Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Whiting Feather Grab Bag

The perfect way to get a mix of top-grade hackle feathers at a great cost. A great gift. Non-dry feathers. Great for streamers and warmwater applications. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Review 1 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
December 5, 2014
By: DudeCat
"Ordered 2, after reading so many favorable reviews.
Quantity, quality, and variety is awesome! So many cool colors and patterns. Would have liked to see some smaller sizes, especially for sub-20 sized flies. Nonetheless, still a great value and deserves all 5 stars!"
Review 2 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal,
October 28, 2014
By: Ron8625
from Three Rivers Michigan
"Amazing deal for top quality materials. Great buy for the beginner or the old pro."
Review 3 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Whiting product and Orvis service,
February 21, 2014
By: Ronraven
from Cloverdale, CA
"Grab bag by Whiting was way over the top, larger than expected, and lots of feather length and color variety."
Review 4 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stimulating,
February 5, 2013
By: Vibrato
from Newark, DE
"It gave me more things to try as I learn how to tie Fly Fishing lures better."
Review 5 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of feathers,
January 1, 2013
By: mulius
"Great selection of random stuff. Good for streamers."
Review 6 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Orvis Grab bag,
September 18, 2012
By: deespinner
from Liverpool UK
"I entered the website to buy a specific item, then saw the grab bag. I decided to chance a purchase. Like all grab bags there is the good, average and the bad. The average and the bdg were very large grizzle hackles of no real use but I will strip the hackle and use the stems.
The good, however were excellent pieces of capes some badger some natural. what defined the good was the quality of not only the hackle but the colour. In over 25 years of tying trout and salmon flies I have never seen such rich and vivid colours, nearly too good to use.
As I always use Whiting hackles,I went straight back into the website only to find that in the UK Orvis only sell loose hackles. I looked on a site in the US and found that I could buy the full capes for $30. in some 15 colours. Why are they not available here?
I telephoned Orvis to pose the question and was promised a reply 'that day' so far, nearly a week later I have heard nothing.
Whiting capes are available in the UK but not the quality of my grab bag, whyever not?"
Review 7 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Bag Bargain,
April 18, 2012
By: LarryF
from Chicago
"Lots of value in 17 big patches of Whiting-quality hackle including browns, black, red/brown and olive. Solid colors plus grizzle, flame and varieties. Hope bright blue catches on."
Review 8 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
June 3, 2011
By: XMarine
from Cherokee,North Carolina
"Being new to tying and not knowing what I needed, the grab bag was a great start to my collection of materials and gives me a large number of options in tying flies. Thanks"
Review 9 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceeds expectations,
May 6, 2010
By: ZoBass
from birmingham, AL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was skeptical untill the product arrived. The grab bag definately exceeded my expectations. Great value."
Review 10 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You won't find these in a pillow,
April 1, 2010
By: Boinky
from Tidewater, Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A good selection of quality feathers for a fraction of the cost. The catch (pun not intended) is you have to be flexible about size and color. It's not unreasonable to assume you are when purchasing grab bags. It's a surprise and I think you'll find it a pleasant one; provided you're not expecting any dry hackle. For tying everything else, it's "Game-on". The excess you don't like/won't use can go in the trading box, given to a newb, or donated to groups like Project Healing Waters. Buy one, if you're not happy with it, send it to me."
Review 11 for Whiting Feather Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You won't be disappointed,
May 29, 2008
By: Larz
from Wilmington, Ohio
"This pack is a great bargain for the buy. Quality and variety of often used materials in each bag."