Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Missouri Breaks Briar Pants

Our best all-around briar pant. If you had to buy only one pair of upland hunting pants, these rugged and practical Missouri Breaks Briar Pants were made for the hard-core hunter. Body made from tough cotton canvas Hawthorne Cloth, a flexible 8-oz. canvas for protection against even the most wicked of autumn hunting conditions. The facing is a washable dry-wax-impregnated poplin, which is water resistant and even more briar resistant than the body. A crotch gusset feature gives more comfort, and allows more room for climbing over obstacles without stressing seams. Solid brass zipper. Interior suspender buttons. Briar pants in khaki. 100% cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Inseams plain finished to your order up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
44 of 50(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Review 1 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-around briar pants,
October 23, 2014
By: PiobMhor
from Rutland, VT
"The Missouri Breaks pants are perfect for almost any rough hunting. I am never bothered by briars, burrs or barb wire. My first pair lasted years of hard wear. I just bought another pair."
Review 2 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pants,
October 9, 2014
By: jsdkms
from PA
"I just received these pants and I am returning them. Too large in the seat, waist and crotch ares. Not what I expected."
Review 3 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durable, tough pants,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"Year ago in Britain there used to be an ad for varnish that had the tag line "it does exactly what it says on the can". That's these pants. They perform as advertised and take a real beating on rock as well as on undergrowth. I can't give them 5 stars as, for me, the fit is not quite as good as it is on other Orvis pants with the rear end being too baggy for my liking (the pants that is - not me!!)"
Review 4 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pants,
October 1, 2014
By: PorterDog
from Killeen, Tx
"Bought these pants as I have just gotten into dove hunting and there are a lot of thorns here in Texas. So far they live up to the Orvis reputation. Well made and allow me to walk through the brush without an issue. Definitely recommend."
Review 5 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Pants,
September 22, 2014
By: billyl
from Columbia, Alabama
"This week I received my new pair of Missouri Breaks Briar pants. I could not be pleased any more with the fit and the construction of the pants. Even though I have not had a chance to wear the pants hunting I know from trying them on that they will be perfect for South Georgia Hunting. Also, in addition, I have purchased four pair of your Ultimate Kahki pants and they are great. Just the right cut and fit and they hold up to every aspect that they are advertised to be."
Review 6 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kansas pheasants,
September 17, 2014
By: gwev
from West Tennessee
"Opening weekend of pheasant season...temps no longer scorching...sky overcast...sprinkles forecast, yet a lack of humidity...corn fields, reduced to stubble... broom sage grass around the edges as golden as wheat...a brace of pointing dogs, one Pudelpointer one Brittany, both working close and as much a team as any pair that has hunted together for seven years...the Pudelpointer whirls and locks...the Brit swings wide and comes in from the back...two cocks burst aloft as though propelled by giant slingshots and my oldest son drops one as my youngest son harvests the second...clean points...clean shots...and especially nice and clean retrieves...thus ended opening day. All day long in the fields and several birds in the bag and I'm as comfortable in my Orvis Missouri Breaks briar pants as if I was lounging in the den wearing an old pair of sweats. The water repellant finish kept the early morning dew and the on and off sprinkles at bay...the briar facing turned away every thorn and cuckleburr and briar I encountered...the gusseted crotch made walking, bending and climbing as if I was actually wearing those old sweats in the pheasant fields ! Would I recommend these pants...What'd ya think ?..Of course I would."
Review 7 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best field pants,
August 30, 2014
By: JohnM
from Cincinnati, OH
"You can always depend on Oris to have the right choice. I really like the emphasis on these being briar pants as that is a real issue where I hint."
Review 8 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the wait!,
August 2, 2014
By: Jmacky
from Georgia
"Pants are Orvis quality through and through and would recommend them, they fit true to size and are very comfortable with room to move around. Belt loops are rugged and panels are sturdy but lightweight.
I only wish Orvis offered sizes that extend past 46""
Review 9 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort - style and durability.,
June 19, 2014
By: birdboys
from Minnesota
"Makes the grade in all areas, as well easy to clean and keep that way.
Pockets hold what I need, legs comfortable too, with enough room for long johns if necessary.
Just make sure you order with enough room for thermal items for colder weather."
Review 10 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class,
January 29, 2014
By: Texasbirdhunter53
from Bellville, TX 77418, USA
"These briar pants are the most comfortable I have worn. I use them in South Texas, Georgia and Alabama. Great fit and wash very well."
Review 11 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for upland hunting,
January 27, 2014
By: luv2hunt
from Dallas, TX
"I wore these for 3 days of pheasant hunting in Kansas and they worked great. Not too heavy but rugged enough to protect you through the tough weeds."
Review 12 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
December 29, 2013
By: franknbeans
"These pans fit very well. they were easy to wash as well. I have been needing a new pair, and am happy that I got them."
Review 13 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad purchase,
November 1, 2013
By: Coveyhunter
from Ligonier, PA
"Pants did not hold up to the briars Grouse hunting in Western Pennsylvania. Briars pierced the pants and caused some minor cuts.
Filson chaps provide better protection.
"
Review 14 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged no-nonsense,
October 8, 2013
By: Kalakis
from Athens
"This is an excellent pair of shooting trousers,rugged and hard wearing.It is good for walking in wet grass and in thorny vegetation."
Review 15 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight faced pants,
September 19, 2013
By: baydog
from Arkansas
"I had a pair of light weight hunting pants I purchased from Orvis about 15 years ago that I love. They are great especially for early dove shoots. After 15 years they had started to develop some wear and I called Orvis to purchase a new pair however they no longer carried the exact ones. With the help of a product rep she suggested these as a replacement. I have not had a chance to hunt in them but tried them on and wore them around finding them to be excellent in fit, extremely comfortable. My only problem is my wife won't let me wear them to church!!!"
Review 16 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 3, 2013
By: TC50
from Ky
"These pants are GREAT! Run a little larger than normal which works well for me, especially since were they tight fitting I'd be more likely to feel thorns. These pants are very protective - I would have been quite sorry with out during last weekend's walk-up. I still felt some thorns in extreme thicket- but it was inconsequential.Material dries quickly. Definitely warrants its reputation for excellence!"
Review 17 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Briar Pants,
February 24, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I purchased these from the Orvis website. They are true to size and very well made. Most importantly, they repel thorns and briars very effectively. I was out today in southwest Michigan with about six inches of snow on the ground. These pants came through unscathed. They also repel moisture very well. They are not inexpensive, but they will hold up for a long time. By the way, spend the extra five dollars to have the hem finished in leather. It's well worth it!"
Review 18 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rips & rips again,
January 15, 2013
By: HunterBrad32
from St. Louis, MO
"These pants were great when I first got them, fit well and protected against the briars here in Missouri very well. But after a few uses, the fabric in the crotch area ripped when I stepped up on a log. I sent them back to Orvis and they were very nice about sending a replacement pair. But that pair did the same thing right before I was to take a client on a hunt, so I rush ordered some pants from another company. Those don't protect against the briars as well, but they don't leave me exposed with rips in the pants from normal use. Neither pair made it more than a few months. Pretty disappointing."
Review 19 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work as advertised!,
December 30, 2012
By: DennisG
from Meridian Idaho
"Just used my new Missouri Breaks pants and they workded every bit as good as I expected. Great fit and feel.
They are easy to look at as well.
"
Review 20 for Missouri Breaks Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
December 28, 2012
By: Migrouse
from Grand haven , MI
"These are the best hunting pants I have ever owned. They are extremely comfortable and stand up well in the grouse woods. I would highly reccomend."