Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Conehead Bunny Muddler

Zonker/Muddler combines the lifelike movement of crosscut rabbit fur in the tail, with bulk and weight in the head that matches the motion of fleeing baitfish. When fished on the swing, fish will chase it down and smash it. This Muddler fly pattern has incredible movement in the water and has proven itself by catching everything from bass, to big trout and even pike.Sizes 4, 6, 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Review 1 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Succesful outings,
August 27, 2014
By: Smalltrout
"The long bushy tail and red throat but the small hook of a size 8 streamer makes this fly deadly. Some days fish weren't biting at nymphs but would rise up from the bottom of deep pools and hit this streamer hard. It worked at all times of the day and even in muddy water after a storm. I was able to catch many cutthroat and got a large bull trout to bight. If there are deep pools with large trout I definitely recommend using this fly."
Review 2 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking pattern,
March 27, 2014
By: Mazamaparker
from Will use in Alaska this August
"Just got this fly. Good looking, well wrapped. Haven't fished it yet, but it's gotta bring in the big ones!"
Review 3 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Largemouth love it,
December 31, 2013
By: TK121
from South Central Texas
"I have had good success with these conehead bunny muddler's in size 4. Had a big TX bass snap my line and many others that I won the battle in the past year. I caught a good 3lb fish the other day December 28th....cold water and the bass slammed it like a truck hit my line. The combination of weight, color, and movement makes this an awesome choice for deeper coldwater action."
Review 4 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice, but also had a clogged eye,
May 30, 2013
By: JimC1
from NJ USA
"I'd buy again, but considering the premium price, I was surprised this had to have its eye cleaned. It was hard stuff, needed a large sharp safety pin tip to chip through it. From now on, I'll be checking all my orvis flies before heading to the water.
They tyer did a nice job of spinning and trimming the deer belly hair very tight to the cone."
Review 5 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will Always Have A Place In My Streamer Box,
May 28, 2012
By: chadroc
from northeast
"This pattern has fantastic attributes for triggering strikes: a rabbit strip tail that undulates in the water, a bushy collar for pushing water, rubber legs running along the body, and a small patch of red below the cone head to give fish a target. Over several days this spring I took a number of trout in eastern CT on this fly, including a 21" rainbow that took the fly dead drifted along an undercut bank."
Review 6 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Versatile Streamer,
March 13, 2012
By: DS168
from Cleveland, OH
"This is my all-time favorite fly. It is my go-to for just about any species; browns, northern, bass, even bowfin. I usually fish it on a floating line with an added split for bouncing off the bottom or without to stay higher in the water column. Black is my favorite, but white and olive have their moments depending on water and light conditions. I have had my best results by making short, fast, and jerky strips."
Review 7 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 2, 2012
By: Winterstreamer
from Mass.
"Caught a huge Brown on my third cast.First time using this streamer.And it was the middle of Febuary."
Review 8 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Love It,
June 29, 2009
By: VirginiaTom
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ordered the size 8 in olive to use for large trout on my favorite Va. stream as the pattern (olive bunny tail) matched a streamer I had used previuosly with success but could not find.
Great success and caught the largest rainbow of a recent three day trip on this fly. Good to fish deep runs where the big trout hang out.
Keep making the pattern!"
Review 9 for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OH MY WHAT A FLY,
October 4, 2008
By: Bilbo
from Steelhead Alley NW Pennsylvania
"Purchased this for an pattern to tie my own!! Followed the recipe. What a fantastic looking fly made 1/2 dozen last night 3 black and 3 olive can't wait to put these in front of a large steelhead alley chrome. nice pattern thanks"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Conehead Bunny Muddler
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2