Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket

This waterproof jacket for men is a British country classic, made of Barbour's midweight Sylkoil waxed cotton for a shine-free, broken-in look. Jacket has a zip-front style with snap-front placket, two roomy front flap pockets with snap closures, two handwarmer pockets, and a corduroy collar. Add a hood or zip-in liner whenever the weather calls for it. This waterproof jacket is a true competitor to nasty weather. Elastic inner cuffs. Lined in Barbour's Classic Tartan cotton. In olive. Waxed cotton. Cold sponge. Imported.Sizes: 32-52. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
73 of 73(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Investment,
February 20, 2015
By: BambooMIke
from The Midwest
"I finally bought a Barbour jacket! I could not be more pleased with my purchase, as I have had my eye on this jacket for years. True to size, I am a 38 and purchased a 38. There is built in room to accommodate a light sweater, though it does become a little tight when I throw on my Black Sheep Irish sweater or a favorite Norwegian sweater; though both would probably be tight under any fitted jacket. I thought about going up to size 40, though realized that if I was just wearing a dress shirt of even a flannel shirt under it, the jacket would look far too big on me. Just a really great quality built product, that I hope to use a lifetime!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic design, but needs some improvements,
January 16, 2015
By: Isoruku
"Bought a new Classic Bedale recently to replace my aging Classic Durham (which, after ten years, is falling apart). The Bedale is probably the perfect waxed cotton jacket for me. I don't find that it is too short - it just barely covers the hem of my sport coats. I like the side pockets up high, which the Durham lacks. And the lining is almost as nice as the Durham, in a tasteful tartan blend of greens and brown - much nicer than the Beufort or the black Bedale. I do have some complaints, however. Why oh why does Barbour still design and manufacture a corduroy collar with exposed metal hood snaps on the inside - snaps you can feel against the skin unless you are wearing a scarf? There is also no fabric flap that protects your neck against the metal zipper, a feature that most outdoor equipment makers adopted roughly in 1975. And the snap closure that snugs the jacket across the neck is about two inches too short: it's virtually impossible to snap it shut. Honestly, it's an idiotic design. I do like my Bedale, but I wish Barbour would take the trouble to make some minor modifications which would turn an already good looking and utilitarian garment into something more user-friendly."
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 12, 2015
By: Ricken340
from Chapel Hill, NC
"The jacket showed up up when promised and in great condition. It was true to size and it feels like it will last a lifetime.
I have wanted one of these for years and I wish that I would not have waited so long.
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2014
By: Burrusre
"Last minute Christmas gift purchase, most definitely smartest purchase. Could not have been more thrilled."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Addition to My Wardrobe,
December 30, 2014
By: CollegeStudent2016
from Nashville, TN
"I bought this jacket after contemplating it for more than a year. The price was not easy for me to swallow, but I assured myself it would be a unique investment that I'd have for many years to come as a young professional. It does what a jacket is supposed to do--keep the water/cold out and the warmth in (so much so that I'm almost overly hot underneath sometimes). I wish the jacket was warm enough that I didn't need to pair it with a light sweater or extra layer underneath. However, I also appreciate jacket's room for additional layers underneath. I take my style seriously and this classic jacket will complement almost any outfit I have on and I intend to wear it around campus out in the elements and also to my internship. As far as utility, I can stuff my iPhone, wallet, car keys, and lip balm in one of the front pockets and still have some space left over. I don't have to worry about switching between warm and waterproof jackets because this one is a combination of the two. The moleskin hand pockets are also a plus; although, I wouldn't be able to fit my hands in them if I were wearing my wool gloves, but that doesn't bother me much. Ultimately, I recommend this jacket to anyone looking to add timeless character to their style with an item that also has utility."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite jacket!,
December 30, 2014
By: Jross
from Maryland
"This jacket is everything I hoped and more. It's beautifully made, so comfortable and perfect for those cold rainy days at the barn!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hit Christmas Gift,
December 27, 2014
By: DrCP
"My husband hates clothing and clothing shopping but loved this coat. Feels great on and he loves the idea that it can last for years. His 20-something daughters picked it out and they love how their dad looks it . A classic!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well Made,
December 26, 2014
By: singinac
"My son told me about this Jacket. I thought it my be overpriced, but when we received it for christmas, even my husband said he wanted one. he's very picky and somewhat of a clothes snob......but when he said he thought it was very well made and warm . Thats worth the price."
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, extremely high quality!,
December 24, 2014
By: Chay
from New York, NY
"Just got this as a gift and the quality of material is unparalleled. You can tell the quality craftsmanship right when you feel this jacket and wear it. Puts up very well to the northeast elements in the fall, winter and spring. Overall great purchase for anyone."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great investment,
December 23, 2014
By: Togglebutton
from New York, NY
"The Barbour Bedale jacket definitely lives up to its reputation. Looks great with casual clothes and can even function as an overcoat for dressier occasions. The finish on the jacket pretty water resistant so you can rest assured that you'll be dry. Generally, you want to size a little bit bigger with this jacket so you can layer up.
For sizing reference,
Size 32 - S
Size 34 - M
Size 36 - L
"
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 21, 2014
By: Bridg
from Boston, MA
"This is a fantastic jacket for year-round use. I had some difficulty in finding the right fit in the Classic fit, as it is much bulkier than I would usually expect from Barbour. If you like your outerware a bit more form fitting, I would definitely go with then slim fit."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
December 15, 2014
By: vesper39
"Great jacket and even greater customer service.
I loved the risk free purchase due to their wonderful return policy, but I won't be using it as the jacket is fantastic!"
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite jacket for life.,
December 11, 2014
By: katie77
from Boulder & Austin
"So glad I finally bought my Barbour. I had been wanting one forever but wanted to make sure I got it right, and this jacket is perfect. I'm 5'7" woman and got the size 36 for an oversized fit. Now I look forward to cold, wet weather. Best purchase!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best jacket ever. you can't go wrong,
December 9, 2014
By: Mccangus
from Deerfield, MA
"This jacket is wonderful. It stands up to all kinds of weather and is really warm. I love all the pockets."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timeless staple,
December 8, 2014
By: Khloe
from Richmond , VA
"A classic piece that is a timeless staple.
This jacket is perfect for a moderate climate . It can be worn in winter with layers or spring and fall by itself.
"
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Barbour,
December 1, 2014
By: schwaz80
from San Francisco, CA
"The jacket fits me perfectly. The quality is excellent and it's deceptively warm. My only gripe is I wish it came with the hood."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have Classic!,
November 24, 2014
By: Grits
from Bel Air, MD
"I've been wearing Barbour for years. This coat takes over "Clean up" occasions replacing my 15 year old Bedale that will be reassigned to strictly work. It's been refurbished 3 times. Great products and I recieved $25.00 off from Orvis. Good deal all around."
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great but not perfect,
October 28, 2014
By: Dobbins
"I would purchase this again, but of course with a Barbour, you never need to purchase another. Compared to the heavier thornproof wax this is light and will be comfortable and more breathable when worn in a car - a deciding factor for me since I'm not outdoors as much as I'd like.
The only downside is that the cut is a little odd for my body shape, there was no mention of it having Jersey cuffs (though I think I like them), and it's more brown than green."
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality, style, class!,
October 23, 2014
By: Frameace193
from Central PA mountains
"This jacket lives up to its reputation. In fit, finish and human scale sleeve length! I have no doubt that it will serve me well for many seasons. My only question, and not in criticism, is the location of the zipper. at first I thought it was a women's jacket, then I noticed all the Barbours on the site were zipping the same way. I also ordered the quilted liner, since this will be worn in cold weather as well."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Right Purchase Decision,
September 29, 2014
By: PhotoWolf
from Barrington, Il.
"Just wore this coat with the optional zip in vest in the Arizona high desert. it's perfect for temperatures above 30 F and kept me and my camera completely dry during and unexpected afternoon rain storm.
It's lightwieght, rugged and impervious to the elements and is the best coat of its kind that I've ever purchased.
"