Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip

This fly-fishing tool features cutting jaws that stay sharp and aligned. Needle cleans the eyes of flies. Our fly-fishing snip is arguably one of the most utilized tools in any fly fisherman's vest. Pin-on zinger. Fly-fishing tools in silver or black.
Average Customer Rating:
3.936 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
39 of 47(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to use and not easy to loose,
April 8, 2014
By: saintm89
from syracuse, ny
"These are simple to use and always hanging close at hand. I coupled this with the flip focal and wow what a difference it makes when changing flies. Much easier now."
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
March 24, 2014
By: jt7602
"nips work great on mono type line. The zinger operates smoothly. A good value too."
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good snippers,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"These snippers look very slick and classic and work great"
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good value,
January 20, 2014
By: bosswhlr
from Hernando, Florida
"Orvis nipper and retractable zinger are a good combination at a reasonable price. The nippers cut any size leader or braided line I use, and the retractable zinger keeps the nip's close at hand when needed."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,great price,
December 27, 2013
By: jopap
"One of the least expensive items I have purchased but as all Orvis items practical,efficient,great results"
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zinger/snip,
August 29, 2013
By: Flyfishalabama
"the zinger holds up well and the snip is sturdy and reiable. I wish the pin for fixing it to my vest was a bit more studry. If the device has an achilles heel, this is it"
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snip+zinger,
July 17, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Hampshire
"Amazing tool. Very handy having it close by on a zinger. Seems well made and looks stunning."
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
May 9, 2013
By: manny1
from cincinnati,ohio
"this hs been a great help to me & i would not go fishing without it"
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good snips, but hate pin-ons,
April 25, 2013
By: cameroia
from Aberdeen, Scotland
"The snips are good - sharp enough, strong enough. I find that the beaded chain keeps wrapping itself around the snips though, and this can get fiddly.
I'm on my 2nd pair - the snips are good, but the pin on part is the weak link - the pin came undone, and the snips & zinger fell off somewhere out on the riverbank.
I've attached the new snips to a different zinger, non-Orvis, which snap clips onto a small d-ring on my vest. That is NOT going to come off.
So, 5/5 for the snips and for the zinger cord/retractor, which worked perfectly.
2/5 for the pin on part - it suffers the same fault as all pin ons - it works loose eventually, and falls off"
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pair,
January 30, 2013
By: Kawickstrom
from Westminster, MD
"Don't be fooled these may look like the cheap set of snips at your local fly shop but they are not. They are made way better. They have that great orvis quality."
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointing,
November 18, 2012
By: Orbis
from Nfld,Canada
"This is a very handy and useful tool for any fly fisher.However the quality of the zinger does not match the quality of the snips. I used this tool approximately 6 times and it promptly fell apart . The screw that holds it all together backed off and promptly disappeared into the swirling waters,along with the snips.Leaving me to use my teeth for snips for the rest of my trip! To say the least I was not very happy with this Orvis product!!"
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Decent,
October 17, 2012
By: BFlo
"Snip works great however the clasp on the zinger is flimsy."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't lose it!,
October 16, 2012
By: wornica
from Springfield, MO
"I lost my last snip in the bottom of Lake Taneycomo so I was glad to pin this on my fly fishing jacket. Impossible to lose and yes it cuts tippet just fine!"
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nippers,
October 15, 2012
By: Flyrodder123
from Rexburg, Idaho
"I have used these nippers for years and have never found anythig that I like as well. Their simple design and light weight are hard to duplicate. I recommend them highly."
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab gear,
October 11, 2012
By: Uban
from Stony Point NY
"I've had this snip since i bought my PowerMatrix-10 rod. It's still sharp."
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent snips,
October 8, 2012
By: Hefty1947
from Hendersonville, NC
"Needed a better set of snips, and these are just great... no more trying to find the sharp spot to cut tippet, just a touch and bingo, the cut is made which saves time and reduces frustration when retying in the middle of a stream. Highly recommend."
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Major Disappointment,
July 10, 2012
By: DFUK
from Scotland UK
"Decided to treat myself and purchased a set of Orvis Flyfisher's snips. Failed utterly the very first time used on the water by breaking into two. It appears that the two tiny spot welds that hold the implement together gave way and of course at the worst possible moment. Rest of day made a bit difficult. Not at all impressed. Could not possibly recommend."
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great simple nippers,
May 27, 2012
By: CGA96
from Providence, RI
"I love the simplicity and high functionality of these nippers! They are extremely sharp, and have been successfully used to trim hackles to allow some dry flies to sit lower on the surface of the water. The hook-eye cleaning needle works great, and the anodized black color prevents me from "flashing" the fish. I will have these for years!"
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A little Overpriced,
May 24, 2012
By: WishMeFish
"It's a bit smaller than I expected and the blades don't line up exactly perfectly, so it takes a bit of effort to actually cut your tippet.
Maybe I'm just used to having a curve in the blades and a lever on top. Can't you get one of those in a drugstore for like a dollar?"
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Fisher's Snip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snip made the trip,
April 16, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Sylva, NC
"I put up with the old snips long enough. The new snips really made the trip easier because I was constantly changing flys as the conditions changed. Bravo!"