Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mayfly Tails

Very fine fibers. Naturally tapered tips for insect tails, legs, feelers, mayfly spinners, no-hackles, thorax patterns. Several hundred per pack. In white, light dun, dark dun, cream, tan. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mayfly Tails
Review 1 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mayfly tails,
July 15, 2014
By: OldForgeMike
from Old forge, NY
"Look like good tails for mayflies - especially drakes"
Review 2 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best material for mayfly tails hands down,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"Once I discovered this, I never used anything else for tails. They take color with a pen very well and they stand out nice and proud just like a Trico's tails. Give these a shot and see the difference it makes in your dry flies."
Review 3 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to work with,
February 20, 2013
By: freewill
from San Juan River, N.M.
"I tie small adams size 22 and with these mayfly tails it's a cinch!! Absolutely love them!"
Review 4 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
January 22, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"These microfibbits are very good for in tying tail in either may fly or tails for olive type flies they are fine but tie in well and are stiff enough, I am sure I will find other uses. If you are looking for material for above uses theses are great."
Review 5 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hookups are in the details...,
May 18, 2012
By: JohnnyHookJaw
from Massachusetts
"These tails are great for Mayfly Duns. They're very durable and look incredibly realistic when split properly. A must for finicky trout."
Review 6 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good alternatives,
November 4, 2011
By: wtforward
from northern,Il
"When tying larger fly's I don't always have spade hackle's that are long enough for tailing.
Thats when these save the day.
Also, I've found that if you need to do your own custom coloring. a colored marker will work on the white ones just fine.
let it dry for a few minutes, wipe them off with a clean, dry cloth, and then brush the fibers with a tooth brush a couple times.
"
Review 7 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good buy,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"there is really nothing to these things, but they do add a little bit of realism to the fly. the one great thing about the Orvis version is you get so many for cheap!"
Review 8 for Mayfly Tails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NICE PACK OF FIBETTS,
November 25, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"SEEMS LIKE EVERY TIME I WOULD PURCHASE APACK LOCALLY I WOULD GET 20 FIBETTS FOR 5 BUCKS THEN I SEEN THEM AT ORVIS,HOLY COW THERE MUST BE OVER A HUNDRED IN THESE PACKS AND THERE 2 DOLLARS CHEAPER AGAIN ORVIS CANT BE BEAT HOW THEY MANAGE TO RUN SUCH A TIGHT SHIP KEEP THERE CUSTOMERS SATISFIED WITH EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCTS IS BEYOND ME BUT THAT IS WHY I AS A CONCUMER DO MINE PART AS WELL BY WRITING REVEIWS OF ALMOST EVERYTHING I BUY THERE SO OTHERS KNOW,HEY THIS PLACE HAS SOME GREAT DEALS ON SOME GREAT PRODUCTS"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mayfly Tails
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2