Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket

Medium Weight for All 'Round Use. This all–purpose waxed–cotton jacket–33" long in size 42 for all–season wear–has a broken–in, shine–free Sylkoil finish for the ultimate in classic weather resistance. This Barbour waxed jacket features two front bellows pockets with snap storm flaps and two moleskin–lined handwarmer pockets. There is also a concealed zip–up wallet pocket and a full–width rear game and cartridge pocket with side zips. Full length cotton tartan lining. The corduroy collar is studded for an optional hood. Snap–closed throat flap and storm–fly front provide additional protection. Raglan sleeves with underarm ventilation, adjustable storm cuffs, and brass–finish two–way metal zipper. Barbour waxed jacket in olive. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge, no soap. England.Even sizes 36-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.797 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
115 of 118(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good jacket - hate the liner,
January 19, 2015
By: bches
from Michigan
"I bought this jacket a year ago, mostly for winter wear. Now that the cold weather is back, I put in the liner, and once again I'm fighting with it due to the sloppy fit. The opening at the top of the liner is large enough that you can miss the arm hole in the liner. Frustrating. I don't know why Barbour doesn't make the liner zipper go all the way to the top of the jacket.
I've purchased a lot of clothing from Orvis, and really like most of it. That said, this is one purchase I truly regret. If I could return it, I would."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
January 17, 2015
By: Lhtupper
"Great looking jacket. Not thick or heavy but keeps you warm. Big investment but quality evident and classic looks will always be in style"
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
January 16, 2015
By: Urbo
from Doylestown, PA
"This is probably the best casual/field jacket ever made. The size is spot on and the coat is extremely well made. The waxed cotton repels water, cuts the wind, and is surprisingly warm even without the optional liner. The zipper is extremely sturdy. The many pockets provide more than adequate storage. This is my third Beaufort in a 20 year period. I bought my first in England and the next from Orvis, I frankly wore the first one out. Wish I had taken Barbour up on their reconditioning offer or it would still be useable. I did use this for the second and will again. My second is now relegated to field duty only. My new one will be used for more causal wear.
You simply cannot buy a better coat!
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wearing a classic,
January 15, 2015
By: ALPZ
"all the great features as expected. all live up to Barbour reputation. disappointed in the tab that keeps the collar up - too difficult to fasten, not comfortable when fastened"
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase I Ever Made,
January 9, 2015
By: JVCS
from Corapeake NC
"Jacket is extremely comfortable and durable, while providing a Classic fit and Preppy style.
Hand woven pockets were a nice touch during our recent cold spell.
The silk oil coating provides an extra layer of weather proofing."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love it,
January 9, 2015
By: PK70
"I am 6', 205 lbs. ordered the 44R ... Fit and sleeve length perfect. Quality of the finish could not be better. Thoroughly enjoy wearing."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Careful about sizing,
January 4, 2015
By: MaineBob
"I returned the jacket because it was too small. It may be cut full for European clothes but not for US sizes. Nice coat and I was out of luck because they did not have the next size bigger in stock. Great return service as always."
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Happy Hubby,
January 1, 2015
By: Cabinwife
"I bought this Barbour Beaufort Classic Jacket for my husband for Christmas. It shipped promptly and I received it in plenty of time for Christmas despite my only ordering a week and a half before Christmas Eve. I called the customer service line to make sure it would be here on time and they were incredibly helpful and kind. That's part of the reason we shop with Orvis! On Christmas morning, I had one happy husband! He would've never bought such an expensive jacket for himself, but it was worth every dime I paid for it! It's a great weight and the inside, plaid lining is beautiful! I'm thrilled with this purchase!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing product,
December 28, 2014
By: HannahD123
from Northampton, MA
"I bought this jacket for my boyfriend for Christmas, and he is absolutely obsessed with it. The style and quality is well worth the purchase!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around coat,
December 17, 2014
By: dialm
from Staten Island,N.Y.
"This is my second Barbour jacket,I have owned the first one for about 18 yrs.I have sent it back to Barbour for repairs and waterproofing. When it comes back it is like new. I would advise purchasing a can of their wax to touch up wear spots from time to time as this greatly extends the time between service and adds greatly to the longevity of the coat. I use this coat for hunting,shooting,fishing and all sorts of work around the house. I strongly recommend the Barbour jacket. Ps I still use the first one after a rewaxing for the real dirty jobs."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 16, 2014
By: Susieb24
"It's great for hunting and all outdoor activities. Great weight, water resistant & can add liner for additional warmth."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Coat for a lifetime,
December 13, 2014
By: Lndarln
from Richmond, VA
"Perfect three season coat with the Polarquilt zip in liner that my husband loves! Fit is true to size and the longer design is better rain protection compared to shorter styles. Nice chest zip pocket to safeguard his IPhone and lined hand warmer pockets as well. Quality of a Barbour will make this life long outerwear piece and it never goes out of style."
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coat,
November 28, 2014
By: Bill13
from Georgia Coast
"This is my third Barbour Coat from Orvis. I am very pleased"
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does an excellent job at what it is designed to do,
November 11, 2014
By: Nigeldog
from Norcal
"I researched the different Barbour jackets to find the one with the features that I wanted and the Beaufort was an excellent choice for me. The fit is spot on and the jacket is loaded with features. I would highly recommend this jacket to anyone looking for a very high quality rain jacket."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
November 7, 2014
By: greatwhitehunter21
from Youngstown, Ohio
"Thought about buying a Barbour for a while now. Glad I finally did it. Fit was perfect. Added on the hood which I will carry in the back game pocket for really bad weather. I would recommend this product to anyone who like s quality products."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 5, 2014
By: karaan
from Ottawa, Canada
"I have been looking at the Barbour Jacket for a number of years after reading about their legendary durability. I was debating between the Bedale and Beaufort as they both had features that I liked. I ended up with the Beaufort because of the zip front shell pocket. It was raining the day I bought it and it performed as advertised. I bought it at the Orvis Dealer in Ottawa (Green Drake Outfitters)and they were very helpful. I have bought Orvis stuff through the catalogue, at the main store in Manchester VT and through a dealer. All have been exceptional experiences."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Sharktown
from Central NJ
"After wearing the Classic Beaufort going on 12 years now I must admit its a great jacket and my favorite. I'm 5'10" 175lbs and the size 42 fits perfect. I also bought the cold weather full fleece liner (a little hard to get your arms in if wearing a sweater over a shirt) and the quilted vest - both zip in the jacket. I mainly have the vest zipped in but on occasion zip in the full fleece liner when it gets very cold and windy. I do wear just the quilted vest over a light fleece pullover for those cool fall/spring mornings.
It's not an extreme cold weather jacket but has kept me warm through most of the winters here in NJ.
I wear it to the range, field and mainly to work as it fits in wherever I go. Very well made and holds up well to abrasion and wear.
Now I just need to send it back to Barbour to get re-waxed which should be good for the next 12 years!
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket!,
September 5, 2014
By: NCDT
from North Carolina
"This is a great jacket. I just guessed at my size. I bought a 44 and I am 6'-0" tall / 217 lbs. Not too tight and not too baggy!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lived up to the hype,
August 14, 2014
By: Haggis62
from California
"Bought the Beaufort for our trip to Ireland. Great customer service got me in the perfect size. I'm 6ft 180lbs and the 44 was the way to go. A tad more room for a sweater under neath and free movement. Compliments everywhere we went, so much so my wife found a similar ladies version. Driving rain was no match for the Beaufort. Planning to buy the new fleece liner to zip in. This coat reeks of craftsmanship and class! I am a Barbour customer for life."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks solid but have not tested,
May 28, 2014
By: Hunter75
from MN
"The coat looks well made but have not an opportunity to test out.
The sizing is great as they have oversize the product.
Not impressed that a product of this price was shipped in a plastic bag."