Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket

Medium Weight for All 'Round Use. This all–purpose waxed–cotton jacket–33" long in size 42 for all–season wear–has a broken–in, shine–free Sylkoil finish for the ultimate in classic weather resistance. This Barbour waxed jacket features two front bellows pockets with snap storm flaps and two moleskin–lined handwarmer pockets. There is also a concealed zip–up wallet pocket and a full–width rear game and cartridge pocket with side zips. Full length cotton tartan lining. The corduroy collar is studded for an optional hood. Snap–closed throat flap and storm–fly front provide additional protection. Raglan sleeves with underarm ventilation, adjustable storm cuffs, and brass–finish two–way metal zipper. Barbour waxed jacket in olive. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge, no soap. England.Even sizes 36-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
93 of 95(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heav Duty,
March 11, 2014
By: noogan
from Manhasset, NY
"The Beaufort Coat is a high quality garment made in England. It has a Heavy Duty Brass zipper that won't jam. I receive compliments every day when I wear this coat."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to buy a second one,
February 24, 2014
By: Peter4
from St. Helena, CA
"My son and daughter in law gave me a Classic Beaufort Jacket for Christmas in 2012. Sometime earlier this year it got removed from the back seat of my car and I could not live without it so I bought a second on. It is perfect for my indoor/outdoor life at our vineyard and winery."
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great timeless coat,
January 31, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great!! Easily works for multiple climates--perfect for the crazy temp shifts in ATL. The therm liner (the quilted one) is a nice add when the weather drops under 20 degrees. Many compliments on this coat. Like a navy sportcoat, this is timeless addition to a wardrobe."
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been wanting one for a while!!,
January 25, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great. It's a classic. Looks great with jeans or busie as casual to the office. I really like the fit, even though it lost as generous or relaxed , it's just right. Don't buy up or down a size if you know your true jacket size. The liner is a great addition. It's been northern cold here in Atlanta lately and the liner has been a cozy welcome addition. This coat is extremely versatile and makes a great shell with layers or works great by itself with or without liner. Have been wearing from 5F to 55F and it's served well. This is a coat that I expect to be in my wardrobe for a VERy long time. Simply a classic."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 20, 2014
By: Kelby
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband. He did not want me spending the money but he totally loves it! The quality is unbelievable! Best gift I ever bought him."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Know what it is for,
January 16, 2014
By: MattinOhio
"The jacket is great, but the insert is hard to put on. It is NOT a winter jacket so don't expect it to keep you warm for long. But if you want a jacket appropriate for spring and fall, you really cant beat it"
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic,
January 16, 2014
By: bentley101
"love this jacket, its my second one. old one is still in great shape, just outgrew it. love it for everday jacket for the reason i dislike big bulky jackets. as it breaks in after a short while it fits and drapes you nicley. like the weight of the jacket for not being bulky. super happy with this jacket would recommend it to anyone. sizing is right on and orvis was fantastic to deal with. super helpful and always kept me updated through emails"
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product and service,
January 13, 2014
By: Goinforarip
from St. Albert Alberta
"I spent months researching Barbour jackets before deciding on the Classic Beaufort. I am 5'10 and 210lbs so I almost went with a Bedale with it being shorter. However I went with the Beaufort in a 46 and it is a great fit. A 44 would have done, but I prefer a lil room to move. For those other Canadians looking for a year round jacket that you can add a layer or drop a layer, this is your jacket. My Beaufort has replaced 2-3 other of my regular use jackets as it's light enough for moderate weather and a hoodie or sweater makes it fine for an Edmonton cold snap. Quality is 'old school" and pride shows in every stitch. Ordering over the border is always nerve wracking however every review of Orvis was bang on, they are a first rate company. Great customer service, online chat for speedy updates and quick delivery. The olive colour is great, and the tartan lining distinguishes the Barbour nicely. I've now used it for everything. I have never written a review in my 41 years, but this jacket is worth the time and money spent."
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic British Style,
January 13, 2014
By: BuffordTBuffalo
from Edmond, OK
"This is a classic jacket that will last a lifetime. It's even better with a liner for 3-season use. It's expensive, but worth every penny. They run big. I like the loose feel, which is great for layering. But if you prefer a more fitted look, I'd recommend sizing down."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beaufort Jacket an Excellent Investment,
January 9, 2014
By: TownandcountryinPA
from Lancaster, PA
"I am about to send my Beaufort jacket, circa 1995, in for another reproofing--this time to Barbour in New Hampshire. (Have done it myself, but for $35, it is hard to beat their service.) Almost twenty years into this jacket and it has outlasted a lot of other items in the garden, shooting, hunting birds and waterfowl, and around town. This thing is just about indestructible and I believe it is going to outlast me. By now I would have suspected the urge for a new model would have kicked in but I am getting a lot of pleasure in the old creases, a few minor repairs, and the original tartan lining. I have an old snap-in pile lining that is more trouble than it is worth, finding a wool sweater or shirt with a poly vest a much better and better fitting option. I have sold a lot of these for Orvis over the years by endorsing them to friends (both Barbour and Orvis) and have never heard a complaint from anyone about either. This is one of the MUST HAVES for anyone serious about outdoor hobbies or lifestyles."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Barbour jacket!,
January 9, 2014
By: Finleymorris
"I purchased a Classic Beaufort Olive Barbour jacket for my husband for Christmas. It fit perfect (one-size down from his typical suit jacket size) and he loves it! I love the look on him too!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 19, 2013
By: Purity
from Cleveland oh
"As usual, this jacket is to ntch. Bought jacket first and then the lining."
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 11, 2013
By: Levvi
from Atlanta, georgia
"Love this Barber jacket. It is so good looking. Expensive but well worth he cost!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
December 1, 2013
By: Xkjames
from Flat Rock, NC
"Local Orvis store did not have my size so I ordered online with the computer at the Orvis store. Jacket arrived in 4 days exactly as specified. Quality looks good. Looking forward to having this jacket a long time."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Resistant, not Proof,
November 22, 2013
By: Beast63
"Fantastic looking, with quality materials and a classic understated elegance, but rain will soak right through anywhere the material is tight across your body (shoulders) if you're exposed for any length of time. Synthetic materials will beat the pants off it for actual weather-proof comfort, but no one builds a Gore-tex jacket that looks like this does."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upland or Lowland Best Jacket,
November 19, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I've had this jacket for several months now, having worn it on 6 upland bird hunts and around town. It has become my go-to jacket for just about everything. Fabulous for layering with a vest or sweater, providing versatility. The hand-warmer and cargo pockets provide great function. Rugged enough for upland hunting and nice looking for just about everything else."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form and Function,
November 13, 2013
By: CornellMan
from Prosper, TX
"This is now my second coat (first was lost/stolen while at university)… absolutely the best foul weather coat one can find for the money. It is the exact same as my previous coat, and again, Barbour has not missed a stitch. It will last a life time and is meant to be worn, and worn in—it is my everyday coat for cool weather and I cannot wait to ‘break’ this new one in (hunting, riding, mud, weather) . I can expect more from the Beaufort over other ‘jackets’ I own!
Thank you again to Barbour, Orvis and the wonderful folks you have at the Plano, TEXAS Boutique.
This can be the best purchase you make.
Suggestions:
The coat is meant for layering and has a zip in vest (not included). I prefer a Barbour Sweater opposed to the vest, your choice, either way—try the fit to ensure you can hold your lady, the reigns or shotgun proper.
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great but...,
June 6, 2013
By: Tycho66
from Australia
"I have always wanted a Barbour jacket and I settled on this one. I've had the jacket for two months and I'm very happy with it except for two small problems. 1) The toggle and stopper on the hood came away and now I can't find them. 2) Whilst designed for shooting, the back shoulders of this particular model are not gusseted so that when you shoulder the gun the jacket gets tight around the elbows and shoulder and the sleeves ride up your arm. So if you are a keen shooter either go a size up or a different model. But for every day wear, it's great."
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 22, 2013
By: RSS8
from Birmingham, AL
"Thought a while about this purchase but glad I did it. Coat is a great fit alone or over a sweater and really keeps out wind and rain. Only gripe is the interior velcro closure on sleeve linings is too tight for coat size; when closed I can't get the sleeve off over my hand. The construction is impeccable and the thing looks near indestructible."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Happy,
March 13, 2013
By: OrvisHead
from New Jersey
"As always when purchasing an item at Orvis, I was very happy with the Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket. The quality, warmth and fit remain consistent with other purchase and has exceeded my expectations."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.