Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bead-Head Nymph Hook

Chemically sharpened 2X long microbarb point, slightly large gape, York bend, slightly curved shank, and enlarged eye make this the ideal hook for tying nymph flies with brass and tungsten beads. Even hook sizes: 6-16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Review 1 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bead hook,
February 20, 2014
By: ChuckWCFF
from Oregon Lakes
"I tie with a lot of bead for my lake fly's and I found this hook to work the best for me."
Review 2 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb bead head nymph hooks,
August 26, 2013
By: Karly
from Lewistown, MT
"These are the best hooks I have used for tying bead head nymphs such as Copper Johns et. al. They have a long shank to have some space left after putting the bead on, plus lead free wire wrapped several time back of the bead and then pushed into the bead. Then there is enough shank left to get a fair amount of wire wrapped on for the copper john. All of this weight helps not only to get it down deeper but just as important to slow the fly down as it is fished in a say a swift ripple so fish can grab it. There is generous gap due to the shank being curved upwards above the hook point allowing a good hook set, This an extremely well designed hook in all respects plus being quite strong and having a very sharp hood point. Well done Orvis."
Review 3 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 11, 2013
By: chicopete
"You can tie great looking flies with these but they aren't strong enough. I lost 2 rainbows 18+" today because the hooks straightened out. I was using 5X tippet so I couldn't yard on the fish too hard. It's a good design but needs to be a lot stronger for big fish in fast water."
Review 4 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hooks,
January 11, 2013
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Knocked up a few hares ears with these for the winter grayling but used hair from my dof instead of hare!!
Great hooks but I wish Orvis supplied them barbless.
OK easy to knock off the barb.
"
Review 5 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
‘Good strong hooks,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I like the shape of these, and they take a bead without crowding the eye of the hook , they are very sharpI would recommend these especially for mayfly nymphs"
Review 6 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hooks,
April 14, 2012
By: msp12
"Love these hooks for tying bead-head flies. Bead always goes on very easy and the hook is ultra sharp as usual for an Orvis hook."
Review 7 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stonefly hook,
January 1, 2012
By: grun02
"I love these hooks for big Stoneflies of all types."
Review 8 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Nymph Hook,
November 8, 2011
By: dczach
from Clinton Corners,NY
"I have been using Orvis Beadhead Nymph hooks for several years and am very pleased with their performance. Beads slip onto the hooks easily and there is enough hook shank to tie a full nymph body after the bead is on. They are very sharp and hook fish well."
Review 9 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"top notch hooks. the larger eye is a nice touch. good for creating the classic patterns, 2X long shank - easy to tie on."
Review 10 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only hooks I use.,
September 14, 2011
By: Pinch
from Stevens Point, Wi
"Orvis bead head hooks are the only bead head hooks I use. The beads slip on easily and the whisper barb is easy to pinch down. It's like everything that Orvis sells for the fly fisherman. It's perfect. I also use these for certain types of dry flies. Orvis quality always makes my fly tying easier. My wife likes Orvis women's clothing which helps when I need to order fly tying materials."
Review 11 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Hooks,
March 15, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just bought these for the first time this season. Tied up some beadhead hare's ears, Tung-Head hare's ears and a few others to say the least. They seem like they'd be great for other flies outside of nymphs, but that will be my primary use for them. The hooks are incredibly strong despite their smaller appearance, and the extra curvature in them helps give a nice appearance to the fly. The micro barb makes putting on the bead that much easier (hey, when you're doing lot of 20 flies at once, or even just sitting down for one fly, this does make a difference). All in all, a very solid hook. I'll be ordering more of them."
Review 12 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hooks,
February 26, 2010
By: Rubicon08
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm very pleased with these hooks. They're great for adding metal or plastic beads. Very sharp."
Review 13 for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YUP ANOTHER FINE HOOK,
November 27, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO HAVENT READ MY REVIEWS AND KIND OF KNOW MY STORY,I AM A LOCAL FLY TIER IN S.W FLORIDA WHO'S GRANDPA HAS CONVINCED HIM TO SHOP ONLY THROUGH ORVIS BECAUSE OF THER SUPERIOR MATERIAL,EXCELLENT SERVICE,TIMELY ORDER SHIPPING AND THE LIST GOES ON ANYWAY ALL MY TEENY TINY HOOKSARE ALL ORVIS IVE LEARNED WELL FROM THE OLD MAN THAT THEY ARE SECOND TO NONE AND THIS IS ONE OF THOSE HOOKS I ABSOLUTELY LOVE EXPERIMENTING WITH SINCE I LIVE ON THE GULF THE BEND IN THIS HOOK ALLOWS ME TO EASILY IMMITATE A LARGE VARIETY OF CRITTERS,AND EVEN THOUGH IT HAS A FINE SHANK IT IS A VERY TOUGH HOOK AND I THINK THATS IN PART TO ITS DESIGN WHATEVER THE REASON IT IS ONE TOUGH LITTLE HOOK AND ALL OF ORVIS'S HOOKS ARE CHEMICALLY SHARPENED DONT HAVE A CLUE HOW THAT WORKS BUT MAN DO THEY HAVE SOME SERIOUSLY SHARP POINTS.ASIDE FROM EVERYTHING ORVIS SELLS YOU DEFINATELY HAVE TO ADD THESE TO YOUR ARSENAL OF HOOKS."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bead-Head Nymph Hook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1