Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY

Boulder Basin Outfitters offers wilderness horseback adventures and Fly fishing trips thru out Northwest Wyoming around Yellowstone National Park. From The beautiful Washakie Wilderness around Cody to the pristine Wind River range out of Dubois and Breath taking beauty of the Bridger Tetons and Jackson Hole. Let our professional Staff and gentle Mountain horses and mules carry you and your family or group to a little piece of heaven here on earth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Review 1 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Adventure,
August 29, 2015
By: kthiel
from Englewood, CO
"We had been looking forward to this trip for months, and it exceeded our expectations. Carl, Justin and our camp cook made things enjoyable for their guests and worked extremely hard to provide comfort. The horses were well trained and strong to tackle the sometimes intense trails. We will be coming back!"
Review 2 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boulder Basin Outfitters,
August 27, 2015
By: KPete
from Cody, Wyoming
"Spent four days with Boulder Basin Outfitters on a backcountry horseback riding and fly fishing adventure outside of Cod, Wyoming. Carl and team did a great job of taking care of us during our 4 day trip. Be ready for a 10-15 miles in the saddle while heading into the wilderness areas outside of Cody. This is our second trip and have gone to different areas on both trips. This is an outdoor adventure so be ready for the tents and campfire meals. The meals were simple but always plenty and delicious. Somehow being outdoors makes everything better. We went primarily for the wilderness fly fishing and found it did not disappoint. Could catch all the wild trout your arm could handle. Carl is a willing instructor but we never found the need. We could catch unlimited fish on our own and found finding our own spots and nailing unlimited fish to be exciting. Definitely an exciting outdoor adventure but be ready for the wilderness."
Review 3 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded expectations,
August 22, 2015
By: RMP1
from Kansas City, Missouri
"This summer pack trip with Carl exceeded our expectations. The scenery and atmosphere was spectacular-unlike any you'll find in any campgrounds or most national parks. Carl @ Boulder is so experienced in all things related to nature, animals, camping and outdoor activities. I am a relatively inexperienced horse rider and the trails were rather intimidating. However my confidence in Carl and Justin and their horses/mules allowed me to rely on the horse and enjoy the ride. We went through several rivers and mountain trails with spectacular water fall and mountain scenes. My daughter, brother and other family members thoroughly enjoyed this trip. We would love to do this again and would only choose Boulder Basin Outfitters. Highly recommend for a memorable trip you will always enjoy."
Review 4 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can teach an old dog new tricks!,
August 20, 2015
By: Redeemed77
from AR
"I anticipated this long awaited vacation for months. I knew it would be fantastic since I elk hunted at Boulder Basin last year. I was not disappointed at all. It was even more spectacular than I could have imagined. What came as a surprise was I found a new passion! FLY FISHING! I was actually intimidated at trying this artful fishing technique. I grew up catfish river fishing so everything I knew had to be unlearned. Carl is the best teacher ever. He was patient and kept coaching and I kept catching trout!!!
Thank you Carl for making this the VERY best vacation I have ever taken! I look forward to doing it again one day and being able to do some fly fishing along the way
"
Review 5 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The most awesome back country fishing ever!,
August 17, 2015
By: Granada
from AR
"Just returned from a 6 day back country horse expedition to some of the most beautiful streams and lakes for fly fishing on the planet. Carl Sauerwein with Boulder Basin Outfitters really knows what he's doing! From hospitality/food to wonderful camping equipment and solid,even keeled horses to get you there in style. We had an awesome time fishing with the Boulder Basin crew!"
Review 6 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one day fly fishing trip,
June 28, 2015
By: Eric1234
from Wapiti, WY
"We had a great time at Boulder Basin Outfitters. We had never rode horses or fly fished before but Terry was very patient and taught us how to ride and run the fly rod. The views were spectacular and the horses were good. I would recommend this trip to anybody who loves to fish and see beautiful mountains. Terry is a very knowledgeable guide and a true professional."
Review 7 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunt,
November 12, 2014
By: Camron
from Cody, WY
"Carl runs a very professional and organized outfitter. They cooked three great meals a day and had
everything needed to make the trip go smoothly. The sleeping arrangements were very comfortable and
they made "roughing it" not so rough. He also found great locations for hiking and fishing. The horses
are all very well behaved and even the not so experienced riders didn't have any problems. The trip was
amazing and we have many beautiful pictures and fond memories to show for it!
"
Review 8 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
September 15, 2014
By: geneatsc
"We spent 5 days with Carl and crew. They were great. We could have not had better care or a better time. Already planning for next year."
Review 9 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
April 2, 2014
By: Mattfly
from Lancaster, PA
"Our group had a spectacular trip fishing the Wyoming backcountry with Carl and Boulder Basin Outfitters. Everything was just as we would have liked from the horseback ride into the mountains, the accommodations, the food, and of course the awesome fishing."
Review 10 for Boulder Basin Outfitters, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boulder Basin,
March 16, 2014
By: Truitt1
from Nashville, TN
"I've been out with these guys on 2 different 4 night back country trips. The occasion is to meet up with old friends, and this is the perfect trip. We did a different river on each trip and tend to get about 12-18 miles into the back country. The fishing was awesome on both trips.
The terrain was rugged and the water was completely private. As expected, the fish are beautiful and naive.
The base camp Carl sets up comes as close to a luxury hotel as I could imagine getting in this remote setting at this price. Sure, you could probably get more elaborate at 10x the money, but I'm not sure what could be gained. He sets up a nice camp with cots, covered dining areas, perpetual supplies of cold drinks, snacks, and hearty meals that often feature cast iron cooking or grilled meats even at breakfast.
The agenda is flexible. You can walk out of camp and fish or have Carl lead you out to even more remote areas for a day trip. We have really enjoyed this type of base camp set up, but they are clearly flexible in arranging how you want to plan your tirp out.
I can't wait to get back out there again this year. Truly one of the highlights of my year."