Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Curved Nymph Hook

An unusual 3X long nymph hook that features a curved shape for fly tying nymphs, a straight eye, and a unique bend for positive hooking. Curved hooks create a realistic profile. Fly hooks in even sizes: 6-22. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Curved Nymph Hook
Review 1 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been Searching,
October 26, 2014
By: ClackabowWyo
from Kemmerer, Wy.
"I purchased some Klinkhammer flies tied on these hooks several years ago in Jackson and found them to be very strong, outlasting many other hook brands of the same style. The large hard pulling bows straighten other inferior hooks these are some of the strongest I've found in small sizes!"
Review 2 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Narrow of Gap,
August 31, 2014
By: Kingspin
from Houston
"Quality on this hook is good, but the hook gap is just too narrow for what I use it for. I ordered size 14 and 16. Sent the 16's back because of the hook gap. I prefer the 1641 hook, It is heavier and fits my style. Orvis hooks are the best."
Review 3 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks,
February 12, 2014
By: BerkshireBob
"The size 20s and 22s are perfect for pheasant tails and other baetis nymphs. Sharp, strong, and great shape."
Review 4 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great midge hook,
February 19, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"I'm still unclear as to wether Orvis hooks are Tiemcos. Maybe they are, maybe not. But I use this hook interchangeably with the Tiemco 200R. A great hook for midge patterns in small sizes or for other patterns as you like."
Review 5 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curved Nymph Hook,
October 8, 2012
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Bought 2 sizes of these at the weekend and was very impressed with the quality. The curve gives the fly a really good shape.
Although they are a bit more expensive than the brand I normally buy, Orvis do these down to the smaller sizes I need where I fish, as one of the other reviewers noted, just buy the packets of 50 and they are good value."
Review 6 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooks,
April 24, 2012
By: StogieLvr
"For tying Orvis hooks hold up to the pressure and strain a novice like me put on them. I especially like to use Orvis hooks on the smaller sizes 18 to 24."
Review 7 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1510 Curved Nymph Hook,
January 26, 2011
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hook has become my all around tying and fishing hook. Dries, wets and nymphs, this has got to be the best hook going. The curve in this hook gives a natural bend to any fly and is easy to tie feather and fur around."
Review 8 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More to the hook that meets the eye,
March 29, 2010
By: flyfish
from Pa.
"Nice hook and available with no back order, not like the other stores!"
Review 9 for Curved Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME HOOK,
November 27, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I realize itsvery similar to the 122j butit does seam to have a bit mor mass to it and it is definately a bit longer than the 122j since im an orvis man all the way i was sold onit the second i seenit hanging in thr rack,yes im biost orvis hooks are the best out there bar none,i could ramble on for days about them but i will keep it simple by orvis hooks ,when you, do save yourself money,and buy the 50 pack you wont regret it.orvis hooks rock."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Curved Nymph Hook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1