Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip

This fly-fishing tool features cutting jaws that stay sharp and aligned. Needle cleans the eyes of flies. Our fly-fishing snip is arguably one of the most utilized tools in any fly fisherman's vest. Pin-on zinger. Fly-fishing tools in silver or black.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
57 of 65(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp snippers,
June 28, 2015
By: Jw11
"These are sharp snippers that easily snipped 6x or 7x tippet line. Blades were flat and even across."
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nippers,
June 2, 2015
By: Patanichols
from West. Virginia
"This item is just what you need. Simple, efficient and lightweight. Other contraptions are heavy and are not as efficient."
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snips,
May 28, 2015
By: Flyrodder123
from Rexburg, Idaho
"I have tried several different types of snips/nippers over the years but have found nothing any better than these simple ones."
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it's supposed to do.,
May 26, 2015
By: VaTroutser
from Northern Virginia
"The nippers work great! Not sure how long they will stay sharp, but they were cheap enough that I'm not worried about it."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
May 4, 2015
By: Navydonald
"Bought these over twenty years ago. Still sharp and perfectly aligned."
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Average but cost is good,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Not the best out there but going through so many as a guide I think they are good. Better than using your teeth which I don't but I see many younger guides doing it and wonder when they get to be my age how their teeth will look. You only have one set of choppers, protect them folks..."
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great product!,
April 6, 2015
By: Flyintheeye
from Friendsville, MD
"The snips are well designed and easy to use. If you want a great product, this is it."
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
December 4, 2014
By: tchenderson
from Sutherlin, OR
"great product with excellent durability and good looks"
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proven Tool Gets the Job Done,
November 30, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"These were the first dedicated fly fishing snips that I ever purchased. After many years of service, they have proven their ability to trim knots and cut lines and tippets. These belong in every angler’s kit."
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical Basic Snip,
October 18, 2014
By: Featherstone2
from Aiken, SC
"It's not fancy, just perfect for what it is designed for. Light weight,with hook eye cleaner. ultra sharp, easily clips to your vest.."
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Nippers,
September 3, 2014
By: JohnChurch
"Nippers work great; just the right size, and the barb to clear hook eyes is a great feature. Very pleased!"
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
September 1, 2014
By: Gibkeeg
from Portland, Oregon
"Great zinger, I have 4 or them and still using the first two. They last forever! Well made prouct. Thank you Orvis for making great products."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid and simple,
August 15, 2014
By: oso12345
from Corte Madera, CA
"These snippers are good quality basic nippers. They include a sharp point for clearing the eyes of hooks. There is nothing special or flashy about them--they are just made to work well."
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets the job done,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"I'm just getting into Fly Fishing, and this is the first snip I've ever purchased. It's light, seems durable, and is priced right! That makes it a winner in my book."
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Snips,
July 17, 2014
By: rstar
from Jackson, WY
"Snips work great and the Zinger keeps them is a place that is easy to get to. Highly reccomend this product."
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snip is good but there is room for improvement,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use the snip only, the zinger that comes with it is bad (no wonder for the total price). I prefer the ORVIS Super Zinger Made in U.S.A.
I would like to see a snip offered by ORVIS that once was made in America and offered by HOUSE of HARDY (now HARDY offers a cheap asian made copy for the old price of the original well-made one).
It was a snip and nail knot tool in one. Not cheap but very versatile. Maybe ORVIS can find the American made original and offer it, of course with an ORVIS imprint on it.
BTW this ORVIS snipping tool itself is well made and reliable. Have several of them in use since years.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snips,
May 6, 2014
By: Berkee
"I lost my old Orvis Snip on the river last month, and I have had and used it for at least 20 years about. It is small, light weight, uncomplicated, effective and can be sharpened repeatedly."
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to use and not easy to loose,
April 8, 2014
By: saintm89
from syracuse, ny
"These are simple to use and always hanging close at hand. I coupled this with the flip focal and wow what a difference it makes when changing flies. Much easier now."
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
March 24, 2014
By: jt7602
"nips work great on mono type line. The zinger operates smoothly. A good value too."
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good snippers,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"These snippers look very slick and classic and work great"