Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Flip Focal

This clip on fly tying magnifier attaches to the brim of your hat with clip and pin, flips easily out of the way, and gives you 2.25X magnification to thread even the finest tippets with ease. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
50 of 54(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flip Focal
Review 1 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
October 11, 2012
By: Wass1
"Bought a set of these about 17 years ago. Finally got too scratched to use. Liked them so much I bought a new set. Pleased with the improvments such as the pin to hold it in place. Makes my ancient eyes able to tie 18's with ease."
Review 2 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seeing is believing,
April 8, 2014
By: saintm89
from syracuse, ny
"So my close up eyesight isn't what it used to be. Seeing the eye of my fly well enough to tie the line was a squinting PITA nightmare. Decided to try these. Best purchase ever that added to my fishing enjoyment. In short they work great. These magnifiers are at the right focal length to easily see the fly you are tying and then flip out of the way handily. The only thing that puzzled me at first was my face in spots got warm. I realized the the sun was being magnified and the rays striking small portions of my face as I moved. Not unpleasant, just weird feeling."
Review 3 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now I can see midge hook eyes,
March 24, 2014
By: jt7602
"After 50, the 'ol eyes not liking the little/close stuff. These magnifiers work very well, and fold out of the way when not in use. Good product and reasonable price."
Review 4 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 18, 2014
By: JWfishingwidow
from Yakima, WA
"Bought these for my husband that complained about the difficulty he has when it comes time to change a fly. He loves this product!"
Review 5 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 21, 2014
By: sacto
"I'm 77 and wear prescription polaroid sun glasses when fishing. This past year I've been having great difficulty threading the tippet thru the eye of size 16 and smaller flies. Your flip down 2.5 magnifying glasses attached to the brim of my hat have solved my problem. Now less frustration and more time with a fly on the water."
Review 6 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very handy item,
January 29, 2014
By: kashcami
from virginia
"have used this product for several years and the older I get the more I appreciate it"
Review 7 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He can see!,
January 16, 2014
By: Wheezy
from Cleveland, OH
"I purchased the Flip Focal for my husband to use while steelhead fishing ...and he's happy to report they not only help his sight while standing in a river tying knots, he also uses them for projects around the house when needed. Claims his chores get done quicker...more time to fish."
Review 8 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential tackle,
December 18, 2013
By: grammieb
from Williston, VT
"This is a good quality magnifier and essential for quick and safe work with all small tackle. It is so handy because I can attach it to the brim of my cap."
Review 9 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good,
December 4, 2013
By: arpemo
"Critical when to the end of the day we discovered that the correct fly is a nymph in size 18 and our eyes no responding as in the past!"
Review 10 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super flip focal,
September 3, 2013
By: Bergomi
from Oslo, Norway
"This flip focal works as expected. Thank's to the litle pin that is threaded through the shade on your cap it won't fall of. And of course there is the litle thing that you don't have to hold it, both hands free. Super Orvis, thank's."
Review 11 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Can See MOre Clearly Now,
August 1, 2013
By: Papahugh
"I have used a flip focal for several years and it certainly makes tippet - fly connects much better. It is so handy I ordered one for a fly fishing friend in Ireland."
Review 12 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Flip Focal,
July 29, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I got these for my Dad who has terrible eyesight. He could not use them because the lenses were close together which made the focus impossible for him. My solution will be to get a similar pair that attaches to a cap but has much larger and wider lenses. If you need cheaters for everyday reading - these may work for you."
Review 13 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flip,
June 23, 2013
By: fishking
from uk
"it taked some getting used to but once you have marstered it if is great"
Review 14 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sometimes It's the Simplest Things,
June 7, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I've had these for 2 years. They work fine on a stiff billed ball cap. Does that a bit more jiggling around on my Tilley - but it's workable.
But in general, the flip up approach is terrific when you just need a bit more magnification. Sure beats having to go into a pocket and pull out magnifying glasses."
Review 15 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 10, 2013
By: Starlifter
from Stuarts Draft, VA
"These magnifiers are a great help to us senior fishermen. It is so much easier to flip down the magnifier from your cap bill instead of fumbling around in your pocket trying to find and put on your glasses. A great time saver."
Review 16 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Glasses Needed!!,
May 1, 2013
By: wvfishman
from Charleston, WV
"I have had three of them and just ordered a 4th for a spare to carry. No need for glasses on the stream with these. They last me for about 4-5 years of 40 days+ a year fishing all weather."
Review 17 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful, elegant design,
March 18, 2013
By: Ramiro
"An essential tool while fishing and tying flies. Should not have waited this long to get these for myself"
Review 18 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
March 1, 2013
By: Duckslayer62
from Russellville, Tn
"Needed something to see small flies and to help with fly tying . The flip foals help out greatly"
Review 19 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flip Focal Funk,
February 14, 2013
By: RRk34
"Tried out the flip focal attachment inb hopes of not having to pull-out reading glasses to tie on. I couldn't easily find the "sweet" spot of magnification. I hope this improves with continued use but I'm doubtful."
Review 20 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poorly designed,
January 21, 2013
By: pnotto
from Canton Ohio
"I have to wonder if the person who designed these ever used them. They fit quite well on the brim of your hat but you have to pull the hat down as far as it will go on your forehead to get the lenses to line up with your eyes. Even the package shows a picture of a man and it's obvious his eyes aren't anywhere close to being inline with the lenses. They need to hang down about another inch."