Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Curved Nymph Hook

An unusual 3X long nymph hook that features a curved shape for fly tying nymphs, a straight eye, and a unique bend for positive hooking. Curved hooks create a realistic profile. Fly hooks in even sizes: 6-22. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Curved Nymph Hook
Review 1 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Narrow of Gap,
August 31, 2014
By: Kingspin
from Houston
"Quality on this hook is good, but the hook gap is just too narrow for what I use it for. I ordered size 14 and 16. Sent the 16's back because of the hook gap. I prefer the 1641 hook, It is heavier and fits my style. Orvis hooks are the best."
Review 2 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks,
February 12, 2014
By: BerkshireBob
"The size 20s and 22s are perfect for pheasant tails and other baetis nymphs. Sharp, strong, and great shape."
Review 3 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great midge hook,
February 19, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"I'm still unclear as to wether Orvis hooks are Tiemcos. Maybe they are, maybe not. But I use this hook interchangeably with the Tiemco 200R. A great hook for midge patterns in small sizes or for other patterns as you like."
Review 4 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curved Nymph Hook,
October 8, 2012
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Bought 2 sizes of these at the weekend and was very impressed with the quality. The curve gives the fly a really good shape.
Although they are a bit more expensive than the brand I normally buy, Orvis do these down to the smaller sizes I need where I fish, as one of the other reviewers noted, just buy the packets of 50 and they are good value."
Review 5 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooks,
April 24, 2012
By: StogieLvr
"For tying Orvis hooks hold up to the pressure and strain a novice like me put on them. I especially like to use Orvis hooks on the smaller sizes 18 to 24."
Review 6 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1510 Curved Nymph Hook,
January 26, 2011
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hook has become my all around tying and fishing hook. Dries, wets and nymphs, this has got to be the best hook going. The curve in this hook gives a natural bend to any fly and is easy to tie feather and fur around."
Review 7 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More to the hook that meets the eye,
March 29, 2010
By: flyfish
from Pa.
"Nice hook and available with no back order, not like the other stores!"
Review 8 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME HOOK,
November 27, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I realize itsvery similar to the 122j butit does seam to have a bit mor mass to it and it is definately a bit longer than the 122j since im an orvis man all the way i was sold onit the second i seenit hanging in thr rack,yes im biost orvis hooks are the best out there bar none,i could ramble on for days about them but i will keep it simple by orvis hooks ,when you, do save yourself money,and buy the 50 pack you wont regret it.orvis hooks rock."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Curved Nymph Hook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1