Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket

This waterproof jacket for men is a British country classic, made of Barbour's midweight Sylkoil waxed cotton for a shine-free, broken-in look. Jacket has a zip-front style with snap-front placket, two roomy front flap pockets with snap closures, two handwarmer pockets, and a corduroy collar. Add a hood or zip-in liner whenever the weather calls for it. This waterproof jacket is a true competitor to nasty weather. Lined in Barbour's Classic Tartan cotton. In olive. Waxed cotton. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: 32-52. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
53 of 53(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality, style, class!,
October 23, 2014
By: Frameace193
from Central PA mountains
"This jacket lives up to its reputation. In fit, finish and human scale sleeve length! I have no doubt that it will serve me well for many seasons. My only question, and not in criticism, is the location of the zipper. at first I thought it was a women's jacket, then I noticed all the Barbours on the site were zipping the same way. I also ordered the quilted liner, since this will be worn in cold weather as well."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Right Purchase Decision,
September 29, 2014
By: PhotoWolf
from Barrington, Il.
"Just wore this coat with the optional zip in vest in the Arizona high desert. it's perfect for temperatures above 30 F and kept me and my camera completely dry during and unexpected afternoon rain storm.
It's lightwieght, rugged and impervious to the elements and is the best coat of its kind that I've ever purchased.
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coat for Alaska,
July 15, 2014
By: Crazycrawler
from Omaha Nebraska
"The very best for the weather in Alaska, going to be my go too coat from now on. I plan on oredering the liner next to extend the use of the coat. The very best!!!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bedale Jacket,
June 26, 2014
By: Crazycrawler
from Omaha Nebraska
"Bought the jacket for an upcomming trip to Alaska. I have not had a chance to try out in the rain but it fits and looks great on me. Very fine workmanship, this will be my go to jacket for years."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and most versatile coat,
April 3, 2014
By: japantiger
from Austin
"Have used this coat now for 6 months. Great coat...just the right fit; not too baggy...just enough for layering without feeling bunched or tight. Waterproof which makes it very versatile; especially when adding the hood. Hunted in it in the fall in the Northern Hemisphere and am taking it next month to the South to Hunt Red Stag. It will handle whatever the weather throws at me. My second Barbour coat...both great."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phenomenal jacket,
March 1, 2014
By: PRLee
from Tennessee
"I've wanted a Barbour for ages, I'm so glad I finally bought this one. I needed a jacket to travel to Italy in January when it's chilly and rainy. The Bedale is plenty warm for 35-50 degree temps, sheds rain, and has great pocket room. It felt a little big at first, but wearing it over a suit or sportcoat, or a thick sweater needs that extra room. Money very well spent."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top product,
February 24, 2014
By: Scotland14
"It's my first Barbour purchase. And it most definitely will not be my last.
Size was perfect. Comfortable.
I've already worn in wet conditions several times and it kept me warm and dry. I would highly recommend this product
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
February 14, 2014
By: Labrador
"This is a standard by which all jackets can be judged."
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour for Dad,
February 14, 2014
By: Bekah
"I got this for my dad, and he absolutely loves it! He wears it everyday, and he is even able to wear it work!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will LOVE this Jacket!,
January 9, 2014
By: Linwood35
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
"This is my 3rd Babour and I absolutely love it. It fits better than my Beaufort. Be sure to get the liner too. I'm proud to have made this purchase and I love to wear it. It seems to get better with age."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for outdoors,
January 6, 2014
By: Hughes
from Dallas, TX
"The jacket was my husband's favorite Christmas gift. He wore it all weekend while hunting at our ranch and it was super warm and comfortable."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great style and quality,
December 29, 2013
By: jodes
from san francisco, ca
"bought this for my significant other and it looks great on him. it's a good classic look that can be dressed up or paired with a casual look. bought the hood to go with and it's quite neat actually. the hood has a thin wire at the edge so you can shape your hood so that it stays nicely tented over your head during rainy weather. love everything about it!"
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 28, 2013
By: emcmillan
"I bought this jacket for my son who is going to study in London. It is nice looking as well as being warm and weather resistant. Very impressed with the quality. I would not hesitate to purchase another Barbour product."
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wrong sizing,
December 27, 2013
By: California12
from California
"Great jacket but...I ordered it for my husband and it is way too small. He's not a big man and I even checked the size on his sport coat to make sure I was ordering correctly. So, well made and very nice looking but definately order bigger."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket,
December 25, 2013
By: Corsair
"This jacket is excellent. I used to wear a similar jacket for our rainy season down here in Florida (summer during the afternoons) and I finally pulled the trigger on a Bedale. It is great for our mild winters and it can also protect quite well in colder weather when layered up. Since it doesn't have a game pocket, and it is quite simple in design, it can also be worn with casual attire. Orvis service was excellent too. Highly recommended."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Jacket,
December 24, 2013
By: MHJH
from Connecticut
"My son loves this coat. Perfect fit, warm and good looking."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
November 29, 2013
By: 99maxwell
from Knoxville, TN
"This handsome jacket was a gift to my husband last year for Christmas. My husband loves the versatility and comfort that it offers no matter the weather. He purchased the hood accessory in the matching color. I just ordered him the liner for winter warmth. Love this classic jacket!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 25, 2013
By: Heidiherz
"It was the perfect collar, perfect size, and perfect fit. Exactly what I was looking for! I would highly recommend this especially for larger men it's a really really great coat all around!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale - The Perfect Jacket,
October 14, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I recently purchased a Barbour Beaufort jacket and like it so much decided to order the Barbour Bedale jacket. I wouldn't normally recommend having both as they are quite similar, yet a little different. The Bedale has knit inner storm cuffs to keep the wind, rain and snow from blowing up your arm. It is only one inch shorter in length, but has a double snap vent in back, which is nice on horseback for fitting over the cantle of the saddle. It has a very nice profile for wearing to town or even a private club in the weather (I don't belong to a club, but hunt at some nice places). I don't know how I've gotten by all these years without a Barbout Jacket, so now I have two. Once you have one, your hooked. They are that nice."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
September 30, 2013
By: Marcy12345
from Minnesota
"My husband has been looking at one of these coats for a few years. We even stopped at a shop when we were traveling through Vienna, Austria and he tried a couple on there....but finally I took the plunge and bought it for him as an early b'day present. HE LOVES IT! The material is great and I am sure it will look better as it ages, and the fit is just right. He couldn't be happier."