Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Missouri Breaks Briar Pants

Our best all-around briar pant. If you had to buy only one pair of upland hunting pants, these rugged and practical Missouri Breaks Briar Pants were made for the hard-core hunter. Body made from tough cotton canvas Hawthorne Cloth, a flexible 8-oz. canvas for protection against even the most wicked of autumn hunting conditions. The facing is a washable dry-wax-impregnated poplin, which is water resistant and even more briar resistant than the body. A crotch gusset feature gives more comfort, and allows more room for climbing over obstacles without stressing seams. Solid brass zipper. Interior suspender buttons. Briar pants in khaki. 100% cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Inseams plain finished to your order up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
36 of 41(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Review 1 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class,
January 29, 2014
By: Texasbirdhunter53
from Bellville, TX 77418, USA
"These briar pants are the most comfortable I have worn. I use them in South Texas, Georgia and Alabama. Great fit and wash very well."
Review 2 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for upland hunting,
January 27, 2014
By: luv2hunt
from Dallas, TX
"I wore these for 3 days of pheasant hunting in Kansas and they worked great. Not too heavy but rugged enough to protect you through the tough weeds."
Review 3 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
December 29, 2013
By: franknbeans
"These pans fit very well. they were easy to wash as well. I have been needing a new pair, and am happy that I got them."
Review 4 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad purchase,
November 1, 2013
By: Coveyhunter
from Ligonier, PA
"Pants did not hold up to the briars Grouse hunting in Western Pennsylvania. Briars pierced the pants and caused some minor cuts.
Filson chaps provide better protection.
"
Review 5 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged no-nonsense,
October 8, 2013
By: Kalakis
from Athens
"This is an excellent pair of shooting trousers,rugged and hard wearing.It is good for walking in wet grass and in thorny vegetation."
Review 6 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight faced pants,
September 19, 2013
By: baydog
from Arkansas
"I had a pair of light weight hunting pants I purchased from Orvis about 15 years ago that I love. They are great especially for early dove shoots. After 15 years they had started to develop some wear and I called Orvis to purchase a new pair however they no longer carried the exact ones. With the help of a product rep she suggested these as a replacement. I have not had a chance to hunt in them but tried them on and wore them around finding them to be excellent in fit, extremely comfortable. My only problem is my wife won't let me wear them to church!!!"
Review 7 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 3, 2013
By: TC50
from Ky
"These pants are GREAT! Run a little larger than normal which works well for me, especially since were they tight fitting I'd be more likely to feel thorns. These pants are very protective - I would have been quite sorry with out during last weekend's walk-up. I still felt some thorns in extreme thicket- but it was inconsequential.Material dries quickly. Definitely warrants its reputation for excellence!"
Review 8 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Briar Pants,
February 24, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I purchased these from the Orvis website. They are true to size and very well made. Most importantly, they repel thorns and briars very effectively. I was out today in southwest Michigan with about six inches of snow on the ground. These pants came through unscathed. They also repel moisture very well. They are not inexpensive, but they will hold up for a long time. By the way, spend the extra five dollars to have the hem finished in leather. It's well worth it!"
Review 9 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rips & rips again,
January 15, 2013
By: HunterBrad32
from St. Louis, MO
"These pants were great when I first got them, fit well and protected against the briars here in Missouri very well. But after a few uses, the fabric in the crotch area ripped when I stepped up on a log. I sent them back to Orvis and they were very nice about sending a replacement pair. But that pair did the same thing right before I was to take a client on a hunt, so I rush ordered some pants from another company. Those don't protect against the briars as well, but they don't leave me exposed with rips in the pants from normal use. Neither pair made it more than a few months. Pretty disappointing."
Review 10 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work as advertised!,
December 30, 2012
By: DennisG
from Meridian Idaho
"Just used my new Missouri Breaks pants and they workded every bit as good as I expected. Great fit and feel.
They are easy to look at as well.
"
Review 11 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
December 28, 2012
By: Migrouse
from Grand haven , MI
"These are the best hunting pants I have ever owned. They are extremely comfortable and stand up well in the grouse woods. I would highly reccomend."
Review 12 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Pant,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Excellent quality for the price. Comfortable but tough. Wll buy again."
Review 13 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ok pants,
November 19, 2012
By: pert
"pants are ok, buttons are very flimsey. seem like they will pop off with heavy use. i took them on hunting trip but didnt use them because they were too stiff and noisy compared to others i have."
Review 14 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants and great service,
November 17, 2012
By: PRitchie
from Middletown, MD 21769, USA
"Pants are as advertised or maybe better. I don't think my other briar pants will ever get used again."
Review 15 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bummer,
November 10, 2012
By: mtman714
from Belgrade MT
"The pants look and feel great but the seizing is way off, if you want 36 you better order 38's or 40"s, so you can tuck in shirts and tops. i ORDERED 38'S but they went even 34's, left me scrambling for a pair off pants 2 days before a big trip,Orvis was good about sending them back, but you need to get the seizing right or tell folks they run small."
Review 16 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding it the Field!,
October 17, 2012
By: Norwayman
from Madison, WI
"The Missouri Breaks Briar Pant is built to bust through the briars and brambles and is good looking to boot!
I wore this pant on the plane to Montana to bird hunt with my son.
Comfort and solid construction - made for a happy day of hunting.
"
Review 17 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good pants - poor buttons,
July 8, 2012
By: skimr
from Oregon
"Bought these for grouse and pheasant hunting. Lost suspender button on first day trip. Lost more buttons on week long out of town hunt and had to make emergency trip to town to buy buttons, needle and thread. If not for the buttons these would be just outstanding pants. Love the fit, flexibility and toughness."
Review 18 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hunting pants,
December 31, 2011
By: 2004boxster
from Flint Oak, Kansa
"Had my best day hunting ever and was wearing these comfortable pants"
Review 19 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very pleased,
December 30, 2011
By: Charlton
from Columbus Ga
"Very comfortable, light weight and fit good. I highly recommend them."
Review 20 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Brush Pants,
December 30, 2011
By: TallHunter
from Trotters, North Dakota
"I looked for brush pants with a 36" inseam for over a week. In the end Orvis was the only major outfitter to offer them. The pants are great and I am anxiuous to try them out next upland season."