Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

High-Gloss Head Cement

High-Gloss Head Cement: Use it anyplace you want a smooth, glossy head. Quick drying. 1-oz. bottle. This item is flammableDeep-Penetrating Head Cement: Penetrates deeply into the tying thread for a long-lasting durable head. 1-oz. bottle. This item is flammable.Head Cement Thinner: Thinner for our Deep-Penetrating and High-Gloss head cements. 1-oz. bottle. This item is flammable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for High-Gloss Head Cement
Review 1 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it works,
June 18, 2014
By: stillwaterangling
from Cape Cod, MA
"Decent head cement that adds some shine. However, I prefer the deep penetrating cement, unless a glossy finish is necessary for the fly."
Review 2 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
head cement "dry out"!,
April 24, 2014
By: Breadbaker
from Buffalo, NY
"Puchased a one once bottle of Orvis Deep penetrating head cement about 8 months ago.
Put a small amount in eye droper container for easy application.
The remainder of the cement just dried out in the orginal container!
Also looks like Orvis recently changed the top of the bottle.
Good product, but 95% of it dried out ... I am disappointed.
I would recommend the product itself but the packaging (bottle) needs improvement.
"
Review 3 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shine Plus,
February 26, 2014
By: Springer28
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
"This s an excellent head cement. It gives me the shine that I desire. I have found that it is very easy to apply this product, and it soaks in immediately...Reducing drips and the resulting mess."
Review 4 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Head Cement,
January 13, 2014
By: Sluggo
from Avid Flyfisherman, Sedona, Arizona
"This head cement is one of the better ones I normally use. If kept from drying out and using a little thinner, it works and lasts a good long time. Multiple coats for a gloss effect work great."
Review 5 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 1, 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"Great cement. Does not leave a filmy look to head. Thanks Orvis for another great product!"
Review 6 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, clear cement,
March 18, 2013
By: Ramiro
"I prefer this head cement to others I have purchased. Allows for clean, professional and durable heads on flies."
Review 7 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great penetration,
March 1, 2012
By: x4712fg
from ID
"Excellent penetration even with waxed thread. I've been using the deep penetrating cement for almost 20 years with good results. Thins well with ordinary laquer thinner."
Review 8 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Does what it says",
August 3, 2011
By: Leif
from New Jersey
"Nice product. The head cement is easily absorbed and dries quickly. One drop does the trick."
Review 9 for High-Gloss Head Cement
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
November 17, 2009
By: AshevilleTroutBum
from Asheville, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This cement works well. I got the Deep Pentetrating type. It really soaks in, and does not bead up on the thread surface. Gives a durable finish and hold. Quick drying, but you do have enough working time."
Ratings-Only Reviews for High-Gloss Head Cement
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 6