Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards

Fly fishing leaders for bluefish, barracuda, and pike. This is the best bite-guard system for the sharp teeth of saltwater fish we've ever seen! Not only are these leaders easy to use-they're reusable. The twist is prefabricated in a way that is easy to twist and untwist many times over. Easy-to-follow directions are included. Each package of fly fishing leaders contains six guards in a rigid plastic tube to keep them straight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Review 1 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
w00t,
May 27, 2014
By: brownenad
from WIS CON SIN!
"Split these with a friend. Can't wait to use them and catch some big ones!"
Review 2 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haywire Bite Guard are GREAT,
January 29, 2014
By: DocDug
from Pensacola, FL
"Fishing grass flats in the summer for Speckled Trout or Redfish with spinning gear can often get frustrating when Spanish Mackerel can bite your bait off. The "Retwistable Wire Bite Guards" have proven to be the answer to lost lures. It doesn't take long to realize there value when many lures used in my area cost $10 or $15 each. The 4 inch version of the bite guards are my preference and, in my opinion, they do not hinder the fish attraction to the lure in any way. I'd strongly recommend you give them a try, especially when the Spanish are in the area."
Review 3 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 28, 2013
By: esoxmert
from Ireland
"It's tricky geting a quality trace for pike, light enough to cast, and robust enough to survive numerous hits from toothy pike. These traces do both well. Also the conections are slim enough to use with tube flies."
Review 4 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could be improved,
January 30, 2012
By: Shave
"A good idea and is convenient to use, but the plastic slide-over sleeve is flimsy and starts to fail quite quickly."
Review 5 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 13, 2011
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"These are the only wire I use. I use mainly for bluefish and they have stood up to many blitzes. They are easy to work with, strong and make fly changes easy."
Review 6 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great little gadget.,
May 18, 2010
By: Ryewit
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I'm just as likely to catch a Chain Pickerel, great at cutting a leader and tippet, as a Bluegill in my local lake. It also makes changing a fly quick and convenient. I find it does not interfere with casting or any other aspect of fishing."
Review 7 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
June 24, 2008
By: flyman39
from nc
"Used these all last week in Canada for pike. Only needed the two I originally tied onto the leader. They performed flawlessly. By the end of the week, one was finally starting to kink, but the other one is still ready to go. An easy to use, slick product."
Review 8 for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great idea,
April 20, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Really easy to use, dont hinder your casting and stops those toothy critters from biting you off, great for pike and salt species."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Retwistable Haywire Bite Guards
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2