Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Extended-Reach Whip Finisher

An essential dubbing tool for tying quality flies. The fastest and simplest whip finish tool available. Great for larger flies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Review 1 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zip, Zip, Zip,
March 10, 2014
By: 123bar
from Polonia, WI
"It is really nice finishing a fly and not having it come apart while doing so. that has been my problem but not anymore as long as I remember how the Whip Finisher goes. I keep the directions close at hand for now. it's really easy to use and does a super job. that's the opinion of a amateur tier."
Review 2 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Whip Finisher,
October 18, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The extended-reach whip finisher is a great design that fits my hand, spins smoothly and improves my ability to tie quality flies."
Review 3 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much Easier to use,
September 5, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I have another whip finisher the I found too much trouble to use. This design make it possible for even fumble fingers to do an acceptable job."
Review 4 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whip Finisher,
April 8, 2013
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Whip finisher very light and spins freely in the cylinder."
Review 5 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
February 5, 2013
By: Builth
from London UK
"Excellent whip finisher, well made, very easy to use and a quality product. On the back of that have ordered more Orvis tools."
Review 6 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Whip Finish,
July 9, 2011
By: puddledipper
"I can never seem to hand tie the whip finish on large flies, but the Extended Reach Whip Finisher gets the job done quickly and professionally. I keep an extra one in my RV for tying when I travel."
Review 7 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great easy to use,
December 11, 2010
By: flyfisher101
from Charlotte, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is one of the most important tools to have if you tie flies. It is super easy to work, and it even comes with instructions. A true must have to your fly tying kit"
Review 8 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty Good,
January 26, 2010
By: SFish
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This tool is just okay. I found that it didn't rotate very smoothly and it drove me crazy. Seemed like they needed to spend a little time polishing the metal parts that rub together. I tried several other of the same kind in the Orvis store and the all seemed about the same. I exchanged it for the Wasatch Whip Finisher which was the same price. I would highly recommend the Wasatch tool, but not this one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 9 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
May 29, 2009
By: DAFlymann
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been tying flies for about three years and this whip finisher has been the best addition to my tool box! Previously, I would finish the fly with a few half hitches and be done with it. Now, I'm able to "finish" my flies with ease and a professional look! It's definitely made tying flies enjoyable!"
Review 10 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
March 11, 2009
By: SWANK
from Hammond, LA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"it's hard to get excited about a whip finisher...I think it is a fine product works well even for a beginner! Definitely recommend if you want your flies to stay together...."
Review 11 for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finish Strong!,
October 18, 2007
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"In my youth I worked in fly shops and tied flies for sale. I tried several styles of whip finisher's (and also finished by hand with no tool), but I always found this to be the best design finishing tool. When the "Extended-Reach" size became available, I switched to using it for all but the smallest flies. The Extended-Reach size is easier and more comfortable."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Extended-Reach Whip Finisher
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1