Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket

Medium Weight for All 'Round Use. This all–purpose waxed–cotton jacket–33" long in size 42 for all–season wear–has a broken–in, shine–free Sylkoil finish for the ultimate in classic weather resistance. This Barbour waxed jacket features two front bellows pockets with snap storm flaps and two moleskin–lined handwarmer pockets. There is also a concealed zip–up wallet pocket and a full–width rear game and cartridge pocket with side zips. Full length cotton tartan lining. The corduroy collar is studded for an optional hood. Snap–closed throat flap and storm–fly front provide additional protection. Raglan sleeves with underarm ventilation, adjustable storm cuffs, and brass–finish two–way metal zipper. Barbour waxed jacket in olive. Specially treated 100% cotton shell. Cold sponge, no soap. England.Even sizes 36-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.802 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
99 of 101(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 5, 2014
By: karaan
from Ottawa, Canada
"I have been looking at the Barbour Jacket for a number of years after reading about their legendary durability. I was debating between the Bedale and Beaufort as they both had features that I liked. I ended up with the Beaufort because of the zip front shell pocket. It was raining the day I bought it and it performed as advertised. I bought it at the Orvis Dealer in Ottawa (Green Drake Outfitters)and they were very helpful. I have bought Orvis stuff through the catalogue, at the main store in Manchester VT and through a dealer. All have been exceptional experiences."
Review 2 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Sharktown
from Central NJ
"After wearing the Classic Beaufort going on 12 years now I must admit its a great jacket and my favorite. I'm 5'10" 175lbs and the size 42 fits perfect. I also bought the cold weather full fleece liner (a little hard to get your arms in if wearing a sweater over a shirt) and the quilted vest - both zip in the jacket. I mainly have the vest zipped in but on occasion zip in the full fleece liner when it gets very cold and windy. I do wear just the quilted vest over a light fleece pullover for those cool fall/spring mornings.
It's not an extreme cold weather jacket but has kept me warm through most of the winters here in NJ.
I wear it to the range, field and mainly to work as it fits in wherever I go. Very well made and holds up well to abrasion and wear.
Now I just need to send it back to Barbour to get re-waxed which should be good for the next 12 years!
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket!,
September 5, 2014
By: NCDT
from North Carolina
"This is a great jacket. I just guessed at my size. I bought a 44 and I am 6'-0" tall / 217 lbs. Not too tight and not too baggy!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lived up to the hype,
August 14, 2014
By: Haggis62
from California
"Bought the Beaufort for our trip to Ireland. Great customer service got me in the perfect size. I'm 6ft 180lbs and the 44 was the way to go. A tad more room for a sweater under neath and free movement. Compliments everywhere we went, so much so my wife found a similar ladies version. Driving rain was no match for the Beaufort. Planning to buy the new fleece liner to zip in. This coat reeks of craftsmanship and class! I am a Barbour customer for life."
Review 5 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks solid but have not tested,
May 28, 2014
By: Hunter75
from MN
"The coat looks well made but have not an opportunity to test out.
The sizing is great as they have oversize the product.
Not impressed that a product of this price was shipped in a plastic bag."
Review 6 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for many occasions,
May 9, 2014
By: Trooper211
from Taos, NM
"This purchase caps a long period of lusting after a Balfour jacket. It's the perfect combination for hunting and casual wear. We just returned from a Spring (some cool, rainy days) trip to Europe, and I wore it often. Not too warm for Spring, and is easily layered for cooler conditions. And absolutely water repellant. Looks good enough to wear in most settings. Will be shooting in Uruguay next month, and expect to find it even more useful."
Review 7 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heav Duty,
March 11, 2014
By: noogan
from Manhasset, NY
"The Beaufort Coat is a high quality garment made in England. It has a Heavy Duty Brass zipper that won't jam. I receive compliments every day when I wear this coat."
Review 8 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to buy a second one,
February 24, 2014
By: Peter4
from St. Helena, CA
"My son and daughter in law gave me a Classic Beaufort Jacket for Christmas in 2012. Sometime earlier this year it got removed from the back seat of my car and I could not live without it so I bought a second on. It is perfect for my indoor/outdoor life at our vineyard and winery."
Review 9 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great timeless coat,
January 31, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great!! Easily works for multiple climates--perfect for the crazy temp shifts in ATL. The therm liner (the quilted one) is a nice add when the weather drops under 20 degrees. Many compliments on this coat. Like a navy sportcoat, this is timeless addition to a wardrobe."
Review 10 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been wanting one for a while!!,
January 25, 2014
By: YankeeSouth
from Atlanta, GA
"This coat is great. It's a classic. Looks great with jeans or busie as casual to the office. I really like the fit, even though it lost as generous or relaxed , it's just right. Don't buy up or down a size if you know your true jacket size. The liner is a great addition. It's been northern cold here in Atlanta lately and the liner has been a cozy welcome addition. This coat is extremely versatile and makes a great shell with layers or works great by itself with or without liner. Have been wearing from 5F to 55F and it's served well. This is a coat that I expect to be in my wardrobe for a VERy long time. Simply a classic."
Review 11 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 20, 2014
By: Kelby
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband. He did not want me spending the money but he totally loves it! The quality is unbelievable! Best gift I ever bought him."
Review 12 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Know what it is for,
January 16, 2014
By: MattinOhio
"The jacket is great, but the insert is hard to put on. It is NOT a winter jacket so don't expect it to keep you warm for long. But if you want a jacket appropriate for spring and fall, you really cant beat it"
Review 13 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic,
January 16, 2014
By: bentley101
"love this jacket, its my second one. old one is still in great shape, just outgrew it. love it for everday jacket for the reason i dislike big bulky jackets. as it breaks in after a short while it fits and drapes you nicley. like the weight of the jacket for not being bulky. super happy with this jacket would recommend it to anyone. sizing is right on and orvis was fantastic to deal with. super helpful and always kept me updated through emails"
Review 14 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product and service,
January 13, 2014
By: Goinforarip
from St. Albert Alberta
"I spent months researching Barbour jackets before deciding on the Classic Beaufort. I am 5'10 and 210lbs so I almost went with a Bedale with it being shorter. However I went with the Beaufort in a 46 and it is a great fit. A 44 would have done, but I prefer a lil room to move. For those other Canadians looking for a year round jacket that you can add a layer or drop a layer, this is your jacket. My Beaufort has replaced 2-3 other of my regular use jackets as it's light enough for moderate weather and a hoodie or sweater makes it fine for an Edmonton cold snap. Quality is 'old school" and pride shows in every stitch. Ordering over the border is always nerve wracking however every review of Orvis was bang on, they are a first rate company. Great customer service, online chat for speedy updates and quick delivery. The olive colour is great, and the tartan lining distinguishes the Barbour nicely. I've now used it for everything. I have never written a review in my 41 years, but this jacket is worth the time and money spent."
Review 15 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic British Style,
January 13, 2014
By: BuffordTBuffalo
from Edmond, OK
"This is a classic jacket that will last a lifetime. It's even better with a liner for 3-season use. It's expensive, but worth every penny. They run big. I like the loose feel, which is great for layering. But if you prefer a more fitted look, I'd recommend sizing down."
Review 16 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beaufort Jacket an Excellent Investment,
January 9, 2014
By: TownandcountryinPA
from Lancaster, PA
"I am about to send my Beaufort jacket, circa 1995, in for another reproofing--this time to Barbour in New Hampshire. (Have done it myself, but for $35, it is hard to beat their service.) Almost twenty years into this jacket and it has outlasted a lot of other items in the garden, shooting, hunting birds and waterfowl, and around town. This thing is just about indestructible and I believe it is going to outlast me. By now I would have suspected the urge for a new model would have kicked in but I am getting a lot of pleasure in the old creases, a few minor repairs, and the original tartan lining. I have an old snap-in pile lining that is more trouble than it is worth, finding a wool sweater or shirt with a poly vest a much better and better fitting option. I have sold a lot of these for Orvis over the years by endorsing them to friends (both Barbour and Orvis) and have never heard a complaint from anyone about either. This is one of the MUST HAVES for anyone serious about outdoor hobbies or lifestyles."
Review 17 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Barbour jacket!,
January 9, 2014
By: Finleymorris
"I purchased a Classic Beaufort Olive Barbour jacket for my husband for Christmas. It fit perfect (one-size down from his typical suit jacket size) and he loves it! I love the look on him too!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 19, 2013
By: Purity
from Cleveland oh
"As usual, this jacket is to ntch. Bought jacket first and then the lining."
Review 19 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 11, 2013
By: Levvi
from Atlanta, georgia
"Love this Barber jacket. It is so good looking. Expensive but well worth he cost!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Classic Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
December 1, 2013
By: Xkjames
from Flat Rock, NC
"Local Orvis store did not have my size so I ordered online with the computer at the Orvis store. Jacket arrived in 4 days exactly as specified. Quality looks good. Looking forward to having this jacket a long time."