Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook

These fly tying hooks have a wide gape, mini-barb, upturned tapered shank and Crystal™ Finish that makes it all but invisible. Hooks in sizes: 14, 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Review 1 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bargain,
June 21, 2013
By: Piker20
"Second pack of this hook I grabbed while on sale. A great price for 50 hooks and on par with the hooks I normally buy direct from USA. Consistancy is good and the bend in these hooks makes a good dry fly and nymph pattern."
Review 2 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value hooks,
June 21, 2013
By: Piker20
"These hooks were on sale at half price which prompted me to try them. The unique shank bend of this hook makes tying upwing dries easier and they also look good with nymphs. All the hooks were sharp and consistant."
Review 3 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good addition to my fly tying box,
April 8, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"I have been looking at various dry fly hooks, but this is definitely in my opinion is the "ultimate" dry fly hook. I tied up two file differing styles one a "sighter" size 14 using the shape of the hook to take a post, and a size 16 to tie a winged version and the shape of the hook to take the wing, fly sits low in the water. If your a dry fly fisher this is your hook, nice shape"
Review 4 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Thorax Duns,
March 18, 2013
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I have been tying Paralep duns with these hooks. The bent shank makes them appear more realistic. Hook are very sharp and I like the silver color."
Review 5 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooks,
February 5, 2013
By: Skipper47
from Rochester, NY
"Talk about getting the point across these hooks are sharp."
Review 6 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hooks not available locally,
November 30, 2012
By: mpotter
from eastern Washington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"looked all over for these hooks. very impressed with the quality. should be excellent for parachute adam's ."
Review 7 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara,
July 11, 2012
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
"Ordered these before my last trip a couple weeks ago to tie for the water I was fishing. Tied western fly patterns to use with my Tenkara rod(s). Best fishing that I have had on this water!"
Review 8 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daiichi ultimate Dry,
December 31, 2011
By: ronrod
from western waters
"tied an emerging caddis and fished it low in the film. Presented very well with good trout attraction"
Review 9 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"nifty design, a little different but the end product has a nice realistic look"
Review 10 for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 29, 2011
By: Badfish
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this product on a whim, but it has turned out to be a great find! It's unconventional design is perfect for tying a beautiful dry fly."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Daiichi Ultimate Dry Fly Hook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1