Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Flip Focal

This clip on fly tying magnifier attaches to the brim of your hat with clip and pin, flips easily out of the way, and gives you 2.25X magnification to thread even the finest tippets with ease. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
92 of 97(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flip Focal
Review 1 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
October 11, 2012
By: Wass1
"Bought a set of these about 17 years ago. Finally got too scratched to use. Liked them so much I bought a new set. Pleased with the improvments such as the pin to hold it in place. Makes my ancient eyes able to tie 18's with ease."
Review 2 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy,
July 15, 2015
By: Mike935
from Manchester, UK
"This takes a little getting used to but once you do works well. Best feature is that it is so much faster than getting specs out of your pocket."
Review 3 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
knot so hard to see,
July 14, 2015
By: Tclark
from Houston Texas
"nice addition to my hat. Hardly noticeable and makes my knot tying a breeze, no more squinting and wondering if I tied it right."
Review 4 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Transformational,
June 27, 2015
By: CJohnR
from Hampshire uk
"For those of us with less than perfect vision, or even those with, tying fine nylon tippets and hooks is a real challenge especially In less than bright light.
This product is transformational. It makes fishing with very light tackle a pleasure.
"
Review 5 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great!,
June 26, 2015
By: turkeyhunter
from Ligonier, Pa.
"I don't fish without having this focal on my cap. Helps me tie on tiny flies."
Review 6 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenient Readers,
May 21, 2015
By: Sailman55
from Renton, WA
"I've had Lasik surgery so my near vision is gone. I need to wear sunglasses for fishing so I'm left with few options to see what I'm tying on my line. I purchased these flip lenses and they work great. I've seen reviews saying that they can't focus properly, and this is true if the lenses aren't level. However, once they are level, then they work great. Flip them up and they are out of the way. Great invention and appreciated."
Review 7 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size 22 no problems!,
May 6, 2015
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"After messing around with a threader. Box system I decided to try this. Took a while to get used but after threading a few flies, no problem.
Recommended.
"
Review 8 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST MONEY EVER SPENT,
May 5, 2015
By: WOODY101
from FENTON,MISSOURI
"CAN SEE TO TIE EVEN VERY TINE FLYS I WEAR BIFOCALS AND STILL COULDN,T SEE TO TIE THESE ARE SECURE WITH ADDED PIN AND ARE THERE WHEN YOU NEED THEM"
Review 9 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Product!,
April 21, 2015
By: Bruzelyn
from Maryland
"I wear polarized sun glasses when fishing and was looking for something to magnify when I am tying knots. I tried sun glasses with bifocals and found that I had trouble looking down and walking in a stream because of the magnification. The flip focal is genius. I wear my regular polarized sun glasses and flip them down when I need them - up when I don't. Great quality!!!"
Review 10 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flip focal,
April 15, 2015
By: barble55
from hyndburn lancs
"flip focal works well, fits to peak of cap easily, would suggest various magnification details are made more clear to aid ordering , dont need two pairs of glasses now just shades,"
Review 11 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Average but dependable,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"I like these a lot but the clasp eventually loosens. For what they are, they get the job done."
Review 12 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for old eyes,
April 3, 2015
By: orvisreally
from York, pa
"And big thumbs.
I can see the tippet. Who would have thought?
"
Review 13 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic product,
March 5, 2015
By: mistermac
from Winnsboro, TX
"Work just as described. If you are having a hard time tying those little flies, get these. They do the job!"
Review 14 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Help,
February 24, 2015
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"My old eyes aren't what they once were and these glasses do the trick on the stream plus they're handy and out of the way until needed."
Review 15 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase,
December 10, 2014
By: Julie24
from Peterborough
"Excellent service and excellent buy, really pleased with product
Thank you"
Review 16 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frustration Relief!,
December 1, 2014
By: dsurls
from Lawrenceville, GA
"As a 50-yr old with progressive lenses, I've been struggling for the last couple of years with being able to see the hook eye when tying on smaller flies. This thing saved the day.
It's great that it flips out of the way when you're not using it. The only thing preventing me from giving it 5 stars is that it's a little too heavy for my Tilly hat brim -- have to use a baseball-style cap with a stiffer brim.
"
Review 17 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
November 14, 2014
By: Hazz711
from Scotland
"I have used cheaper versions and they break, this product is study and does exactly as required. Would recommend."
Review 18 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see clearly now,
November 14, 2014
By: MartynC
from Wiltshire, UK
"The Flip Focal Magnifier has transformed my days fishing. No more time wasted fiddling with flies and tippet. The Magnifier works well on both a baseball cap and a bush hat. It feels robust and I expect it to last at least 3 seasons."
Review 19 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must useful product for farsighted fisherfolk,
November 13, 2014
By: BBK092014
"These are great additions for those of us that need a little more strength. They are easy to attach to a favorite hat, but they do require short arms to thread a hook. Very pleased."
Review 20 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 12, 2014
By: Hanningfieldregular
from Essex
"Just purchased my third pair of these excellent glasses. I fish 2-3 times a week and use the glasses dozens of times on each trip. The hinge finally becomes loose after years of wear, however I couldn't fish without them."