Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket

Medium Weight for All 'Round Use. This all–purpose waxed–cotton jacket–33" long in size 42 for all–season wear–has a broken–in, shine–free Sylkoil finish for the ultimate in classic weather resistance. This Barbour waxed jacket features two front bellows pockets with snap storm flaps and two moleskin–lined handwarmer pockets. There is also a concealed zip–up wallet pocket and a full–width rear game and cartridge pocket with side zips. Full length cotton tartan lining. The corduroy collar is studded for an optional hood. Snap–closed throat flap and storm–fly front provide additional protection. Raglan sleeves with underarm ventilation, adjustable inner storm cuffs, and brass–finish two–way metal zipper. Barbour waxed jacket in olive. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge, no soap. England.Even sizes 36-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
115
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
129 of 132(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Classic Outerwear,
March 26, 2015
By: JoeNortheast
"With the burden of having to wear a trenchcoat to the office everyday in the Northeast spring to the office, this jacket serves as a great alternative as well as escape. It preps one for the upcoming weekend in the country, keeps everything in perspective. Lives up to its heritage as a functional item in all situations...."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
March 23, 2015
By: bishopje
from Carlisle, MA
"This jacket lives up to its high expectations (even though I may never use the full-width, rear game and cartridge pocket!). The only problem I had was with sizing. I had to return my first jacket to get the next size down. Orvis was very accommodating with all of this."
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
March 10, 2015
By: GCampbell
"When you have something figured out right., you don't have to make any changes."
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swayor,
March 10, 2015
By: sway
from Georgia
"great fit. Nice looking. works well in multiple weather conditions. layers good too. I may go back and get the hood too. No regrets on this one. Basically an instant old friend from day one."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have to love this coat!,
February 19, 2015
By: Necie
from Chicago, Illinois
"I purchased this coat for my son's 24th birthday because he had been trying to permanently my husbands coat gor the last 10 years, because these jackets last forever. Love seeing him wear it in the field or the pub with equal style. Can't wait for my future grandson or daughter try to borrow his. Just get it!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely satisfied,
February 13, 2015
By: 410Double
from Gainesville, GA
"I put off buying this jacket for years and it turns out that was a huge mistake. This jacket is everything it's coracked up to be and more. Incredibly comfortable and functional. it definitely lives up to its reutation."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Jacket,
February 10, 2015
By: us1985mc
from Virginia
"- This Beaufort jacket is great. It is just the right coat for rainy and windy days, but tough enough that I know when I go on a walk in the woods with my dog and my little girl it won't tear on the smallest twig.
- I'm so glad I bought it through Orvis as well. The customer service personnel were wonderful and demonstrated only the best business practices and provided top notch service, a word you can definitely use to describe Orvis. They worked with me to get the size I needed and waved the extra shipping charges. Way to go, I will definitely continue to shop with Orvis for both the quality of the products offered and the service you receive.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why Settle for Less,
February 9, 2015
By: pvErik
from Palos Verdes, CA
"Finally pulled the trigger for this great jacket, and it was everything I expected. If you are looking for a great jacket that will outlive all of the others in your closet, this is it.
As classy in the city as it is in the country."
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket Ever,
February 3, 2015
By: XrisB
"I bought my husband a Barbour jacket for those chilly, damp days we have in the South. His jacket has proven to be tough enough to withstand day-to-day activities on the farm and looks nice enough to wear on trips to town. An outstanding choice."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
February 3, 2015
By: ray96disco
from San Antonio, TX
"I've owned my Beaufort four years. It's aged well and still looks great, though the cuffs are starting to show signs of wear.
I own and have owned several good jackets and while I've been very partial to some, this jacket has become my all-time favorite due to its good looks and ruggedness. It's as much at home in art galleries and museums in Manhattan as it is hunting in South Texas and Mexico. When mine has to be replaced, know it will be with another Barbour."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
January 30, 2015
By: SnipeLK
from WI
"Love the texture of the outer shell and it is perfect for the cold winter days with the interior liner I purchased to go with it."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket, will last a lifetime!,
January 29, 2015
By: Craig1947
from Colorado Springs, CO
"An absolute standout in quality and excellence. A timeless men's garment and I could not be pleased more!
My purchase was handled at the Lonetree, Colorado Orvis store by an extremely knowledgeable of all Orvis handled products, professional sales person. Even though the purchase had to come from two separate locations, delivery was swift and my purchase was handled excellently & flawlessly!
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives up to its reputation,
January 26, 2015
By: 112James
from Glen Wild Lake
"Paid full price and it was worth it. The fit, the look, the pockets, and took it off to sit on a snow covered rock and jeans remained dry unlike my friend's who had a different water repellant coat."
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
January 26, 2015
By: RetiredGirl2011
from Oregon
"Great outter coat, classic look and craftsmanship. Looks good in the field or around town. It doesn't get better than this."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good jacket - hate the liner,
January 19, 2015
By: bches
from Michigan
"I bought this jacket a year ago, mostly for winter wear. Now that the cold weather is back, I put in the liner, and once again I'm fighting with it due to the sloppy fit. The opening at the top of the liner is large enough that you can miss the arm hole in the liner. Frustrating. I don't know why Barbour doesn't make the liner zipper go all the way to the top of the jacket.
I've purchased a lot of clothing from Orvis, and really like most of it. That said, this is one purchase I truly regret. If I could return it, I would."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
January 17, 2015
By: Lhtupper
"Great looking jacket. Not thick or heavy but keeps you warm. Big investment but quality evident and classic looks will always be in style"
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
January 16, 2015
By: Urbo
from Doylestown, PA
"This is probably the best casual/field jacket ever made. The size is spot on and the coat is extremely well made. The waxed cotton repels water, cuts the wind, and is surprisingly warm even without the optional liner. The zipper is extremely sturdy. The many pockets provide more than adequate storage. This is my third Beaufort in a 20 year period. I bought my first in England and the next from Orvis, I frankly wore the first one out. Wish I had taken Barbour up on their reconditioning offer or it would still be useable. I did use this for the second and will again. My second is now relegated to field duty only. My new one will be used for more causal wear.
You simply cannot buy a better coat!
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wearing a classic,
January 15, 2015
By: ALPZ
"all the great features as expected. all live up to Barbour reputation. disappointed in the tab that keeps the collar up - too difficult to fasten, not comfortable when fastened"
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase I Ever Made,
January 9, 2015
By: JVCS
from Corapeake NC
"Jacket is extremely comfortable and durable, while providing a Classic fit and Preppy style.
Hand woven pockets were a nice touch during our recent cold spell.
The silk oil coating provides an extra layer of weather proofing."
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love it,
January 9, 2015
By: PK70
"I am 6', 205 lbs. ordered the 44R ... Fit and sleeve length perfect. Quality of the finish could not be better. Thoroughly enjoy wearing."