get better the more use they get,( almost like those 'unshrunk' jeans we had in the 60's) they just become 'my' shirt - no one else could wear 'em - just wouldn't feel right. Only beef? Can't get,em any more! dropped from the catalogue! Bring them back - I'm getting bored with telling people where I bought them and then telling them they can't get them any more! Over to you Orvis we're waiting..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gereral purpose.,
July 10, 2012
By: Gus2818
from Stockport, England.
"This one's great to throw on anytime. Use it as a warm shirt or a handy jacket. It fits okay (I'm 6'2), and looks like it will last forever."
Review 3 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why no black Malpai shirt?,
April 4, 2012
By: GeoffS
from London, United Kingdom
"I love the Malpai shirts. I have a stone colour, a dark green, a blue and a black Malpai. I especially like the black one. Why, oh why, have Orvis stopped making the black shirt (and the other colours). Please bring it back, before mine wears out - although that won't be for some time yet!!!"
Review 4 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bring Back Malpis Shirt!!!!!!,
October 9, 2013
By: Pickeer
from Flagstaff, AZ
"The Malpis Shirt is one of the best shirts ever! Unfortunately, Orvis has discontinued it. How frustrating not to be able to buy and wear them anymore. Nothing in Orvis' stores or catalogues even comes close! it would please a lot of customers to have it return."
Review 5 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best durable Shirt Ever,
August 10, 2013
By: myname
"The Malpai is the best shirt I've ever owned. They last forever and I've bought every color availaible. I'm disappointed they are no longer available??"
Review 6 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis, are you listening??,
April 4, 2013
By: ScituateSeaWench
from Massachusetts
"This pullover is the most well constructed, longest wearing, climate-adaptable workhorse ever. No other shirt even comes close. LUCKILY, I have an olive drab, a couple stones and a denim - - unfortunately I don't have the goldenrod or black, because for reasons unknown to most of us, Malpai has been discontinued. Why?? Orvis - - are you listening to your customers?? Do you read these reviews?? It's very obvious that we LOVE 'EM, we MISS 'EM, we NEED 'EM, and we WANT 'EM BACK in stock. Sooner the better.
Bottom line - - ORVIS: PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING, AND BRING MALPAI BACK. SOON."
Review 7 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRING BACK THE MALPAI SHIRT - IN BLACK TOO,
February 7, 2013
By: Thomas78654
from LOS ANGELES, CA
"I don't understand why such a magnificent shirt in XXL is always, always out of stock at Orvis. And bring back the black Malpai - doesn't show dirt and is absolutely perfect.
If Orvis doesn't want to manufacture this shirt, please give the rights to someone else."
Review 8 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tight fit,
December 29, 2012
By: Weed
from KY
"Love the shirt, but unfortunately I should have ordered next size. It is tailored for slim body, shoulders and sleeves good, trunk too narrow."
Review 9 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very FINE shirt,
December 3, 2012
By: Weegee
"I love it and it has already been much admired which always helps the ego that I chose a shirt that is so beautifully detailed (I love the buttons!) and the stone color lends itself to many different outfits."
Review 10 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an unusual but unique shirt,
November 30, 2012
By: Quartermaster
from Concord, Ca.
"A unique shirt in that you don't know which catagory to put the shirt in, western style, casual work shirt, or hennley style shirt, but it's all three, it's a heavy weight, 5 snap button shirt with really big two flap covered pockets to hold lots of stuff and it's over sized as not to cramp your style, or bind or chafe you while wearing this shirt, it's not made for a slender trim fit cut shirt, it's made for a do anything type of shirt and it's a do anything kind of shirt and it will survive whatever you put it through. Quality and tough with a touch of kindness, the Orvis way, thanks Orvis, another bargain."
Review 11 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Up to Standard,
November 7, 2012
By: GladtheInhaler
from Birmingham, UK
"Extremely good quality and innovative styling which is one of Orvis' strong points; a pullover denim shirt is not an item I was previously familiar with. Full marks. Nice peach-soft denim although the colour was slightly darker than shown (although will no doubt fade with wear). A £25 discount persuaded me to buy this item that I had had my eye on for some time. All in all, a splendid purchase and would thoroughly recommend to other customers."
Review 12 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malpai Shirt,
October 16, 2012
By: hdents
from Cincinnati, OH
"I wish you offered more colors than Denim and stone. You used to.
Otherwise beautifully made and wears like iron. Worn by itself a perfect fall or spring shirt. Can also be layered in colder weather."
Review 13 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality through and through,
October 4, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Cambridgeshire
"This is the second Malpai shirt I have owned, and purchased it knowing I would be owning another shirt fit for purpose. The first shirt has been worn through out the past six shooting seasons in the beating line. The shirt has undergone what could only be described as rigorous testing, passing with flying colours. Its robust and retains its form. The quality of the product shines through."
Review 14 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malpai Shirt,
October 4, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Redding, CA
"Greatest fishing shirt that I have ever worn. Durable, comfortable, terrific for layering, great fit and lines. My favorite go-to shirt for temperate and cool temperatures"
Review 15 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique,
September 25, 2012
By: TNJed
"I get compliments on my shirt everytime I wear it out. Fits great and is one of a kind. Also with the purchase of this shirt a portion of the proceeds go to charity......feels good to give back."
Review 16 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic shirt,
September 23, 2012
By: driver3637
from ontario canada
"This is a shirt especialy with the fall weather coming on .It would be great if the same shirt was avail. in a lighter weight fabric. If you ever get one please let me know I would like one very much"
Review 17 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
September 10, 2012
By: Coileane
from Fremont, CA
"The shirts arrived and I found them perfect for jeans and boots. I like the over sized pockets to carry a camera, batteries or trail needs, they were designed with the outdoorsman in mind. Better than Wrangler shirts which I've worn for years"
Review 18 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my husband's Christmas present,
September 10, 2012
By: besbud
from Oshkosh, WI
"Wonderfully well constructed shirt! He hasn't even seen it yet, but I know he'll love it."
Review 19 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Color faded,
September 2, 2012
By: Casey1
from SoCal
"I received this shirt and was satisfied with the size and the material. However, let me caution you regarding the color, someone has decided that the color needs to have faded patches--under each pocket on the front and two random faded patches on the back--which makes it impossible to wear unless you desire to look faded and used. I am disappointed"
Review 20 for Malpai Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thumbs up,
August 15, 2012
By: Mudwall
from Virginia
"I received my first Malpai Shirt a couple weeks back after a backorder. BUT, it was worth the wait! The folks at Orvis were very professional and cordial in their correspondence dealing with the delay. This is a very fine garment, fabricated perfectly and looks sharp. I can see this shirt aging well and remaining worn and tattered in my arsenal of outdoor wear. As a previous reviewer stated, don’t lose the pattern."