Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket

Authentic to the core, Barbour's® International has, since 1936, kept motorcyclists dry in the foulest weather. Heavyweight 8-oz. waxed cotton fends off moisture and wind (at any speed), while the classic tartan lining offers warmth and an easy fit. Riders of vintage BSAs, Nortons, Triumphs, and Vincents will recognize the functional details of this motorcycle jacket: solid brass front zip with studded closure, studded cuffs, waxed-cotton belt, and four large flap-over pockets, one of which is angled for easy access while in the saddle. Soft corduroy collar. Genuine Nubuck leather trim. Four exterior pockets; one interior pocket. Barbour International motorcycle jacket in black. 100% waxed cotton with cotton/polyester lining. Wipe clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 34. Approx 33½" long in size 44. Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Practical Stylish,
November 12, 2013
By: BeBopJazz
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
"This my first waxed cotton garment so I was a bit apprehensive about the purchase. Now after weeks of nearly continous use I can say that the jacket is very windproof waterproof and well cut. The jacket is tailored to permit a good range of motion which renders it very comfortable. The pockets are super secure and voluminous. I also like the shinny buttons. It is nice to have something well made and thoughtfully designed. Gonna keep this one for a long time."
Review 2 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic yet functional motorcycle jacket,
May 28, 2013
By: CrazyAce
"I decided on this jacket after researching other jackets of the time period (Belstaff, Peregrine). The Barbour seemed to be the most classic, yet still functional for riding. This jacket works great around the city and I've gotten a lot of compliments on it.
A couple things I would note:
1. Barbour makes a snap in pile liner for the jacket. When I bought it at an Orvis retail store, they had no knowledge of of the liner, but I was able to pick one up at a Barbour store
2. When bought new, the jacket doesn't seem to be "proofed" very well. I reproofed mine with the Barbour thornproof dressing and it gives the jacket a much better, waxy appearance and improves the water resistance. To reproof I put the tin in a pan of simmering water and just applied it to the jacket on a table next to the stovetop with a small foam brush, like you would paint with, then spread the dressing around with a larger sponge. Give it a once over with a hair dryer afterwards and it has a much better look."
Review 3 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Jacket,
May 13, 2013
By: Endurorider
from Tennessee
"I had the motorcycle jacket back in the 1970's and "outgrew" it. My wife sold it in a yard sale and I have wanted another ever since. I am not disappointed and shall have it looking muddy and grungy very soon."
Review 4 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I still had them.,
February 10, 2013
By: kellymac
from Rainy Oregon
"I bought and used one of these jackets and a matching set of pants back in the early 80's for $130.00 each.
I used them in the Oregon winter rains and snow when the only transportation I owned was a motorcycle.
They always kept me dry and warm and never leaked.
I wish I still had them but I was forced to sell them when I outgrew the size.
I'm glad to see they still make the best motorcycle rain gear available.
Does anyone still sell the matching pants?
I would possibly be in the market for another set if I could obtain the matching pants along with the jacket.
What good does it do to keep your upper half dry if your lower half is soaked?
"
Review 5 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket, slightly big,
October 11, 2012
By: jeffjets19
"This is a very cool jacket...great looking, comfortable, and obviously well constructed, but I do have a few complaints. First, I got a size 44, which is my typical suit/jacket size, and the width of the garment is pretty crazy. You could make another small coat out of the extra fabric...so wish it was a little more tailored. Given the previous fact, it makes some pockets sit funny, and I really cant wear it without fastening the belt, or it looks like i'm wearing a poncho with all the extra room near the waist. Beyond that, its great."
Review 6 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good looking coat,
February 20, 2012
By: snakelespaul
"I used overnight shipping because I couldnt wait to get this jacket. The pkg came the following morn and I was very pleased w/ this fine English made product. I had been studying the INT. Jacket and several other similar ones including belstaff and filson. The Barbour is the original. Thats what finally made my mind up. You can never go wrong when you get a classic. I put this jacket in the same category as levis 501s, Schott Perfectos Jeeps, Triumphs etc. its an icon. As for the wearing experience, I live in New England and I have worn it out in several differing conditions. With a sweater and jeans and boots, I was very comfortable and warm on a 30 degree day w/ slight wind. I wore it in the rain once and I stayed dry. My only complaint would be that I wish there was 2 more belt loops up front so when you untie the belt it doesnt hang awkwardly in the back. Also after wearing the jacket all day, when I take it off my clothes feel a little soggy, this feeling goes away after a few minutes. This must be a side effect of the waxed cotton."
Review 7 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate in "Cool",
February 7, 2012
By: runningman
from san Francisco Bay Area
"Just like its cousin, the Belstaff Trailmaster, the International is a classic and must-have for anyone who loves great clothes and a military-style jacket. You can tie the belt in the back or simply pull it out and leave it on the hanger if you don't like it, but the details on this jacket are terrific! Highly recommended! I love mine!"
Review 8 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 23, 2012
By: dwpr
"Been thinking about getting one of these for some time now. When it finally arrived I was pretty jazzed. The quality is pretty incredible. I'll be wearing this jacket for ages. The best thing is it can be dressed up or down as needed."
Review 9 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Wanted,
December 29, 2011
By: ff73148
from Toms River, NJ
"Barbour still makes a great product. This jacket is an all around product for any weather condition."
Review 10 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour International,
November 8, 2011
By: Kratz1991
"Great jacket, expensive but for the quality craftsmanship in making it, it's worth it. Be prepared to have to wax it once a month. In order to get it clean you have to was it by hand."
Review 11 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect shell,
April 19, 2011
By: pismopal
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First of all this is a practical jacket, especially in California. Waterproof and windproof..fits snugly and doesn't "flap" at speed. It looks like the wearer knows what he is doing..and if you are a motorcyclist, you should. If you have some layering items and use them wisely you should not be cold or just as important, too hot. Motorcycle cops do not wear bulky clothing and armor. The reason for that is that clothing is supposed to protect against weather..not blunt force trauma..which is the real hazard..not skin abrasions. The International protects and provides comfort thru a wide range of temperatures and moisture. The pockets are generous and accessible..unlike the impossible to get into ballistic nylon. Look, if you are a track racer you need abrasion protection until you hit the bales. On the street you need something more practical...this is it. The price can be a turn off but considering the quality...it is still a great value and the older it gets the more character it acquires. Thanks to Barbour it is still available..get one ..you won't be sorry."
Review 12 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Barbour I have always wanted,
March 21, 2011
By: OWCinATL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The International brings me well into my 3rd decade of Barbour ownership. My only regret is that it did take a few weeks for the order to be processed and here in Atlanta we have jumped well into spring so the chances to try it out in anger will have to be confined to the odd trip up north in the coming weeks or the fall.
A word of warning, while this jacket looks very motorcycle retro I would not think of wearing it on a Norton or any other classic or modern bike. If you do make sure you have a "real" protective one underneath. Also, I wear a Border in a 44 - I was told to order at last a size up and went for a 48. This fits perfectly."
Review 13 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Jacket,
November 30, 2010
By: fz1pate
from So Cal
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received the jacket just before we had several days of heavy rain and the wax cotton worked well. The fit and finish of the jacket is first rate, takes a bit to get used to the opposite side main zip (for us Americans).
The pockets are large and well laid out. If you don't want to use the belt, it rolls up nicely and fits in one of the lower pockets. The cuffs close up to keep out drafts.
Though I ride a motorcycle on the street, I am not sure I would want to wear this, except for short local trips due to the lack of any sort of protection. Off-road or rural trips would be a different story.
Only minor grip is the material is a lint magnet. The black color does not help hiding fuzz, dog hair, etc...Just give it a quick brush off, and all is well."
Review 14 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT jacket,
December 31, 2009
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are looking at this jacket then you probably know about Barbour jackets anyway....this one is no different. Great fabric, attention to detial, you can't go wrong. Jacket fits true to size, and is black in color if you can't tell from the picture. Just as one reviewer stated this jacket has NO padding so be careful when riding......"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great iconic jacket,
December 18, 2009
By: JasonMH
from SGV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You oftentimes hear the question "Belstaff or Barbour"? While both brands are great and both have a long pedigree, I would say the Barbour is the better choice. Price-wise the International is less expensive than the Belstaff Trialmaster for the same jacket, and the Barbour brand is still Made in England and is still a family owned business whereas Belstaff is owned by an Italian fashion company. Nothing wrong with that, but you may as well get the jacket that still maintains its historical prestige at an affordable price rather than one that is now charging a premium due to its customer base looking for a fashion brand more than anything else. The International is a very functional jacket, extremely waterproof and durable. As mentioned in other reviews, it's not padded so if you are actually riding you need to wear something underneath this. And the waxed cotton is prone to picking up lint and hair but then so is most everything in my closet. The hardware is all top notch and you can see the sturdiness in its construction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great score,
January 9, 2009
By: Essemmen
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great looking and much better made than the costlier Belstaff Trialmaster.
Only downside is that it picks up every possible fiber of lint, carpet and pet hair on earth. The waxed cotton is also a....unique smell. Not bad though.
No regrets. Love this coat and get compliments daily."
Review 17 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FiveStarFashion--OneStarSafety,
September 18, 2008
By: 41YearsRiding
"These beautiful jackets have been around for more years than I have. They are a stunning example of a by-gone era. If your desire is to make a fashion statement to complement your vintage Vincent Black Shadow, you could not make a better choice.
But...if you want a jacket that is part of your "protective motorcycling gear". That being the stuff that will best protect your body WHEN you go down, this is not your best choice. NO protective padding in the elbows, shoulders, and back eliminates this jacket from consideration by any serious rider that wants the best chance of survival in a crash.
If you simply must have this elegant fashion statement, please include some undergarments that include serious protective padding. With those in place under this jacket, at least you are giving it the old school try. Ride safe.
"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 23, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for their not being enough padding on this jacket to protect an individual. Orvis greatly appreciates the feedback of items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve the items. Orvis has also forwarded the customers request to the buyers of the product so they can be aware of the correct color.
Review 18 for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the Great Escape,
September 12, 2008
By: gpsdad
from New York
"It absolutely does not get any better than this. The Barbour wax cotten system is STILL the ultimate wet weather protector...far superior to any high tech fabric solution. And isn't the ultimate challenge of wet weather a juant out on a motorcycle? The belt might seem a bit over-the-top (or middle) but it does contribute to the protective shelling. The angled breast pocket for maps and documents is an example of the thinking that goes into making a product task specific. The brass zippers and hardware here are also a wonderful example of garment engineering that goes beyond perfect performance and endurance.
These are cut smallish so give yourself enough room without going baggy. I'm a 48 suit and my 50 sizing in this jacket is perfect.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Barbour® International Motorcycle Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1