Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Durable Stripping Basket

A best seller and the first of its kind. Rugged plastic basket with hands-free rod rest indentations. Shaped to hug the body so your line doesn't miss the basket. Belt included. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
19 of 26(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Durable Stripping Basket
Review 1 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stripping basket,
October 16, 2014
By: CaptCurt
from Point Judith, Rhode Island
"A sturdy and functional basket. However, I feel it is highly over priced. Next time, I'll stick to Tupperware and a belt. It does the job just the same."
Review 2 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Stripping Basket,
October 2, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"To effectively cast in the SF Bay and surf, also off of boats on both fresh and saltwater, a stripping basket is an essential piece of gear. The Orvis basket is the best out there with a rigid construction that is comfortable and less intrusive than many others out there. This is important in the surf as it needs to hold up against getting hit with waves. Just make sure you drill drain holes in the bottom prior to using it. I was able to drill 6 one-inch holes in the bottom and it drains water instantly."
Review 3 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing stripping basket,
September 23, 2014
By: mudlakkelodge1
from St. Pierce, Florida
"I purchased this basket for my husband when fishing in Florida. He loves the way it holds his line from getting tangled. It was expensive, however well worth the money when it works exactly how they say it is going to."
Review 4 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
None like it,
September 19, 2014
By: GAMJERICHO
"The Orvis basket seems to be the standard among the folks I fish the salt with. I`ve had mine for 15 years and used it in cold weather, rain, hard winds, and it performs just as you`d want it to. Excellent design and material."
Review 5 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stripping Basket,
September 3, 2014
By: Striperholic
from Cape Cod , MA
"This is a good product, and once you use it you wonder how you fly fished without it. I researched most if not all stripping baskets and this one beat them all. I would have given it a 5 star except it definetly needs holes in the bottom for water to drain out.
Once you drill holes in the bottom your good to go
"
Review 6 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stripping basket,
September 1, 2014
By: ProfessorFly
from New Jersey
"Basket works great, but needs holes drilled in it."
Review 7 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just able to bring down to a 32 waist,
August 4, 2014
By: BobZim
from Yarmouth, ME
"Great product but expensive. I have cinched the belt as far as it will go and it is slightly loose for me with 32" waist."
Review 8 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good stripping basket,
July 15, 2014
By: Mulepower
from San Antonio, TX
"The stripping basket is everything that it says. Good size, not too big or too small. Feels very durable and the rod holder helps when you need it."
Review 9 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stripping Basket,
February 27, 2014
By: Speyladdie
from Quebec
"I have this basket.
It works ok but it would be nice to have a bigger one.
Maybe 6-8" bigger in diameter all around.
"
Review 10 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mother of baskets,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"I have been using this basket for many years now - can't really remember when I bought it, maybe even in the mid-to-late 90s. It works very well for me except when I'm wading deep: Then it tends to swim up and get awash. Otherwise great: Keeps shooting line absolutely tangle-free, sand-free and will hold rod while I change flies or handle fish. Durably does double duty as a bucket for wet wading boots in the car's booth, safe storage for fragile items in my "Rolling Thunder" duffle; hand washing bucket, dog's water pail, to name just a few. The community of seatrout fishermen here in Germany are somewhat split in their opinion: Those who are always wading deep derise it as a means of compensating lesser casting skills, while others prefer shooting more line out of their baskets to getting wet under their armpits ;–)) It is half lovingly, half disdainfully dubbed "Eierpappe" (literally: cardboard egg pallet) here. I wouldn't want to be without mine, scratches and everything, but still strong after much use and abuse. I am appalled by the exorbitant price it has today."
Review 11 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Basket,
June 7, 2013
By: DryFlyFisherman
from Seattle, WA
"I received this basket as a retirement gift from the office and went on a bone fishing trip to Hawaii the following week. The basket performed well beyond my expectations wade fishing. I used my 7 wt. and 10 wt. Orvis bonefish lines and never got a tangle. The basket is well designed and I highly recommend it. Drain holes, though not a must, would be a nice improvement."
Review 12 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not fit.,
May 22, 2013
By: 612fisherman
from Wall, NJ
"I am a beginner fly fisherman. I purchased this on the recommendation of other advanced fly fisherman. I wanted to help my learning curve. When I go to try on the basket, the belt doesn't fit. Not even close. I double-checked the website to see if it said anything about the size of the belt. There is nothing. So, I contacted Orvis support via live chat. I told them the problem and asked them if the could provide a different/larger belt. Their response was "that is the only belt provided." Nothing else. I had to purchase another belt that would fit, so I could use the basket. An $85.00 basket, just became a $110.00 basket."
Review 13 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality and Functional,
May 13, 2013
By: AB13
from Santa Barbara, CA
"I've been using my Durable Stripping Basket in the Southern California surf. Having used several brands, this basket is the most functional and practical casting surf in the wind. Warning, however, that it does not have holes to allow for drainage and that gets problematical when hit by a high wave. Be sure to drill numerous holes in the basket's bottom"
Review 14 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
March 24, 2013
By: JulieT
from Athens, GA, USA
"Just finished using this basket in the winds of Patagonia on a raft drift boat. It allowed me to control my line so much better than I have without a basket and also kept my line clean. Others were wishing they had one. I did drill holes to drain the water, thanks to other reviews. Very pleased with the help it gave my casting by keeping me from line tangles, keeping my line off the water, off the floor of the raft, and from various encumbrances, not the least of which were my boots. Such a relief!"
Review 15 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stripping basket,
November 6, 2012
By: Dagman
from Sanibel Island, Florida.
"I tried several other baskets before I moved to Orvis. I've been using this one for about four years and love it. The contoured side makes it comfortable, the size is nice and it easily adds 30 feet or more to your cast using only one false cast. The fly stays in the water more improving the odds of catching a snook in these Sanibel Island, Florida waters.
This one was a gift for my wife.
"
Review 16 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Stripping Basket...EVER!,
May 21, 2012
By: Croomer
from San Diego, CA
"The only good thing about this stripping basket is that it is so poorly engineered that after shelling out a substantial amount for it, it will only profoundly frustrate you by tangling your line to the point that you will make your own stripping basket for a fraction of the price that functions far better. This will keep you from ever having to deal with stripping baskets that cost almost a c-note and are only deep enough to fish a trout stream, like the Orvis. Three Jacksons more than it should cost is way too much for something that tangles your line as much as a 5-gallon bucket from the hardware store, yet won't even hold your line as well. Oh, and the cones on the bottom to keep your line from tangling might as well be steering wheels so you can "drive" your basket. They do just as little. Plus, Orvis probably won't even print this because it's critical of one of their products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a little work,
February 20, 2012
By: Nicafly
from Miami, FL
"Good product but needs drain holes wich I had to make with a drill. Looks like its built to last. worked like a charm."
Review 18 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent constuction,
July 25, 2011
By: karcher
"The belt is sturdy and easily adjustable. The concave makes the basket very comfy to wear, even for smaller folks. Agree that not having pre-drilled holes in it is a huge downer, hence 3 stars. Immediately drilled my own drain holes upon receiving the product but would love to see Orvis engineers incorporate pre-drilled holes into the basket."
Review 19 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for surf fishing,
July 21, 2010
By: Stingray70
from Navarre Beach, Fl.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased this product for surf fishing the beaches and the inter-coastal waters on the gulf coast of Florida. It keeps your line out of the waves and sand. You can also adjust to different positions on your waist. The Orvis fly fishing pro at our local store recommended drilling small holes in the bottom of the basket in order to drain any water that collected. This worked very well for me.."
Review 20 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stripping basket,
May 8, 2010
By: mike26668
from scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Was great while it lasted, I had this for under a month and only used it three times before the belt broke and it drifted off with the strong current. The belt clip seemed strong but did not stand up to the job! I used my intermidiate Orvis line and western 3 rod, The line worked great in the basket and the rod holder was an excellent idea. Shame about the belt clip tho. If I ever buy another I would maybe use a belt of my own."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.