Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood

Made of Barbour's waterproof midweight waxed cotton, this optional rain hood snaps on to Barbour's Classic Beaufort and Bedale jackets. Hood adjusts with a drawcord and toggles to keep out rain and wind. Men's rain hood comes in olive (lined in Classic Tartan). One size. Specially treated 100% waxed cotton shell. Lining: 100% cotton. Clean hood with cold sponge, no soap. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
39 of 43(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most functional,
October 7, 2014
By: Skidb1
from Columbus, Ohio
"The hood is one of the better fitting and working hoods that attach to a jacket I have ever used. Nice full coverage and wire support in front rim to keep the hood up and out of your eyes. Perfect, just perfect addition to a classic and amazing coat."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleek and functional,
June 27, 2014
By: bdg55
from Chicago, IL
"This add on hood, in combination with the matching jacket is a perfect three season durable and easy to pack/carry jacket. The jacket also has a vest/liner. I usually stay away from hooded clothes because they can be bulky and uncomfortable when not in use. This lays flat and matches the coat perfectly. Rugged, yet classy"
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition to jacket,
May 13, 2014
By: TJM24
"Great purchase, useful in both fair and foul weather!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Hood is great,
March 23, 2014
By: ed1232
from Williamston, SC
"I am pleased with the Barbour hood and I am sure it will keep me warm and dry while working outdoors."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good addition to the Bedale jacket,
March 4, 2014
By: afidler
from Nashville, TN
"Despite being made in a different country than the Jacket (England for the coat, Bulgaria for the hood), the quality is indiscernible.
The hood is warm, but most importantly it transforms the Bedale from a useful jacket to an indispensible rain coat just by popping it on the coat.
The ability to quickly add and remove the hood makes this a great option, so you have the versatility of both types of coats. Unfortunately, I have some issues with the button attachment system and the hood itself.
One, the buttons do not strongly adhere to the jacket buttons--this means of the four button attachments, one button is almost certain to come undone if you remove a bag, or pull just slightly too hard on the hood over your head.
Two, the hood is a bit short for my head. It's not adjustable for 'height', so to speak, only tightness around your head. That means I have to slightly slunch in the hood when I have it on. I'm 6"1 and my coat is slightly big on my at a 42. If you're a bit shorter than me, you won't have this problem. If you're a bit taller, I would imagine it could be a bit more problematic.
$50 is a bit steep for a hood, and something that should come with a $400 waxed cotton jacket, but despite everything, I use the hood extensively and think it worth it overall."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
January 29, 2014
By: HanneD
from Plandome, NY
"My Barbour coat took on a whole different meaning, once I added the hood. No umbrella needed anymore and gives me both hands free."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
must have!,
January 16, 2014
By: bentley101
"like the look of the hood on my beaufort even when its not being used for the cool tartan look as its over my back. rim on the hood works well and you can take it out easily if you were opposed to it.. only issue is sometime when i grab the hood to pull it over the one outside snap comes apart and have to click it back together other then that its fantastic nice shape as well!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY!!,
January 15, 2014
By: alexman90
"This hood is a great! It looks great attached to the jacket, and it is fully waterproof. Barbour designs great, practical products. The design will keep the hood on your head even on windy days. If you have a barbour jacket this hood is a must buy!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition to jacket,
January 9, 2014
By: BarbourInBoston
from Boston, MA
"The hood is a great addition to the Beaufort jacket. Perfect protection from rain and cold wind."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice way to get a Barbour accesseris,
November 14, 2013
By: MengChen
"Great quality! But the color of this hood on the page is not quite match to the true color and the resolution is low, but glad to receive this hood with the ideal color!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not recommended,
October 3, 2013
By: HMFWIC
from Wausau , WI
"From the standpoint of water protection and comfort, it was great. However, every time I raised and lowered the hood, several of the snaps would unsnap. It took almost no effort to detach a snap. As I look at other reviews, this is major complaint with all of the Barbour hoods, and the problem has not been resolved yet. This product neither lives up to either Orvis or Barbour quality."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Do you need the hood or not?,
September 30, 2013
By: Marcy12345
from Minnesota
"I was not sure whether to include the hood with our order, but I am glad I did. It is warm and cozy and my husband loves it!"
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Barbour Accessory,
September 28, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I wear my Barbour classic jacket in rainy weather. The Barbour rain hood is an essential accessory; it matches my Sylkoil-finished jacket perfectly, snaps on easily and adds a tremendous functionality."
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Accessory,
May 16, 2013
By: spottedturtle
from Habersham, GA
"After reading other reviews, I was concerned that the hood would be too small for my large head. However, the hood is more than ample for me, coming well forward of my brow. The large Barbour logo and Made In Tunisia tag (both large with contrasting white lettering) which read right side up on the inside of the hood when the hood is pulled back, and is visible to those behind, is sewn on & easily removed. All the attachment snaps are solid, properly located & secure. A fine & handy addition to my Beaufort jacket. Let it rain!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
February 27, 2013
By: turkeyhunter1
from Auburn, AL
"A gift for my husband who already had the Barbour classic coat. It was a perfect match and now with hood he wears it as his main rain jacket. Snaps on and off easily for when it is raining. Very happy with purchase. A pleasant surprise was to see the Barbour label upside down inside hood, so when hood is laying down, from behind, it reads Barbour upright. Clever design!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Hood,
January 25, 2013
By: hockeyguy
"I have a brown Bedale Classic jacket and thought that it looked like it was missing a hood.
I hesitated to buy the hood because i was unsure if the color match. The hood is listed as olive color.
The color match turned out to be very close. The hood completes the jacket and adds warmth when needed.
The only odd thing is that some of the snaps do not hold and it needs to be re-snapped often.
"
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
loosesnaphood,
January 1, 2013
By: cav02
from Darien,CT
"I bought my first Barbour coat this year. It is the most practical and comfortable coat I have ever owned. Totally waterproof in any weather. So I bought the hood to complete the raincoat. But the snaps are too loose. I exchanged it for another and there was no improvement. I wrote to Barbour but they haven't responded. Orvis was happy to exchange or refund."
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hood,
December 28, 2012
By: Pudge1
"Form fitting keeps the hood from collapsing under extreme conditions. A must have with the Beaufort Classic jacket."
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sent wrong color!,
December 28, 2012
By: Spsych
from Ohio
"Sent brown; not olive. Had to go to an Orvis store to exchange it."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Sylkoil Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice addition to coat,
November 19, 2012
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The description does not mention that the open face of the hood also has a metal flexible stay embedded which serves well to keep the form and function. Matches the coat perfectly."