Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Prime Northern Bucktails

The finest fly tying bucktails available--split, boned, washed, and dried flat. Bucktails are meticulously dyed and not greasy. A versatile fly tying material for all kinds of streamers, bucktails, steelhead, bass, and saltwater flies. In gray, blue, olive, black, red, orange, green, yellow, natural brown/white, purple, rootbeer, green, pink, fluorescent chartreuse. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prime Northern Bucktails
Review 1 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
October 24, 2013
By: Greymariner
from Pennsylvania
"Described as "Prime Northern Bucktail". It was NOT. It was obviously from a fairly small deer. Needed longer hair from a "Buck" tail."
Review 2 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bucktails are NOT WASHED therefore NOT COLORFAST,
September 20, 2013
By: Atlantictrader
from RI
"If you want to tie with an Orvis bucktail, purchase Natural. Any other dark color such as Red, Black, etc. WILL stain your hands terribly.
I purchased Red and Black bucktails from Orvis. I was tieing with the Red, and my wife noticed my hands were all red. It turned my hands glowing Red.
I then tested the Black bucktail between my fingers and my fingers turned Black.
When I contacted Orvis about the quality issue, they generously offered to send me a replacement once I returned the old one I was using. Problem was, I had already spent well over an hour scrubbing the Red and Black bucktails and even more time trying to clean my hands. (It took 2 days to get them clean.)
I told the Orvis rep I was not shipping them back after all the time it took me to clean them and work on cleaning my hands. The rep refused to offer any type of compensation in the way of new bucktails unless the old ones were sent back.
That's when I asked to speak to a product specialist. The gentleman was understanding enough to offer free replacements, but insured me he would add a note to check the tails for dye rub-off before they were shipped.
I'm sure you've now concluded why this review is being written (Not that I expect Orvis to even post it). That's right! The replacement bucktails were of the same poor quality as the first two.
No one bothered to check them, for the same reason Orvis lists the bucktails they sell as "Washed" in the description. They want you to believe their goods are better quality so they can charge you more. Bottom line, Orvis quality is equal to, if not less than any big box store, you're just paying a lot more for it.
Orvis quality has gone so far down hill one all the products I have purchased that, I see this as the last straw, and won't buy from them again.
Let's see if they post this comment.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceOctober 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced as a result of the dye on these bucktails. We can assure you that we source only the highest-quality bucktails available in the US; however, black and red are two of the most difficult colors to dye. It often requires multiple applications of dye, which can lead to residual dye rubbing off on your fingers, even after washing. Our supplier double washes and tumble dries each bucktail to minimize the dye from bleeding. We have contacted our supplier to ensure that every bucktail is free and clear of residual dye. Again, we thank you for alerting us to this matter. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 3 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bucktail,
September 19, 2013
By: FlyFishingFool
"Great bucktail. Only beef is that the color looked faded ?? It could of just been an odd shad. Oh well, It still works, and I'd get more. Only downfall when buying online, compaired to walking in a store."
Review 4 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
March 7, 2013
By: BeeMAN
from East Greenbush NY
"The buck tail is the best I have ever purchased. I have been tying for over 25 years. Keep up with this quality."
Review 5 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 4, 2013
By: gls194
from Quincy, Ma.
"Excellent buck tail. Soft, slight krinkle (which I like) and very little or no flaring. Long enough for most salt water flies"
Review 6 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bucktails,
November 13, 2012
By: AlexGHockey
"Overall very good quality, long tails and long hair. Some variability in hair length and tail length. I prefer to buy in-store so I can select."
Review 7 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Orvis Bucktails,
March 14, 2012
By: MassFlyFisher
from MA
"Orvis provides consistently high-quality bucktails. They're the only place I'll buy them online any more. Definitely recommend."
Review 8 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to Use,
February 5, 2011
By: acadian
from Pittsburgh,PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Thread your leader with a mickey finn size 8 - 12, and use a small caddis nymph as a dropper - is a very good workhorse on Pennsylvania freestone streams"
Review 9 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bucktail,
January 26, 2010
By: csfish
from Tallahassee, FL
"I ordered the bucktails in black and rootbeer. They are good quality with above average size and density. The rootbeer color was a little more red tint than expected, but it will still work for my redfish flies and jigs. I will order more in the future becuase they are good quality for a fair price."
Review 10 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WICKED NICE TAIL,
November 25, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I LOVE GETTING BUCTAILS FROM ORVIS,ALWAYS NICE AND STRAIT FIBERS,VERY FULL,MATURE TAILS I THINK I HAVE EVERY COLOR THEY HAVE IF NOT DARN CLOSE TO IT.AND LIKE USUAL ALWAYS GREAT BUYS"
Review 11 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bucktails Available,
June 24, 2008
By: flyman39
from nc
"Purchased these just after buying some at the local fly shop. The difference was surprising. I always thought a bucktail was a bucktail, but the Orvis ones were fuller, larger and superior in all ways. A great buy for the price."
Review 12 for Prime Northern Bucktails
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Long and Crinkled,
October 5, 2007
By: NESportsman
from Byfield, MA
"I have been tying for 30 years and I have found the bucktails to be of high quality -- long and crinkled hair that will add bulk to your saltwater files without adding much weight.
I prefer bucktail to synthetic when given the choice."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Prime Northern Bucktails
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4