Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Threader Fly Box

Open this fly threading fly box, insert your tippet into the large eye of the threader, and just pull the fly off the threader. Your fly is instantly threaded on the tippet. Preload tiny flies like tricos and midges at home under a light and magnifier. An absolute must for anybody who uses reading glasses. Now there's no need to avoid fishing the productive small-fly hatches. This threader fly box holds dozens of flies. 5" x 3¾;" x 1¼". Fly box comes with six standard threaders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Threader Fly Box
Review 1 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent method to pre-stage small midge flies.,
September 10, 2013
By: Madoda
from Bagram Air Field, Afghanistan
"This is an excellent fly box that reduces the time to prepare a small midge for use."
Review 2 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time saved,
August 20, 2013
By: OldBlueEyes
"I fish in the Missouri Ozarks and I watch guys spend 20 minutes trying to tie a new fly on. When I want to change, I open my threader box, thread the leader through and I'm done in about two minutes...More time on the water, more fish caught!"
Review 3 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best box ever...,
May 15, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"i bought one of these at my local Orvis store and just love it. I had my kid thread the flies onto the threader and it's great when your on the stream to ty a new fly on."
Review 4 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job!,
December 15, 2012
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Great box. Thread your flies on the threaders at home then just put the tippet through when on the water and voila, threaded fly. Great for these dim winter Grayling days when the flat light makes anything visual hard work!"
Review 5 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
November 5, 2012
By: hague58
from London
"This is one of the most practical items a fly fisherman(woman) can buy. You can load the threaders in peace and quiet at home so that if you want to change a fly at the river bank the threader does all the hard work. Especially if your eyesight is not what it was."
Review 6 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Needs improvement,
July 10, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I purchased this box and I did like the internal features. However, I did not like the fact that it is not water proof. I ended up returning it and purchasing the threader insert for the larger waterproof C&F boxes. It gives me the best of both boxes. It also allows me to carry both larger and smaller flies in one box."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 27, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with their purchase.
Review 7 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch the Lunker with a #22 without Glasses!!!!,
July 24, 2009
By: Stlmarbles54
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Unfortunately I didn't take up fly fishing when my eye sight was at its peak! I have moved from readers to full time glasses and those #22 tricos seem to be getting smaller every day! Saw this threader a couple of years ago and questioned its utility. I QUESTION NO MORE! This threader box is the best peice of fishing equipment I have bought in years. I thread on the minute hatch in the bright light of the basement and slide the flies on in a flash when on the water. AAA+++ system THAT WORKS! Highly recommend, if you are thinking you might need it, BUY IT."
Review 8 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great time saver,
August 25, 2008
By: Bilbo
"Would Be a 5 star plus product if box was sealed to prevent moisture. I wade for Fall and Winter steelhead and poor weather is a routine thing. Water gets in everything with this box I can expect my flys to Rust.. The threaders work great. love the whole set up except more planning on the box was needed. Super way to set up tiny flys for quick use. Would still recommend to everyone just keep it out of the water."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
handy bit of kit,
June 25, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"I do like this box and it is a great idea but ive moved away from it for the standard C&F boxes as they have the waterproof seal on them which means that your box will float and more importantly you wont have to throw any flies away that have rusted after getting wet! This box isnt water proof and that it's biggest flaw, fine if you dont wade and fill you pockets but I do!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.