Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip

This fly-fishing tool features cutting jaws that stay sharp and aligned. Needle cleans the eyes of flies. Our fly-fishing snip is arguably one of the most utilized tools in any fly fisherman's vest. Pin-on zinger. Fly-fishing tools in silver or black.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
48 of 56(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical Basic Snip,
October 18, 2014
By: Featherstone2
from Aiken, SC
"It's not fancy, just perfect for what it is designed for. Light weight,with hook eye cleaner. ultra sharp, easily clips to your vest.."
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Nippers,
September 3, 2014
By: JohnChurch
"Nippers work great; just the right size, and the barb to clear hook eyes is a great feature. Very pleased!"
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
September 1, 2014
By: Gibkeeg
from Portland, Oregon
"Great zinger, I have 4 or them and still using the first two. They last forever! Well made prouct. Thank you Orvis for making great products."
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid and simple,
August 15, 2014
By: oso12345
from Corte Madera, CA
"These snippers are good quality basic nippers. They include a sharp point for clearing the eyes of hooks. There is nothing special or flashy about them--they are just made to work well."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets the job done,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"I'm just getting into Fly Fishing, and this is the first snip I've ever purchased. It's light, seems durable, and is priced right! That makes it a winner in my book."
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Snips,
July 17, 2014
By: rstar
from Jackson, WY
"Snips work great and the Zinger keeps them is a place that is easy to get to. Highly reccomend this product."
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snip is good but there is room for improvement,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I use the snip only, the zinger that comes with it is bad (no wonder for the total price). I prefer the ORVIS Super Zinger Made in U.S.A.
I would like to see a snip offered by ORVIS that once was made in America and offered by HOUSE of HARDY (now HARDY offers a cheap asian made copy for the old price of the original well-made one).
It was a snip and nail knot tool in one. Not cheap but very versatile. Maybe ORVIS can find the American made original and offer it, of course with an ORVIS imprint on it.
BTW this ORVIS snipping tool itself is well made and reliable. Have several of them in use since years.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Snips,
May 6, 2014
By: Berkee
"I lost my old Orvis Snip on the river last month, and I have had and used it for at least 20 years about. It is small, light weight, uncomplicated, effective and can be sharpened repeatedly."
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to use and not easy to loose,
April 8, 2014
By: saintm89
from syracuse, ny
"These are simple to use and always hanging close at hand. I coupled this with the flip focal and wow what a difference it makes when changing flies. Much easier now."
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
March 24, 2014
By: jt7602
"nips work great on mono type line. The zinger operates smoothly. A good value too."
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good snippers,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"These snippers look very slick and classic and work great"
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good value,
January 20, 2014
By: bosswhlr
from Hernando, Florida
"Orvis nipper and retractable zinger are a good combination at a reasonable price. The nippers cut any size leader or braided line I use, and the retractable zinger keeps the nip's close at hand when needed."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,great price,
December 27, 2013
By: jopap
"One of the least expensive items I have purchased but as all Orvis items practical,efficient,great results"
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zinger/snip,
August 29, 2013
By: Flyfishalabama
"the zinger holds up well and the snip is sturdy and reiable. I wish the pin for fixing it to my vest was a bit more studry. If the device has an achilles heel, this is it"
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snip+zinger,
July 17, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Hampshire
"Amazing tool. Very handy having it close by on a zinger. Seems well made and looks stunning."
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
May 9, 2013
By: manny1
from cincinnati,ohio
"this hs been a great help to me & i would not go fishing without it"
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good snips, but hate pin-ons,
April 25, 2013
By: cameroia
from Aberdeen, Scotland
"The snips are good - sharp enough, strong enough. I find that the beaded chain keeps wrapping itself around the snips though, and this can get fiddly.
I'm on my 2nd pair - the snips are good, but the pin on part is the weak link - the pin came undone, and the snips & zinger fell off somewhere out on the riverbank.
I've attached the new snips to a different zinger, non-Orvis, which snap clips onto a small d-ring on my vest. That is NOT going to come off.
So, 5/5 for the snips and for the zinger cord/retractor, which worked perfectly.
2/5 for the pin on part - it suffers the same fault as all pin ons - it works loose eventually, and falls off"
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pair,
January 30, 2013
By: Kawickstrom
from Westminster, MD
"Don't be fooled these may look like the cheap set of snips at your local fly shop but they are not. They are made way better. They have that great orvis quality."
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointing,
November 18, 2012
By: Orbis
from Nfld,Canada
"This is a very handy and useful tool for any fly fisher.However the quality of the zinger does not match the quality of the snips. I used this tool approximately 6 times and it promptly fell apart . The screw that holds it all together backed off and promptly disappeared into the swirling waters,along with the snips.Leaving me to use my teeth for snips for the rest of my trip! To say the least I was not very happy with this Orvis product!!"
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Decent,
October 17, 2012
By: BFlo
"Snip works great however the clasp on the zinger is flimsy."