Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bass Popper

The Bass Popper Fly is a popular pattern amongst bass fly fishermen, perfect for largemouth or smallmouth bass. In yellow/red, chartreuse, frog, red/white, black. Sizes 1/0, 6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bass Popper
Review 1 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fly,
December 6, 2014
By: jackyredz25
"durable, brings up the big bass
tougher to cast than the size 6 so be prepared to front haul"
Review 2 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fish Ready,
October 2, 2014
By: Jleonard
from Advance, NC
"This is a perfect fly to my collection. It has great presentation!!"
Review 3 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weedless Popper,
September 4, 2014
By: OrvisHappy02
"Had been looking for a weedless popper and purchased this one. Very well constructed with deep scoop in the front."
Review 4 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hit first cast!,
July 8, 2014
By: rhuot
from Saint Paul, MN
"I got a hit on the first cast with this popper. Great fly. Would recommend for anyone!"
Review 5 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bass love it,
July 7, 2014
By: cschaberg
from northern Michigan
"The weedless hook works marvelously; you can hop it over lily pads with ease. I've been fishing with it for several days in densely weedy areas, and have not lost it. The rubber legs have great action. In short, big bass LOVE this thing. I wish I would have ordered ten more."
Review 6 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great popper,
July 4, 2014
By: VTshredder
from white river, VT
"Super durable popper started catching bass on the first cast."
Review 7 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like fishing with Dynamite,
June 5, 2014
By: doctor1
from Omaha, Nebraska
"It is so good it is almost unfair. Everytime I presented the bass popper I almost immediately had a bite. It worked with all types of retrieval as well."
Review 8 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Popper review,
May 28, 2014
By: MacM
"Very high quality -the weed guard is a great enhancement"
Review 9 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bass Bug,
May 10, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Well tied and finished; the black and red/white in size 6 were both effective on a local bass pond."
Review 10 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Popper,
January 21, 2014
By: SFsean
"I use this popper is a small pond close to my house and it works great."
Review 11 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
big fly, big bass,
August 8, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"durable, effective brings up the big ones, tough to cast in wind"
Review 12 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works,
May 22, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"deters pesky bluegills, brings the big boys, not easy to cast, could use a more durable weedguard all this said the best popper ive used though ive only tried about 5 varietys"
Review 13 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bass,
December 29, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This is one of my go-tos for bass. Great quality and very reliable."
Review 14 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but a bit heavy.,
July 30, 2012
By: clintp
from Royal Oak, Michigan
"Nice fly, sturdy and well built. Works well enough to fool the bass & bluegill.
Minor complaint: it rides really low in the water. After a little bit of play, it doesn't even break the surface so you lose the finesse to tease out a strike.
Lighter materials could help perhaps?"
Review 15 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bass fly,
May 15, 2012
By: Dkatz
from Washington, DC
"I picked up this fly as a new fly fisherman looking to fill up a little tacklebox. I impressed my friends and looked like a pro even though I could barely cast. They all want to know where I got my popper. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 16 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bass Love It,
April 20, 2012
By: MattO
from Birmingham, AL
"I used this fly over a two day period and caught 15-20 bass on it. I used it in red/white and the bass were killing it.
My only complaint was that they hit it so much that the body seperated from the hook. The Paint was chipping badly and I guess so many fish hit it that it just broke. Not really a bad thing since I was catching so many fish, but now I will have to buy some more."
Review 17 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great bass and panfish catcher,
May 25, 2011
By: rock14
"Good balance, weedless, and color make this a terrific popper."
Review 18 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
effective and durable,
March 16, 2011
By: jackyredz25
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"brings up the big ones and is durable at a good price
note that if you have trouble casting big flies do not buy the size 1
nice work orvis"
Review 19 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bass bug,
January 18, 2010
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I picked up a couple of these in the frog color years ago now and they are both still in my fly box and look almost new despite being fished many, many times and being eaten a lot! The quality of this fly is great, not only in the materials and construction, but in the motion on the water and how it pops. Best bass bug I've ever used."
Review 20 for Bass Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 31, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"This bass popper worked very well for me fishing in the still waters of coves with lilypads and natural coverage to provide protection for the fish. Check your weed guard, because mine ripped out after a few strikes, but otherwise a good fly!"