Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket

This waterproof jacket for men is a British country classic, made of Barbour's midweight Sylkoil waxed cotton for a shine-free, broken-in look. Jacket has a zip-front style with snap-front placket, two roomy front flap pockets with snap closures, two handwarmer pockets, and a corduroy collar. Add a hood or zip-in liner whenever the weather calls for it. This waterproof jacket is a true competitor to nasty weather. Lined in Barbour's Classic Tartan cotton. In olive. Waxed cotton. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: 32-52. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 of 49(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and most versatile coat,
April 3, 2014
By: japantiger
from Austin
"Have used this coat now for 6 months. Great coat...just the right fit; not too baggy...just enough for layering without feeling bunched or tight. Waterproof which makes it very versatile; especially when adding the hood. Hunted in it in the fall in the Northern Hemisphere and am taking it next month to the South to Hunt Red Stag. It will handle whatever the weather throws at me. My second Barbour coat...both great."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phenomenal jacket,
March 1, 2014
By: PRLee
from Tennessee
"I've wanted a Barbour for ages, I'm so glad I finally bought this one. I needed a jacket to travel to Italy in January when it's chilly and rainy. The Bedale is plenty warm for 35-50 degree temps, sheds rain, and has great pocket room. It felt a little big at first, but wearing it over a suit or sportcoat, or a thick sweater needs that extra room. Money very well spent."
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top product,
February 24, 2014
By: Scotland14
"It's my first Barbour purchase. And it most definitely will not be my last.
Size was perfect. Comfortable.
I've already worn in wet conditions several times and it kept me warm and dry. I would highly recommend this product
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
February 14, 2014
By: Labrador
"This is a standard by which all jackets can be judged."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour for Dad,
February 14, 2014
By: Bekah
"I got this for my dad, and he absolutely loves it! He wears it everyday, and he is even able to wear it work!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will LOVE this Jacket!,
January 9, 2014
By: Linwood35
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
"This is my 3rd Babour and I absolutely love it. It fits better than my Beaufort. Be sure to get the liner too. I'm proud to have made this purchase and I love to wear it. It seems to get better with age."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for outdoors,
January 6, 2014
By: Hughes
from Dallas, TX
"The jacket was my husband's favorite Christmas gift. He wore it all weekend while hunting at our ranch and it was super warm and comfortable."
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great style and quality,
December 29, 2013
By: jodes
from san francisco, ca
"bought this for my significant other and it looks great on him. it's a good classic look that can be dressed up or paired with a casual look. bought the hood to go with and it's quite neat actually. the hood has a thin wire at the edge so you can shape your hood so that it stays nicely tented over your head during rainy weather. love everything about it!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 28, 2013
By: emcmillan
"I bought this jacket for my son who is going to study in London. It is nice looking as well as being warm and weather resistant. Very impressed with the quality. I would not hesitate to purchase another Barbour product."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wrong sizing,
December 27, 2013
By: California12
from California
"Great jacket but...I ordered it for my husband and it is way too small. He's not a big man and I even checked the size on his sport coat to make sure I was ordering correctly. So, well made and very nice looking but definately order bigger."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket,
December 25, 2013
By: Corsair
"This jacket is excellent. I used to wear a similar jacket for our rainy season down here in Florida (summer during the afternoons) and I finally pulled the trigger on a Bedale. It is great for our mild winters and it can also protect quite well in colder weather when layered up. Since it doesn't have a game pocket, and it is quite simple in design, it can also be worn with casual attire. Orvis service was excellent too. Highly recommended."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Jacket,
December 24, 2013
By: MHJH
from Connecticut
"My son loves this coat. Perfect fit, warm and good looking."
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
November 29, 2013
By: 99maxwell
from Knoxville, TN
"This handsome jacket was a gift to my husband last year for Christmas. My husband loves the versatility and comfort that it offers no matter the weather. He purchased the hood accessory in the matching color. I just ordered him the liner for winter warmth. Love this classic jacket!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 25, 2013
By: Heidiherz
"It was the perfect collar, perfect size, and perfect fit. Exactly what I was looking for! I would highly recommend this especially for larger men it's a really really great coat all around!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale - The Perfect Jacket,
October 14, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I recently purchased a Barbour Beaufort jacket and like it so much decided to order the Barbour Bedale jacket. I wouldn't normally recommend having both as they are quite similar, yet a little different. The Bedale has knit inner storm cuffs to keep the wind, rain and snow from blowing up your arm. It is only one inch shorter in length, but has a double snap vent in back, which is nice on horseback for fitting over the cantle of the saddle. It has a very nice profile for wearing to town or even a private club in the weather (I don't belong to a club, but hunt at some nice places). I don't know how I've gotten by all these years without a Barbout Jacket, so now I have two. Once you have one, your hooked. They are that nice."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
September 30, 2013
By: Marcy12345
from Minnesota
"My husband has been looking at one of these coats for a few years. We even stopped at a shop when we were traveling through Vienna, Austria and he tried a couple on there....but finally I took the plunge and bought it for him as an early b'day present. HE LOVES IT! The material is great and I am sure it will look better as it ages, and the fit is just right. He couldn't be happier."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Classic Bedale Jacket,
August 5, 2013
By: jimboy62
from Eastern PA
"I am 6'-1" and 225, the jacket in 46 fits great. I also purchased the hood and liner. I also have the Barbour Storm Sweater, fleece vest and Dunmoor fleece coat. In my opinion Barbour quality and craftsmanship is superb. I run dogs and hunt birds all winter, this jacket should keep me protected in all weather. Thanks Orvis, I can always rely on great products."
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great waxed cotton jacket,
July 13, 2013
By: SFOOrvisShopper
from Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Barbour Classic Bedale jacket, just picked it up at their store in Santa Clara in a size 44. 42 was just spot on, but the 44 allows me to layer underneath this jacket for cold weather.
The Bedale is made out of their lightweight 6 oz waxed cotton material. Along with the XL Polarquilt zip in lining, wearing either a flannel shirt or the Barbour Sporting Crew neck sweater, this outfit would get me through weather that was down to the 40s. You will read some reviews, either of the jacket and/or the Polarquilt zip in liner, where Barbour is criticized for not making a long sleeve liner or insulated jacket. If that is what you want, special order a Barbour down filled waxed cotton jacket. This jacket was not meant to be worn when the weather is down in the 20-30 F/0-5 C temperature range.
Regarding fit, if you don't size up, you'll still be able to fit up to a mid-weight sweater underneath the jacket. If you want to go to a really chunky sweater, get a size larger.
The hand warmer pockets are easily positioned and easily accessed. The rib knit inner cuffs are really a nice feature as well.
I'll be adding the waxed cotton hood just before winter arrives so I can wear it in the rain without worry of my head getting wet.
This is a great jacket for around the town and country side. You will not be disappointed at all.
PS: Sorry my photo might look askew.
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brand new,
January 14, 2013
By: GrandpaPat
from Mississippi
"My brand new Barbour Bedale jacket arrived the day after I returned from the holiday vist with children and grand children. In an effort to "spiff" up her dad, My dqaughter had insisted that I order the handsome Olive green Bedale. Consider me "spiffed". Although I have only worn it a few times and cold weather is just now arriving in MS, I really like the look and the warmth. I owe my daugher a big "Thank You" for her fashion advice!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic jacket,
December 30, 2012
By: Whyismynametaken
from Cleveland, OH
"Though I was a little put off by the price tag, I took the plunge on this jacket anyway. I have owned other waxed cotton garments, such as Filson, so I knew that you indeed get what you pay for.
I like the Sylkoil cotton that this jacket is made of, and the handwarmer pockets are exceptional. The fabric of the jacket is pliable and resists wrinkling well, all the while looking good and keeping wind and rain/snow out. Immediately after getting this jacket, a blizzard blew in and I spent about an hour moving snow outside the house. The jacket kept me dry and breathed well preventing moisture buildup on my upper body.
I also purchased the button on hood with the wire insert which is made form the same material. It falls flat on the back when not in use, and I highly recommend it."