Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

French Oval Tinsel

Non-tarnishing tinsel over a cotton core, standard ribbing for bodies with flat tinsel; also used for nymph and streamer patterns. Two colors and two sizes. In gold, silver. Ten yards per spoolSizes: small, medium. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for French Oval Tinsel
Review 1 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value.,
March 7, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Better feel and Look than the alternative I was given."
Review 2 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice quality tinsel,
February 19, 2014
By: NYCxJACK
"Very nice tinsel. Would get 5 starts but only giving it 4 stars because the quantity you get is very very very limited on the spool."
Review 3 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent Quality,
January 16, 2014
By: Bidjarsteve
from Massachusetts
"I have used Oval tinsel from other sources that tend to break under even moderate tension. this Orvis product has worked really well."
Review 4 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flashy,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"I like this tinsel for the flash it adds to my clousers. Seems to hold longer than others I've used."
Review 5 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"Yes I would buy this again, I got the gold and silver, loads of uses"
Review 6 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice quality,
December 30, 2011
By: kcofohio
from Central Ohio
"I like this tinsel a lot. They price is good and the quality is better. This will add a little bit of shine to a body or whatever else you can come up with to use it for."
Review 7 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shiny,
December 15, 2011
By: rsb1
from hudson valley, ny
"works well not much too say. I hope the fish like pretty French things."
Review 8 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ribbing,
August 17, 2011
By: Lutz7000
from Knife River Flies, Knox, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Ideal for ribbing Nymphs and Streamers."
Review 9 for French Oval Tinsel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AGAIN MORE GREAT MATERIAL,
November 20, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"FOR THE LONGEST TIME I COULD ONLY GET OVAL TINSEL ON A WOODEN SPOOL AND LIKE A FOOL I FIGURED THAT WAS THE ONLY WAY IT CAME AND ALSO JUST INE MAKER OF THE SO FOR TH LOGEST TIME IVE BEEN BUYING GARBAGE WHEN. I WENT TO THE ORVIS STORE UP IN GEORGIA I WAS BLOWN AWAY BY THE STORE ITSELF BUT ALSO THAT UTC MAKES THE OVAL TINSEL SO I OF COURSE HAD TO STOCK UP ON IT.IT WORKS GREAT, IT DOES NOT UN RAVEL LIKE THE OTHER BRANDS ITS EASIER TO TIE WITH AND ORVIS HAS THE ALL THE SIZES YOU NEED TO GET THE JOB DONE,OH NOT TO FORGET BUT IT IS REALLY RUGGED STUFF WHEN COMPARED TO THE OTHER BRANDS THE OTHER BRANDS SEEM TO FALL APART IN FEAR WHEN THE UTC TINSEL IS AROUND,BUT DONT TAKE MY WORD FOR IT BUY YOU SOME AND YOU WILL SEE THE DIFFEENCE AND ITS BACKED BY A TOP RATED COMPANY CALLED ORVIS SO THERE IS NO WAY OF GOING WRONG BUT AGAIN REALLY GRAT TINSEL FAR EXCEEDS THE OTHER BRANDS BY MILES."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for French Oval Tinsel
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2