Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Little Black Stonefly

Oliver Edwards is a legend in England and the realism of his flies has drawn legions of anglers to his patterns and techniques. This little black stonefly pattern is so perfect in its representation that put next to the real thing, even the fish can't tell the difference. In black.In sizes: 12, 14, 16, 19.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Little Black Stonefly
Review 1 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally,
April 10, 2014
By: Fishinggal21
"I have been looking for a size 18 stonefly for a long time. I am so glad I finally found it. Works great!"
Review 2 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well tied!,
January 3, 2014
By: 1Troutbum
"This fly is a great winter stone pattern for western PA streams!"
Review 3 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good purchase,
April 23, 2013
By: littleolddave
"caught trout in three different streams N.East area and S. East area of Pa."
Review 4 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very real,
March 31, 2013
By: tookie
from Downingtown Pa
"My wife and I fished this fly during a good black stone fly hatch the last two days and had non-stop action.The trout just jumped on this fly.
A great early season fly along with zebra midges. The quality of this fly is first rate.
"
Review 5 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: mickmags
"These stone flies look real. The first time I used one I hooked a fish. This order was a repeat purchase because of that experience."
Review 6 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Black Stonefly,
October 23, 2012
By: SmallBrook
from Concord, NH
"This is an excellent fly pattern for small streams. I have used this fly to fish high altitude cold and clear streams in the White Mountains and It has been very successful. I caught two small wild brook trout and one small rainbow on this pattern."
Review 7 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice little fly,
February 7, 2012
By: UncleTedd
from Syria, VA
"I ordered in a dozen of these for a recent trip based on recommendations of this winter hatch. The fly is nicely made and worked well and landed a nice rainbow within the first hour. One recommendation I might make, make sure the eye is thoroughly cleaned out ahead of time. The material was wound so close that it almost obscured the eye. It's a bugger to clean them out, standing in a river, with cold numbed fingers."
Review 8 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little stone,
January 18, 2012
By: prefect
from Scranton, PA
"Beautifully tied and very realistic. This will likely be one of my cold season favorites."
Review 9 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edwards Black Stonefly,
March 2, 2011
By: IcyTimes
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great little stone fly, have had very good luck with it. I fish mainly on the Elk River near Webster Springs, WV. good trout catcher, Need to buy in differant sizes, going to order more..."
Review 10 for Little Black Stonefly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Black Stones,
May 10, 2010
By: Steeliemon
from White Cloud Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A beautifully crafted fly. These Little Black Stones are the perfect match for the early hatches on our Western Michigan Rivers. I fish the Muskegon and the Pere Marquette for steelhead and the rivers are low and clear until snow melt and the spring rains bring in a little color. Our winter fish are well educated because these rivers get a lot of pressure from serious fishermen. These Little Black Stones and light tippets are magic for those clear water and bright blue days."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Little Black Stonefly
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1