Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Body Glass

A thin 3/64"-wide, D-shaped vinyl strip for tying nymph bodies and ribs. Wind over Mylar® or pearlescent tinsel bodies for added durability and translucency when tying Bonefish flies. Stretches to easily tie tapered bodies. Two yards. Nymph tying material in clear, amber, dark brown, light olive, olive, olive/brown, light brown, black, yellow. Fluorescent colors: yellow, green, red, pink, orange. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Body Glass
Review 1 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Body Glass,
March 6, 2014
By: WhiteTurtle
from St. Augustine, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Perfect. Durable and flashy."
Review 2 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great.,
February 7, 2014
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"Body glass is great for some small nymphs I tie for the Midwestern streams I fish."
Review 3 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 21, 2013
By: HighPlainsFlyFisher
"Good for nymph and larva bodies and for ribbing on hoppers"
Review 4 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 21, 2013
By: HighPlainsFlyFisher
"Good for attracting fish. Florescence is very bright."
Review 5 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 21, 2013
By: HighPlainsFlyFisher
"Great product for nymph and larva bodied. Good stretch and wrapping."
Review 6 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 21, 2013
By: HighPlainsFlyFisher
"Great for nymph bodies. Good stretch and wrapping."
Review 7 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
May 21, 2013
By: HighPlainsFlyFisher
"This is a great product. Easily stretched and wrapped, with great transparency. This particular color is more red than amber though."
Review 8 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Translucent midge bodies,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"I recently discovered this at my local Orvis store and quite frankly I have been having fun with it ever since. The picture depicts a salt water pattern, but using this for the body material on even the tiniest midges have changes how I tie. Instead of some of the other tubing products out there, this one is a micro "D" rib that obviously lays flat because of the "D" but also stretches well and adds so much depth to my flies. I have tried thread underneath. I have tried tinsel and even wire. Your fly will look like it was dipped in glass and actually look translucent, just like real midges and larva. I wish I had discovered this stuff sooner."
Review 9 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Juicy bodies,
February 24, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"This is a nice, fine, body material to give your fly that translucent & juicy look."
Review 10 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glass Body Material,
December 30, 2012
By: silverkodiakfox
from Northern Georgia
"Great stuff, I'll being buying more and in a larger selection of types and colors!"
Review 11 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Body Glass,
February 16, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Really enjoy tying and fishing with Body Glass. Using an under body of crystal flash, then applying body glass makes a very effective fly."
Review 12 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
December 25, 2009
By: brooksie
from ft. lauderdale
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"is very easy to work with and givesa charlies and gotchas a more real look"
Review 13 for Body Glass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MORE BODY MAT. FOR THE FLATS FLIES,
November 25, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I HAVE THE CLEAR AND THE BLACK AND IT WORKS SUPERB FOR WRAPPING CHARLIES GOTCHAS I EVEN USE THE BLACK ON A COUPLE OF DECEIVER PATTERNS IVE COME UP WITH.AND IT STRECHS FOREVER BEFORE BREAKING SO YOU CAN WRAP IT GOOD AND TIGHT ON THOSE HOOK SHANKS AND HAVE NO WORRIES OF SLIPPAGE,GREAT STUFF"