Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Durable Stripping Basket

A best seller and the first of its kind. Rugged plastic basket with hands-free rod rest indentations. Shaped to hug the body so your line doesn't miss the basket. Belt included. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Durable Stripping Basket
Review 1 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just able to bring down to a 32 waist,
August 4, 2014
By: BobZim
from Yarmouth, ME
"Great product but expensive. I have cinched the belt as far as it will go and it is slightly loose for me with 32" waist."
Review 2 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good stripping basket,
July 15, 2014
By: Mulepower
from San Antonio, TX
"The stripping basket is everything that it says. Good size, not too big or too small. Feels very durable and the rod holder helps when you need it."
Review 3 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stripping Basket,
February 27, 2014
By: Speyladdie
from Quebec
"I have this basket.
It works ok but it would be nice to have a bigger one.
Maybe 6-8" bigger in diameter all around.
"
Review 4 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mother of baskets,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"I have been using this basket for many years now - can't really remember when I bought it, maybe even in the mid-to-late 90s. It works very well for me except when I'm wading deep: Then it tends to swim up and get awash. Otherwise great: Keeps shooting line absolutely tangle-free, sand-free and will hold rod while I change flies or handle fish. Durably does double duty as a bucket for wet wading boots in the car's booth, safe storage for fragile items in my "Rolling Thunder" duffle; hand washing bucket, dog's water pail, to name just a few. The community of seatrout fishermen here in Germany are somewhat split in their opinion: Those who are always wading deep derise it as a means of compensating lesser casting skills, while others prefer shooting more line out of their baskets to getting wet under their armpits ;–)) It is half lovingly, half disdainfully dubbed "Eierpappe" (literally: cardboard egg pallet) here. I wouldn't want to be without mine, scratches and everything, but still strong after much use and abuse. I am appalled by the exorbitant price it has today."
Review 5 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Basket,
June 7, 2013
By: DryFlyFisherman
from Seattle, WA
"I received this basket as a retirement gift from the office and went on a bone fishing trip to Hawaii the following week. The basket performed well beyond my expectations wade fishing. I used my 7 wt. and 10 wt. Orvis bonefish lines and never got a tangle. The basket is well designed and I highly recommend it. Drain holes, though not a must, would be a nice improvement."
Review 6 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not fit.,
May 22, 2013
By: 612fisherman
from Wall, NJ
"I am a beginner fly fisherman. I purchased this on the recommendation of other advanced fly fisherman. I wanted to help my learning curve. When I go to try on the basket, the belt doesn't fit. Not even close. I double-checked the website to see if it said anything about the size of the belt. There is nothing. So, I contacted Orvis support via live chat. I told them the problem and asked them if the could provide a different/larger belt. Their response was "that is the only belt provided." Nothing else. I had to purchase another belt that would fit, so I could use the basket. An $85.00 basket, just became a $110.00 basket."
Review 7 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality and Functional,
May 13, 2013
By: AB13
from Santa Barbara, CA
"I've been using my Durable Stripping Basket in the Southern California surf. Having used several brands, this basket is the most functional and practical casting surf in the wind. Warning, however, that it does not have holes to allow for drainage and that gets problematical when hit by a high wave. Be sure to drill numerous holes in the basket's bottom"
Review 8 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
March 24, 2013
By: JulieT
from Athens, GA, USA
"Just finished using this basket in the winds of Patagonia on a raft drift boat. It allowed me to control my line so much better than I have without a basket and also kept my line clean. Others were wishing they had one. I did drill holes to drain the water, thanks to other reviews. Very pleased with the help it gave my casting by keeping me from line tangles, keeping my line off the water, off the floor of the raft, and from various encumbrances, not the least of which were my boots. Such a relief!"
Review 9 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stripping basket,
November 6, 2012
By: Dagman
from Sanibel Island, Florida.
"I tried several other baskets before I moved to Orvis. I've been using this one for about four years and love it. The contoured side makes it comfortable, the size is nice and it easily adds 30 feet or more to your cast using only one false cast. The fly stays in the water more improving the odds of catching a snook in these Sanibel Island, Florida waters.
This one was a gift for my wife.
"
Review 10 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Stripping Basket...EVER!,
May 21, 2012
By: Croomer
from San Diego, CA
"The only good thing about this stripping basket is that it is so poorly engineered that after shelling out a substantial amount for it, it will only profoundly frustrate you by tangling your line to the point that you will make your own stripping basket for a fraction of the price that functions far better. This will keep you from ever having to deal with stripping baskets that cost almost a c-note and are only deep enough to fish a trout stream, like the Orvis. Three Jacksons more than it should cost is way too much for something that tangles your line as much as a 5-gallon bucket from the hardware store, yet won't even hold your line as well. Oh, and the cones on the bottom to keep your line from tangling might as well be steering wheels so you can "drive" your basket. They do just as little. Plus, Orvis probably won't even print this because it's critical of one of their products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a little work,
February 20, 2012
By: Nicafly
from Miami, FL
"Good product but needs drain holes wich I had to make with a drill. Looks like its built to last. worked like a charm."
Review 12 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent constuction,
July 25, 2011
By: karcher
"The belt is sturdy and easily adjustable. The concave makes the basket very comfy to wear, even for smaller folks. Agree that not having pre-drilled holes in it is a huge downer, hence 3 stars. Immediately drilled my own drain holes upon receiving the product but would love to see Orvis engineers incorporate pre-drilled holes into the basket."
Review 13 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for surf fishing,
July 21, 2010
By: Stingray70
from Navarre Beach, Fl.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased this product for surf fishing the beaches and the inter-coastal waters on the gulf coast of Florida. It keeps your line out of the waves and sand. You can also adjust to different positions on your waist. The Orvis fly fishing pro at our local store recommended drilling small holes in the bottom of the basket in order to drain any water that collected. This worked very well for me.."
Review 14 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stripping basket,
May 8, 2010
By: mike26668
from scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Was great while it lasted, I had this for under a month and only used it three times before the belt broke and it drifted off with the strong current. The belt clip seemed strong but did not stand up to the job! I used my intermidiate Orvis line and western 3 rod, The line worked great in the basket and the rod holder was an excellent idea. Shame about the belt clip tho. If I ever buy another I would maybe use a belt of my own."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Close, but not quite what it could have been,
November 13, 2009
By: joela
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Nice concept, sturdy, like many of the features including the contoured waist. Only problem is that the cones are too short. Works okay with a heavy floating line, but still cause too many snarls with a full sinking line. Would have been a much better design if the cones were twice as long."
Review 16 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice looking, but needs modification before use,
July 7, 2009
By: Quint
from NY
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am new to flyfishing and asked for this basket as a birthday present from wife/kids. I am trying to catch stripers in a surf fishing type environment. I was advised by more experienced anglers to make or buy a stripping basket for saltwater flyfishing. When I received it I was encoraged by its clean appearance and nice lines. But upon trying to use it it filled with water and fell right off my waist. I think the waist belt was defective. I was unable to recover it as I was fishing an inlet area with a strong current and I could not get to it in time. When I spoke to experienced saltwater fly guys, they told me I should have drilled holes in it, for water drainage. The holes are mainly for safety, as it could fill with water and drown you, so in a way I was lucky it disconnected from me after filling with water. It never occured to me to drill holes in a sixty dollar basket, but looking back i should have, as it is only a piece of plastic. I am now going to try to build one out of a plastic basket, and drill holes in it, as I think the wife would kill me if I told her I lost it already."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the stripping basket was lost due to the collection of water. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback, as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. Orvis fowarded these comments on to the devloper of this item for review. Orvis also offered to replace it or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 17 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Stripping Basket,
June 3, 2009
By: SmallStreamer
from Southern Vermont
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I recently picked this up for a trip to Martha's Vineyard to fish for stripers. I used this basket both from the back of a local charter boat as well as all-nighters in the surf. I initially thought it would be unwieldy but found it to fit nicely on my waist and swivel around out of the way easily when needed. I think the best feature is the rod holder which is really useful when you are changing flies as the surf is rolling by and have no place to set your rod. Definitely a useful tool."
Review 18 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Basket Case ....,
April 2, 2008
By: Chaaaz
from Boston, MA
"...is to be made for this stripping basket! It is light, the curved side fits comfortably on the body - even if swiveled to the side a bit for longer casting/stripping, and the inner cones work well to avoid tangles. The rod notches on the sides are an extremely handy convention, and make this the leader of the pack for these baskets! Another Orvis offering that is unparalleled! Thanks again!"
Review 19 for Durable Stripping Basket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for surf and boat,
October 26, 2007
By: Kingfisher810
from Sandy Hook, NJ
"I recently purchased this item and love it. The basket is comfortable and keeps my heavier lines from getting tangled both on the shore and in a boat. I would highly recommend! The only reason I give this 4 instead of 5 stars would be price. I think this basket could be sold at a lower price being made of only plastic and a nylon belt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Durable Stripping Basket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1