Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket

Medium Weight for All 'Round Use. This all–purpose waxed–cotton jacket–33" long in size 42 for all–season wear–has a broken–in, shine–free Sylkoil finish for the ultimate in classic weather resistance. This Barbour waxed jacket features two front bellows pockets with snap storm flaps and two moleskin–lined handwarmer pockets. There is also a concealed zip–up wallet pocket and a full–width rear game and cartridge pocket with side zips. Full length cotton tartan lining. The corduroy collar is studded for an optional hood. Snap–closed throat flap and storm–fly front provide additional protection. Raglan sleeves with underarm ventilation, adjustable storm cuffs, and brass–finish two–way metal zipper. Barbour waxed jacket in olive. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge, no soap. England.Even sizes 36-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.815 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
106 of 108(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around coat,
December 17, 2014
By: dialm
from Staten Island,N.Y.
"This is my second Barbour jacket,I have owned the first one for about 18 yrs.I have sent it back to Barbour for repairs and waterproofing. When it comes back it is like new. I would advise purchasing a can of their wax to touch up wear spots from time to time as this greatly extends the time between service and adds greatly to the longevity of the coat. I use this coat for hunting,shooting,fishing and all sorts of work around the house. I strongly recommend the Barbour jacket. Ps I still use the first one after a rewaxing for the real dirty jobs."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 16, 2014
By: Susieb24
"It's great for hunting and all outdoor activities. Great weight, water resistant & can add liner for additional warmth."
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Coat for a lifetime,
December 13, 2014
By: Lndarln
from Richmond, VA
"Perfect three season coat with the Polarquilt zip in liner that my husband loves! Fit is true to size and the longer design is better rain protection compared to shorter styles. Nice chest zip pocket to safeguard his IPhone and lined hand warmer pockets as well. Quality of a Barbour will make this life long outerwear piece and it never goes out of style."
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coat,
November 28, 2014
By: Bill13
from Georgia Coast
"This is my third Barbour Coat from Orvis. I am very pleased"
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does an excellent job at what it is designed to do,
November 11, 2014
By: Nigeldog
from Norcal
"I researched the different Barbour jackets to find the one with the features that I wanted and the Beaufort was an excellent choice for me. The fit is spot on and the jacket is loaded with features. I would highly recommend this jacket to anyone looking for a very high quality rain jacket."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
November 7, 2014
By: greatwhitehunter21
from Youngstown, Ohio
"Thought about buying a Barbour for a while now. Glad I finally did it. Fit was perfect. Added on the hood which I will carry in the back game pocket for really bad weather. I would recommend this product to anyone who like s quality products."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 5, 2014
By: karaan
from Ottawa, Canada
"I have been looking at the Barbour Jacket for a number of years after reading about their legendary durability. I was debating between the Bedale and Beaufort as they both had features that I liked. I ended up with the Beaufort because of the zip front shell pocket. It was raining the day I bought it and it performed as advertised. I bought it at the Orvis Dealer in Ottawa (Green Drake Outfitters)and they were very helpful. I have bought Orvis stuff through the catalogue, at the main store in Manchester VT and through a dealer. All have been exceptional experiences."
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Sharktown
from Central NJ
"After wearing the Classic Beaufort going on 12 years now I must admit its a great jacket and my favorite. I'm 5'10" 175lbs and the size 42 fits perfect. I also bought the cold weather full fleece liner (a little hard to get your arms in if wearing a sweater over a shirt) and the quilted vest - both zip in the jacket. I mainly have the vest zipped in but on occasion zip in the full fleece liner when it gets very cold and windy. I do wear just the quilted vest over a light fleece pullover for those cool fall/spring mornings.
It's not an extreme cold weather jacket but has kept me warm through most of the winters here in NJ.
I wear it to the range, field and mainly to work as it fits in wherever I go. Very well made and holds up well to abrasion and wear.
Now I just need to send it back to Barbour to get re-waxed which should be good for the next 12 years!
"
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket!,
September 5, 2014
By: NCDT
from North Carolina
"This is a great jacket. I just guessed at my size. I bought a 44 and I am 6'-0" tall / 217 lbs. Not too tight and not too baggy!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lived up to the hype,
August 14, 2014
By: Haggis62
from California
"Bought the Beaufort for our trip to Ireland. Great customer service got me in the perfect size. I'm 6ft 180lbs and the 44 was the way to go. A tad more room for a sweater under neath and free movement. Compliments everywhere we went, so much so my wife found a similar ladies version. Driving rain was no match for the Beaufort. Planning to buy the new fleece liner to zip in. This coat reeks of craftsmanship and class! I am a Barbour customer for life."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks solid but have not tested,
May 28, 2014
By: Hunter75
from MN
"The coat looks well made but have not an opportunity to test out.
The sizing is great as they have oversize the product.
Not impressed that a product of this price was shipped in a plastic bag."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for many occasions,
May 9, 2014
By: Trooper211
from Taos, NM
"This purchase caps a long period of lusting after a Balfour jacket. It's the perfect combination for hunting and casual wear. We just returned from a Spring (some cool, rainy days) trip to Europe, and I wore it often. Not too warm for Spring, and is easily layered for cooler conditions. And absolutely water repellant. Looks good enough to wear in most settings. Will be shooting in Uruguay next month, and expect to find it even more useful."
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heav Duty,
March 11, 2014
By: noogan
from Manhasset, NY
"The Beaufort Coat is a high quality garment made in England. It has a Heavy Duty Brass zipper that won't jam. I receive compliments every day when I wear this coat."
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to buy a second one,
February 24, 2014
By: Peter4
from St. Helena, CA
"My son and daughter in law gave me a Classic Beaufort Jacket for Christmas in 2012. Sometime earlier this year it got removed from the back seat of my car and I could not live without it so I bought a second on. It is perfect for my indoor/outdoor life at our vineyard and winery."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great timeless coat,
January 31, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great!! Easily works for multiple climates--perfect for the crazy temp shifts in ATL. The therm liner (the quilted one) is a nice add when the weather drops under 20 degrees. Many compliments on this coat. Like a navy sportcoat, this is timeless addition to a wardrobe."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been wanting one for a while!!,
January 25, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great. It's a classic. Looks great with jeans or busie as casual to the office. I really like the fit, even though it lost as generous or relaxed , it's just right. Don't buy up or down a size if you know your true jacket size. The liner is a great addition. It's been northern cold here in Atlanta lately and the liner has been a cozy welcome addition. This coat is extremely versatile and makes a great shell with layers or works great by itself with or without liner. Have been wearing from 5F to 55F and it's served well. This is a coat that I expect to be in my wardrobe for a VERy long time. Simply a classic."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 20, 2014
By: Kelby
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband. He did not want me spending the money but he totally loves it! The quality is unbelievable! Best gift I ever bought him."
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Know what it is for,
January 16, 2014
By: MattinOhio
"The jacket is great, but the insert is hard to put on. It is NOT a winter jacket so don't expect it to keep you warm for long. But if you want a jacket appropriate for spring and fall, you really cant beat it"
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic,
January 16, 2014
By: bentley101
"love this jacket, its my second one. old one is still in great shape, just outgrew it. love it for everday jacket for the reason i dislike big bulky jackets. as it breaks in after a short while it fits and drapes you nicley. like the weight of the jacket for not being bulky. super happy with this jacket would recommend it to anyone. sizing is right on and orvis was fantastic to deal with. super helpful and always kept me updated through emails"
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product and service,
January 13, 2014
By: Goinforarip
from St. Albert Alberta
"I spent months researching Barbour jackets before deciding on the Classic Beaufort. I am 5'10 and 210lbs so I almost went with a Bedale with it being shorter. However I went with the Beaufort in a 46 and it is a great fit. A 44 would have done, but I prefer a lil room to move. For those other Canadians looking for a year round jacket that you can add a layer or drop a layer, this is your jacket. My Beaufort has replaced 2-3 other of my regular use jackets as it's light enough for moderate weather and a hoodie or sweater makes it fine for an Edmonton cold snap. Quality is 'old school" and pride shows in every stitch. Ordering over the border is always nerve wracking however every review of Orvis was bang on, they are a first rate company. Great customer service, online chat for speedy updates and quick delivery. The olive colour is great, and the tartan lining distinguishes the Barbour nicely. I've now used it for everything. I have never written a review in my 41 years, but this jacket is worth the time and money spent."