Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bass Popper

The Bass Popper Fly is a popular pattern amongst bass fly fishermen, perfect for largemouth or smallmouth bass. In yellow/red, chartreuse, frog, red/white, black. Sizes 1/0, 6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bass Popper
Review 1 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Popper,
January 21, 2014
By: SFsean
"I use this popper is a small pond close to my house and it works great."
Review 2 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
big fly, big bass,
August 8, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"durable, effective brings up the big ones, tough to cast in wind"
Review 3 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works,
May 22, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"deters pesky bluegills, brings the big boys, not easy to cast, could use a more durable weedguard all this said the best popper ive used though ive only tried about 5 varietys"
Review 4 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bass,
December 29, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This is one of my go-tos for bass. Great quality and very reliable."
Review 5 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but a bit heavy.,
July 30, 2012
By: clintp
from Royal Oak, Michigan
"Nice fly, sturdy and well built. Works well enough to fool the bass & bluegill.
Minor complaint: it rides really low in the water. After a little bit of play, it doesn't even break the surface so you lose the finesse to tease out a strike.
Lighter materials could help perhaps?"
Review 6 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bass fly,
May 15, 2012
By: Dkatz
from Washington, DC
"I picked up this fly as a new fly fisherman looking to fill up a little tacklebox. I impressed my friends and looked like a pro even though I could barely cast. They all want to know where I got my popper. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 7 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bass Love It,
April 20, 2012
By: MattO
from Birmingham, AL
"I used this fly over a two day period and caught 15-20 bass on it. I used it in red/white and the bass were killing it.
My only complaint was that they hit it so much that the body seperated from the hook. The Paint was chipping badly and I guess so many fish hit it that it just broke. Not really a bad thing since I was catching so many fish, but now I will have to buy some more."
Review 8 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great bass and panfish catcher,
May 25, 2011
By: rock14
"Good balance, weedless, and color make this a terrific popper."
Review 9 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
effective and durable,
March 16, 2011
By: jackyredz25
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"brings up the big ones and is durable at a good price
note that if you have trouble casting big flies do not buy the size 1
nice work orvis"
Review 10 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bass bug,
January 18, 2010
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I picked up a couple of these in the frog color years ago now and they are both still in my fly box and look almost new despite being fished many, many times and being eaten a lot! The quality of this fly is great, not only in the materials and construction, but in the motion on the water and how it pops. Best bass bug I've ever used."
Review 11 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 31, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"This bass popper worked very well for me fishing in the still waters of coves with lilypads and natural coverage to provide protection for the fish. Check your weed guard, because mine ripped out after a few strikes, but otherwise a good fly!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bass Popper
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3