Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Egg Fly Yarn

Egg Flies imitate the drifting eggs that trout and salmon eat during the spawning runs. Ask any Steelheader, you need a lot of them. You can use this material to tie hundreds of egg flies. Egg fly yarn material in pink lady, salmon egg, dark roe, golden nugget, egg, light roe, Oregon cheese, champagne, peachy king, chartreuse, deep dark red, cerise, moss, sunrise yellow, flame, Alaskan roe, steelhead orange, shrimp. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Egg Fly Yarn
Review 1 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the packet!,
August 19, 2015
By: OscartheCat
"Brightly coloured egg fly yarn, and lots of it in each packet! I bought it for making strike indicators rather than egg flies, and they look very good!"
Review 2 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great yarn - but choose your colours!,
May 28, 2015
By: EdPerry
from Devon, UK
"Egg yarn is hard to find in the UK and where it is sold, colours are often limited. So I was very happy to see that Orvis are selling yarn (and at a great price, though this may be a limited promo!). It's a great shame then that Orvis do not have an image of each yarn, showing the colours available. Having to go on names, such as "Light Roe" and "Salmon Egg" I made my choices - and ended up with three packs of yarn that are almost identical in colour!
Despite this, the yarn is good quality and of a generous amount for the price and it's the perfect material for tying egg fly patterns. Recommended..
"
Review 3 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Egg Fly Yarn,
May 22, 2015
By: Duckfly21
from Fife
"great product, but delivery slow compared to UK suppliers"
Review 4 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality and price,
April 24, 2015
By: Tonytee
from South Wales, U.K
"Generous quantity of great quality egg yarn in a varied array of colours - excellent price too in the sale1"
Review 5 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There's Better Yarn Out There,
February 1, 2015
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"When I started tying, I bought this yarn because I thought tying egg patterns would be an easy way to start, and I knew Orvis sold quality products.
My results were less than desirable. I just did not get the "fluff" I wanted. I pretty much gave up on them, until I saw a pattern called "Eggs Over Easy". I tried the pattern using this yarn, and it works very well.
Since then, I bought yarn from another supplier, and I am very pleased with the "fluff" I get from that product. It is thicker, and I think that it why I get the results I want.
My advice to Orvis, re-do this product and make it "fluffier!" You guys are still my "go-to" for products, and I am still a faithful customer.
"
Review 6 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely product easy to use,
December 31, 2014
By: robmil1
from Ochiltree ayrshire
"bought some egg yarn from orvis and I can't be happier
Fast delivery, reasonably priced and a delight to use
Watch out Mr trout I am coming to get you
"
Review 7 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A long yarn,
February 5, 2013
By: Skipper47
from Rochester, NY
"Whats better than spinning a yarn? Having someone spin it for you with the quality that you would make for yourself."
Review 8 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Egg Fly Yarn,
October 29, 2012
By: FlyFisher121
from Dunfermline
"This product comes well packaged and a leaflet on how to tie an egg fly is provided in the packet. You receive a good amount of the yarn and provides value for money."
Review 9 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Egg Yarn,
June 3, 2012
By: elkcamp1
from Northwest US
"High quality thick egg yarns ties nicely and produces quality patterns."
Review 10 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Egg fly yarn names/colors,
November 25, 2011
By: TheMadFisherman
"Since I am new to fly fishing, can you somwhere put a picture of the actual yarn color next to the yarn colors name? You do this nicely with fly thread, but not with yarn?"
Review 11 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
August 31, 2011
By: BPR1
"This yarn is fantastic and allows you to tie tons of eggs. Great value! I made over 60 glow bugs with two packs of yarn and still have some left over. Fantastic value for the amount of flies you can tie."
Review 12 for Egg Fly Yarn
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Egg Yarn,
April 20, 2011
By: bkordon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is good stuff as far as I can tell. I am new to tying, but it is easy to work with."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Egg Fly Yarn
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2