Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook

A classic, strong, all-purpose dry-fly hook. Great for tying all your favorite dry flies from caddis to mayflies. Standard wire fly tying hook with a round bend and turned down eyelet. Sizes: 8-22. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Review 1 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very Disappointed,
June 29, 2014
By: Aaron1496
from Belfast
"As the titles says i'm very disappointed with these hooks ive had the majority of my well tied fly ruined due to the hook straightening everyone else doesnt seem to have a problem going by other reviews but i had problems maybe bad batch dont know the search continues for a good dry fly hook"
Review 2 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Dry Fly Hook,
April 1, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"I am using this type of hook for tying my favourite dry flies and would recommend their use to any tier/ dry fly fisher. Try these hook for classic Duns, or when using to tie olives"
Review 3 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hook,
March 28, 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"Great dry fly hook. Bought 25...should have bought the 50 pack. Very sharp, seems to be stronger than the other hooks I used for tying...doesn't give as easily when pulling thread. Have just started tying flys and will continue to buy the Orvis brand. Thanks."
Review 4 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dang good hooks made here.,
March 19, 2013
By: Zeb1
from Pennsylvania
"So far no one has mentioned why I have switched to Orvis.
AMERICAN MADE!
Highest quality and good selection.
Just had to erase some of my post after reading what to aviod.
So, some OTHER makers are not made in the USA. Understand?"
Review 5 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hooks,
January 11, 2013
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Super lightweight hooks for my killer parachute CDC.
I try to tie them single plume so light hooks are a must!
However would like to see them barbless!!
"
Review 6 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
January 9, 2013
By: lespaul
from CT
"What I would expect from Orvis. It gets the job done"
Review 7 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Dry-Fly Hook,
July 25, 2012
By: Leif
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been tying flies for 40 years and have used many brands of hooks. These are my favorite. They are consistent in quality, have the perfect barb and just a great hook for tying dries."
Review 8 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hook,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"If you are reading this review, you are a fly tier. And if you tie flies, you care about quality and the finished product. These are high quality hooks - strong and sharp."
Review 9 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I would recommend these , a very good hook , does what it says"
Review 10 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good hook,
January 3, 2012
By: trout1
"they seem to be fine. will know better after fishing them."
Review 11 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good hooks,
November 5, 2011
By: JWilliams
"I have used these hooks along with most of the other manufacturers. The hooks are cosistently sharp & strong. They are certainly as good or better than anything else on the market."
Review 12 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked on Goldheads.,
June 9, 2011
By: Buzzer
"This is one of the few hooks which will take a gold bead without damaging the barb. Goldheaded Dawson's Olive lures tied on these hooks work brilliantly on our trout lakes right through the season. Try them!"
Review 13 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CAREFUL EXTREMELY SHARP,
November 22, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE HOOKS FOR TYING,THERE IS NOT TO MANY FLIES I DONT TIE ON YHIS HOOK ,IT IS SO VERSITILE YOULL FIND YOURSELF USING IT MORE AND MORE SO BUY THE BIG PACKAGE,AT FIRST I BOUGHT 1 PACK OF 25 AND IT WAS GONE IN ABOUT AN HOUR IN A HALF GREAT HOOK WITH A RAZOR SHARP!!!POINT"
Review 14 for Classic Extra-Fine Dry-Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
January 31, 2008
By: Johnny
from Wisconsin
"I just tied some size 18 Adams Dry Flies on these hooks and they performed flawlessly. They are strong and they do not bend. Thanks Orvis for ALWAYS selling only the best products money can buy."